BASEBALL NEWS, WEEK OF 10/5 – 10/13

Saturday, 10/13
News
Post-season Notes
— After being hit by pitch in last night’s NLCS, Hanley Ramirez may or may not start tonight’s game.
Andre Ethier will not be starting.

TV Today:
NCAA Football: San Jose State Spartans v. Colorado State Rams – 12:30 pm PST/CBSS
NL Division Series: Lost Angeles Dodgers v. St. Louis Cardinals – 1:00 pm PST/TBS
NCAA Football: Stanford Cardinals v. Utah Polygamists – 3:00 pm PST/PACN
AL Division Series: Detroit Tigers v. Boston Red Sox – 5:00 pm PST/FOX
NHL: Ottawa Senators v. San Jose Sharks – 7:00 pm PST/Comcast
NCAA Football: Cal Golden Bears v. UGLY Bruins – 7:30 pm PST/ESPN2

—–

Friday, 10/11
TV Tonight:
NL Division Series: Lost Angeles Dodgers v. St. Louis Cardinals – 5:30 pm PST/TBS
NHL Hockey: San Jose Sharks v. Vancouver Canucks – 7:00 pm PST/Comcast Bay Area

Sports Quotes:
San Jose Shark’s Joe Thornton reacts to league criticism of Tomas Hertl’s celebration after scoring 4 goals in a game:

“I’d have my cock out if I scored four goals. I’d have my cock out, stroking it.”

Hot Links:
Order in City of San Jose v. Office of the Commissioner of Baseball
League of Denial: The NFL’s Concussion Crisis

—–
Thursday, 10/1010
TV Tonight:
AL Division Series: Oakland Coeds v. Detroit Tigers – 6:07 pm PST/TBS
NHL Hockey: San Jose Sharks v. Vancouver Canucks – 7:00 pm PST/Comcast Bay Area
NFL Football: New York Giants v. Chicago Bears – 5:25 pm PST/NFL Network

—–
Wednesday, 10/9
TV Tonight:
NL Division Series: Pittsburgh Pirates at St. Louis Cardinals – 2:07 pm PST/MLB Network

—–

Tuesday, 10/8
News
Breaking (1:38pm PST) — The Chicago Cubs have signed outfielder Ryan Sweeney to a two-year (or)deal.
— Per Mark Sheldon, Bronson Arroyo has not yet heard from the Reds.

TV Tonight:
AL Division Series: Oakland A’s v. Detroit Tiggers – 2:07 pm PST/MLB Network
AL Division Series: Boston Red Sux v. Tampa Bay Rays – 5:37 pm PST/TBS
NHL Hockey: New York Rangers v. San Jose Sharks – 7:30 pm PST/CSN Bay Area

—–

Monday, 10/7
TV Tonight:
AL Division Series: Oakland A’s v. Detroit Tiggers – 10:07 am PST/MLB Network
NL Division Series: St. Louis Cardinals v. Pittsburgh Pirates – 12:37 pm PST/TBS
AL Division Series: Boston Red Sux v. Tampa Bay Rays – 3:07 am PST/TBS
NL Division Series: Mylanta Braves v. Lost Angeles Booooodgers – 6:37 PM pst/TBS
NFL Football: New York Jets v. Mylanta Falcons – 5:40 PM pst/Eastern Sports Poker Network

—–

Sunday, 10/6
TV Tonight:
NL Division Series: St. Louis Cardinals v. Pittsburgh Pirates – 1:37 pm PST/TBS
NFL Football: San Francisco 49ers v. Houston Texans – 5:30 PM pst/NBC
NL Division Series: Mylanta Braves v. Lost Angeles Booooodgers – 6:07 PM pst/TBS
NFL Football: San Diego Super Chargers v. Oaktown Raiders – 8:35 PM pst/NFL Network

—–

Saturday, 10/5
We’re all watching the Detroit Tigers v. Oakland A’s. I’m watching the San Jose Sharks. Real news will start on Sunday. DISCUSS!

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

240 Responses to BASEBALL NEWS, WEEK OF 10/5 – 10/13

  1. xoot says:

    Battle of the bullpens now? Good game A’s/Los Tigres. Somebody has to tie into one, and I have a hunch it’ll be a Motown hit.

  2. sandy32koufax says:

    Get ur bum BACK in this chatroom! GREAT baseball game and Sharks, isn’t that “preseason?” BAH!

