Alex, we heartily knew ye…

It seems, in all likelihood that the Alex Smith era is coming to a close in San Francisco.

In what seems to be an all-but-done deal, Smith is heading off to KC in exchange for the tidy sum of the 34th overall pick this year and a mid-level pick in 2014. Certainly a nice haul from the Niners’ POV.

So, the Niners clear the way for the Colin Kaepernick reign and remove the last of any bad blood over Smith’s removal mid-season. Smith gets a clean start with a new club and the chance to leave on relatively good terms with the Niner fans who have in large part warmed to him over the last two seasons.

As I’ve yet to see anything resembling a serious and lucid argument for keeping Smith as the starter, and keeping him as the backup against his wishes would destroy the

The only party who really took a risk here is KC. Two second round picks is not what you give up for a stopgap QB. They clearly want Smith to be more than a Nick Foles or Kevin Kolb type of guy.

So what do we make of Smith’s tenure? Well, the numbers themselves weren’t impressive. When not injured, Smith spent the better part of his career trying to overcome his own offensive coordinators. When he finally got into Harbaugh’s offense he was able to win games, but even that seemed to be more of a matter of just not screwing things up and letting the system work its magic.

But where we should appreciate Smith, whether we cheered him on (I did a few times) or booed him (I did that a lot more,) is for his perseverance. The guy endured what was pretty much the worst stretch of 49er football we have ever seen and he came out the other end only slightly worse for the wear.

Even when he did eventually give up his job and leave town, he had to do so kicking and screaming, and that speaks to his character.

So Alex Smith, thank you for your commitment, loyalty and resiliency. It wasn’t always pretty, but there were some great moments.

Now take your tiny hands, weak arm and horrible touch and get the hell out of town. We’ve got a Super Bowl to win here.

This entry was posted in Niners. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Alex, we heartily knew ye…

  1. shaman138 says:

    The next time Smith plays in the Bay Area will be vs. the Raiders in Oakland. My expectations for the Raiders D in 2013 are already extremely low but I’m sure Alex will have a field day carving apart our so-called secondary. Blehhhhhhhhh!

  2. shaman138 says:

    A variation of this thread’s title could read: “Manchester U, we hardly knew U.” Fergie’s boyz got abruptly bounced today when it seemed all but certain they would advance. Two quick goals sent the Aon’s packing. Ha! Let’s go, Real Madrid!

    • JDR says:

      They now haven’t won the Champions League in four years.

      Cry me a fucking river.

      • shaman138 says:

        One of my co-workers is an avid Man U fan and he wouldn’t talk to anyone all afternoon …its not like his team is the Yankees of soccer or anything

        • Chico says:

          Chelsea, Real Madrid, America, and Cruz Azul are my teams.. I’m trying to get into soccer, and it’s working! Still can’t get into hockey..

          My buddy who got the job coaching frosh-soph for my former high school had a good day. They beat Woodside 13-0 and freshmen pitched a NO-NO! Both Varsity and frosh- soph are undefeated so far..

  3. filthychangeup says:

    Here I am at the point where the novelty of ST and baseball returning has worn off, now I’m ready for games that MATTER. I agree with others sentiment: Belt is going to have a MONSTER year.

  4. Chico says:

    Smith was a class act all the way.. I wish him well.

    I’m also starting to get all giddy about the idea of having Reevis on the Niners.. Belt and Crawford both went deep today – both will be good this year at the plate. Mark my words.

  5. Chico says:

    Oh, and I see Soph’s comments on the Splash are the same old shit.. My question is, whose comments got deleted? The Splash went to my first Giants blog of choice to like my seventh in a very short period of time. I’m not looking back.

  6. mailorderwife says:

    Fun game tonight v. the Canucks! 2 in a row for the Sharks? ::thud::

  7. filthychangeup says:

    Did anyone see the story about Brian Wilson working out for the Mets? Apparently they found Wilson unfit for a major league contract with one member saying Wilson “has a ways to go”. Time to swallow your pride, Brian.

    • JDR says:

      One of the beat writers said he’s “fallen off the map” with the Giants staff. My guess is a recovery setback that Boras wants to keep quiet.

  8. mailorderwife says:

    Fun baseball stuff:

    Justin Verlander wants to become baseball’s $200m man. If the Tigers don’t pony up the cash, I’m sure Magic Johnson will. There is a certain panda that would probably love to see him serve up those giant lobs, n’cest pas?
    Clayton Kershaw is enjoying a nice 9.00 ERA in 8ip this spring!

    • JDR says:

      Good excuse to be done with the place.

