Meet Tommy

You all know I’ve been trying to bring in a few new writers to the blog lately. Well, I’m pleased to tell you that we’ve managed to secure a special guest author who will be giving us an “outside” view of the Giants this season. Please welcome baseball legend (not) Tommy Lasorda to our humble blog!  -JDR

Lasorda

You may find it crazy that a man such as myself is writing posts for this site, but as MLB’s Goodwill Ambassador I’ve taken it upon myself to reach out to all fans, including you SF Giants supporters.

Besides, it’s not like I don’t have some fond memories of San Francisco. A lot of people think I hated coming to Candlestick and accuse me of booking it out of Candlestick the second I finished my fifth plate of post-game cold-cuts. But nothing could be farther from the truth.

In reality, I love this city. Chimichangas in the Mission? Hell, I’d have the cabby stop off on the way in from the airport and fill up a trash bag. Tadich Grill? They knew to fire up the veal-stuffed pork chops by the sixth inning.

And North Beach. Lord knows how much I loved North Beach. Remember the Joe Morgan game back in 1982? Lowest point of my career. I could hardly talk after that game. So afterwords, me and the great Vin Scully are out at Joe DiMaggio’s over on the wharf, and Vin is going on and on about the call girls in Acapulco or some shit, and I tell you, I can barely even take my eyes up off the floor I was so low.

So the bartender comes up to me and says “rough game, Tommy. Next one’s on the house. What’ll it be?” And I knew at that point there was only one thing that could get me through the night.

So I look up to the bartender, Tony was his name, and I says “Tony, get me a nice tall glass of scotch and rendered hog fat.” And you know what? Not only did he make me the best damn glass of scotch and hog fat I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them all over mind you, but that son of a bitch even named the drink after me. The Lasorda-tini! They served that damn drink for three weeks before the health department threatened to shut them down.

Man, I really miss those days. Back when ballplayers were ballplayers and any cook worth his salt knew you had to cook one type of animal in the grease of another animal. You can say what you want about these modern players, but I’ll take the guys from the old days in a heartbeat.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

188 Responses to Meet Tommy

  1. Chico says:

    That was one epic read! My grandfather was the main bartender at DiMaggio’s for many years.. I know this wasn’t intended for me, but I’ll take it.. Best birthday present I got today! Cheers!

  2. xoot says:

    Terrific post. And man is it great to have Tommy weighing in on the heavy stuff. Next time he stops by I’d love to hear him explain again why his pet Mike Piazza deserves to be in the HOF but Bonds and Clemens don’t. Buon apetito, don corpulento.

  3. datswhatsup says:

    Ah, Fat Tommy.

    That pile originated TO’s quote “I love me some me”.

    If he was not allowed to use “I” or “me” he’d speak less than Shields & Yarnell (look it up).

    He is waddling proof that egomaniacs do not burn more calories than normal people, he is singularly responsible for everything great that has happened to the LA Dodgers, just ask him.

    If you ever get a chance to listen to to AM570 on iHeartRadio and catch Pat O’Brien you get a feel for what Fat Tommy is like. You remember O’Brien, did the NBA and Access Hollywood then left the voice mail on his mistresses phone that went public about how badly he wanted to bang her and do blow off her body? He cannot make it through a segment with name dropping. College kids listen to the podcasts and created a drinking game around his “look at me comments”.

    Unlike Vinny who walks the walk, Tommy is a douchebag. Years avoiding discussion about his estranged son’s troubles while discussing how much he loves his wife Jo. Then there was that unfortunate incident where he showed up several times in the Hollywood Madame’s little black book.

    To steal Cam from Modern Family’s line on Rex Reed, “Oh, so Tommy didn’t die alone 5 years ago?”

  4. unca_chuck says:

    Too funny, JDR! Tha pic looks like Lasodra is one of those Weebils.

    Weebils wobble but they don’t fall down . . .

  5. unca_chuck says:

    Dats, dropping the Shields and Yarnell ref? Shit, I saw them on Pier 39 WAY before (early 70s) they somehow got a TV show. A mime TV show? Yes! People will love it! Uh, right.

    • datswhatsup says:

      ha!
      Felt a Human Juke Box reference would be too Fisherman’s Warf.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Whoa! I remember all that. I don’t suppose you two remember the Bay City Roller button vendor down at the wharf.