  3. sandy32koufax says:

    Chico, I thought Bears could kill Cougars?

  4. sandy32koufax says:

    Damn good theatre this game.

  5. xoot says:

    I don’t know. This lds game was both slow and tense, which gets downright boring. AL baseball sucks. No really good D plays, no good hits. They strike out trying to hit bombs and occasionally just dink it out? wtf? One bunt for a pop out. I’ve seen little league “pitchers duels” that were more entertaining than this game.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Stop. That’s NL hubris talking.

      Game, Oaktown ties the series on a walkoff single by Vogt

      • sandy32koufax says:

        22 K’s, 1-0 walkoff, what’s not to like?

        • xoot says:

          I think those numbers say it — except that you left out the most important fact: walk off single. AL teams swing for the fences and when they miss the games suck.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Buddy, it was boring to you the way most pro football is to me anymore. And yes, I did mention the walkoff single…

            • xoot says:

              well fuck I’ll go in and edit those posts then

              the slowness, the working the count nature of the game is killing me. Example: How many DPs tonight? The AL style of ball, at least the way the A’s play it, somehow manages to excise the most exciting parts of the game. It sucks.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                It’s definitely a dif style than NL ball is. Hey, we both feel the same way about the DH. As to DP’s? I think I heard in the postgame that Fielder had no attempts at first, wtf? Nearly half of the outs in the game came by K too. The A’s seem to either grind or go big. Tonighht was a grind.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Let me put it this way-was last night’s game such a drag?

  6. sandy32koufax says:

    BTW? Mark Davis is NUTS if he thinks people are going to intentionally drive to a stadium at the old Concord Weapons NS. Terrible traffic issues and too far away.

  7. unca_chuck says:

    AL baseball, 1-0 game goes 3.5 hours. ZZZZZzzzzzzzzz………..

  8. unca_chuck says:

    In contrast, the Marichal/Spahn game, 16 innings, took 4 hours.

    If that was,say, Glavine vs. Schmidt, the game woulda been over in 2 hours.

  9. xoot says:

    I guess this happens every year–I don’t watch AL games much during the regular season and then get pissed off watching them in October. The pace sucks. The A’s play a particularly annoying brand of it. Here’s a contrast: Petit’s near-perfecto is probably the most exciting game I’ve ever attended (and I’ve seen some good ones, including the famous Brian Johnson HR game in 97). But Petit’s game had action. It was beautiful to watch him induce routine grounders, and there were a couple of brilliant plays behind him, too. The A’s defense just isn’t that good, with the exceptions I guess of 3B and RF. The guy pitching vs. Petit, btw, Corbin, pitched really well, too. So it’s a fairly interesting comparison with last night’s slog. Game length for Petit’s beauty? 2:12.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I’m not a fan of the AL and its DH. I once saw Phil Niekro hit a grand slam at Candlestick. Who wouldn’t love that?

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Truth be told, I don’t watch much AL ball either. When the A’s were loaded with studs in the 70’s I loved em. Then came the DH, that ruined AL ball for me, for the most part. I don’t find their game boring but the AL game is entirely diff than the NL version strategically. If you play in the field, you should take at bats. THAT’S baseball.

        Pirates take a 2-0 lead in the bottom 1st with two out…Cards are def having a shitty year at PNC.

  10. sandy32koufax says:

    Dick Stockton is such a tool!

  11. sandy32koufax says:

    Russmart great throw but better running and he’s safe…

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    WHOOP

  13. sandy32koufax says:

    Sorry but all of these stats for post season play kill me…”And he passes the Babe”…the Babe only played in WS settings. Like Whitey Ford and his 10 WS wins…

  14. sandy32koufax says:

    Look, it’s Bee-Yoo-Tee-Full Dodger Stadium!

  15. Chico says:

    The Pirates won, the Seachickens lost.. Now if the Dodgers lose and the Niners win, this day will be complete! btw, I took the over in the Dallas/Denver game! #Romoisachokeartist

  16. sandy32koufax says:

    Ryu is continuing his September swoon so far…”Not good Indy…”

  17. shoelessinlassen says:

    Wow, Ryu not sharp tonight. ‘Even’ The Giants beat Ryu the last time they face him in SF, I believe. First Greinke goes down in flames and now Ryu? Oh, for the love of god, make it so! 🙂

    • sandy32koufax says:

      How did Greinke go down in flames? 4 hits, 2 earned runs in 6 sounds like a QS to me.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        PULL THIS ASSHAT NOW!

