Welcome to Opening Day!

Summary of Giants v. Diamondbacks 4/1/2014:

Summary of Giants v. Diamondbacks 3/31/2014:

——————–

Written by Xoot:

Tonight’s season opener will begin under the warm clear twilight of AZ spring. In fact, the first three games of the season will be night games, which means I will get to watch them all. Meanwhile, I would very much like to thank Selig and mlb for giving the dodgers a nationwide audience last night. (The only other game played yesterday was Houston v. Veracruz.)

The extra stress gave the bums just the encouragement they needed: to try to throw a runner out at third instead of throwing to second to keep the batter-runner from moving into scoring position (Puig) and, on the same play to grab that ill-advised throw assuming that because it came from RF it must off-line (Hanley); to give up a booming HR to a pinch hitter in a one-run game (Wilson); to boot an easy play on a bunt (Wilson) and to misplay an easy ground ball so it clanked off the mitt heel (AGon), thus putting the go ahead and insurance runs on base–both of which, of course, scored.

Ah, what a display. We may not see such baseball from the bums again until October, when they choke and lose the play-in WC game. Go Giants!

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.
This entry was posted in Giants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

371 Responses to Welcome to Opening Day!

  1. sandy32koufax says:

    Retreads, xoot? I’m all lol cuz you are so pleased with yourself. Bum and pain the pray for rain…oh, we’re inna drought, oh snap.

    • xoot says:

      Anna put it up. Send your plea to her if you want it taken down. And if you ask nicely, maybe the rest of us will stop laughing out loud, too. 🙂

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Abbott and Costello obviously took the field after the Rooster left…there was plenty to laugh at though.

    • annapirhana says:

      Xoot put up an excellent Opening Day post, complete with a grand summary. Rather than close the other thread on it, I simply placed it in a more deserving position.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Hahaha, is that what we’re calling this Xoot-sided take on Dodger ball now?

        Just finished “Memoirs…” fun read and brought back memories of cardboard boxes flung as gliders-flying high and far, the hot dogs we used to buy cooked in steamers and served in semi-dirty paper and those god-awful sno-cone flavors, what would today’s health nuts say about the things we loved as kidlettes during the darkages of foodprep hygiene? Ya, one of the best things is watching pregame ritual and warm-ups, especially at the old bat or glove days. Time do change though…still, it’s jints Opening Day and the season will be officially sprung for all teams by the end of tomorrow…PLAY BALL!

        • xoot says:

          I’m an objective baseball fan who happened to enjoy watching the 3 Stooges in Blue & Gray last night. Puig obviously has to be Curly (“I’m a victim of soicumstance”); Wilson, Moe (“Why I oughta…”); and poor aggrieved AGon, Larry (“I’m sorry, Moe, it was an accident!”).

  2. xoot says:

    btw, if you want a truly excellent opening day read, check out Anna’s blog. http://slowsuburbandeath.com/

  3. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    FYI (just got this in today’s inbox)
    ————–
    Thank you for e-mailing San Francisco Chronicle. I apologize that your
    feedback at SFGate.com website was ignored.

    However, kindly contact this telephone number 415-777-6333, they will be
    the one who can better assist you about any SFGate issues or concerns.

    Thank you for contacting a San Francisco Chronicle.
    ————–

    A phone call? … SFGate Support has gone high tech. (Obviously, Bob at ye ole SFGate Support is also no more, or so it would seem) I have serious doubts about the phone call thing, but I’m good to voice my concerns that the Viafoura moderators don’t have the skill set required to professionally moderate Trolling, because they apparently don’t know a thing about the subject matter they’re supposed to be moderating: Baseball.

    Can’t wait for tonight’s game. Best way to win the first series vs D-backs is for Bum and Matt to take care of business in games 1 and 2 … and then when Tim takes the mound to presumably face Arroyo in game 3, “unleash hell!” … as well as maybe a 10 plus insurance runs.