      Great post. I’ll never like Lasodra, but I’ll never forget the tears streaming down his face as he handed over a check to the Brian Stow fund. Frenemies.

  6. xoot says:

    Just saw a note that Romo threw 26 pitches in his BP appearance last night, and that his pitch-count was that high last season in only one game. Also, apparently Schulman is reporting that the Giants are burning up the cell phones trying to ensure that he doesn’t pitch in Mexico’s game today. hell, I think he should take the entire weekend off.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      That’s not quite cricket, old man.

      BTW, cool Alaska entry. Fern rox

      • xoot says:

        5 days into the race, the lead mushers are past the half-way point. Some 400+ miles left. Martin Buser has dropped into fourth place, but he and his 14 dogs are the only team that has taken both the mandatory 24 hour layover and an 8 hour layover. I guess the suspense will build as everyone waits to see if he and his dogs can make a sustained run to the finish line. The weather is terrible, apparently, 50 mph winds, but temps way over freezing so the incoming storm will probably dump rain and sleet. Meanwhile, here in sunny northern California . . . . 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Chico says:

      Killion’s sensationalized article about Romo’s outing didn’t go over too well with Giants fans..

      • mailorderwife says:

        Well…the game was on TV. Relievers don’t always set the batting order down 1-2-3, and we know this because of Brian Wilson. So with Helen Keller manning LF for Team Mejico, disaster happened. You sort of expect your fielder to handle business. Still, it’s also still MARCH. Her article was comparable to the whiney posts on The Splash about how the Giants need to find a new (position here) ASAP, because your success in MARCH is going to so mirror what will happen in October, amirite?

        • Chico says:

          I got the same thing from reading it.. Your LF analogy cracked me up! I didn’t see it, but from what others have posted it sounds like the LF was indeed blind..

      • xoot says:

        I’ll check it out. I suspect one reason I got tossed this recent time related to my complaints about Killion’s crappy work. I take a look at Henry’s tweets a couple of times per day now, and sometimes follow his links to his blog posts and stories, but I’ve found it very easy (and pleasant) to lay off of sfgate in general.

        • Chico says:

          Yep.. I usually just hit ‘refresh’ on the Splash blog but got sick of reading Killion’s tweets.. Now I just follow Hank and Baggs on twitter.. I like both, but Hank’s sense of humor dwarfs Baggs.. The guy is genuinely funny..

  7. sandy32koufax says:

    TOMMY!

    How have you been since those needy jints fans started their vilification of you, buddy? As a LADs fan I’ll always love you and, in spite of your homophobic treatment of your son and Burke, what you bring to LA baseball-LINGUINE AND GRAPPA!

    Thanks for being a standup guy by making a guest “appearance” here at JDR. Poor jints fans, they’re still having problems adjusting to success. Now you have to get Clay, Matty and the boys to bring home the bacon, as it were…

    Howdy Dowders…still having linux issues. I can’t find my damned recovery disc!

    I’ll either fix it or replace it though.

    GO BLUE!

    • xoot says:

      Trivia question: Who was manager of the bums the last time they appeared in the WS? Bonus points: How many decades ago was that? Tie breaking trick questions: Which franchise has more WS wins, Giants or bums? Regular season wins?

      • shaman138 says:

        I hadn’t even started puberty yet the last time those Doggies won a championship. Meanwhile, the last two out of three years….

      • mailorderwife says:

        Ronald Reagan was still semi-cognizant.

        • xoot says:

          I don’t know. I think that dementia of his kicked in during the first term.

          • Chico says:

            My dad fucking hated that man.. ‘I can store all the nuclear waste in this country under my desk’ – uh huh..

            • mailorderwife says:

              My dad HATED Reagan. Used to call him Goddamn Ronald Reagan when he was governor. I used to think that was Reagan’s real first name.

          • xoot says:

            The year before I started school at UC Santa Cruz Reagan attended some sort of meeting there, maybe a Regents meeting, and said publicly afterward that he hated the place, that it reminded him of “a cross between a hippie camp and a brothel.” We proudly adopted that slogan.

      • Chico says:

        I believe the Giants have 7 and the Doggies have 6?

        • xoot says:

          yeah, although the bums also had a “tie” WS (3-3-1) back when they were called the Brooklyn Bridegrooms. Ha!

  8. Chico says:

    Sandy lives! Xoot, I watched Argo last night… Agreed, that was a really good movie..