      • shoelessinlassen says:

        Fair enough! (Greinke got credited with the loss – but in the end, it was really the Dodger’s reliever, Withrow, who was anything but ‘on fire’ the other night.)

        The Dodger bats are alive and kickin’ tonight. I seriously doubt Atlanta will be able to keep pace in tonight’s – so far – slugfest.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Atl has a chance if Ryu gets to hit…PH!

        • shoelessinlassen says:

          Incidentally, Wilson looked really sharp by comparison in the 8th of the same game the other night. I personally wish there had been a way for the Giants to hold onto him, but not having a ticket to the post season – and the Dodgers did – may have had something to do with why it went down as it did. The other part, could have had something to do with the money, I suppose (although the Dodger’s offer of $1 mil w/incentives seemed rather modest). Perhaps, as an LAD fan, you have a better angle on what happened, sandy? In any case … back to the games.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            LA had no such ticket at the time he signed, they were in first though. $1M isn’t anything to sneeze at when you’re out of work but Wilson was looking to prove himself and he needed a stage, one like LA could afford him. Let’s see where he lands next year or if LA retains him…

            • shoelessinlassen says:

              I can see you know about as much as Giants fans regarding the Wilson acquisition. I see you are stickler for absolute ‘accuracy’. Yes, LAD had no ticket as such, but they were everyone’s best bet to get to the post season given 1) the competition and 2) the way the team played and came together after Puig joined up. But obviously not every LAD fan had as much confidence at the time in their own team as outside observers.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                I admit to two things: I recently had a major upheaval in my live which necessitated several address changes, and I focused on things besides baseball and I had a HUGE problem with my old laptop. I have an beaut now though:-)

                Ya, I’m a bit anal about that whole “get it right” thing.

                I apologize to the entire board for that too

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  Addressing the Puig situ, I loved the guy from the “gitgo.” Come what may, per Freema’s great season, I’m still picking Puig for ROY.

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  and oh, last thing inre your post-I really expected AZ to run away with the Div.

  18. sandy32koufax says:

    6 innings is a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG way for relievers to go.

  19. shoelessinlassen says:

    Who needs Ryu when LAD bats “unleash hell” upon the pitch-less Braves?

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    I HATE this term but…HELLA PLAY, CRAWFORD!

  21. sandy32koufax says:

    HOW many “Speedy Oil Changes” is that for Mylanta tonight?

  22. mailorderwife says:

    Using Facebook’s “like” feature, Eastern Sports Poker Network has charted a map to show the popularity of the Bay Area’s baseball and football teams. Read it and weep, Mossback: Map of Popularity.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      LOL, hey mossbutt n slats macbuttlick, I dig the a’s n ray-duhs but you two make it a smidge harder to be onboard alla time. guys like you ruin super bowl parties and relish in attending funerals.

  23. datswhatsup says:

    Sfdf
    Congrats on your (effing) team advancing.

    You’ve been a loyal fan which must make this season sweeter thanthor the band wagoners.

    Must admit thought Donnie Two Trips panicked starting CK with a 2-1 advantage, but I’m sure StL or Pit won’t minding putting off seeing CK until game 3.

    Okay that’s as nice as I can be.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Well thanks dats, I see you’re handily handing slatsco their asses on the beat tonight.

      Good on ya for that.

      Ya, MOW makes me fully aware of how diff I am than LA locals are re LAD. Oh well, she needs to spend some time in San Gabriel V or south and east of there to find the “real” D-fans I guess.

      Ya, Kersh starting didn’t jazz me at all…seems to be okay so far tho. Greinke has his shit on and LA can go G1, K2, then who knows what…Ryu has sucked since Sept 1.

      Andy Pafko of Cubbie/Dodger/etc fame died at 92, may he Rest In Peace…

      • shoelessinlassen says:

        From what I’ve seen of the playoff teams, The Dodgers’ lineup appears to be the most potent, fearsome 8 at the plate right now. Uribe rediscovering his 2010 groove doesn’t help opposing pitchers, who have their work cut out – now more than ever – as the Dodgers bunch of highly overpaid mercenaries, coupled to a couple key Giants FA’s appears to be the Goliath of this year’s MLB playoff teams.