  4. dishnerdevin says:

    Great post! No doubt Opening Day is one of a kind! I really enjoyed your piece, and would love to hear what you think of my opening day post! You can find it here http://dishnerdevin.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/god-bless-opening-day/

    Thanks for letting me read your blog!

    • annapirhana says:

      Love your blog post about Opening Day! It reminds me that perhaps this day does deserve its status as a national holiday. Very interesting perspective as a Cards fan with your rivalry and comments on the Cubbies. Good stuff!

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Just speaking off the cuff, but alas seeing only the two Bushes, Ronald Reagan, and Richard Nixon pictured – I suppose being symbolic and representative of the opening day spirit? left me wanting … and of course may the gods not only Bless America, but the Cosmos at large.

    • Chico says:

      Welcome to the blog Devin! Stick around.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Hey, Devin, welcome aboard and Go Cards. I’m a steadfast Dodgers fan but have always rooted for StL too, not against the Blue, though. My first game was at old Busch when I was a wee lad. Think Gibby, Javier and Flood.

      Go Redbirds…

      • dishnerdevin says:

        Glad I came across your stuff! I’m a bit younger than that my first game was the summer of 98′ Sosa vs. McGwire!

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Man, I was like 4…but ya, you’re MUCH younger. The whole country was riveted to those two that summer. Heck, my mom got into it. (she’s from a small city outside of KC!)

          • dishnerdevin says:

            I was four at the time but I idolized Mark! Still have his poster in my room to this day. I went to Dodgers stadium last summer for the first time and loved the nostalgia! I love this sport!

            • sandy32koufax says:

              Ya, baseball is my fav sport even though I was a football player for many yrs. This game is peaceful, in spite of the rivalries and drunken fans. Chavez is a cool spot, to me-not these jints fans 😛 good thing you got there. I hope it was a nice, clear sunny day, the best way to enjoy the place.

  5. sandy32koufax says:

    First and only sailcraft I’ve ever owned was a Hobiecat 12, alas Hobie died and I’m just reading about it? RIP Bro…

    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-03-31/hobart-alter-surfboard-maker-who-created-hobie-cat-dies-at-80.html

  6. datswhatsup says:

    SFDF,

    Living in SoCal allows me to give you the skinny on your beloved doyers (you are welcome!)
    Crawford= meh, contract aside he’s C+ B-
    Ethier= can’t really hit LHP and is okay in CF, don’t think his legs can last all year there
    Puig=not liked in house, when is the last time you heard players and a manager call out a player?
    Kemp= too bad he could have been great but his body is a mess
    3B=Uribe (see Crawford)
    SS=Hanley B- to A+, history shows he is best when things are good, when bad not so much
    2B=Flava Flav all that’s left since Skip, Punto & Ellis hated playing with that roster
    1B=AGon the Karl Malone of MLB great stats no rings
    C=AJ Ellis despite hitting .400 when I watch B- hitter for a catcher, his arm is A is glove is C
    P=Claytinman is A+ hope his injury is minor
    P=Greinke A- is a nut case, an angry little dude who hates fans I actively dislike this douche
    P=Ryu B has a deal with the devil–dude has a whip of 3.5 and gives up no runs
    P=4&5 C- Maholm, Heron & Bills????
    Bully is solid (A) if Donnie Two Trips uses them right which is a big IF
    Bench= Makes SF’s look decent

    I think LA good but over rated, what is not over rated is their willingness to drop coin on a player mid season to lock it up.

    Washington scares me more.

    There you go, etch it in stone

    • annapirhana says:

      Whoa!!! Another Giants fan in LA! You must stick around here and offer perspective. Agree on Greinke. Sad about Kemp because I genuinely like him.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Fair call on most of your take. Only take issue with a few things. Agon, chuckers and the bench. Gonzo’s going to get his and LA does have minor league talent to pull that will put em over, at least in the NL West. Bills should be gone.

        Mis Doyers ‘shoulda’ kept Ellis but didn’t because…? Some tool from Cooova? Bad move.