    • xoot says:

      Argo combined good guys in Hollywood with good guys in government. I tend to think they don’t exist, but there they were–at least in the movie. Kept me off balance, a bit.

  9. mailorderwife says:

    Has anyone been watching the WBC? I stayed up until early morning to watch Team Japan (GO!) v. Team Taiwan (Chinese Type-A). So the two American announcers calling the game didn’t even bother to pronounce the player names correctly. At one point, the same person was catching, pitching and fielding for Team Taiwan, while a player who was not on Team Japan roster managed to squeak out a base hit. I mean yeah…perhaps our Asian names sound all Chong Chong Teriyaki to American ears, but damn people. This is the WBC, and they are supposed to promote baseball throughout the world.

    • Chico says:

      I’m watching my first game of the WBC right now.. The Canucks against the ass grabbers.

      • Chico says:

        The ass grabbers is a reference to two honeymoon stories I’ve heard from two different couples.. Gotta have some really thick skin if you wish to honeymoon or vacation in Italy. The men are a little, um, aggressive.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Oh yeah. Italian men are very aggressive. Spent lots of time in France. I heart heart Frenchmen. /le sigh

  10. unca_chuck says:

    Musta been Lasorda . . . Alston was long gome by 88, right?

    I think the Giants are the winningest frachnise reg season wise. . . .

    • xoot says:

      yep, although the bums fans will probably point out that the Giants franchise has played one more year, and obviously the original bums could’ve won 3 or 4 hundred games more if they’d had that additional year.

  11. shaman138 says:

    I’d love to see a blog post from Don Mattingly but, of course, we would have to read it twice.

  12. Chico says:

    We’re getting out butts kicked by Mexico in the WBC, and I’m fine with that.. That should quiet up the racist right wingers who are still asking the question about Romo playing for Mexico while ignoring any other Americans playing for other countries..

    • mailorderwife says:

      No urgency, Torre. None at all. He’s going to relive the Dodgers blowing their playoff chances all over again.

  13. xoot says:

    Iditarod update: As I predicted, Martin Buser has regained the lead. But it looks like he has lost one dog. The scoreboard shows him with 13. Hope the pup was rescued, as the race went on. This is an extremeley extreme sport.

  14. Chico says:

    That was the best baseball fight I’ve seen! Tha Canadian straight up blasted the Mexican player with a brutal left cross.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Yeah. Maybe the Mexican players aren’t acquainted with Canadians’ love of false front teeth. Don’t mess with a country where hockey is taught before vegetable eating. That was an AMAZING brawl. Tyson Gilles just clocked that player.

      BTW…LUIS CRUZ…punch a player and run away. Dodger bitch.

      • Chico says:

        I saw that punch and run.. He throws a punch and runs back into the middle of the crowd.. #47?? Speaking of punches, I had to break up a fight this afternoon.. One kid (24 or 25 ys old) doesn’t understand that if you call someone’s wife a bitch, expect her husband to show up to defend her.. He was like ‘what’? ‘it’s only words’ — little does he know that them are fighting words.. I had to tell him, ‘Brandon, dude, you made your own bed bro, you’re on your own’… I pray to god some poor bastard never calls my wife a bitch — it would be all over for him. I don’t think my wife tells me these things for a reason.. I pry and I pry, but she never tells me about beefs she has at work.. Smart girl, better for all of us that she keeps it to herself. That’s my family – what else does one have to live for? #alwaysdowntogo

        • mailorderwife says:

          You’re an *awesome* husband :> Sometimes, it is better not to tell the husband, ya know? I had a stalker at my job who was relentless in following me around the office. I took care of it on my own without telling my husband, because sometimes you just don’t want the one you love behind bars.

          • Chico says:

            Makes a lot of sense.. A stalker at work? That must have sucked! You know, my immaturity comes out once in a while, as seen here, but it is what it is. I have calmed down A LOT since my kids were born, but my aggressive side does come out occasionally. Sorry if I offended anyone, but this is how I grew up.. A blue-collar union working class town – we earn our reputations.

            • shaman138 says:

              I grew up in Airport City (St. Bruno) so I know what it is to hail from a liberal working class town, suburb or no suburb. Hard core Niner country, too–that was rough…

          • xoot says:

            Sometimes? Just kidding. I agree.
            My wife was a witness in a gender discrimination case and I defended her at her deposition. I got pretty wild, but I also kept my eye on the game. Still, it was close. Next time she had a legal issue, I had a friend of mine represent her.

