Why ARod’s Problems Don’t Matter to the Rest of Us

Giants are playing the Brewers tough tonight, but I’m not sure that justifies a new post. Maybe the Biogenesis story does. Maybe not. But here goes.

I worked as a RR brakeman for about a decade, member of a pretty strong union, but I never had firsthand experience with the union grievance process. Other guys I worked with weren’t so lucky.

In 79-81, before the Reagan recession, the RR was booming. During the summer, we’d get called to take a train to Roseville or Watsonville, get called in 6 hours to take one back to Oakland, and then 6 hours later get called to start over again. Money was flowing, and so was the coke in the caboose and the liquor at the end of the line. The RR honchos didn’t care. They just wanted to keep the freight rolling.

One guy went off the deep end. His behavior on trains got weird. He finally got so loaded one weekend he called in sick, then went to the roundhouse in San Jose, climbed up onto an idling locomotive and took off down the line toward Gilroy. He soon split a switch and put the engine on the ground, so nobody got hurt. The union grieved his case, and he was back at work six months later.

The mlb union has now appealed ARod’s suspension by invoking the union grievance procedures. The mlb union, however, earlier cooperated every step of the way with mlb in developing the case against ARod. I really don’t understand how the union can argue the case. ARod’s own lawyers will probably carry the weight. Strange situation.

But to the point: ARod is exactly the opposite of the fuckup I knew on the RR. The fuckup wasn’t using PEDs, he was using drugs to try to cope with being treated like a machine. As outrageous as his conduct became, he still deserved a defense, and he got one. Some rehab, some counseling—he was probably primed to start over. ARod, however, deserves no such sympathy or defense. Personally, I’m fine with seeing the union assist mlb in giving ARod the shaft.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

210 Responses to Why ARod’s Problems Don’t Matter to the Rest of Us

  1. sandy32koufax says:

    I have never read the MLBPA’s CBA so don’t know all of the provisions re this situ. Nor have I read the rules which govern the Commissioner’s authority as head of MLB. I know he has wide and semi-sweeping powers. I also know they have been greatly diminished over the years by both legal rulings and union inroads.

    That said, the short answer is that, despite absolutely not wanting to, the union has to rep the guy. Even if Selig had banned him, the union would be on the hook to front for him. I’m unsure why the MLBPA stood around during discovery, etc., but think it’s entirely possible that due to what is sounding like an avalanche of team reps like Brian McCann, that the union didn’t act because they too want either the drugs gone or the appearance of same. I don’t think we’re going to see even the tip of ice berg, again on this. I think the union is still in cahoots with the owners and that’s why only 13 were suspended. Kemp? Maybe. He’s the wounded party by Braun’s actions so let’s make him a hero if he can stay healthy. He did em too. And, I agree xoot, aroids attys are going to carry the weight on this. And, don’t be surprised when his suspension is lessened to 100 games.

    WOW! I kinda went off there…gotta quit taking those damn testosterone injections 😉

  2. Chico says:

    Great post Xoot.. As for that pathetic display the Giants put on tonight:

  3. unca_chuck says:

    Chico, you still having problems on my site? Dennis is now saying he can’y post

    You could try clearing out your cache and deleting old Internet files (then restart). That works sometimes.

  4. datswhatsup says:

    Union HAS to fight this because it smells of MLB looking for a goat (Bonds can’t be poster boy for blame anymore) and a Team looking for a way to void a contract.

    I believe that qualifies as a slippery slope.

    As an alter boy of a player I would fight this, when $100M is at stake whose to say a little Mickey couldn’t be slipped to void my contract.

    Not an A-Rod fan but, keeping with your topic…he’s getting rail roaded!

    Oh and by the way ever notice that Buddy5 is a needle dick ?

    Ha

  5. datswhatsup says:

    It’s open season on SFGATE!

    Baggin’ some buddy5 and a few aaa’s

  6. Flavor says:

    great post, thanks. A perspective I hadn’t considered and the personal story you told really added to the thread

  7. JDR says:

    Hi all. Will have posts soon, but currently dealing with a perfect storm of shitty life heppenings.

  8. xoot says:

    So long as we’re on the off topic of rail unions, did you see how outraged the BART employee unions were today when Gov. Brown told them they can’t threaten a new strike to start Monday, that if they don’t make a deal this weekend they’ll have to spend the next 60 days “cooling down”? Jerry Brown would never have won a single election without the zealous support of public employee unions in Calif. Brown’s gotten awfully pragmatic at the end of his career. He’s pissing off anyone and everyone without regard to future political advantage.

    He’ll get that high-speed rail project rolling before he kicks the bucket, though.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Public employee unions aside, if he didn’t get the general LABOR vote he wouldn’t have been elected (Meggie didn’t hurt either). Brown would have probably been re-elected in a landslide prior to this announcement.

      Now I can see an unfortunate, possibly losing, dogfight coming up.

      Too bad. He was actually making, mostly, sensible and credible decisions as Chief Exec of our fine state.

      BTW, I hate that an authority figure, say a governor or a president, can step into a labor dispute and claim, for any number of reasons, to limit or eliminate entirely, Labors’ ability to wage its fight for what Labor is trying to accomplish under federal labor laws. Talk about breaking trusts. Fuck off Mr Reagan, Mr Bush, Mr Snyder, Mr Perry, Mr Christie, Mr Bloomberg, Mr Brown, ad infinitum. Contracts don’t matter anymore and neither do state and/or federal law. “Corporations are people” is still sticking, far too much for me to abide, in my craw too.