        Kemp prolly is toast but I’ve been saying that for a couple of months, I hope for his sake, if nothing else, that I’m wrong. He does seem like one of the good guys.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      And, dats? GeeJay is a Nats fan…ur hanging with that? wowza

  7. xoot says:

    Heavy rain and lightning and thunder in Oakland right now. The E Coli grounds crew members are pulling on their hazmat suits and daydreaming about where they’ll spend their OT and dangerous duty pay.

  8. datswhatsup says:

    As bad as B Willy was last night he was not terrible.

    Hung a slider and paid for it. His cutter was 91 mph but it freakin moved two feet. Thought he got squeezed a some calls too.

    It was a perfect shit storm, when DeNorfia totally whiffed on that bunt one of the two runners should have been out instead Uribe sold out and couldn’t get back so now it’s 2nd and third.

    As much as I want to dislike Wilson for his poor handling of his exit from SF, I admire that he sat in the dugout for the three outs before heading out.

    I don’t think he and League are in the same league of bad signings

  9. unca_chuck says:

    Yeah, the Doggers didn’t see much of the torture version of BWeezy last year. They’s already got a taste this year.

  10. annapirhana says:

    Poor Cubbies already have it bad on Opening Day.

    BTW…the committed anti-Giants fan (redhead) was rejoicing in Wilson’s struggles yesterday. That’s your bandwagon for the year, gents!

  11. blade3colorado says:

    Good post Xoot. That game was hilarious last night.

    • xoot says:

      Blade! Nice to see you. & thx.

    • Chico says:

      What’s up Blade? Nice to see you man!

      • blade3colorado says:

        Hey Chico . . . Same to you. Hope you are well. 🙂

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Hey, Blade. How have you been and don’t you have somewhere to be 😉 ?

          • blade3colorado says:

            Hi Sandy . . . Umm, just watching the game (probably like you are). 🙂

            • sandy32koufax says:

              Ya, nothing else on so, you know. I really thought you had some “thing” more pressing…like a ironing appt or wrinkled clothes that needed your attention 🙂

              • blade3colorado says:

                I wish. Right now, my psoriasis is acting up; I have pink eye; tail end of the flu; and, a bad case of athlete’s foot on my right foot (due to a trip to Vietnam . . . Which by the way, is WHERE I WISH I WAS RIGHT NOW . . . very nice women there).

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  Bro, go see shaman, he has the cure! (so does chico, shh) Feel better, sorry to hear you’re so down under the weather! Don’t get me started on the beauts from that part of the world, serious gorgeous and in sync.

                  Pink eye? You hanging with Costas, hah!

                • blade3colorado says:

                  Most of this shit was due to one of the flights (probably the Hong Kong to SF flight). Shit, I figured a disaster for Voggy and maybe Lincecum . . . Not Bum. Meh.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  HK to SFO must be like forever…that bad air will kill you every time too. I fully believed tonight was in the bag for the jints. Maybe they’ll win but dayum, I didn’t expect this at all, I thought SF wins this then Cain loses…

  12. xoot says:

    Hey, over on McCovey Chronicles the guy has listed every SF Giants starting line up since 1958. Pretty interesting.

    • annapirhana says:

      This is why I go see the Giants in San Diego, and never at Chavez Latrine.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Notice the pattern of bad behaviors from “Dodgers fans” from San Gabriel Valley/LA Basin? And I lived in El Monte/Arcadia all those yrs? Times change…

        • shoelessinbearvalley says:

          All these types of violent altercations tend to occur in the wee morning hours – this time it was about 1:45 am. The fact that three marines (doubtless on shore leave) proved to be in over their heads understandably thinking to come to the aid of a woman in distress. Unsure if they were aware of a wolf pack of six punks lurking nearby. But, thank goodness – it could have turned out a lot worse. Pretty damn scary.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Sign o the times? I used to go to the Tenderloin and never feel any fear. Maybe it’s because I’m older or maybe it’s due to people’s lack of impulse control (to put it nicely) but I don’t care to go into certain areas that didn’t used to bother me. I’ve spent time in Crenshaw/Watts/etc but will never return. PDS indeed.