        With apology to SandyKoufax, here’s hoping the Pirates pull off an upset win over the Cardinals today; and as The David of this year’s NL playoffs (Tampa was the AL’s equivalent) find a way to ‘sling’ a way to a series victory over the Dodgers. Go Pirates! 🙂

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Hey, it’s still better than FOX or McWhoops. Barely.

          Hey, IF the Bucs can beat the Cards cool. Also IF LA falls to them, I’ll root for them against anyone BUT Oaktown. Damn I hate the Red Sox the way many of you hate the Yanks.

  24. Chico says:

    Special announcement regarding reader comments, blogs and photos

    SFGate will soon be moving to a new user platform in order to give our readers a richer and more streamlined experience. The platform that powers the reader-submitted comments, blogs and photos will change on the evening of October 16, 2013. Comments older than two weeks will be removed, and we will be moving to another commenting platform after that date. (Please note that user information will remain the same – you will be able to login under your current user credentials.)

    Although we will be removing content from our sites, there are a few things you can do in the meantime to archive some of your submissions.

    *Any thoughts?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      LOL, lost without any charts?

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Yeah, I have a thought … it’s about #$%@ time!!! This year’s comments and “Splash” sections were riddled with more trolling A’s fans than I can recall, carrying chips the size of Coit Tower and The Transamerica Pyramid building combined.

      Still, unlike a part of Congress, I prefer to wait and see what the new format really offers before feeling obliged to condemn the new blog, let alone The Affordable Health Care Act as a complete, before-the-fact, abject failure; because for me to have to admit some much needed, ‘new and improved’ Giants blog format – than the crap we previously did not enjoy – would be an affront to my otherwise unshakeable and unreasoning trust in my own extreme right wing partisan ideology. 😉

  25. sandy32koufax says:

    I think it’s all about accountability. Sign in with a “traceable” ID and screw up and VOILA! IP addy or some other way to track uisers

  26. Chico says:

    Holy shit! The rookie scored 4 goals tonight, and has 6 goals in 4 games in his rookie season?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Ya, some hot southern cali babe told me about this via the twit-thing last night-she wouldn’t turn the channel for baseball!

      • mailorderwife says:

        TOMAS HERTL!!!! Yeah…I wasn’t about to watch baseball over this. Hertl is already amazing, and this goal was quite possibly the best thing I’ve ever seen. SHARRRRKS!

      • mailorderwife says:

        Oh…and remember you told me about the Sharks window closing? Logan Couture is what…24? And he’s already amazing, even if one of the Warriors thought he was a Yahoo employee during a Bay Area athletics sporting event. With Hertl and Nietto, Sharks future looks bright. All you needed to see was Jumbo Thornton’s face after the above goal to see the joy on his face.

  27. sandy32koufax says:

    Aldo “Aw gots muh guhuns” Smith arrested on felony weapons charges!

    http://www.sfgate.com/sports/articleComments/49er-Aldon-Smith-hit-with-felony-gun-charges-4882140.php

    • mailorderwife says:

      Hmmm…49ers have so many problem personalities.

      • shoelessinlassen says:

        But, thankfully, probably not as many problem personalities as men’s World Wide Wrestling Federation events, eh?! Alas, I suspect those who actually watch World Wide Wrestling may have as many if not more problems than those steroidal hulks inside the ring.

        • mailorderwife says:

          I used to watch wrestling when I was a kid. I don’t think those guys were on steroids, because they were mostly pudgy. Rocky Johnson had some reasonable abs and muscles, but his son The Rock is roidness. Pat Patterson, Kenji Shibuya, Mr. Fuji…those guys had a mid-section of pudginess. They weren’t fat, but they weren’t fit in the modern sense. Haystack Calhoun was on natural lard steroids. Cow Palace glory.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Last time I was in the Cow Palace was 2003 to buy my first laptop, used no less. I was astonished at the decay of the old place. Talk about ruining memories from ones youth. When I read that capital improvements were being discussed I was so happy…IDK if that ever actually took place though.

  28. datswhatsup says:

    I hope the a’s lose tomorrow, being a dick is growing tiresome and I feel bad that a’s fans not named Slats, Nigel, Joe Snarky, Nickster & Italian Mobster have to endure my railings. It’s funny Nigel is not to bad, and I think he realizes he invited it after his Giant bashing this summer on the Splash.

    I must admit there is a guilty pleasure on some of the posts, but I prefer rooting for a team versus against a team when there’s no dog in the fight (exception: I’m always rooting against the Dodgers SFDF).