  15. Chico says:

    David Wright with a Grand Slam! 6 -2 USA.

    • mailorderwife says:

      YAY Vogey!

      I am not really rooting for Team USA in this, but will never against our boys in orange and black.

      • Chico says:

        Same here. We were all cheering for Pablo, Scoots, and Pagan today at the sports bar. Puerto Rico advances – go Pagan! Go Vogey, too!

  16. Chico says:

    God damn it’s beautiful out today!

  17. shaman138 says:

    Way to flop. Sharks. Last pkace is not out if reach. If you try….

  18. Chico says:

    Zack Greinke with elbow pain?… I don’t wish injuries on anyone but that’s got to make some Dodger fans nervous..

  19. Chico says:

    Niners get Anquan Boldin for a 6th round pick..

  20. shaman138 says:

    I think it’s safe to say that the 49ers/Seahawks rivalry stands a good chance of being pretty epic in 2013. Meanwhile, the Splash is now a pathetic graveyard–I’m so glad we have this and other blogs for REAL baseball discussion while those sad little trolls flounder over there.

    • Chico says:

      Yep – and those facebook blogs aren’t bad either… I mean, Dodger fans can’t spell, they have a habit of equating Giants fans with ‘fags’ – they don’t understand the concept as to why LA has more gay people than SF (they don’t understand population numbers at all), and most of them are homophobes which makes schooling them that much more fun!

      • mailorderwife says:

        I am an avid (or was) of RuPaul’s Drag Race. Tell your Dodger friends that LA has contributed a HUMONGOUS share of queens to the show — about 40% — while SF has had all of 1 contestant in its 5 seasons.

  21. mailorderwife says:

    Over and under on Yankees begging Barry Bonds to come out of retirement to play for them?

  22. filthychangeup says:

    MLB Network is airing tonight’s game starting at 9PM.

    • xoot says:

      According to sfgate Comcast will broadcast it live at 7. I hear Kuiper say the same thing during Sunday’s game.

    • Chico says:

      7 sounds perfect, but I just looked at my Directv and sure enough, the game will be aired at 9 pm on MLB.. Looks like a late night for us Directv peeps..

  23. Chico says:

    I always thought it was called the ‘sixteenth’ chapel. I’m not kidding.

    • xoot says:

      Instinctive irreverence? I wonder if our blogger friend Tommy “Don Corpulento” Lasorda has any opinions about the papal picking process. Remember Father Guido Sarducci? He did a great promo spot for KPIG radio. “The Pope-a doesn’t listen to KPIG because he-a doesn’t live here. But if he did, he wouldn’ta listen to it, too.”

      • Chico says:

        Not clowning on Catholics, just being honest..I never read much into Catholicism.. Not familiar with him, but I do know that a certain ‘brother’ @ SHCP loves to party! Not sure if ‘brothers’ are allowed to imbibe, but he certainly does. He’s actually a fun guy at my wife’s HS reunions..

        • mailorderwife says:

          Catholic priests and nuns in SF tend to be less … Vaticany.

          I was born and reared the Catholic but left the church right after my confirmation at 13. Nothing in their doctrine about priests, nuns or saints made sense to me. I could write a book on growing up Catholic around super horny priests and nuns who, after leaving the nunnery, would stick their gigantic titties in the face of visiting 49er players to our school.

          • Chico says:

            Hilarious!

          • mailorderwife says:

            LOL. Does anyone ever remember reading his book, which was a compilations of crazy letters and accompanying responses he sent to famous people and companies?

            • xoot says:

              yeah, I read that book — many years ago. The guy has always been great. The audience used go wild when he showed up on SNL’s Weekend Update to offer commentary.

  24. mailorderwife says:

    Delanie Walker heading to the Titans. Sound the alarm.

  25. Chico says:

    OT: Anyone read Paul Ryan’s budget plan? This guy is a fucking asshole!

    • xoot says:

      I heard an overview of it on the radio. Some of his old crap–especially re healthcare–lives on. The guy got his foot in the national door with the last election and he’s only going to get worse, I think. With any luck, by the time he’s in line to win the republican nomination for president the electorate will be top-heavy with ancient boomers like me who have nothing to gain (and in most cases a lot to lose) by abolishing medicare, etc. My kids, btw, have promised to buy me a BMW wheelchair, when the time comes.