      On another note, even I feel badly for jints pitchers. So many great efforts this season wasted. Vogelsong came out and gave a great return performance. Even Zits deserved better…

  9. sandy32koufax says:

    I’ve been peripherally involved in the UBCarpenters grievance proccess as well as the UBTeamsters. Either hearing, the union’s side from my father, my mother’s side as a person that filed, TWICE, or from friends that took such action. I’ve even been privy to mgt’s side as a foreman and leadman when disgruntled employees have taken their gripe to grievance. I have never personally had cause to file-most likely due to who my father was as a union official-as opposed to not having a real reason to do so.

    That said, I do know a bit about the “whys” and “wherefores” of all sides of the issue. My dad sat on grievance boards and was known to say, many times, that the person filing was USUALLY in the wrong but that the union had to go to bat for her/him. Unless there was “cause” to shut that down, i.e., a broken work rule such as drinking or fighting (both were very common issues, fighting and drugs are still the most frequent such issues). He told me that many times the union sat on a member’s side, knowing they’d either sell him down the river or go balls out to win his case. The latter is easy to grasp, the former needs some background.

    One particular case sticks out. A carpenter had been having an affair with his shop owner’s wife. The guy found out and fired the carpenter for some indefensible reason. Hence the carpenter filing a grievance. It was common knowledge, to everyone but the owner, that his wife was a player that enjoyed as much “strange” as she could procure from the pool of labor her husband employed. That didn’t alter the fact that the employer had wrongly terminated the guy. Now, no one wanted this case going to grievance but the carpenter was a dick and wanted his job back-mainly to further cuckold the owner, I’m sure.

    As things unfolded, the entire issue of the wife’s character was danced around in such a manner that it never became part of the issue-although it was the issue. Due to the way the union handled things-they absolutely stiffled the carpenter from bringing that into play-the employer agreed to give retroactive pay and an additional three months wages, etc., and the man was found a job. One which he was promptly, and legitimately, laid off from. The union KNEW they’d lose a contractor, in all likelihood and they knew that one guy thinking with his little head was wronged. But they also knew it was only a matter of when not if, the owner’s wife got all cougar on the another guy. The reason they set the guy up to lose his job was because he wouldn’t just leave the owner or his wife alone yet they were legally bound to assist him in both that case and in finding employment. I never heard that said carpenter ever worked for that employer again but I did hear that the owner dumped the wife and she got next to nothing. I guess the guy had reams (hehehe) of dirt on her.

    Let’s take the flip side? My mom worked hard as both an A/R, A/P clerk for a major trucking firm. She was the first in her shop to be trained in the old computer languages of the 70’s. As such, she was called upon to visit terminals in the western states to train others doing the same work, to save the company $$ rather than sending them all to a computer school (or whatever it was then referred to as).

    My Mom was a rather attractive and voluptuous woman Go Dad!). She, like so many other women of her time, and yes-even today, were under constant sexual pressures from different men in her industry. After rebuffing, for a third or fifth time, her immediate superior, she was fired for insubordination. She went to her local and they refused to file her grievance. She is a great letter writer and has an astute, insightful mind. IDK what she wrote, exactly, but it was enough to not only cause the union to file poste haste but she won her case and her dispatcher was relocated to beautiful mid-70’s Tracy, Ca. I heard his wife left him shortly thereafter:)

    BART going on strike is one thing, I suppose, but aroid being fronted for by his union either HAS to take place orthe union has to exhibit cause as to why it won’t rep him. IDThink MLBPA would be willing to show the public why it wouldn’t file his appeal for fear of negative press and possibly fan backlash (as if).

    The grievance process, as the right to walkout/strike, are federally protected. At least for private unions or unions that are not deemed a vital part of national security. There’s a big ball of shit to swallow. Miners, truckers and other unassociated groups but unionized labor organizations are becoming increasingly beset by not only big corporations but by state, federal and local govt as well. I’d rather adickroid had simply taken the hit but I see his side to a degree too-the money he loses is huge if he doesn’t hit certain benchmarks for the bucks.

    Ya, fuck him and all of the other cheaters…I heard about some retired MLB journeyman pitcher tweeting to one of these guys recently suspended, a pitcher that had replaced him on his former team’s roster, something about the suspendee being a cheater that cost him his livelihood. It’s damn high time these guys start cleaning THEIR union and co-workers out of the league.

  10. datswhatsup says:

    Good stories…but screw you.

    I googled “cuckold” and Got 543 viruses

    Ha

  11. mailorderwife says:

    Interesting stories of the Union. I support the Union because it helped our family out for a bit after my father had a heart attack. My own experience as a City employee, however, brought a different and perhaps more horrid perspective on what unions actually do.

    I was blind in one eye for about 5 years. After one doctor finally had the patience to clear up the medical condition, which was caused by careless and poor doctoring by one of the voodoo shamans down here in LA, I had to find a way to get back into the workforce. I had been a long time legal secretary back in SF, so I went towards a secretarial job in the little city next to my own. I was given an advanced secretarial sort of position that had lots of managerial duties, and I worked alongside a woman who was the most mentally ill person I’ve ever met. She actually was glad that the person I replaced had tied after gastric bypass because those two didn’t get along. She and another supervisor proceeded to make work a living hell for me because I knew what I was doing (don’t fuck with an ex-legal secretary) in the office *and* also ran circles around their crappy web designer (someone’s friend) and would not join the Union. The latter was the main issue for that place, because my supervisor was doing something to me that was quite illegal (again, don’t fuck with an ex-legal secretary). However, I had to go before the Union. Of course, I “misunderstood” what was being said, which was an insult to my intelligence and a clear out for the supervisor and the union rep. You can understand just how happy I was when that union rep that worked for the City was caught for illegal activity.