    Getting Buddy5 to go bye bye went to my head I think I posted that steaming load into submission and he’s another blog’s problem now, but I just feel these douche nozzles deserve a little payback for their time on the Splash this year.

    Hopefully we stay in our own sandboxes in 2014

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Check for him in some other incarnation at the merc blogs.

    • Chico says:

      I’m also hoping the A’s lose.. Dodgers, too.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Ye Gads…

      • xoot says:

        I can’t root against the A’s; but if they go down tomorrow night, I won’t be heartbroken. Of course, I’m praying that the dodgers finally get to the WS after many many years in the wasteland — but not this year. Maybe 2022. 😉

    • xoot says:

      slats/mac is always the worst — craven piece of dung, that guy. The rest of the A’s trolls at least try to put on a show. Nigel’s ok. It’s entirely possible to discuss stuff with him.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Cards are putting a DP clinic tonight.

        55 yrs? Why would that number be relevant again? I’d really rather the Dodgers play the Pirates…Cards are tough. So, Wainwright vs Kersh in game on short rest?

        Ya, much of that crew just ruin A’s baseball for me. Nigel is funny though and does have a reasonable side…two run jack by Matt Adams HUGE

        • Chico says:

          Slats is a fucking pussy. And he knows it. All he does is lie – like when he said that Sandy claimed to live in Pac-Heights.. Sandy never said that, so now he resorts to playing like Sandy works at Home Depot, another lie.. I hope the A’s go down hard!

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      I publicly posted to Chico’s little thread back on the Splash that I was rooting for the “Pirates and A'”.

      Well, I have a guilty admission to make: I’ve been quietly rooting for Cleveland, Texas, and now Detroit. Because, the repeat A’s trolls, who frequented the Splash all season long proved the very worst type of ‘ambassador’ for the team across the bay. As I mentioned, there’s a little guilt in ‘secretly’ rooting for the A’s demise – not because I’m against the players or the franchise as a whole; but, because, I can’t stand the size of the A’s fans’ chip they carry 24 hours a day, 365 days a year on the back. And, I can’t stand how they in turn do nothing but root against the Giants.

      My Dad was an A’s fan. I was once an A’s fan. I don’t wish the team ill; but I believe that in the short term, at least, the kind of A’s fan, who littered the Splash last year ad this, merits nothing less than some kind of necessary comeuppance. I say this with a somewhat conflicted, heavy heart.

      That comeuppance, hopefully might come this very evening in game 5 – at home no less – against Verlander and the Tigers. (And if the A’s should win and move on … then I respectfully defer to … fate … and the very omnipotent gods of baseball, who are far wiser and far more connected to the bigger cosmic picture in the universe of balls and strikes in which we all live, but have absolutely no control over whatsoever.)

  29. xoot says:

    anybody else notice that Dave Flemming’s voice gets unusually deep when espn radio broadcasts it? I don’t hear that timbre when he does Giants or Stanford games. Much like the artificial “crack” of the bat and thump of the mitt on tbs?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Maybe he drinks Knob Creek during jints games and ESPN provides Blanton’s Original Single Barrel Bourbon Whiskey as part of his compensation?

      No, I never noticed it.

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Perhaps, it’s part of ESPN’s particular ‘EQ’ Philosophy of Broadcasting wherein they pump up to exaggerate the bass frequencies of all their broadcasters so as to make them sound just slightly more like one might imagine if they were listening to the deep, booming ‘voice of god’, who had stepped into the booth to offer tonight’s play by play?

      hmmmmm …. Dave Flemming and ‘the voice of god’ … I wonder if there might be a possible connection? 🙂

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Flem…Voice Of God…nah.

        I am tired of that stupid “ringing” thing these stations do. I have tinnitus and I keep thinking I’m having a flare up or something. Pissing me off.

  30. sandy32koufax says:

    Here’s a link to a page that allows you to save everything you’d like to from your sfgate acct but I see no explanation or direction about anything including the format

    http://www.sfgate.com/community/announcements/

  31. sandy32koufax says:

    Cinderellas, Davids and Underdogs are all out except for tomorrow’s game

  32. Chico says:

    Xoot, Sandy, MOW, Shoeless, Chuck, Dats, and everyone else here: please watch this when you get the time. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/league-of-denial/

    • xoot says:

      I’ve only had time to watch the first 15 minutes, but I’ll watch it all. Amazing.

