The four best words we’ve heard all year:

“Pitchers and catchers report”

Time to kick off another season!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

293 Responses to The four best words we’ve heard all year:

  1. Chico says:

    Any other day, I would be jumping for joy but I got some bad news about my brother in law this morning… Also, if you feel like it, click on Twins blog ‘Zekes world’ and wish him the best.. God dammit Cancer sucks.

  2. datswhatsup says:

    Chico, sorry to hear of your troubles, hope that the baseball season gives you what it should: a chance to pretend something that really doesn’t matter really does matter.

    Don’t know Twin Fan but followed him enough on SFGate to know that no one deserves to get dealt hand after hand like that.

    I’m looking forward to baseball season, I have grown tired of policing buddy5 and need the MLB season and all that goes with it.

    I pine for the days of “sfdodgerfa” “n” not “g” (remember those days Sandy?) who will argue his position and actually make sense.

    I look forward to genius GMs (trade Torres, Runzler and Casillas for Mark Trumbo)
    I look forward to the A’s Fans’ continued envy
    I even look forward to the return of the travel agent, the poor soul continues to post anti-Giant posts on MSTI and even the Dodger fans ignore the dildo.

    Most of all I like to read the posts of the Giants’ fans who revel in wins, stick out losses and understand what an 162 game season means.

    -datswhatsup
    -datsright
    -Mollie888
    -blewcrew
    -fredosdog

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Dude, you name yourself? Are you alla those peeps?? Why am I asking so many questions???

      And yeah, NO! I didn’t prefer those ‘d’s, ‘g’s, ‘t’s or any other except ‘n’. Thenk Yaw…

      (Sarcastic comment alert!)

  3. Chico says:

    Thanks peeps.. I don’t have enough info right now and neither does he — doc visits, tests etc… 31 years old. I’m hoping it’s just a scare and nothing worse, but it’s been confirmed as melanoma. What kind, how aggressive, treatment – we don’t know right now. I also have a few other things going on right now that are going to require my attention. . . If I’m posting a lot less, you know why.

  4. JDR says:

    MOW, if you were planning to do another hot stove/updates thread, feel free to use this post.

  5. mailorderwife says:

    Is anyone watching this Dornan thing in the cabin? They’re asking us not to tweet, and making cameras pull away. The LAPD wants this guy dead. To quote NWA, FUCK THE POLICE. I don’t like what Dornan did, but there is some shade going up in this piece.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I was but switched over to Obama…

      • sandy32koufax says:

        “He’s dead”

        “We haven’t found ANY bodies!”

        “Looking to confirm the body as Dorner’s…”

        “LAPD has NOT issued any claims that any body has been recovered!”

        blahblahblah…

  6. shaman138 says:

    Chico, I wish you nothing but the best for you and your bro. You know your blog homies are here for you. As for the LAPD, they have always been and probably always will be nothing but an evil entity, the perfect police force for the dark, twisted city they presume to “protect and serve”. As I always say about Los Angeles, it’s truly the epitome of human evolution gone wrong.

  7. shaman138 says:

    I don’t know which is more dull and uninspiring– the State of the Union or the Sharks game.

  8. datswhatsup says:

    SFDF
    Every town loves a winner but as bad as LA has been of late, I gotta tell you one of the main reason they are losing their fan base is those horrible announcers.

    Vinny is great but I’m sad to say he is starting to get confused on air.

    Rick Monday is so boring OSHA forbids businesses from piping in games where there is heavy equipment running. Ray fucking Fosse calls him boring.

    Charlie Steiner is to play by play what Yoko Ono is to singing. Basically both sat next to people that had talent.

    Soooo much tradition in LA but they refuse to remind their viewers of it.

    • Chico says:

      Epic post!

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I don’t live in LA anymore and AM radio doesn’t reach up here any more. I catch Vin online but switch the sound off when I’m not getting his feed. You’re right about those guys, and I really liked Monday as a player. Shit will get straightened out-after Vin dies or retires.

      I hope I’m as lucid as dude is when I’m his age.

      IDK about these clowns being a huge reason for fans taking wing though. Most of the people I know down there cite McWhoops first, gangs second and McWhoops third…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Amazing post. And Scully is beginning to repeat himself far too much. I knew it wasn’t just me thinking this when I saw a Dodger fan dress up as a circus clown in left field, right behind Cody Ross. Scully kept repeating that story over and over on the telly.

  9. sandy32koufax says:

    Not to imply that I’d care to see the change but…shouldn’t JDR’s banner be updated?

  10. sandy32koufax says:

    Westminster Kennel Club!

    Go William the Newffie!

  11. mailorderwife says:

    So is Dorner dead or did he get away? I decided that instead of SOTU and watching Twitter, I’d watch Chopped Champions. Priorities, people. Sharks made me mad.

  12. shaman138 says:

    God Damnit, I hate February. ALWAYS a hellacious month for me. Every year since I was a kid. And tomorrow is my absolute least favorite fucking holiday–Hallmark Ho Day. GAHHHHHHH!!