    In a more bizarre instance, my boss was a man who had been charged with sexual harassment no less than four time. COUNT THAT. FOUR TIMES. These instances were reported by a guy who was once the supervisor, but got four demotions for — YOU GUESSED IT — reporting all four instances of sexual harassment. The guy who reported the incidences was a very decent gentleman, and I could verify the fourth instance. My boss who was charged with this bad behavior was never demoted and always kept his job. In fact, he first thought that I reported that fourth incident to our big boss, which I never did. Yeah, it was sexual harassment but the girl was flirting back and was enjoying it. That behavior, however, is not acceptable in a workplace and made way for clear favoritism. For instance, my boss told me to let his “paramour” cheat on her time card. I refused. I just told my boss to cut that shit out and take it behind closed doors. it was the other guy who reported it to the big boss. Still, my boss didn’t believe me so he made me do heavy labor which resulted in carpal tunnel in both of my hands. I had to take medical leave, only to be accused of faking my condition by the union, workers’ comp insurer and the City. Moreover, they refused to give me an additional work physical to determine that they were at fault.

    Unlucky for then, my next job required that I take a physical at the same facility where I took my initial physical exam for the City. It was that medical facility that determined that in the time after I began working for the City, I had become afflicted with Carpel Tunnel Syndrome. In fact, it was so bad that it had delayed my start-of-work date with my next job. I went back to both the union and the workers comp insurers and demanded they pay for my continued medical care. They did. However, no lawyer would take up my case because there wasn’t enough money in it. The medical treatments ended without any treatment.

    I wonder how this entire episode would have been treated had I been part of the union. Would they have been willing to listen rather than pretend that employment laws were non-existent? With MLB, there are more players who are honest and hard working that are suffering because the shit Brauns and A-Rods want to roid up. I am glad that the Union is willing to fight A-Roid on this count, especially since MLB and the owners were looking the other way when roids benefited their own finances. Someone has to be the good guy!

    Well, came back from San Francisco and saw the entire Brewers series. I had a ball, of course, and was really happy that fans were still enthusiastic about the games despite the last place standing and dismal performances. As we rode the train back to LA, I saw a San Jose Caltrans station filled with Giants fans waiting to go over to AT&T.

    I got to first place LA, and there was no one wearing Dodger gear at the station. I hear all the stupid arguments pooh-poohing Giants attendance figures because Dodger Stadium is 2x as large as AT&T (which it is not) and how better Bay Area economics make it easier for Giants fans to go to games. Blah blah blah.

    The Giants are playing poorly, but I’m used to this mode. Not that I’m happy with it, but I’m used to it, ya know?

    • xoot says:

      MOW, I’ve heard many stories along the lines you trace, but yours is particularly enraging. Unions aren’t perfect; the people who rise to power in unions aren’t perfect. Some are flaming assholes.

      This won’t counterbalance anything, but still: When I got back from a hitchhiking trip at the end of one summer, I took a seasonal job at the brussel-sprout freezing plant in Santa Cruz. At some point every guy in the place got assigned to work the slammer. We’d lift huge, heavy steel trays of frozen sprouts overhead and slam them down into a sink-like steel receptacle. Big frosty clots fell into a revolving bunch of rotors and broke apart so that women wearing hairnets far away down a conveyer belt could place the fragmented sprouts into boxes. We worked 8 hour shifts, but three of us rotated every 1/4 hour. Great exercise, I suppose. Ear splitting noise,with every slam. One day some union-sponsored testers came by and registered very high decibel levels–down by the women doing the boxing. The testers warned the owners of the plant that they should look into some method to protect those women from the noise we were making, up there at the top of the line.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Unions are necessary for the workforce that require labor beyond a desk job. (Sorry…I don’t believe secretaries and office employees should have a Union.) What you cited is a prime example of why unions are necessary to make sure that employees are protected in the workplace.

        On the other hand, my experience with working at the city managing a crew of laborers allowed me the chance to see something a bit more unsavory from Unions. Men who were injured were repeatedly pressured to sign “one-check-to-pay-all-expenses” by the Union. You know those things…one check and you can never ask for more money to pay your medical expenses for a particular injury. In the case of this city, the health care was pretty crappy, and I repeatedly advised the laborers to not accept such a check. Many of these laborers had been screwed by accepting these checks for previous injuries, and all claimed that the Unions had talked them into it.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Anywhere there are oppressive work practices, the employees should be able to unionize.

          Period.

          Sounds like that specific union, SEIU or whatever it was, needed to clean house and practice much better oversight.

  12. Chico says:


    Nevada city was a blast! Wow, some great comments here too.. I’m a strong supporter of Unions, but at the same time, the BART workers seem to be doing pretty well. I also understand their side of things, too.. If you haven’t visited Nevada City, give it a shot. Awesome California history up there.

    • xoot says:

      I used to get laid off the RR from Nov-April, or so. I spent one of those winters up there. At that time Grass Valley had one traffic light, Nevada City none. Bet it has changed. Also, the demographics were unusual — two or three times as many women as men. Anyway, fun place.

      • Chico says:

        Real fun place.. It looked about 50/50 to me. There were 4 of us married and another guy who wasn’t, so he was on the hunt. I wouldn’t let him use my room though.I booked my own room and the others got a suite. 10 years ago, probably, but not now. Instead, he and the girl he met had to settle for his Mercedes SUV. I’ve been a gremaphobe for a while now.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I spent a few weeks there on my way to Alaska while hitch-hiking, on the Yuba. Liked it so much that when the trip ended in mid Oct. that I moved there…until frosty February…Brrr. That was ’82. And x-man, you’re right, at least about back then, there were more available women than my friends and I had time for 🙂

        I worked at the lumber mill just outside of town and even though it was really bad work, we had a ball. Nice crowd used to live there-even if they’d let you know you were only a flat-lander-today it’s a VERY diff group of landowners and citizens…too bad that.

