Baseball News: 11/8 – 11/10

Sunday, November 10
News
(up. 1:13 a.m.) Per MLB Rumors, the Los Angeles Dodgers are looking to trade both Andre Ethier and Matt Kemp.

TV Today:
NFL: Oakland Raiders v. New York Giants – 10:00 am PST/Fox or CBS. Who knows?
NFL: Carolina Punthers v. San Francisco 49ers – 1:25 pm PST/FOX
NHL: San Jose Sharks v. Whiney Pig Jets – 5:00 pm PST/CSN Bay Area
—–
Friday, November 8
TV Today:
NBA: Golden State Warriors v. San Antonio Spurs – 5:30 pm PST/CSN Bay Area

—–
Thursday, November 7
TV Today:
NFL: Washington Deadskins v. Minnesota Vikings – 5:25 pm PST/NFL Network
NHL: San Jose Sharks v. Vancouver Canucks – 7:00 pm PST/CSN Bay Area (recommended!!!!)

—–
Wednesday, November 6
News
(up. 9:46 a.m.) Per Yahoo Sports, Carlos Beltran will turn down the qualifying offer from the St. Louis Cardinals, seeking a 3-4 year contract.


Warning and Instructions on Deleting Posts

I think the problem with posting issues comes when someone deletes the post. So instead of deleting posts, try this:

1) Go back to the post you want to delete;
2) Replace it with a .GIF file. Something like this:

You can also replace it with a video or a line from a poem.

3) Update the file. That way, no posts are deleted to cause the foul up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

110 Responses to Baseball News: 11/8 – 11/10

  1. xoot says:

    It was still better than sfgate’s viafoura blogs.

    • Chico says:

      So true. MOW, when you get a chance, a new hot-stove post would be great.. I just did this because the comments were all screwed up and I’m not sure what happened or how to fix it.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Hey Chico, I had NO idea we can “delete” a post. I’m sorry to sweat the small stuff herein, but how is this done?

        • Chico says:

          You need the keys to the blog Shoeless.. I don’t know how to give them to you, but I’m sure others do. Anything computer/tech related is not my strong suit.

  2. sandy32koufax says:

    Whoever posted that pic has a tiny penis

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      That can only point to one man with matching complement of tiny balls: Damon Bruce.

    • xoot says:

      So it must’ve been a two year old Cards fan? Makes sense. Two year old dodger fans were busy learning how to style their hair and talk to their agents at the same time. “Cameron? Left hand, right hand, left hand, right hand. Now let’s try again.”

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Have you been hanging out in my bathroom window, Dude?

      • xoot says:

        Ok. So I’ll revise it: “Cameron? Hold your cell phone in your left hand when you speak, and fluff your hair to prep for the camera with your right hand. Cameron? Listen, to me. This is LA. This is an audition . . . in LA. This is the peak of contemporary civilization, and you’re going to be a part of it. Do you understand? Tv commercials, even sitcoms? So now let’s kick it.”

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Scary…that reminds me of a guy I used to play hoops with in the early 80’s-Val Kilmer. A TRUE child of LA, btw.

    • mailorderwife says:

      You’re so right. I have a tiny peenis.

  3. Chico says:

    I didn’t write this blog post nor did I submit that picture, but it’s funny as hell.. Looks like it all got screwed up when I deleted that photo of the Stanfurd grad last night. Whoever wrote this blog post, point noted..

  4. Chico says:

    My Tigers knocked off Sacred Heart Prep of Menlo 29-15 tonight! A blue collar public school knocking off a Catholic school in a very affluent neighborhood? I love it! 5 conf championships in a row!

  5. Chico says:

    I’m hearing that Colony Capital LLC is involved with an A’s stadium in Oakland.. My buddy who is an A’s fan sounds optimistic.

  6. sandy32koufax says:

    Man, that David Johnson “attack ad” was funny

  7. xoot says:

    This is off baseball, a bit, but onto life. I chanced into a conversation with a friend the other day that reminded me of the music I liked back, well, back in the 80s when I was going to clubs and enjoying LA and SoCal bands (Blasters, Los Lobos, X, James Harmon, etc.), and, for a variety of reasons, this band came up. Who the hell else has combined the myth of Sisyphus with “the pain of growing old” and the disappoinment of not landing a major label deal by your 30th birthday? I present to you, the beet hovens:

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Fuuuuck…what a find. memories of La Puente and a cowboy bar watching these guys.

    • mailorderwife says:

      The Blasters, X, The Alley Cats, The Suburban Lawns, The Germs, the Bags…loved them all. i was in the SF punk scene spinning discs and writing stories, and I remember the caravan of LA bands that would drive up to do a show once a month. Oh…forgot the Go-Go’s. Always with the Blasters. I remember when the old Temple Beautiful was open for shows, and Exene and I read all the names of the dead that were engraved into the walls. This was before Billy Zoom became an OC fundie, and when we’d have so much fun backstage That was the best punk club.