  13. shaman138 says:

    Manchester Ewwnited gets the first goal but Madrid ties it. Get ‘er done, Madrid.

  14. Chico says:

    Merikuh!

  15. xoot says:

    The 9th Circuit held oral argument yesterday in Barry Bonds’s appeal. I read an interesting article about it today. Barry’s attorney primarily pushed two points. First, the rambling answer Barry gave to a question about being injected (with anything, not specifically PEDs) did not “obstruct” the questioning or the case, because the prosecutor asked it again and Bonds answered “no.” Thus there could be no “obstruction of justice” conviction. Second, the original indictment didn’t completely quote the rambling answer and target it as an alleged criminal act. Thus, the government had no right to seek a conviction based on it. Both good arguments.

    The Dept. of Justice attorney responded that the rambling answer thwarted the government’s pursuit of responsive testimony because the answer was non-responsive and evasive and delayed the government’s case. Barry’s attorney said the rambling lasted for 22 seconds. One judge asked the DoJ attorney about the indictment issue. The DoJ attorney said the indictment was sufficient and then sidestepped the question a bit. Barry’s attorney said, look, under the government’s standard for criminal evasion, the government’s attorney just violated the law.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Wow. I figured they just wanted to pin something on an individual who was never convicted.

      • Chico says:

        That would be awesome! And thank you for putting it into layman’s terms Xoot.. I read something on it this morning but didn’t quite understand it. Thanks man.

  16. datswhatsup says:

    WTF Piazza?

    He’s really accusing Vin Scully of trying to turn the fans against him during contract negotiations? Good lord what a dope. Vin is a god in LA and perhaps the most pleasant star in the history of SoCal. Dude make Tom Hanks look like Roman Polanski.

    To my earlier post, there has been such a dry spell of personality and connection it is no wonder that the park is so empty.

    Forget about about how long it’s been since Garvey, Lopes, Russell & Cey? It’s been 15 years since Piazza was traded.

    LA cannot get an identity since Piazza:

    Celebrated Young Guys who were allowed to leave or dumped: LoDuca, Shawn Green, Gagne, Beltre, Mondesi, Russell Martin, Loney, Broxton, Nomo (older)…now Hairplugz & Flavor Flav Gordon is on the trading block

    Big name guys who disappear quickly, no regrets: Kevin Brown, Kent (he actually quit on LA), McGriff, Brian Jordan, Sheffield, Nomar (local kid)

    I mean every team has guys who come and go, but doesn’t it seem there are at least SOME who seem like Giants? Who talk about how they enjoyed playing here?

    Karros does local TV for LA but instead they go with Steve Lyons (class 1 idiot).

    It is a sad case of turning gold into turd. Maybe Magic Johnson (perhaps the most appropriate nickname ever) will change that.

    • Chico says:

      When I think LA, I think of the Manson family. Another thing I think of is the Blue sky that you see when you’re heading north up the grapevine, wondering where it was at Disneyland. I liked West Hollywood, Bel Air, the view of the valley from Mulholland drive, El Coyote cafe (My wife and I were drinking Margaritas with Kid Rock and his GF).. I liked Hermosa beach – a cool coastal vibe much like where I live.. The Whiskey will always rock! I enjoyed staying at the Biltmore across from Pershing Square – the ceiling in the lobby area was one of the most ornate things I’ve ever seen.

      One thing.. Our GPS lady was drunk and on our way to Hermosa Beach, we were following directions to take Beach Blvd?, only that we went the wrong way and ended up in Compton or South Central, one of the two.. We didn’t get out into the suburbs so I have no opinion of them.. Of all the places I liked in LA, I couldn’t afford to live there. Go figure.

      I couldn’t tell east from west and I have VERY good navigation skills.

      You’re right.. The Dodgers seem to lack that ex-player fraternity that the Giants have.

      • datswhatsup says:

        Hermosa? Now you’re talking.

        Three miles north and you’re in Manhattan Beach which is as close to SF as you get, most folks grew up there (when it was affordable) and will never leave. Neighborhood bars and good eats and great dives.

        Hermosa used to be Scumosa but they re-did the pier and now you have 15 bars in a quarter of a mile to choose from and the place is filthy with cabs so you are $20 from a Torrance Hotel at half the price of the beach.

        You were in the South Bay, wide beaches, great surf and mellow crowd–you saw some of LA’s best. Don’t go north of MB, that’s were gun fire and swimming in jeans crowd hangs.

        LA way too spread out and rush hour is 7:00 am to 10:00 pm so you need to pick your spots and not try to see too much. Disneyland is great, Knotts Berry Farm lacks the Disney touch but has 5 times the roller coasters if that’s your thing. Every Disney trip should include a trek to Newport Beach in O.C.–free and you’d have paid to go there!

        South of Hermosa and Redondo Beach is the Palos Verdes Peninsula unreal view of the LA Coast and nice hiking trails (think LA’s Twin Peaks).

        LA would rule if they could just carve out driving through the crappy parts.

  17. Chico says:

    The Pentagon has spent 400 BILLION dollars on a worthless plane.. And my Mom collecting Social Security is the problem? Assholes.