  26. JDR says:

    Hmm, Crawford finally getting BP for the first time after being shut down for 2 weeks with recovery problems. Now Greinke says he has “no idea” what’s wrong with his elbow and isn’t sure he’ll be ready for the start of the season.

    Better get an advance on those TV checks, Ned…

  27. shaman138 says:

    It’d be nice to hear of the Raiders making a big signing instead of big cuts, for a change. 2013 is going to be an ugly season in Oakland…I had an opportunity for season tix in the black hole and turned it down…just couldn’t bear to spend that much money on what promises to be a painful experience. Maybe we’ll dig up some gold in the draft.

    • Chico says:

      They’ll eventually turn it around.. Everything is cyclical in Football. Chin up bro.

    • JDR says:

      The worst thing the Raiders can do right now is make a big signing. That’s what messed things up in the first place.
      Hell, worst comes to worst they’ll have a top 3 pick next year and a chance to get Clowney or a franchise QB.

  28. mailorderwife says:

    Has anyone else seen that Animal House-like ad that the SF Giants are airing on Comcast? I loved Brandon Belt’s D-Day.

    • Chico says:

      No, but I’ll look for it.. Anything Animal House – ish would interest me.

    • xoot says:

      I heard about that ad and saw it for the first time tonight, just before the game. Very funny. The Giants are mythical characters who almost naturally match other myths before them. The roaming Catholics used the same powers on the Aztecs and Maya — giving their ancient gods the names of corresponding Catholic saints. Wait a minute. Pretty soon I’ll be off on an Iditarod metaphor.

      Very nice two innings from Lincecum tonight. Some really great pitches.

  29. Chico says:

    Sloppy baseball.

    • xoot says:

      Yeah, and the sloppiness started while Lincecum on the mound in the third. But it’s the middle of ST. Lincecum’s two great innings and Tenaka’s FUps were the most important things in the game. Everything else is just ST workout, tryout and entertainment. Meanwhile, over on the flap, things have really gone wrong this evening.

  30. Chico says:

    LOL. ‘was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor’

  31. xoot says:

    Late last night Mitch Seavey and his dog team pulled into Nome, finishing the 1100-mile 2013 Iditarod in 9 days, 07 hours, 39 minutes, 56 seconds. No word yet on exactly what sort of hallucinations the physical stress, sleep deprivation and wilderness solitude combined to induce along the way.

  32. shaman138 says:

    Arguing with those Dodger fans on the Facebook forums is really like arguing with an ignorant Republican. They can only rehash the same idiotic talking points again and again. Besides the homophobic stupidity, they just love to keep beating the “Giants are the PED team” dead horse right into the ground. Hey, after Melkdud got suspended, the Giants coalesced and took control of the NL West while the Doggies spent about a gazillion dollars for the privelege of being dominated by SF. I don’t see things really being any different this year, especially with Greinke–Giants will win the division again.

    • JDR says:

      Shoot me a link, please

      • Chico says:

        I think he’s referring to the ‘Dodger fans vs. Dodger haters showdown’ page.. A few cool and knowledgable Dodger fans.. The rest type like a 4th grader would.. There are some dumbasses who bring up PEDs, but the dumber ones go into their ‘faggot’ rants. The guy who runs that page is alright, but nobody can ever figure out if he a Giants or Angels fan..

        Matter of fact, that’s where I bumped into Shaman – his name is identical to another friend of mine so I friended him.. Small world.

    • mailorderwife says:

      A friend introduced me to a Dodger fan on Twitter — a doctor from Nor Cal — who just wants to get into internet fights over baseball. She’s even spent time in Twitter prison…which is all good and well, except there is not use fighting people who don’t understand baseball. This was a problem on the Splash, where you had to contend with legions of fans who were under the impression that baseball season consisted of one game, that Cliff Lee would magically improve the pitching staff or more crap about “Botchy”. This particular person keeps tweeting $22 MILLION LINCECUM RELIEF PITCHER, which is pretty stupid considering that he played a HUGE role in getting a second ring.

      I don’t think you can do much about this sort of stupidity, Shaman. People are essentially trolls whose form of masturbation is to mess with people online. There isn’t a whole lot you can do to stop it, so it might be better to just ignore the trolls?