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Chico,

      It’s a disturbing trailer to the Frontline series that I believe (part 1) aired last night. I missed it. I will catch part 2 next week (scheduled for October 15). So, “What the league knew and when did they know it?” is in the main what Frontline will explore.

      So, I noticed in reviewing “The Latest” of archived articles the following:

      Five weeks into the NFL season, here’s where the NFL’s concussion picture stands so far in 2013:

      •In all, teams have reported a total of 36 concussions this season, a pace of 7.2 per week.
      •Nine wide receivers have been sidelined by a head injury, more than any other position in the league. On the defensive side of the field, cornerbacks lead the way with eight concussions.
      •With four concussions each, the Bengals and Titans have reported more head injuries than any other team. Of all 32 teams in the league, 12 have yet to report a head injury.

      Notice the last sentence, “Of all 32 teams …” only “12 have yet to report a head injury.”

      This alone sounds a bit damning on the face of it – not to mention, yes, “A league in Denial,” eh?

  33. xoot says:

    Litigation update: A-Rod’s lawsuit vs. mlb has been “removed” from state court in N.Y., which means essentially that mlb picked it up and put it into federal court in NY, arguing that the entire dispute is preempted by federal labor law. mlb will argue to the federal judge that A-Rod’s case should go to arbitration, under the CBA. They’ll be right, I think. A-Rod’s lawyers, as I expected, displaced the union’s lawyers in his current arbitration. They’ll have to do the same again. He’ll spend millions fighting these fights.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      He’s probably earned upwards of half a $B, so he can afford to blow $10M-$20M. Although IDSee what he actually gains by this. Earlier in the season I thought he’d only try to finish this season out, now I think someone has sold him on the idea that he can have the suspension reduced to half or less. I surely hope that he has to serve the full 200+ games.

      A’s are choking to Verlander and the Tigers

      Again…

  34. sandy32koufax says:

    Dats, pounding on the Oakdoor 🙂

  35. mailorderwife says:

    All those A’s fans making fun of our Panda. Bet they wish his bat was in the A’s lineup right now.

  36. xoot says:

    slats is hiding under his bed and getting updates from the neighbor kid who brings him his bad pizzas

    • sandy32koufax says:

      And the exodus begins:

      Susan Slusser ✔ @susanslusser
      Unless the A’s come back in the ninth inning, this could well be Balfour’s final appearance with Oakland; he’s a free agent after season.

      Again…

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Joe Stiglich @joestiglich
      M.C. Hammer is actually here. Unfortunately, the A’s are Too Legit To Hit right now. #Athletics

  37. sandy32koufax says:

    I wonder what BRILLIANT moves Billy has up his cheap ass sleeve for next season?

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Let’s be fair. Billy Beane certainly does not have the 7 billion dollar, 25 year contract with Fox Sports, hence, not a multi-hundred million dollar payroll to buy everything in sight that the Dodgers have enjoyed of late.

      Billy Beane is not cheap ass. But A’s ownership certainly is.

  38. mailorderwife says:

    Cespedes takes it in the nether region for the team!

  39. sandy32koufax says:

    That popup, in the 70’s, would have yielded a bottle thrown at Hunter…my how times have changed!

  40. datswhatsup says:

    Off to the dumbest to teach Slats and Joe Snarky you don’t bring a slap to a fist fight

  41. xoot says:

    My two kids grew up playing baseball in the Oakland Little League. They were Giants fans against a horde of A’s fans. They developed a hatred of the A’s as they stood their ground against the mindless majority. (Well, maybe that’s a bit overstated. I coached a few of those LL teams, and the anti-Giants heckling wasn’t all that bad, unless you were a kid.) Anyway, I’m sure they’re both celebrating tonight. I can’t root against Oakland. I think the Oakland/Berkeley metro area is one of the best places in the world. But I’ve developed an antipathy for Billy Beane and Wolff/Fisher. I’m glad those bastards lost.

  42. shoelessinlassen says:

    I’m glad “buddy5” and “glib” lost tonight. Next year, I expect them to return to the SFGate blog incognito as “buddy-zero” and “too-glib-4-my-own-gud”.

  43. Chico says:

    You guys are brutal. Lol!

  44. sandy32koufax says:

    Later Dowders…

  45. Chico says:

    LMAO! The beat is hilarious tonight!

  46. xoot says:

    slats/mac keeps putting up posts essentially admitting that he lurks here. craven, masochistic piece of dung, ain’t he?