      • xoot says:

        Wow. Best I’ve got is — I was working as a RR brakeman, living one block from the Berkeley Square and taking in what I could there, when I was in town, or at the bigger clubs like the Stone or Keystone Berkeley. Never saw X when Zoom was playing guitar, either. The friend I mentioned above actually played in some bands, at the Mabuhay, etc., I think. I’ll ask him about the TB. While we were talking the other day, he happened to say something about how ominous Billy Zoom was on stage. Now I’m beginning to see how the Knitters developed. Also, now that you mention backstage, I bet it would’ve been fun to hear Exene and Country Dick Montana.engage in civil discourse.

        • mailorderwife says:

          I remember the Berkeley Square. The owner was a real dick, and we had a screaming match in front of the BS. East Bay also had a small punk band contingent, with the Tools, C’est La Guerre and a few others. I remember going back there in the late 80’s, long after new wave pop became a horrible radio staple. The room was filled with white kids doing their Bruce Springsteen “Dancing In The Dark” dance. I couldn’t stop laughing.

          Zoom and John Doe were always remarkably humble and sweet. Exene was never sober, but we had a nice time. Their music is true LA sound, the best that California punk had to offer. Exene was a poet, and she knew how to write about the desolation of that wretched place. Unfortunately, some people didn’t get what she was saying, and many people branded X as a racist band.

        • xoot says:

          Are you kidding me? In 1984 that was you laughing at the way I danced? The scars are with me today.
          I improved some, btw, after a 1985 trip to Nicaragua.

          • mailorderwife says:

            Ha!!! No way :> Small world, yah? And how did you find Nicaragua? I thought Reagan should have been shot for what happened in Central America.

            • xoot says:

              I went down to pick coffee for a month (January) along with a contingent of other gringos who wanted to protest the Contra war. The organizers had big groups gathered out of NY and the Bay Area arriving every month. Very eventful time. Started with Abbie Hoffman (RIP) introducing himself to me at the Managua airport (he showed me his Nicaraguan press credentials) and just got wilder after that. I was a great coffee picker, probably the best in our group. I worked my ass off and learned how to strip the berries without getting stung by the paralyzing caterpillars. After they saw me show up with huge bags full at the end of the first few days, the foremen started assigning me to heavy rows every morning. I’d say that by the end I was as productive as a Nicaraguan 13 year old.

              I spent January 1984 in Guatemala–the police-state death-squad era. Night and day. Guatemala didn’t help my dancing much.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                That’s an amazing story, xoot. Isn’t it strange what we’ll do out of principle? Not to diminish the dangers of Guatemala at that time, but living and working in that backwards agrarian manner must have been quite an adjustment in every way. I’ve always believed that kids should live and study in a foreign country for six months to a year w/o their parents while in their teens, the experience is invaluable. What you’ve related is along the same lines except that you were in a very dangerous setting for your schooling.

              • xoot says:

                Well, the Nicaraguans kept us away from the front. They liked us. One of the big three, Jaime Wheelock, came out to talk to us. But they weren’t about to put a gringo in the path of Reagan’s bullets. We did live like the farmworkers, however–rice and beans (the little red beans Nicaraguans like), three times a day. Occasionally, a piece of fruit. We had a reporter from the Washington Post embedded with us. He published a big article about 8 months later that was full of inaccuracies and general horseshit about the revolution. I bought a pdf copy of it from the Post some time back. Just as I recalled–on the first page he mentioned the RR brakeman in the gringo brigade. He spent most of his time with the New York folks, who went to a different coffee farm than I did. I don’t think he and I ever exchanged a single word. He liked that RR brakeman detail, though. He’s now a well-respected expert in journalistic ethics, teaching at Berkeley, where for a while he was Dean of the School of Journalism.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  I knew a girl that fled Nicaragua at that time, she was very sweet but damaged by her experiences with both the Sandinistas and the Contras. I won’t spell it out here but it was a series of grievous offenses to her personally and her family and friends. Taking in the larger picture, Americans seem to have been protected by both sides depending on “why” they were in country. I understand the experience and the open arms, sharing, familial type of living situ you’re describing though. Isn’t it amazing how much people with nothing will give? You’re a much “richer” person for having lived and shared that period of time in those places.

                  I doubt journalism has ever been purely about “the facts” as much as we’d like to romanticize that. I “get it” though, we’re all people and have some bent we will project into nearly everything we’re trying represent. To use a personality, someone he’d never actually interviewed let alone interacted with, seems uber ambitious and self-serving to me. Isn’t that the way the sharks prevail, after all?