  13. Chico says:

    We fucking suck.

  14. unca_chuck says:

    Yeah, my wife had the same problem with her union when she worked at the Airport Hilton as a banquet server/bartender. She slipped and tweaked her right knee on the job. After a couple weeks it swelled up and, after visiting the doctor assigned, he said. You’re fine. You’ll never get an MRI from me. She had problems off and on, and talked to the union rep a bunch of times, for 3 years and finally sued when her knee got bad. By the time they finally did the MRI, they discovered she had lost most of the cartilage in her right knee. They cleaned out her knee, and she got a settlement. On of those one-check-to-pay-all deals. She’s OK now, she can’t jog like she used to, and the doc told her she’ll need a complete knee replacement by the time she turns 60. Which is coming up . . .

  15. Chico says:

    We lost a good old-school Giants fan today. Her name was Barbara Harvey. She was my wife’s favorite grandmother. A tough woman from Noe Valley, who later relocated to Murphys (right off of Murphys grade road), and then to Boise Idaho, where she passed. Her ashes will be sent out here, to her plot, right next to Joe DiMaggio. I remember the first time I met her – we were 19 years old, drove up to Murphys and she asked me if I wanted a beer.. That’s the first and last time I ever had beer with a splash of Sprite. Last year, my wife and sis-in-law took the kids to Idaho to see her, and I’m glad they did. They won’t remember her, but they will see the pictures of her holding them. RIP old Giants fan.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      My condolences, Chico and Mrs Chico.

      Hope she and you are well, Buddy

      • Chico says:

        Thanks man.. It’s alright, 93 years old is a good life, and I just found out that she died in her sleep. That’s how I would like to go.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Wow…sorry to hear that. I wish the Giants were doing better before she died, but there were the 2 world series, wonderful kids and grandkids, son-in-laws and countless other things :>

  16. Chico says:

    Haha! ZAP!

  17. Chico says:

    “News that the SF Chronicle is 86ing its paywall, (after just 4 months), only reinforces word around town that the paper is bleeding red ink and is fraught with financial trouble” — Rich Lieberman said yesterday. I hope Hank Schulman is sending out resumes.

    • xoot says:

      Damn. Now I see why odious Nevius has shown up recently on the gratis side at sfgate. Next we’ll have Killion. Bruce Jenkins, Susan Slusser and Henry Schulman, of course, are good and always worth reading. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are a bunch of good writers at the chron who just look crappy–poorly informed, behind the curve, unedited–because the place is just so strapped for resources. Baggarly, meanwhile, keeps on doing really excellent work at csn.

  18. xoot says:

    Here’s a good description, from NYT, of the new replay-review format mlb has proposed:

    “the existing procedure for home run replays — the umpires leave the field, watch a video review and make their own determination — would stay the same, Schuerholz said. After the newly reviewable calls, the manager could leave the dugout to inform the plate umpire of his challenge, presumably before the next pitch was thrown. The umpires would then use a secure phone line in a nearby area and call the umpires at the headquarters, where a technician would cue up the play in question.”

    And it gets worse. According to the same NYT story, if a manager uses a challenge and gets a call reversed, he keeps that challenge and can use it again, although the challenge available for the first six innings won’t carry over into later innings. The manager will only have two challenges to use over and over again in late innings.

    More time calls, more commercials, longer games. Worst thing since the DH.

  19. unca_chuck says:

    Well, it depends on how they implement it. The idea has been floated that the games all have a 5th ump that is upstairs who can review plays.WITH the TV feed, and not the crap-ass way the NFL does it. If a challenge is made, it shouldn’t take too long to get teh call right (sans commercial breaks). But that’s not how this will go, more than likely. The TV wonks will use it as another opportunity to throw in a commercial or 2.

  20. Chico says:

    I need to read into it to have more of an opinion. I read somewhere last night that someone from MLB said that it would shorten the time of games.. Uh, yeah right.

    • xoot says:

      The new method probably will be quicker than arguing with a manager, but how often do long on-field arguments happen? 6+ times per game? No way. mlb is hoping to spend 1 minute and fifteen seconds on the call to NY. Of course, with many mlb games going on simultaneously they may get voicemail once in a while. 😉

      • xoot says:

        Also, if you’re in the 6th inning and you haven’t used your first challenge yet, you think maybe you’ll be inclined to use it, before it expires, to challenge a play that’s barely questionable? You automatically get two new challenges as soon as the 7th starts.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I have the same sentiment, whether it be the “This door’s wide open now. It’s going to happen, whether you like it or not.” on the DH in the NL or this poorly designed new Instant Replay plan.

          QUIT FUCKING WITH BASEBALL

  21. xoot says:

    Marty Lurie was talking about the replay-review policy while I was running some errands today. He raised a good point about forcing the challenges to occur after a play but before the next pitch. The manager of the team at bat or the pitcher will have an incentive to stall after a close play while their people with replay monitors figure out if the ump was wrong. Lurie didn’t seem to know that managers won’t be able to argue any potentially reviewable plays–it’s either challenge or shut up.

    Still, I can envision a middle ground, and some obvious delay scenes. A manager strolls slowly out to the ump who made a close call, but then doesn’t make a challenge when he gets face to face because an ear-bud voice told him not to (“Just wanted to be sure I understood your call, Blue”). Or a pitcher who thinks what could have been an inning-ending double play got a bad call at first base suddenly needs to tie both of his shoes, two or three times (especially if there had been a runner on third).