            • annapirhana says:

              I never had a problem with Crenshaw/Watts as I used to volunteer down there. But once a terrible gang down there took over, I stopped going.

              Anywho, sports fans here don’t understand rivalry. After having garbage thrown at me at a Sharks/Kings game, we opted not to use the second ticket I had. Better that than have my husband get into a fight.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Things have def changed since I lived there or even my last trip to Chavez, then. Sure, the same treatment that I get at phonecompanypark is what non D-fans got at Dodger Stadium three yrs ago but not this “KILL” mentality.

                Don’t blame you for bailing on any games if that’s how badly things have changed.

                • annapirhana says:

                  I saw it at a Raiders/Chargers game in SD around early 2000. So many bloody fights started by LA Raider fans. They were looking to pick a fight. It reminds me of Colombian soccer, where players get killed off if they don’t do well. Too much unsportsmanlike conduct.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  LA Ray-Duhs fans have always been ghetto. I went with the old man in ’85 to a game at the coliseum and we were wearing black and still some punkasses fromthe ‘to tried to start shit with us, dumbassess…

  13. Chico says:

    Blue skies now in P-Town. Linda Mar flooded. Shit, we need it.

  14. sandy32koufax says:

    Montero shoulda caught that throw from Parra

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      This is where Jon Miller’s broadcast is never as good as seeing a play with my own eyes. Even so, Dave and Jon are doing a good job even if Giants D … no so much.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        The run scored and LOOKED like an out…not listening to the game so don’t know what Miller said but it was obvious on tv.

        • shoelessinbearvalley says:

          Miller had launched into a rather convoluted story ’bout major general Doubleday and the movie Ben Hur when suddenly he was rudely interrupted by some umpire’s call! 🙂

  15. annapirhana says:

    Your friend on the Splash (red head) is telling the twitter world how she cannot root for the Giants. Too bad she attracted the attention of a lawyer, who is now having a twitter war with her.

  16. annapirhana says:

    Madbum toast already???

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      Bum “no mas” … Petit struggling … defense (Arias – wide throw) can’t initiate the DP … nobody out as a result … what can go wrong … is right now. This season is a complete loss. I guess I will have to renew my online subscription to International Ping Pong TV. 😦

  17. annapirhana says:

    Neat rundown. Piano time!

  18. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Wow. The Giants defense tonight like majorly sucks.

  19. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Indians “challenge” play at the plate (with 2 on and 2 outs) vs A’s.

  20. annapirhana says:

    Okay…nine run rally. here we go boys!

  21. annapirhana says:

    Yippiee Shoeless! Your pitcher now has an RBI to his ERA.

  22. xoot says:

    If the Giants come back to win this one it will be one butt-ugly victory. But there it is–within reach.

  23. sandy32koufax says:

    hahaha

  24. annapirhana says:

    Good times! Back to piano 😀

  25. xoot says:

    This feels like two separate games.

  26. sandy32koufax says:

    Uh oh…a’s have two on, one out and it’s a shot that stays in! bases juiced

  27. sandy32koufax says:

    Wow, nice pitch…ate Pablo up!

  28. sandy32koufax says:

    SHIT…Posey got alla that one

  29. xoot says:

    This game has transmogrified into a thing of beauty.

  30. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    This would probably be a good time for Romo to not throw any sliders and practice more change-ups, right? 😉

  31. xoot says:

    and now it has changed back again.

  32. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Oh no, Romo …. followed by third Giants error.

  33. sandy32koufax says:

    Is that Pablo Gonzalez or Brian Sandoval?

  34. xoot says:

    Krukow: “defensively the worst game we’ve seen them play in 3 or 4 years.” But Posey looked great all around. (well, except for that dropped throw . . . ) So wtf. It’s a win.

  35. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    The Giants win a “butt-ugly” nail-biter!

  36. annapirhana says:

    What a game. As Xoot said, a thing of beauty.

  37. shaman138 says:

    Amazing comeback win by the Giants on this fine wintry evening. Meanwhile, over in Tarptown…Zzzzzzzzzzzz.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Butthead Posey? Not a bad homer.