      Though you have to wonder… when should the “jim” character actually convince some unfortunate young man of its authenticity and something happens, ICUC will look very bad for having actively sought out and deleted those who tried to warn others.

      • Chico says:

        Yep. Just about all of my old friends over there are blocked.. The site is clunkier than shit, the moderation is beyond ridiculous, the journalism sucks, and i’m not interested in the stupid front page stories like the one that’s up now titled ‘I’m breaking up with yooooou!’.. Personally, I’m doing just fine sharing my time between here, the Flap, and believe it or not, facebook.. There’s some cool pages where you can mix it up with Dodger fans, or just to talk baseball.

        The only time I will comment on the Splash is when I plug this blog, when the season starts.

      • xoot says:

        Apparently my account got suspended today. Maybe it was my indirect insult of Katie Dowd’s Buster Posey post.

  9. Chico says:

    Anyone see this? http://www.sportsgrid.com/mlb/robinson-cano-alex-rodriguez-curtis-granderson-and-ryan-braun-might-face-50-game-ped-related-suspensions-this-season/ Robinson Cano, Alex Rodriguez, Curtis Granderson, And Ryan Braun Might Face 50-Game PED-Related Suspensions This Season.

    The guy reported the Melky suspension a month before it happened.. Hmmnnn Could be bogus, too… We shall see.

    • xoot says:

      Interesting. I suspect we’ll have a few surprises across mlb this season.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Oh…so we’re actually going to see Braun suspended? For which season? I hate the Dodgers but Matt Kemp deserved the MVP in 2011.

  10. Chico says:

    Just got off the phone with SFDF.. He’s having PC issues.. If anyone knows about ‘linux’, let me know and I’ll forward it to him.. If not he’ll get a new lap top in time for baseball season.

    • JDR says:

      Is he running Ubuntu? If the computer will turn on and start as normal then it is almost definitely a software issue and he can fix it with the CD that came with his computer.

  11. datswhatsup says:

    It seems the Dodgers mean business.

    Claytinman is pitching like its the playoffs and Plugz went yard today against team Mexico proving he can indeed hit, just not Major League pitching.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Clayton Kershaw received his Robert Clemente award during the 4th game of last year’s World Series. I wonder if he enjoyed watching the Giants win?

  12. shaman138 says:

    Is there anything more to say about the stupid gate that we don’t already know? We know they cater to the psychotic multi-account trolls because it generates ad revenue for their sorry asses and we know it’s nothing more than a lame tabloid. That, of course, is why they allow lame, miserable A’s fans who despise the Giants to moderate and manage a Giants blog to the point where it’s now been run completely into the ground. Look at the Splash now–what was once a lively blog is now a pathetic ghost town with trolls basically talking to themselves. JDR has it right–one of these days the nurturing of the trolls is going to backfire and VK and Co. will likely be in a whole lot of trouble. Otherwise, we have this and other blogs to enjoy besides that cesspool so who gives a fuck?

    • mailorderwife says:

      I had my first big internet fight with a Dodger fan last night on Twitter. No censors, no addition of flying trolls. Screw the Splash. You’re just feeding the advertising donkey and upping their page views by posting there, and they reward your visits by deleting your posts or banning your account.

      • Chico says:

        I, Chico, do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the troll free blogs; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same..

        The only time I’ll comment on the Splash is during the season to plug this blog.. Praise Jeebus!

  13. mailorderwife says:

    Anyone else watching the WBC Team Venezuela v. Team Dom. Republic game? Our boys (Scutaro, Panda) are reppin’!

    • Chico says:

      I missed it.. Was watching the ‘Red Bull’ downhill mountain biking competition with my bro-in-law… He’s the only person I know who doesn’t like team sports.. He’s fucking weird, but I gotta deal with him since he’s family.. Yeah, surfing and mountain biking are things that I enjoy doing but nothing beats a baseball game.. I’ll see if I can catch the highlights on ESPN later.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Oh I feel your pain. My father in law loves the Hallmark Channel and forces us to watch romantic chick flick on holidays.

  14. Chico says:

    Whoa, I posted a reply to VK on the Peter Hartlaub thread about old diners. His comment has since been removed for violating the terms and conditions.. LOL!

    • mailorderwife says:

      VK’s post? What happens if you guys all report his posts for harassment?

      • Chico says:

        Never tried it.. I was replied to it.. Then I saw a typo that I wanted to correct. I copy and pasted my comment below his and when I went to post it, his comment was removed for violation the T&C.. Bizarre.

  15. JDR says:

    New post up- from our special guest blogger!

Leave a Reply