    • Chico says:

      It’ll be interesting to see how it effects the game. I can see lots of problems with it the first year, as the rules will need tweaking in years 2 and 3 of the new rules.

      btw, anyone see or read anything on the new NFL rules (runner can’t lead with his helmet)? I didn’t catch much of the Niner game but I saw runners leading with their helmets (the way it’s always been played), and no calls from the little bit that I saw. I’m wondering of that rule won’t be enforced as a lot of football fans feared it would.

  22. Chico says:

    We were invited to my wife’s CEO’s house tonight in Tiburon for dinner @ 6pm.. Middle class normal guy, meet upper class socialites. I’m not sure how to act around these people, but the advice I have received is ‘just be yourself’.. Oh, and work your silverware from the outside in? Anyways, time to hit the road. Go Giants!

  23. mailorderwife says:

    Had lunch with a friend, whose brother-in-law owns an MLB team. It was really a business meeting for my husband, but he brought me along as all of us used to work together. The business chat, of course, quickly fizzled away as we began to discuss Bat Day at the ‘Stick (klunk klunk klunk of the bats, remember?) and so many other wonderful memories of hot dog wrapper tornadoes, frozen toilet seats and the bleachers.

    During our convo, however, he kept encouraging me to watch the Dodgers. Why the hell would I do that? To say that I am a bit more than bitter at the Dodger$$$$$ is an understatement, especially since most of their fans seem to feel that a 10+ years under McCourt and Fox entitled them to all the money in the world to buy players. The Giants suffered under Horace Stoneham’s later years, then went through so much underwhelming under Bob Lurie, whose main goal was to build a stadium, and not a team.

    I don’t want to see Yasiul Pig or Nick Puto or Andre Ether or listen to Vin Scully ramble off the media guide facts. I hate the Dodgers. I always will. And for all of their wins this year, I don’t see the Dodger hats or jerseys or t-shirts or anything else much going on down here in LA. They have a bandwagon fan base, and their most loyal and passionate fans are…guess…LIVING IN THE BAY AREA. Fuck the Dodgers!

    • Chico says:

      Hell yeah! Great post.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      PIFFLE!

      I’m just one guy and I know dozens of family and friends that still live in the greater LA area and sport the colors and the gear!

      That said, I DO have a Dodgers hardhat that I wear to work 😉

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      I would only the watch the Dodgers play for thrice the minimum hourly wage. Even then I might have to resort to have two TV’s in the same room just so it looks like I’m paying attention to the one while watching Married With Children, the Daily Show, and SNL reruns….

  24. xoot says:

    The ARat story keep getting better as info leaks. One of the ways he tried to interfere with mlb’s investigation of/lawsuit against BioGenesis involved paying for the BioG guy’s lawyers. Meanwhile, Yankees GM’s former mistress–a woman with the Bondish last name Meanwell–claims Cashman told her about Yankee roiders (and expressed ambivalence about roiding). Her law firm, for various purposes, is coincidentally the same firm ARat just retained. Some other lawyers for her have filed a motion to disqualify the others from representing ARat, based on the strict ethical rules of conflict of interest that govern officers of the court. And, of course, we now have ARat’s contention that the Yankees wiithheld crucial medical information about him from him.

    Ideally: ARat does down, big time, and becomes the scapegoat for the steroid era at exactly the same time that the 9th Circuit Ct of Appeals reverses the verdict against Barry Bonds. Bonds, free of the scapegoat burden, then will begin to gain HOF votes and, eventually, get the total he deserves.

  25. Chico says:

    A friend of mine took this pic tonight in the city I live in. About a third of a mile from where I live…

  26. Chico says:

    Another one from another local.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Fantastic photos. I am pretty jealous that there was lightning up there. Wish I could return to the Bay!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Way cool pix-your buddy is talented and fortunate to have been in the right place at the right time. I just got back from Washington Township-very near to Nevada City and there was a lesser version of the lightshow you were treated to last night.

  27. xoot says:

    Those are beautiful shots, Chico. I haven’t seen lightning actually strike the ground or sea in a very long time. Being right there to see the flash, and feel the immediate thunder must’ve been something.

    btw–RIP Elmore Leonard. A lot of his books are really good. I just recently re-read Swag and Stick back to back just for the hell of it. Same main character in both — Ernest Stickley, Jr. Excellent creation.

    • Chico says:

      I’ll give him a shot.. Sounds like an interesting writer.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Okay, “guilty pleasure,” I love the genre he wrote in. He did it HIS way though. Differently than say a Chandler or a Gardiner but still an influential force.

        Enjoy this Chico, he’s easy to read and a fun ride.

  28. Chico says:

    Frank Quirarte took the first shot.. He’s a legend in this town.. Just Google ‘Frank Quirarte Photography’ and see what pops up..

  29. xoot says:

    The pain watching this game in the first inning is manageable. If I hurt myself doing something I enjoy doing, say if a shark ripped up one of my legs, and I had to lay supine on my sofa for a long while, as the sutures healed, I’d probably feel about the same, with a bit of medication.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I’ve been watching every game, quite faithful in hoping that this might be the day they win. But this does feel like I should have watched Sharknado.

      • shoelessinlassen says:

        Yeah, me too despite my better judgment I suppose. It hurts a little more this year than I thought once I had to admit that the Giants of 2013 are not only NOT vying for a playoff spot, they are too often not even playing competitive ball. It will be interesting to say the least how Sabean and ownership address this year’s debacle of a team letdown.

  30. Chico says:

    We win!

  31. Chico says:

    Sandy, he’s a professional photographer, he didn’t get those pics by chance.