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      He Man of the Hour. The Giants showed a helluva lot of grit in the face of so much defensive ‘adversity’. I hope tonight’s game answers that somewhat knowledgeable Giants fan back at SFGate who thought the Giants just looked like they lacked any spirit in their last ST game vs the a’s – fearing it was a harbinger for the coming season. Nothing could be further from the truth.

      • xoot says:

        The Giants generally did look uninspired in their games vs. the a’s last weekend. I figured they’d snap to when the season started. Took a while. Last night they looked somewhat stunned at their mistakes during the first half of that extended drama. Everyone but Pablo seemed to get a wake-up call. (Belt I believe was especially embarrassed by his error.) In a way, last night’s game reminded me of the famous 2010 Donnie-two-trips game in LA. Lincecum had a rough start, and the Giants were down big in that game but never quit. That was the grit that took them all the way that year. The way they blew past MadBum’s off game last night was similarly startling.

        DBags have a chance to dig themselves into a deep hole this week.

  38. sandy32koufax says:

    Hah! go to the dumbeat!

  39. sandy32koufax says:

    Good post on the beat, xman

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      hey sfdf, I know this is going to sound ignorant, but I’m not sure what the “dumbeat” (or “drumbeat?” is) … just completed a search – it’s the A’s blog … no wonder I didn’t know about it … never been there yet. 🙂

  40. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    “I have a challenge for you folks. If you don’t reply to any of my comments or mention my name for the next three days until 10 pm pst I’ll stop posting. No new nicknames, I’ll just be gone for good.” –Mollie711

    Everybody notice how Mollie’s ‘challenge’ disappeared soon after it was posted?

    Do you think, “no new nicknames” alerted the generally oblivious V moderator to the fact that this was Molie making an unwitting public admission to being a multiple-alias user, aka, “troll?”

    Otherwise, not sure what part of the post constituted a violation of those guidelines apparently known only to V moderators.

  41. Chico says:

    “We just won on opening day, and the A’s lost?”

  42. sandy32koufax says:

    Hahahaha

  43. unca_chuck says:

    It’s alomost tempting to look at the Splash just to read the reactions to the comeback.

  44. sandy32koufax says:

    Cool graphic on Ticket and “FCI” or FanCostIndex pricing.

    https://teammarketing.com/public/uploadedPDFs/2014%20mlb%20fci.pdf

  45. xoot says:

    Anna or Chico:

    Can you put this gif up on the blog to entertain us for a while?

  46. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    “Speaking of the Dodgers, Clayton Kershaw is going to miss both series against the Giants within the next two weeks.” –H. Schulman

    Also: http://www.sportingnews.com/mlb/story/2014-03-29/clayton-kershaw-injury-updated-disabled-list-los-angeles-dodgers-baseball-status-season-opener-san-diego-padres

    This did not come entirely unexpected. So, I still find myself thinking back to LAD’s 2013 post season experience when Donnie had Kershaw pitch on shorter rest to close out the NLDS vs the Braves, 3-1. Then, 2hen Clayton got uncharacteristically shelled by the Cards in game 6 of the NLCS, I wondered at the time if Kershaw was more than just ‘fatigued’. Now, even with the off season to rest, Kershaw is not good to go. Is it possible, the 2013 post season was somehow the ‘straw’ the hurt Kershaw’s back?

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      shoeless minimum wage editor: “2hen” = “when” ….

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        On the face of it, my question would seem to be answered by the fact, Kershaw doubtless underwent a complete physical prior to closing the $215M / 7 YR deal. Still, the roots of Clayton’s upper back issue could have begun to manifest itself by game 6 of the NLCS?

        • sandy32koufax says:

          The issue with Kershs’ back? It’s all a part of the greater issue, the rotator cuff. Not good at all. And, to answer your question, yes. Probably before that, too. He threw into the eighth and ninth when other starters would have been pulled…especially last year.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            In fact, forget what inning he pitched into, it was his dreaded “pitch counts” that were ‘high.’