      • shaman138 says:

        I do take the occasional joy in laughing at those people and humiliating them but otherwise they’re useless sacks who need to be ignored. It’s both hilarious and pathetic to me how redundant most of these slimebags really are. And look at the Splash–the trolls have stopped being fed and that blog is a wasteland now. You can’t fault them for not having the requisite skills to actually have a life, though. The internet has given these folks an outlet for their misery where once they only had huggy bears and MD 20/20.

  33. Chico says:

    What happened to the facebook news feed? Usually on the right side it shows what people are commenting on, etc.. Did they change it?

  34. Chico says:

    Happy Birthday!

  35. shaman138 says:

    Ahhh, shit, Wes Welker to the Donkos? They’re already 2013 AFC West champs six months before the season starts. Damnit.

    • JDR says:

      I don’t mean to dump on the Raiduhs at this point, but does it really matter? Yer guys are trimming the fat for a rebuild foundation at this point. Think 04-05 Niners by comparison. The bright side is there’s a hell of a QB class in the works over the next year or two.

      • shaman138 says:

        It doesn’t matter–better that they be garbage now during the Broncos short Manning era and be competitive later when Denver comes crashing back to earth. But it’s painful to watch this perpetual train wreck..
        No more of that. We have baseball just around the corner

  36. Chico says:

    Weirdo alert over on Chuck’s blog…

  37. xoot says:

    ST news just now. Henry S.’s twitter title may be in jeopardy. Baggs is sharpening his skill.

    Andrew Baggarly‏@CSNBaggs
    PR man Matt Chisholm doing terrific job pronouncing Team Japan names over loudspeaker. Of course, RHP Masahiko Morifuku hasn’t entered yet.

    • shaman138 says:

      At least he’s good for a few laughs–I stopped taking Baggarly seriously after he picked the Tigers to win the WS in five.

      • xoot says:

        Well, he was wrong on his final day on Jeopardy, too. He couldn’t answer a final jeop question about the Olympics. The answer was trampoline. During the Olympics last year, he acknowledged, with grace, the many messages he received reminding him that the trampoline finals were approaching.

        So as a local beat writer he took a bold if unpopular stand, essentially agreeing with thousands of other “experts,” and then he got schooled by the great 2012 Giants. Meanwhile, he’s still the best writer on the beat and he gets as many inside stories as the rest of them.

        Of course, as the WS started, I, riding the wave of momentum the Giants created against St. Louis, I was certain, absolutely certain, that they would win in 5, or 6, or 7.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Sportswriters are fallible. When the Dodgers started 2012 with all those wins, the sportswriters at my job were already discussing the playoffs with me. I would have to remind them that it was only May, and that baseball was a long season. “…oh yeah…” Baffling.

        • JDR says:

          Personally I don’t want to read a beat writer who’s a homer (*cough* Slusser *cough*). You want them to be objective in reporting about the team so that we get reliable info. Besides, it’s not like Baggs was trolling with his pick, Detroit looked very good on paper.

  38. Chico says:

    Cool post I came across on San Francisco Giants fan zone. The guy looks to be in his late 60s, from Stockton..

    ‘I must be totally honest with all of you. I was a devout A’s fan until last year. When the Giants won the World Series in 2010, I went around saying that the only thing that could have been sweeter would be if the A’s won it. Last year I saw what the Giants did to win and was very impressed. I saw a different hero every day for a real team effort. I saw Lincecum being effective as a releiver after having a bad year as a starter, and Barry Zito pitching his heart out and winning several important games. He even got some big hits as a hitter in the playoffs. Boch did a great job last year. When the Giants won the World Series last year, I was very happy and it continued on to this year. I still like the A’s, but the Giants are my team now. No, I am not going to be a bandwagon Giants fan. Go Giants! I never did like the DH. If you want to hit, you need to play your position. Go Giants!”

    Take that, Mossback!

  39. xoot says:

    “On the heels of yesterday’s 100-game suspension for minor leaguer Cesar Carrillo comes word that Major League Baseball is prepared to hunker down and come hard after every player connected to the Dr. Anthony Bosch and the Biogenensis clinic in Florida. According to ESPN’s T.J. Quinn, that definitely includes Alex Rodriguez and Ryan Braun, who he says are ‘strongly in their sights.'” from a Yahoo sports blog.