    Buddy5 alert – he now goes by ‘callmommy’

  32. datswhatsup says:

    Buddy5 wised up and ignores me, but he’ll crack…

    okay so mossback is retarded right? I mean he’s childlike in his thought patterns.

    It seems joe_snarkey is none too please with the attention his posts on the splash brought him. I love how he argued that championships from th 70’s are awesome but championships from 2010 & 12 don’t matter this year. When I asked him about the inconsistency he moved onto the next subject.

    JD cracked me up when he asked basso nova who owened comcast. That was funny.

    I went after nigel for the same reason, but he had the sense to stay away from the splash and follow his team.

    When will they learn?

  33. Chico says:

    Joe_snarkey and I get along (Cal football).. He can be pretty irrational though.

    Bassa_nova is not mossback despite what EiO said (just read that thread)…. He’s borganprobe/fish probe.. He uses the – instead of a comma.. There are a lot of brand new users on the drumbeat.. One of them is probably mossy but I’m not sure which one. And john_bender (dude from the breakfast club) is definitely up to no good.

  34. Chico says:

    Taking my kids to their first Giants game tonight..

  35. xoot says:

    Cain’s giving up HRs as he did early in the season. Strange problem.

    That ball just to the right of the foul pole that the fan muffed smacked the guy in exactly the spot my 13 year old kid caught a rocket line drive, in 2011, off Mike Fontenot’s bat. The kid, however, had his glove. His older brother said it sounded like a cannon when the ball hit the glove. (I bought them bleacher seats for that Brewers game while I sat in Club Level with a client visiting from out of town. Last thing I wanted was the client meeting the older kid in his Let Timmy Smoke t shirt.) Pretty good play for a 13 year old.

    This offense needs to get going.

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Tonight’s offense was almost decent, but it didn’t matter a whit tonight, given the bull pen once more looks like some George Romero zombie stunt doubles. Management must decide whether to keep Gaudin (or Lincecum for that matter) as starter(s) next year – in which case Sabean needs to find a more effective long reliever than any Moscoso, Mejares, or the like.

  36. Chico says:

    Seats weren’t bad 😉

  37. xoot says:

    Strange game tonight. Not a classic pitchers’ duel, but close enough. Be nice to win one.

  38. Chico says:

    And the suckage continues.

  39. sandy32koufax says:

    Just opened my first twit acct…this shit is fun

  40. Chico says:

    A win! Sandy, you know I love ya..

  41. sandy32koufax says:

    Check out the line on the AZ v Philly game, too sad for Ryno…

    • mailorderwife says:

      We watched it on replay last night…except the replay cut off in the 15th inning. MLB TV bastards!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I’m dumb or lucky enough to have bought the post ASGame package and get too see everything:)

        Support your local Dodgers this evening, j-fans! We ALL abhor the Red Sox, I’d hope

  42. sandy32koufax says:

    WOW WEE!

    jints are on a winning streak…

  43. sandy32koufax says:

    I hadn’t been to extrabaggs for over a year…MLBSF and channelclem are the main commentators along with a “carmot.”

    Really? I mean, channel has a good grasp of the game but mlbsf? I haven’t read enough of carmot’s posts to make a judgement on dude.

    Point being, the splash, for all intents and purposes, is dead…jdr is sometimes hot and sometimes cold…where is everyone?

    I’m signed into SOSG as I type this and figure that will be a semi-trip since the last time I went there I got into it with some tool witha a grandiose screenname…we’ll see on the SOSG thing.

    Where the hell did everyone go???

    Oh, The Vinster is coming back for season number 65! I wonder if LAD paid him huge bux or if he is just happy to be out of the house 🙂

  44. sandy32koufax says:

    and i just read a retweet at SOSG that Kruk has been taken from the Dodger’s press box unconscious…

  45. sandy32koufax says:

    Last night’s game story is littered with the corpses of “Name withheld (insert time and date)
    This comment was left by a user account that is no longer active.”

    IDK who they are or were but maybe some were tools of the ‘callmommy’ variety…

  46. sandy32koufax says:

    WAYNE!

    Nimrod lives at extrabaggs

    Polioptila Californica

  47. sandy32koufax says:

    Wilson warming to relieve Kersh…it’s only the 6th too

  48. Chico says:

    The comments on SFGate about MLK makes me HOPE that the rag goes out of business. I’ve never seen such hate in my life. If I were to say anything even remotely that bad (and I wouldn’t), my account would be blocked.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      eff those out-of-staters, Chico. Now that we’re back to no pay wall, for most stuff anyway, they’re going to be what they’ve always been-dicks. (LOTSA commas ther)

      Create several accts so you CAN speak your mind w/o losing the one you usually post on? Sounds like fighting fire with fire to me…

  49. shoelessinlassen says:

    Another bad game all around just got a tad more interesting … Rocks 5, Giants 4 – bottom of 8th. Machi and Mejares were decent relievers last year. this year they have proven almost predictably treacherous.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      jints get a run or two and it’s very interesting.

      Three outs to go

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      I was slightly less than fair to Machi tonight, because I failed to note Crawford’s misplay at 2nd from Machi’s throw contributed to the Rock’s big 4 run inning.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Post-game reports rock, shoe

        • shoelessinlassen says:

          Yeah, I’ve just been pretty disappointed with Machi, but probably just an overreaction to what has been a disappointing team all around this year. Still, it’s great to see Pagan back on the field tonight. He looks fit and eager to play. 🙂

  50. Chico says:

    Off day humor.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Isn’t that Pat Robertson’s grandson?