            • shoelessinbearvalley says:

              You’re the first I’ve read to suggest a link between last year’s p.s. and Kershaw’s DL this year. Too bad; but good call, SandyK.

  47. sandy32koufax says:

    “shoeless Rank 37
    “The umpires are better than people think. They’re very good at what they do. I’m not trying to sound political. They are just really good.”

    Yes, but assuming Instant Replay proves viable, it will make them even that much better (now that ‘eagle eye’ is watching over them) – gawd, is this even humanly possible? I mean, first base umpires alone have had this lofty reputation for being absolutely incorruptible and impervious to human err! ha!”

    Be careful what you wish for…

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      No, I understand there are ‘concerns’. I, however, certainly want to be caught “wishing” for instant replay to succeed. Quite the opposite, being the jaded, pessimistic, routine glass-half-empty sorta dood. 😉

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Sorry but I’m opposed to replay for the same reasons I’m anti-DH, that’s sorta baseball…not The Grand Ol Game

  48. Chico says:

    Posey is dialed in!

  49. Chico says:

    Belt!

  50. xoot says:

    BELT ONE BELT!

  51. xoot says:

    holy shit, has Cain thrown only 24 pitches this inning, so far? Seems like 240.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      He’s good to go. Corn fed Cain

    • xoot says:

      27 pitches, finally, with a DP. btw, Schulman’s tweeting a second-hand report that Wilson didn’t come in to pitch in a close bums/pods game tonight because he’s hurt.

    • annapirhana says:

      Had to play the piano from the first inning. Brutal

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Watched the last three. His arm/rotator may be toast. SO glad LA spent the money on him and didn’t win the series last year, you know, when he was actually ‘on’ and was not throwing potentially ruined, again.

        • annapirhana says:

          Here’s hoping he at least got guaranteed money in his contract.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Not funny…I believe it is, btw.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            From Cot’s:

            Brian Wilson rhp
            1 year/$10M (2014), plus 2015 option

            1 year/$10M (2014), plus 2015 player option
            re-signed by LA Dodgers as a free agent 12/5/13
            14:$10M, 15:$8.5M player option
            player option may increase to $10M based on appearances in 2014
            additional $0.7M in annual performance bonuses based on games finished

            Way not good.

            • xoot says:

              wtf is it with Colletti and the player options? stupid term. And Wilson’s officially on the DL according to the Merc’s reporter.

            • annapirhana says:

              I’m not kidding when I say I hope there is guaranteed money in his contract, boo. Let’s face it…2 TJ’s and putting himself out as he did in last year. He was perfect for them. He even added a new pitch. If he’s done for, best that he get some send off money for his efforts, you know? All in all, he does give everything he has for the benefit of his team.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Here’s my issue with that, he got paid for last year and he’s pulling the same shit he did with the jints. He must have known he was in trouble but somehow passed a physical. Coletti giving him that much, guaranteed plus an option just keeps LA over the line…

                • annapirhana says:

                  Well, I’m not going to complain about how Dodgers spend their money. At some point, you learn to be a little wiser. You learn to do it the O’Malley way, except O’Malley is in San Diego now.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  Wow, Boo, you going way below the belt now 😦

              • xoot says:

                Even without his salary the bums are over the luxury tax threshold. I think it’s $189M. bums are way over $200M.

  52. sandy32koufax says:

    Sweet stuff down south, ya 🙂 ?

  53. Chico says:

    Wilson to the DL

  54. sandy32koufax says:

    LA is down two star pitchers and it’s officially only game four for them…

  55. xoot says:

    I’m not sure I’ve seen Morse get anything but breaking stuff so far this series.

  56. xoot says:

    Challenge at 7:55.

  57. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    This Bochy is Replay Moment is Dedicated to ‘True Blue’ die-hard, LAD fan, sandy32koufax!

  58. xoot says:

    5 minutes for that replay review. Cain gets stiff in the meantime. Wonderful.

  59. Chico says:

    He was out at the plate.. Fuckers.