  47. Chico says:

    Judge says MLB can block A’s move…. So, on to SCOTUS?

    • xoot says:

      I’ve read the order. The judge dismissed all claims except two tiny ones related to the $25,000 option agreement San Jose has with the A’s. That sets up a strange situation. On the one hand, San Jose’s lawyers are going to want to push ahead with the litigation to threaten mlb with the discovery process–demanding documents, taking depositions, etc. On the other hand, San Jose’s lawyers may be interested in taking what’s known as an interlocutory appeal. They could ask Judge Whyte to certify the case for appeal now, even though there’s no final judgment on all claims yet. In that event, I’d expect the small part of the case remaining behind to be “stayed,” pending appeal.

      Appeal would be first to the 9th Circuit. That certainly would take more than one year; perhaps two. Then the loser could file a Petition for Certiorari in the U.S. SCt. That would take a while. The Supreme Court then would have total discretion to say, thanks, but no thanks.

      I’ll see if I can figure out how to post a pdf. then anyone who wants to read the Order can do so. Might be a useful diversion if the dodgers take a big lead tonight.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Like our in-house counsel suggested…MLB’s discovery will become Sj/A’s discovery in time too so, ya…SCOTUS later rather than sooner.

  48. unca_chuck says:

    Charlie Johnson has way more money than Wolffie, so the victory goes to Charlie and the Giants.

  49. xoot says:

    Hey! I managed to insert Judge Whyte’s Order in the San Jose v. mlb lawsuit at the top of MOW’s post without messing anything up. Just click on the link that is titled, of course: “Order.” Voila!

  50. Chico says:

    Off to watch my nephew who plays for Sequoia play at and against my alma mater.. I’ll be sitting in the visitors section with my brother and family, but will be wearing my alma mater’s hat. Kind of awkward, but not really. It’s family.

  51. Chico says:

    I’m not going to link it because that dude has had a VERY bad 24 hours with the loss and the lawsuit thing, but Mossback on twitter is funny. #firebobmelvin.. LOL!

  52. unca_chuck says:

    You a Tiger, Chico?

  53. mailorderwife says:

    I put up Chico’s link to the front page, along with a rather delightful quote by Joe Thornton. Enjoy!

  54. sandy32koufax says:

    “I’d have my cock out if I scored four goals. I’d have my cock out, stroking it.”

    Ya, hockey players are funny

  55. Chico says:

    Sequoia is getting beat 14-0. And that quote is hilarious. Rock out with your cock out!

  56. shoelessinlassen says:

    Damn Uribe! He drives in 2 runs with bases loaded and 2 outs in the third. Right now, he’s the hottest Dodger at the plate.

  57. xoot says:

    Beltran and Holliday were born to be Cardinals. Mutherfuckers that they are. But hey! they may whip the bums again!

  58. sandy32koufax says:

    Puig is choking at bat but man…whattan arm!

  59. shoelessinlassen says:

    Puig, the bastard!

    Okay, Dodgers up and who is but … Puig, the bastard!

  60. shoelessinlassen says:

    Wow, Don pulls Gonzalez and appears to be going for broke in the 8th with a pinch runner … the move completely backfires: Puig, “the bastard,” hits into a force out at 2nd, followed by DP. Momentum shift to Cards.

  61. shoelessinlassen says:

    Let me change that to Greinke has pitched a great game tonight. Game has the feel of going into extra innings.

  62. sandy32koufax says:

    Bill Shaikin ‏@BillShaikin 2m
    Now Brian Wilson is up for #Dodgers.

  63. shoelessinlassen says:

    Brian in the 9th … in his comfort zone.

  64. sandy32koufax says:

    Bill Shaikin ‏@BillShaikin 1m
    Matt Holliday 4 for 10 vs Brian Wilson.

  65. sandy32koufax says:

    4 for 11

  66. sandy32koufax says:

    He likes that torture shit

  67. xoot says:

    good game. I don’t much like seeing TV closeups of Wilson’s elbow scars tho

  68. shoelessinlassen says:

    Ellis has continued to come up with some huge hits.

  69. sandy32koufax says:

    Fucking great throw

  70. sandy32koufax says:

    Look at that replay…Molina’s glove doesn’t actually make contact with Ellis.

  71. xoot says:

    Beltran called off the cf becz he knew he’d have momentum on the throw. he did and Molina played it tough at home helluva play

  72. shoelessinlassen says:

    Dogs sure have had their chances ….