    The blogger goes on to mention something that often gets overlooked: both ARod and Braun have enough money to pay for the very best defense. Braun’s lawyers and experts got him off last time. The vast expense involved in the mlb testing regimen doesn’t get the publicity it deserves. The cost of arranging and conducting the surprise tests, and then doing the sophisticated lab work, is huge. The players, their reps, their “trainers,” and the union spend huge resources in response. Players making the mlb minimum are definitely at a disadvantage.

    • JDR says:

      You have to think that Braun is on MLB’s shitlist after he made their testing operation look foolish. I’m sure Bud did all the homer favors he could, but it’s probably well beyond that at this point.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      A disadvantage to cheat and get away with it?

      Just as campaign reform will always be needed because lawmakers will never cut off huge pools of money from themselves, major sports organizations will never actually police themselves in any meaningful way.

      Your post brings to mind so many other groups that have no real consequences for their self-serving actions. BP. PG&E. In short, nearly any organization or individual wealthy enough to pay to avoid those consequences.

      If this reply sounds too political or whatever, bear in mind that EVERYTHING is political.

      BTW, Happy St Paddy’s Day

      • xoot says:

        Everything is political and politics is never fair. At least baseball’s ripoffs and frauds don’t bust the banks, pay the bankers billions, and put millions of people out on the street. Don’t we all balance mlb’s capitalist hypocrisies against the greatness of the game? Game’s still in extra innings, on my scorecard. As to St. Patrick’s Day, my older son will be home soon because his college schedules its spring break around that holiday, to prevent drunken binges and riots. Ah, youth. Even worse, over in Ireland in recent years U.S.-style St. Paddy’s Day revels have taken over. The United States cultural juggernaut actually convinced the Irish they needed to celebrate their own holiday differently.

  40. Chico says:

    Happy beer & corned beef day!

  41. Chico says:

    And it looks like the idiot from Da Creek has taken over the Splash blog.. Cool, he can have it! He’s also defending the rapes that are going on in India.. Remember his first name? That’s him!

    • xoot says:

      The original Walnut Creek guy, soab/yogibarrister/knight2king1 (and many more) showed up on the flap yesterday. He posted a few good, interesting fan comments. He actually is a smart baseball fan. I haven’t seen him get confrontational with anyone in a very long time. Also, I got to know him pretty well during the early days on the splash and that guy would never defend the Indian rapists. His politics were left and compassionate. We shouldn’t confuse him with the current splash trolls. On the other hand, the guy who hangs his shingle in Walnut Creek is another matter altogether. There’s a good chance I’ll bump into that guy in real life. I think I’ll enjoy that opportunity.

      • Chico says:

        Not Yogi.. The latter..

        FilthyChangeup, if you’re going to engage him, prepare to have your account blocked. Not sure how many times I have to explain this.. Let that blog die dude..

        • Chico says:

          Here’s dude.. He has so many accounts but the funny thing is I can spot him.. http://www.sfgate.com/profile/?User=opinioncounts&plckUserId=opinioncounts He’s half Indian, born and raised here in the US.. You’d think he’d look at rape differently.. What an asshole. You can see that his profile is being reviewed by the editors. I reported him just for fun and wrote his full name in the complaint – now it’s being reviewed.

          • xoot says:

            Remember the night a bunch of us, I know Sandy was there, put up comments suggesting that he was “probaly deranged,” etc.? He blew a gasket. That was funny. Of course, he got a bunch of us banned, as a result. But still, it was worth it

            btw, you have to admit mosshead reacted with a bit more dignity after we assailed him. I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that he has just moved on. His sense of humor is weak, but he’s a baseball fan and an accomplished guy. Best to him. On the other hand, you can be sure slats is still slithering around, lowly as ever . . . .

            • sandy32koufax says:

              I have a friend that played ProBal. He retired very Young.

              • Chico says:

                I remember that night perfectly.. And he threatened to sue, lol..

                Happy St. P dat Sandy!

                • sandy32koufax says:

                  Corned beef, cabbage n red potatoes, Guiness Extra Stout and Paddy’s…

                  Happy happy happy!

                  I’ve seen three innings of baseball so far this spring. I’m so not feelin it. How can MULTI-MILLIONAIRE ballplayers not come to camp, ready to play unless the team is already aware of that? Shit’s smelling pretty stinky in Dodgertown to this Dodger fan.