  60. annapirhana says:

    Just one more thing to make us furious, yah? Blind helping the blind.

  61. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Time for Pence to pounce!

  62. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    2 high sliders by Gutierrez and then another hit … bring up Derek Law?

  63. Chico says:

    Lets get some runs! Nice throw by Perez even thought it was a bit late.

  64. Chico says:

    Lets get some runs!

  65. sandy32koufax says:

    Did everyone see this guy?

    • xoot says:

      That’s very cute, but he fucked up the stitches, didn’t he? Should they point down on one side and then curve around and point up on the other?

  66. sandy32koufax says:

    Kuip just said “Low attendance here tonight. I think having ST here for six weeks effects their attendance early in the season…” I’m thinking having a second-rate team does that more than having ST for 6 weeks

  67. xoot says:

    htf do you take that 3rd strike, Perez? I have my doubts about that guy at the plate.

  68. sandy32koufax says:

    Justified is on in 30! Cool show

    • xoot says:

      I’ve never had time to watch that show, but I understand Dave Alvin does some of its music. Can’t do better than Dave.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Very cool show. Get it off of netflix, maybe? Modesto guy is the lead and it’s a cool suthun setting with authentic hillbillies. Ya, the music is hittin too. Goodnight, xman

  69. sandy32koufax says:

    Mollie is a cocksucker…sorry, mob, hadda say it

    • annapirhana says:

      That could either be a compliment or insult in these here parts, cowboy. I prefer to think of Mollie as an it.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Hah! I know some ghetto folk that say that as a salutation 😉 Mollie is def a parasite…Hasta la Weesta, Baybee

        • shoelessinbearvalley says:

          Mollie’s shtick’s primary intent is to avoid V-moderator scrutiny. Even if I thought to try and document his trolling, he leaves almost no obvious telltale signs of trolling. The key herein is in the “obvious,” because V-Mods lack any means to pick up on Mollie’s ‘I’m a Giants fan’ subtlety.

  70. Chico says:

    I gotta finish up a job in the east bay tomorrow. Read a book in bed, early bedtime. . Hopefully I get some good zzzzzzs.

  71. Chico says:

    btw, fyi, ‘google1t’ is PY.

  72. xoot says:

    Great summary of last night’s game, Anna.

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      The ump could use a seeing-eye monkey to match the cane?

    • Chico says:

      Anyone read flannerys Facebook rant that has since been taken down? I couldn’t agree more. I’ll post it when I get home. I took screenshots.

      • xoot says:

        I’ll be interested in that, Chico. That entire replay debacle demonstrated exactly what I feared. Cain’s pitch count was high; he had two outs; and Bochy wanted to end the inning. The video showed evidence of the out, so he challenged. Then Cain stood there, out of rhythm, getting stiff, while the umps in NY puzzled over the various angles of a garden variety close call. (One thing the replay conclusively showed me was that the 1B ump was in the wrong position to make the call, and that’s no doubt one reason why he screwed it up.)

        After the umps finally decided to let the runner stay at 1B, Cain had to start over. He threw two off speed pitches for 1-1, and then hung a change up that Parra smacked into a double. The guy who was out at 1B moved to 3B. And we know what happened next. Then Cain had a 6 pitch duel with A. Hill. So Cain threw 9 more pitches in the inning after the pickoff review.

        Maybe Cain would’ve given up a double without the delay, and his pitch count would’ve continued to rise. Very possibly, not. The replay review, of a garden variety close call, had as much disruptive impact on the game as would a serious injury to a player. The system is as clumsy as a DH trying to play RF in the WS. The system sucks.

  73. unca_chuck says:

    The one thing the NFL has right is to review every scoring play. MLB should adopt this. Every close play is reviewed. Sinple.

    This rewarding of challenges, and when you can use them dilutes the replay entirely. This is where it’s fucked up.

    • unca_chuck says:

      Every close play at the plate. . . . and simple . . .doh

      • xoot says:

        High scoring games would take 5 hours.