      • Chico says:

        Dickhead comment of the day:

        vk 2:32 PM on August 29, 2013
        If you’re gay, married and have two similar incomes, your federal taxes will probably go up, because of the marriage penalty. Are you happy about this anyway?

        • xoot says:

          Where did that asswipe post that comment? As sfgate and the chronicle sink deeper in debt, his tone gets more and more petty.

          I had some time to kill the other day before going into SF Superior Court, so I took a look in City Hall. There were several extremely well-dressed couples in there, obviously from out of town. It’s a destination now. People apparently come from all around to get married where it all started. Maybe vk can print up some tax-rant broadsides and harass folks with them outside on the front steps. He’d probably get more attention there than on a sfgate blog.

  51. Chico says:

    The Niners travel well.

  52. unca_chuck says:

    Shit, that looks like me with my A Smith jersey on.

  53. sandy32koufax says:

    Friend’s son making a tough 29 yard reception last night in SJSU vs Sac St game

    http://photos.mercurynews.com/2013/08/29/san-jose-state-spartans-take-on-sacramento-state-at-spartan-stadium/#3

  54. sandy32koufax says:

    I am SO a jints fan the next three games 🙂

  55. xoot says:

    Bad luck and trouble. Yet Lincecum toughs it out.

  56. xoot says:

    Hey, the Giants get a good break and make the most of it! Now this is what we got used to, last year.

  57. Chico says:

    Those fuckwad Arizonans made Giants fans change their clothing to Diamonbacks clothing. What a shitty state.

  58. Chico says:

    And now they took off the corporate issued clothes that the DBags gave them to wear.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      LOL, COMMIE/SOCIALIST/RED!

      • xoot says:

        Hey, I resemble that.

        I used some firm seats behind home plate at the E Coli to see the A’s play the RSox one year, and I had to promise that my kids and I either would wear A’s gear or no gear. (We wore no gear, of course.) The requirement didn’t come from my firm.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          The old man went to the opener of “The New And Improved Daviseum” and wore Dodger Blue.

          No one bothered trying to dissuade him either. All of those guys were union wheels sitting behind home

          • xoot says:

            The trades benefited big-time, but short-term, from the construction work renovating the E Coli. Otherwise, average people got screwed by the changes. I think you may have painted the sort of union-honcho portrait union-haters love to display. There’s a reason the union guys were behind the plate and on camera and the guys making the real money–that is, the guys soaking everybody else–were up in the new luxury suites, enjoying their privacy.

        • mailorderwife says:

          That’s just BS! They can learn a thing or two from the Poodres, who are *so so* very welcoming to the hordes of Giants fans that take over Petco. When I watched the 49er/Chargers game on TV this past Thursday, Dan Fouts (Charger play-by-play fella) mentioned both the 49er and SF Giants fan takeover, saying how great it was for the economy of San Diego to have so many great fans come by and visit the city.

          Dbag edict sounds so very Jan Brewer. When the then Fox-owned Dogers gave me tickets to a Giant/Dodger game for my birthday — and these were in those old behind-the-plate/pit elite seats — they knew I was a die hard Giants fan. I sat there and boo’d the Codgers, cheered the Giants and wore my battle Giants gear. Of course, I doubt the celebrity obsessed Magic Johnson and his thirst for image will allow that to happen anymore.

  59. sandy32koufax says:

    WOOT!

    Thanks jints

  60. xoot says:

    Welcome back, Angel. And Lincecum, too, apparently. Great game.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Great baseball game…whoever was playing.

    • Chico says:

      Yep, it’s really nice to have Pagan back.. A little too late, but this team isn;t going to do what fringylunatic wants-to lose on purpose for a better draft pick. This isn’t football.

  61. sandy32koufax says:

    A’s blowing it in the crapaseum

  62. sandy32koufax says:

    Loney single to where Coco Crazy should have been ties the game

  63. sandy32koufax says:

    I like the A’s.

    I want to see them win.

    Too many A’s trollfans though make me want to see them lose.

    A’s just went up 4-3

  64. sandy32koufax says:

    Gotta love Leyland’s interview…like 78 *BLEEPS*

  65. shoelessinlassen says:

    I know this sounds incredulous, but down by 3 with bases loaded, the Giants – courtesy a ‘routine’ stab and bullet to home by Crawford – manage to get out of the 6th without giving up another run, and now trail by one run in the 7th. Maybe. Just maybe ….

  66. xoot says:

    I’m now bouncing back and forth between the Giants game and the Cal football game. I don’t know if they’ll hang in all game long, but those young kids looked pretty,cool on their first drive. Go Cal! And let’s get the DBags, Giants.

  67. xoot says:

    Nice play Pagan!

  68. sandy32koufax says:

    jints have played a great game tonight…been flopping twixt LA and SF…great baseball night for me.

    Giants blog on sjmerc is a joke too

  69. xoot says:

    Damn damn damn

  70. shoelessinlassen says:

    Shoot. Would have been a nice come from behind win, but at least it was a spirited, well-played game by Giants.

  71. sandy32koufax says:

    It was a damn good game.

    Pagan IS the diff so far, imo.

  72. mailorderwife says:

    Happy to see folks posting here again! I am currently obsessing over Final Fantasy XIV.

  73. Chico says:

    I hope you all had a good labor day.. Long live the middle class, or what’s left of it.

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      Chico, if one reviews a horizontal graph split into 1/5th sections, defining the wealth across America, the top 20% currently own roughly 87% of America’s wealth, while the top 40 percent (or 2/5ths) own96%. The bottom 60%, including the fictitious ‘middle class’ own but 4% of the country’s remaining assets. In addition, the last time I reviewed this statistic last year, the bottom 40% of all Americans ‘boast’ a zero or negative net wealth. It’s all too sobering. Incidentally, for full disclosure, I lie somewhere between ‘the middle class’ and my neighbors’ outdoor plumbing facility with the bold crescent on the door.