                • Chico says:

                  And Pablo had numbness in two fingers.. NOT good.

  42. Chico says:

    Torres triples, Pence knocks him in with a single.. Belt then doubles to the LC gap (OF) and knocks in Pence.

  43. shaman138 says:

    Tard alert! Check out what another Dodger moron is spewing over at the Giants fans vs. Giants haters blog on Facebook.

  44. Chico says:

    Fingers crossed for a clean MRI on Pablo today.

  45. filthychangeup says:

    Hank just tweeted that Pablo has an irritated nerve, will rest for a few days.

    • JDR says:

      phew! Hopefully it fully heals and is not something he has to deal with all season. It sounds like one of those Spring Training injuries we wouldn’t have even heard about during the regular season.

  46. Chico says:

    ulnar neuritis – may require surgery.. Don’t mean to be a wet blanket..

  47. xoot says:

    updated splash post makes the nerve problem sound potentially minor. One odd note, however — he has suffered this before. He bounced back after a couple of days last time. That sort of cuts both ways. But good chance he’ll be fine soon.

    • Chico says:

      Henry Schulman @hankschulman
      Pablo said his elbow remains sore, but better every day. Said otherwise he’s ready for the season if it started today. Expects to play 4/1.

      !!!

  48. sandy32koufax says:

    This is the surgery I underwent on both elbows and referred to in the past. Gotta believe that due to better science and techniques that dude is going to be fine, unless SF is willing to risk his future,,,

  49. filthychangeup says:

    Giants are on MLB network tonight.

  50. Chico says:

    I’ve always liked Tom Hanks.. A celebrity who loves baseball.. This is pretty cool.

  51. mailorderwife says:

    Maybe “small market owner” = Lewd Wolff? MLB owners want to abolish pensions.

    • Chico says:

      It wouldn’t surprise me if it was Wolff.. And someone making 40k a year AND wanting a retirement package? Fucking socialist marxists..

    • xoot says:

      Go to the team websites sometime, Giants and A’s, and under the “roster” menu, select “front office,” and compare the many pages of Giants employees listed to the skimpy bunch the A’s employ. And those are just the people in the office. If Wolff is the would-be pension-thief, he simply has no shame.

    • mailorderwife says:

      This is a blog I will never ever visit again after I read his 3 part series on why women should submit to men. I went to a church that taught this, and I rebelled against this sort of pro-penile teaching.

      • Chico says:

        That’s why I stay away from that stuff.. Don’t want to brainwash myself.. The only blog post that was ok was the one about San Francisco, but it’s incomplete.. He says that he hated San Francisco politics and culture, but now he loves the city because ‘God sent him here’, yet he doesn’t explain what changed his mind on the place itself.. Oh well, just throw darts Jeremy.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Yeah…and I find his approach to homosexuality wholly condescending. In some cases, I’d rather he’d be a bit more honest than speak of gayness as if he were dealing with a psychotic, murderer nephew (or teammate…hahaha). God loves them too, I can see why the LBGT community doesn’t like Christianity because of the hatred yadda ya. If you can’t look at them as if they are normal because of their sexuality, then maybe you need to ask yourself WHY God placed such blessings on earth instead of spewing a milder, friendlier version of the fundie credo.

  52. Chico says:

    http://www.sfgate.com/profile/?User=alliemeadows21&plckUserId=alliemeadows21

    This isn’t Soph.. I’m almost positive that this is the person from Da Creek… He’s forgetting the spelling errors and a few other Soph typing habits.

    • Chico says:

      Whoever it is, it’s not Jim.

      • shaman138 says:

        The only question in regards to that particular shit show at this point is who ISN’T that dude. To say that website has been compromised is a vast understatement.

        • Chico says:

          I just watched him flip out on the India rape story… Especially when a poster pointed out that Indian men have the smallest penises of any other ethnicity (who cares, but apparently there are studies that came to this conclusion) – he went ape shit. I’ll PM you on facebook about the perp.. You weren’t part of our emil exchange hat we had a while back, because I didn’t have your email address at the time.

  53. Chico says:

    Baseball is almost here.

  54. Chico says:

    HanRam out 8-10 weeks w/surgery on thumb.

  55. mailorderwife says:

    If you’re interested in tickets, let me know via email or FB. Let me know the day of week/time preference. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