                • xoot says:

                  Well, as I say, I saw Guatemala and Nicaragua in back to back Januaries in 84-85 (I was always laid off in the winter), and it was night and day. (My first clients (when I was still in law school, in 90) were a brother and sister who’d fled Guatemala because of the atrocities, as police officers, they’d been forced to participate in back in the mid 80s. We got em political asylum here.) Also, I have to cut the young journalist a little slack–I bet his bosses at the Post forced him to add a lot of the horseshit.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  And you haven’t written a book…why? I know one must have the focus and desire but I can see you doing that. And you have so much experience to mine from. Cool and “the right thing to do” to have helped people in fear of their lives that way. You keep surprising me in ways I’d not imagined.

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      The lead is a little bit Tom Petty and a smidge Bruce Springsteen. I missed out on a lot of the 80’s stuff probably cause my sensory faculties never fully recovered from In a gadda da vida ….

      • xoot says:

        The Beat Farmers were unapologetic about their admiration for mainstream successes like Springsteen and Neil Young and Lou Reed. They covered Reason to Believe and There She Goes Again on their first album. And the cover of Powderfinger on their second album may be cow punk’s apogee. No one can listen to that and remain umoved. imo

  8. sandy32koufax says:

    • xoot says:

      I’ve always figured the Beat Farmers left out the last verse of that song to show respect to Springsteen. Nebraska was a good record.

      “Congregation gathers down by the riverside
      “Preacher stands with his Bible groom stands waitin’ for his bride
      “Congregation gone and the sun sets behind a weepin’ willow tree
      “Groom stands alone and watches the river rush on so effortlessly
      “Lord and he’s wonderin’ where can his baby be
      “Still at the end of every hard earned day people find some reason to believe.”

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Where are you getting the lyrics from? And ya, people can talk smack all they want but Springsteen had/has incredible vision into the human condition and translates that so beautifully into his form of prose-song. I’ve always enjoyed listening to him speak on a variety of issues. Sad to say maybe, but maybe the funniest stuff I’ve ever heard him say are comments about Christie

        • xoot says:

          I used one of those shitty ring-tone lyrics sites. Had to clean out my temporary files afterward to get rid of the crap they dump into your computer while you’re copying the lines.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            I wanted to watch some sporting event that wasn’t on uverse and my buddy sent me a link to a site, I don’t remember what it was, that installed “Sweetpacks” on my laptop. THAT was incredibly difficult to unistall.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Springsteen. Winterland. Who remembers going? It was always magical.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            I never saw The Boss live.

          • xoot says:

            Summer 84–Oakland Arena–Reagan’s people were busy trying to appropriate Born in the U.S.A. Good concert.

            • sandy32koufax says:

              Good *Union Guy* that Reagan. I hated much of what he did to weaken labor in this country. I’ve only been to two concerts at the arena-I took a nephew to Rob Zombie, Korn and Blink182 and I took Dave Righettis’ sister in-law to Heatwave. The Blink part of the show was one too fun.

          • shoelessinbearvalley says:

            I was in Pullman that day (okay, probably not the same day) listening to Jethro Tull do his “Bursting Out / Songs From the Woods”. Never saw Springsteen live. That surely would have been unforgettable, however.

  9. shaman138 says:

    Sprungstein? Ewww

  10. sandy32koufax says:

    Here you go Chico, my fav AC/DC song

  11. Chico says:

    Thanks for the well wishes.. Inner and outer ear infection (his first).. Poor little guy was crying for 5 hours straight asking for a ‘band aid’ for his ear.. Pick up the antibiotics tomorrow am..

    I brought up a Cal football related story this past week and wanted to share the author’s private wordpress blog.. Sounds like he jumped the gun as he says here. I respect they guy. He admits his faults and that’s all you can ask for. One thing he should note is that NOT working for the Comical is a step up, not down.. http://hunterhewitt.wordpress.com/forget-what-is-behind-strain-towards-what-is-ahead/

    • Chico says:

      Oh, and word is he was fired..

    • xoot says:

      I have a pretty rudimentary sense of how news rooms used to work and how they work these days, but shouldn’t somebody have been supervising the rookie to make sure he didn’t screw up this way? Don’t editors approve or modify articles before they get published?

      • sandy32koufax says:

        You’d expect that type of oversight. OTOH, I can see Hewitt “selling” that as a huge scoop and the Chron editor’s eyes lighting up with a “Roll with it.”

        Feel badly for the kid though. IDK how this impacts his future in journalism, should he decide to go in that direction. If he’s your buddy, Chico, give him a pull up, we all need one sometimes.