        • unca_chuck says:

          It should take 20-30 secoinds. Close plays at the plate are pretty few and far between. THe way the NFL does it is to review while the game goes on, and the scoring team is getting ready to kick the extra point. If there is an issue, they signal the head ref from the box that the play is under further review.

          Same kind of thing can happen. There’s usually a lag when there’s a play at the plate anyway. Use that 10 seconds to confirm the play and move on.

          BTW, the New York aspect of the replay is stupid beyond belief. Just have a guy at the game make the call.

          • xoot says:

            Yeah, let’s stop the game to verify that every runner involved in a grand slam touched every base and the plate.

            • shoelessinbearvalley says:

              No, what Chuck is saying is: every “close” play. How “close” is defined must be worked out by the MLB committee on Camel Redesign and Rehabilitation Affairs.

              Seriously, there aren’t that many “close” plays at the plate which would qualify for review.

              xoot, you are probably more aligned with the umps on the field … I suspect they find the whole thing of being second-guessed and over-watched so contrary to what they have heretofore been deemed to be: Gods, who are not-to-be-challenged by whoever or whatever. One problem umps will have with the ‘eye in the sky’ is they now lack the ability to give the eye the “outta here” thumb.

  74. unca_chuck says:

    Show me any game where there are more than 4 close plays at home. There were 2 last night. That’s the norm.

    • xoot says:

      What’s a “close play”? Unworkable. NFL reviews all scoring plays, right?

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        I think every manager and baseball fan knows in their heart and working eyeballs what constitutes “close”. But, again, MLB would have to come up with a working (viable) definition. it’s workable … assuming there’s the MLB will.

  75. unca_chuck says:

    Weird. Torres got an extra ring according to the letter of authenticity on that auction site. He must have paid for it . . . .

  76. unca_chuck says:

    A close play is a close play. If they can’t figure that out, then fuck the whole thing. Catcher, runner, ball, tag. A guy scores from 3rd on a base hit, you don’t have to review it, right? A sac fly with a runner at 3rd and a bang bang play at the plate, you review. When there’s a tag being applied, or a question of the runner touching the plate, you review.

    Like I said, 2-3 times a game.

    • unca_chuck says:

      I mean, really. If Frank Gore breaks free on the 10 and runs unimpeded into the end zone, they don’t really review that. It’s called common sense. Granted, it’s in short supply around the umpiring crews, but there you go.

    • unca_chuck says:

      If the intent of replay is to get the calls right, then they should review plays at the plate. If the intent is to dole out challenges like doggie treats, then the system will continue to be flawed.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        l agree. Last night’s game was ‘outstanding’ in that it exposed a vulnerability in the expanded replay rules (or clear lack thereof).

  77. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    “Not that anybody is expecting perfection beginning on Opening Day. All involved have been clear that this is seen as a three-year rollout during which imperfections are to be anticipated. At the end of that time, though, the hope is that it will be as foolproof as possible.

    “When [Joe] Torre and [Peter] Woodfork and [Tony] La Russa and [Steve] Palermo brought us all together, the message I heard was, ‘We want to get the most impactful calls right. We don’t want to disrupt the flow of the game. And we know we don’t have the perfect system. So let’s all keep level heads and work together. We’re trying to make the game better.’

    “”Now, people are going to have some questions. There’s going to be some confusion at times. But I think that’s to be expected for Year 1 of a pretty significant change in the game.

    “”I think the what-ifs are almost limitless,” he explained to reporters. “That’s the part most people don’t understand. When you open Pandora’s Box, it’s not as cut-and-dried as you think.”

    “Maddon may be right. But baseball expects the unexpected when it comes to replay and anticipates being able to correct whatever needs fixing.”
    http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article/mlb/all-systems-go-with-expanded-instant-replay-for-major-league-baseball?ymd=20140327&content_id=70050812&vkey=news_mlb

  78. unca_chuck says:

    It’s the idea of making challenges a part of the strategy of the game that irks me.

    The intent should be to get the call right.

  79. Chico says:

    New post up with Flan’s words regarding replay..

Leave a Reply