  73. sandy32koufax says:

    Fuck, Carpenter is nearly thrown out

  74. sandy32koufax says:

    Almost time for the 14th inning stretch 😉

  75. sandy32koufax says:

    Bill Shaikin ‏@BillShaikin 9s
    First round of draft: Pete Kozma 18th to #Cardinals, Chris Withrow 20th to #Dodgers. Withrow now in for LA.

  76. xoot says:

    huh. some excitement

  77. sandy32koufax says:

    It’s Deja Vu all over again

  78. sandy32koufax says:

    Lates

  79. xoot says:

    mutherfucker

  80. shoelessinlassen says:

    xoot called it earlier: Beltran had an mvp game tonight.

  81. Chico says:

    StLouis takes game 1.. Yes!

  82. sandy32koufax says:

    Delcalso went to Saint Francis HS in Mtn View.

    Kersh goes tomorrow…

    Anomaly for LA batting tonight…they’ll take this next game

  83. shoelessinlassen says:

    Neither Ramirez nor Ethier will start today. If not for Kershaw starting, the Dogs situation looks precarious. Maybe, the best strategy for Don to take is order Kershaw to slam Beltran in the ribs with a similar 95 mph fastball?

  84. sandy32koufax says:

    There’s my gripe with Ellis’ catching skilz-he MAY have awesome defensive stats but it seems, too often to me, that he gives up so many easy plays that hurt his team. That passed ball was all on him. Then the runner scores, 1-0 Cards…BLARGH!

  85. shoelessinlassen says:

    Bases loaded. First pitch to Puig called a strike – but definitely low. Can appreciate Puig’s ‘consternation’.

  86. sandy32koufax says:

    And Puig doesn’t even seem to be watching the ball! O-fer 8 this series…

  87. sandy32koufax says:

    Wacha is @100 pitches, Kersh 72. 8K’s for W, 5 for K. Oh ya, then there’s that unearned run

  88. sandy32koufax says:

    Story of this series so far is good pitching and LA’s O not showing up

  89. xoot says:

    I think Donnie 2Ts should have left Kershaw in. Hell, he had one of the bums hits, and he was dealing. Burning the pen the day after a 13 inning night? Easy enough to say after the fact, however.

    I love NL baseball. I’ll bet the game this evening will end 10-8.

  90. sandy32koufax says:

    Man, Puig’s eyes are so not watching the ball

  91. sandy32koufax says:

    HUGE hole heading home

  92. sandy32koufax says:

    I’m off to the marina and get something to drown my sorrows in…enjoy LA’s mystifying inability to score runs with guys on third and less than two out!

    Kersh is no longer a “tinman” BTW

    • mailorderwife says:

      Kershaw is bank, and LA should take a careful lesson to continue to build from within instead of blowing their wad on expensive players. Cards and the SF Giants of the WS era are great examples of this.

      • shoelessinlassen says:

        Dodgers pitching has been everything and more than I expected. Certainly, good enough to win. But suddenly, the Dog’s bats have gone into early hibernation. Results on Ramirez are negative. Dodgers have hopes he will be able to play in game 3.

  93. Chico says:

    As predicted, Puig costs the Dodgers the only run in the game. They’re in serious trouble now!

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      heehee … Puig’s final at bat of the day, same as all the others. He looks like a deer in headlights … or George W. Bush walking through his own newly erected presidential library, asking, “Hey, who reads this shit? I sure don’t!”

  94. mailorderwife says:

    Should be interesting since the Dodgers blew their 1-2 while the Cardinals are set to start Wainwright.

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Good point. Going home to LA should provide a boost, along with the return of Ramirez to the lineup, assuming he’s fit to play.

      But, from last night’s 13 innings loss to today’s shutout, to the untimely loss of Kemp and Ethier, and now Ramirez in game one, all seem to conspire against the team’s chances to go any deeper than beating the Braves.

  95. xoot says:

    well, maybe I was wrong about the score–we’ll see. But not about the pace. this is a 1-0 no hitter in the 6th inning and it’s already approaching 3 hours. htf does the AL drag these things out? The Cardinal/dodger game was 2 hrs 40 mins of great baseball.

  96. sandy32koufax says:

    Silver lining…my HS football team beat Paly and UCLA showed up again, big time.

  97. mailorderwife says:

    New post up!

Leave a Reply