  12. unca_chuck says:

    Ahhhh, the Mabuhay. Saw the Mentors there among thousands of others (DKs, Meat Puppets) Crazy ass show. The highlight of their career was to get quoted by Congress in the PMRC hearings. “On your chest I leave a shit tower” and some other memorably disgusting lyrics. Those were some funny-ass hearings. If not for the stupidity of it all. Who knew JohnDenver and Frank Zappa would be bedfellows in the arguments?

    • xoot says:

      Both RIP now, while a happily smiling Tipper gets on with her post-Al second act. Life ain’t fair. Meanwhile, the internet resolved the censorship debate.

  13. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    If those trade rumors are right and the Dodgers are looking to get rid of Ethier (and Kemp), and assuming I didn’t review his current $85M contract through 2018 (FA in 2019), if I were Sabean, I’d consider taking a serious look at Andre, who’s only 31, and if healthy could fill in that hole in the Giants OF. The key word being “healthy”. Unfortunately, a player trade with the Dodgers would be like making a Stygian bargain with the devil.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I can’t see how they can get rid of both w/o someone that as productive as either of them, when they’re healthy, to take over on D and O. Big pitching comes to mind though. Trade those two for some more stud arms? I could see that. A Beltran rental too? Ya, that makes sense.

  14. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Xoot’s Raiders at least are making a game of it today (3rd-Q), but I have to get back to my newest pre-winger hobby, Wood Splitting and Stacking 101 (worth 3 credits, I believe, towards graduation at Temescal University ;))

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      oops, that’s “pre-winter” (not sure what a “pre-winger’ is other than possibly something invented prior to the Wright Brothers, hence, not flight worthy?)

    • xoot says:

      Shoeless, it’s Sandy and Shaman who bear the burden of being Raiders fans. 9ers for me. As to wood splitting, you know that Robert Frost poem, Two Tramps in Mud Time? I spent some time splitting and stacking birch in AK and oak in the Santa Cruz mountains. Many years later hitting IF grounders and OF fly balls to Little Leaguers reminded me of the old ax swings. Sunday morning’s a great time for either ritual.

      • Chico says:

        Niners win but they’ll get tested. 27-20 Niners

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Xoot, that figures … they won’t touch the subject (okay, I admit Sandy has touched on the subject of the Raydahs once or twice, but only you have actually shown a willingness to bold go where few Raider fans go and say it like it is: The Raiders are the Houston of the NFL … which, you actually never said, but I guess I just did.

        • shaman138 says:

          I stopped watching that trainwreck weeks ago. My life is so much better when I completely detach from that team

          • sandy32koufax says:

            The Legacy of a deranged old nut lives on…

            • shoelessinbearvalley says:

              Al Davis in his early years was close to brilliant. Drafting a punter (Ray Guy) in the first round still ranks right up there as one of boldest and most surprisingly effective draft picks ever; but alas time (and age) took a toll on his pursuit of “excellence”.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Davis was still brilliant up to the mid to late 90’s. He lost it right about then. Must have had lots of nightmares starring Pete Rozelle, Dan Reeves and Bob Waterfield…

  15. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    SandyKoufax, You were right. There was a “David Johnson” – as seen on Bill Maher’s show this week. Yeah, funny stuff. (The “Scott Johnson” parody internet ‘political’ ads, coincidentally (apparently) follow the same comic format – but, not as well done.)

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Funny shite. Maher, Syewart and Colbert have some of the best stuff like that I see.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        All those lend a certain sanity and cheer to these otherwise incessantly negative and obstructionist t-party times.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          It seems like all of politics is a bunch of dirty ads anymore. Instead of the politicians or sponsors of a ballot proposal running them, it’s those 501c groups. Dirty pool just keeps getting dirtier. Sargant Shriver was child’s play

          • shoelessinbearvalley says:

            Yes. “Dollarocracy is destroying America” is how this week’s Bill Moyers’ program describes it, I think.

            • sandy32koufax says:

              All Hail Citizens United. Maher got a good one off Friday about the CO voters denying prop 66 and that make guest saying it was better to not spend more money on education. Can’t remember what he said exactly but I cracked on that one.

  16. Chico says:

    Niners O needs to step up and keep the D off the field.

  17. sandy32koufax says:

    Kaep had a net 46 yds passing? Wow

  18. sandy32koufax says:

    Interesting story. I’ve been discussing just these types of technologies with a couple of you here:

    http://blog.sfgate.com/techchron/2013/11/10/nsa-revelations-unleash-flood-of-new-customers-for-privacy-products/

  19. shaman138 says:

    Yeah, Bay Area ball choked hard today. Meanwhile, I’m loving this night game. Did you see Tony Blomo actually clap during one of Nola’s TDs. Moron

  20. shaman138 says:

    WTF, Sharks? What the fuck/

  21. mailorderwife says:

    New thread up!

Leave a Reply