  74. xoot says:

    Interesting article on what’s “fair” competition among athletes (TJ surgery’s ok; PEDs aren’t; etc.):

    http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/atlarge/2013/09/09/130909crat_atlarge_gladwell?currentPage=3

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I think surgical procedures are one thing, enhancing ones ability to perform above that which we develop naturally or are genetically inclined to, are vastly different..

      Agreed, however, Gladwells’ take is interesting yet doesn’t sway my own beliefs on the matter of PEDs or any other type of “cheating.” Is it a treatise? Propaganda? Sorry. At it’s core, man vs man should ONLY be that. EVERYTHING else is cheating. And steroids developed since the mid-eighties go well beyond any kind of assist amphetamines/first, second and third generation steroids gave jocks in the past.

      “Blink” actually scared the hell out of me, btw. I guess being uneducated has consequences I hadn’t considered prior to sum buk lernin

    • shoelessinlassen says:

      “Not because we were delusional—we knew we were breaking the rules—but because we didn’t think of it as cheating. It felt fair to break the rules.” –Hamilton

      An amazing read. The science of doping – as Armstrong and US Postal exactingly micro-dosed it – raised competitive subterfuge to one of the darker art forms.

    • xoot says:

      Tj surgery replaces a ligament with a tendon–sometimes from a cadaver. It’s not really replacement but more like improvement. The surgeon drills a hole in the bone and ties things together in a new way. Won’t be long and we’ll have artificial fiber to use. 100 mph heaters will be normal. But using steroids to help heal during rehab will be outlawed?

      • unca_chuck says:

        It IS a replacement though. It’s not like they are shopping for dead guys with big strong tendons to use. Rationalization is just that. It may not have felt like cheating only in that everyone else was likely doing the same thing. It still doesn’t justify it, though. It still is cheating.

        Yes, steroids have medicinal purposes. What these guys use them for isn’t medicinal.

  75. xoot says:

    From a Calif. Court of Appeal “right to bear arms” decision issued yesterday:

    “The weapon in this case, a full size modified baseball bat, weighted with lead and wrapped in rope, does not appear to us to fall in to the classification of a weapon that would normally be possessed by a law abiding citizen for a lawful purpose. Instead, it appears to us to be a weapon which, by its very nature, increases the risk of violence in any given situation, is a classic instrument of violence, and has a home-made criminal and improper purpose. Likewise, it appears to be the type of tool that a brawl fighter or a cowardly assassin would resort to using, designed for silent attacks, not a weapon that would commonly be used by a good citizen. People v. Grubb (1965) 63 Cal. 2d. 614, 620. We conclude that possession of such a weapon is not protected by the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution.”

    But guns? Guns are ok–because they’re professionally engineered and machined, as well as noisy in use?

  76. sandy32koufax says:

    Sando tags THREE jacks in San D

  77. sandy32koufax says:

    I think Georgie prolly hasa nicer, better looking wife too.

  78. Chico says:

    LOL! WASHINGTON—As President Obama continues to push for a plan of limited military intervention in Syria, a new poll of Americans has found that though the nation remains wary over the prospect of becoming involved in another Middle Eastern war, the vast majority of U.S. citizens strongly approve of sending Congress to Syria.

    http://www.theonion.com/articles/poll-majority-of-americans-approve-of-sending-cong,33752/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=SocialMarketing&utm_campaign=LinkPreview%3A2%3ADefault

  79. unca_chuck says:

    Ha ha. Beyond the fact that no one can really determine who really used the sarin, bombs away. It would be funny if it wasn’t so goddamned repetitive. Really? We going to use the tired rationale of drawing an arbitary line of when to respond? The 100,000 people Assad has killed ‘conventionally’ is OK?

    Just say no.

  80. sandy32koufax says:

    This tool is covering the jints game?

    “John Shea ✔ @JohnSheaHey
    #sfgiants announce another sellout. Lotsa people must’ve bought tickets knowing they’d stay home or go to the A’s game . . . no wait.”

    REALLY?

  81. sandy32koufax says:

    WTF??? I must be drinking or smoking or drinking AND smoking too much.

    I actually expected an SF win tonight…

  82. xoot says:

    Headed to the game tonight. Nice evening. The guy sitting in front of me on Bart is wearing a 53 “Cabrera” jersey. Wtf?

  83. unca_chuck says:

    You were there? Shit. He’ll of a game by Petit. Was Pence too deep?

    • xoot says:

      That’s a good question, Chuck. Pence definitely wasn’t real deep, and I don’t think he was shaded as much toward RCF as he often is. But I wondered if maybe he and Pagan could’ve been a bit closer, especially with the a 3 run lead. And yeah, it was a tremendously exciting game.

  84. sandy32koufax says:

    I’d love to see any Pac-12 team win the Computer Bowl. That said I went to SJSU games all through HS and am pulling for the underdog tonight at The Farm…

  85. xoot says:

    Great line from Krukow: Posey doesn’t look tough. “He looks like a pediatrician.” But he is tough, as evident by that double he just ripped despite a broken finger.

  86. Chico says:

    Cal Struggled against Portland state ( we’re the second youngest team in D-1 football, with 5 starters on D out with injuries), still, no excuses.. ESNP #1 play of the week

  87. Chico says:

    And this is bullshit from an ex U$C player. Fuck Matthews.

  88. datswhatsup says:

    Zap.
    You are welcome.

  89. sandy32koufax says:

    So who is vegas giants fan, jim? yav?

Leave a Reply