  18. Chico says:

    Happy amateur night Dowders!

  19. Chico says:

    Sandy, Cal vs UCLA tonight? Heh!

  20. datswhatsup says:

    This will be a strange season.

    Whether it’s the organization, the Bay Area, The ballpark or the fans, the Giants have had a pretty good run when it comes to keeping its players.

    Sure players come and go, but I don’t recall them losing big players, players they really want, too often. Was Kent the last? Funny, his “French Vanilla uniform” comment and tearful “always wanted to be a Dodger presser” gave way to hating that club to the point of retiring early and returning as a Giant minor league instructor. I mean Uribe & Renteria declined contracts to stay, and they were “good Giants” but never The Guy.

    This year we fans have already seen the Brian Wilson mess and face the tough realization that TL may be gone before year end and most certainly at year end. It’s just the business of baseball, but I don’t remember it involving key Giant players like this.

    Hey, get paid I’m all for that. What I hope both consider is that when you are a big name and sign elsewhere, that good will that you generated does not follow. Wilson slammed the door in 2010 and TL won 2 CY’s and dominated in 2010 and played a tough role in 2012. Their new teams want their best years and want them now…that other shit was for a team they care nothing about.

    Don’t think TL is overly worried about that huuuuge contract or he would have opted for a Cain like extension. Sometimes you need a change of uniform but going to the Mariners, Yankees or Red Sox? That seems like it will end badly.

    I left the Dodgers out because I will not allow myself to consider him signing there.

    • mailorderwife says:

      This is a great post. TL leaving would be heartbreaking for me because I am such a fan! It’s probably a move I do not wish to think about, as I am still heartbroken from Chris Speier’s departure from the team long ago.

  21. Chico says:

    I’m down to meet up tomorrow.. I texted Shaman and SFDF is getting ahold of Xoot.. Just make it easy on me, I don’t know the city like you guys do.. If it does happen, don’t post the location here for obvious reasons — I can totally see Jim showing up in a wife-beater with a growler full of Vodka.

  22. Chico says:

    Sounds like we’ll have to postpone the meet up.. Tomorrow isn;t working for Sandy either.. When we do come up with a time and place, we gotta get JDR there too.. I gotta buy that man a beer.

  23. unca_chuck says:

    I’m with ya on Speier, MOW. He was my first favorite guy whose career I followed from a rook on. Loved it when he came back in 1987 . . .

  24. JDR says:

    Regarding the game/group thing… what about teaming up with Flav and the guys at The Flap? That would easily qualify us for a group rate and get a lot of the old Splash crew together.

    • Chico says:

      I’m totally down. I can get some boys together too. No prob. Flappers, good idea too. I’m at Hmb brewing co so I can’t see all the comments (WordPress sucks on a mobile)… Beautiful day out! Enjoy! Lets get this ball rolling! I’ll pitch in some $ for mow’s flight if need be. We gotta do this.

  25. shaman138 says:

    Holy shit, just checked the ticket prices for the first Doggie series in May and they’re outrageous–nothing cheaper than $70, even bleachers

    • mailorderwife says:

      Let me check to see if I get some sort of season ticket discount. Do you have a particular date in mind?

      • JDR says:

        There was talk of a Dodger series for SFDF’s sake, but that might not be practical. I’m not particular about opponents, just looking for a good time and a killer photo gallery.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          It’s prolly better if it’s not an LA-SF game. Ticket prices notwithstanding, you poor Jints fans would be appalled after watching the Dodgers put the Magic Whammy on your boiz.

          Go Pirates!

  26. sandy32koufax says:

    A visionary has died.

    Thank you annd R.I.P. Jerry Buss…

  27. xoot says:

    I’m in on a game this year. The best would be a late-season battle with the bums just about the time they start to fade — again. But the cost is crazy. So whatever works best in general’s fine with me.

    Did you see Josh Hamilton’s first big statement as an Angel? He said “the Dallas-Fort Worth area is not a ‘true baseball town’ and it would always be a ‘football town first.'” Yeah,well, the LA-OC area is a facelift town first. Although I’ve heard that USC does generate a bit of a buzz.

  28. Chico says:

    It really pisses me off when dumb ass republicans don’t understand what the fuck they are talking about. Re: the Keystone pipeline – ‘drill baby drill’ – ‘isn;t it safer to transport it via pipeline than tankers’ — That’s not the issue! Canada voted the pipeline down.. The Natives don’t want it going through their land.. The PM of Canada is on record saying that the oil is going to Asia.. People will be kicked off their family farms, farms that have been in the family for generations! This is how these people make a living and it’s all they know..

    This won’t benefit Americans at all.. It’s won’t drive the price down one bit. Someone tell these idiots that oil is a commodity traded on the world market – Someone tell Carlfortwo (Raider fan) that Canada’s oil is not our oil.. Someone tell these idiots to study something before instantly going into ‘SHILL’ mode.. Seriously, we’re surrounded by fucking idiots..

    Happy President’s day!

    • mailorderwife says:

      This fracking thing has destroyed the pristine beauty of Alberta. And really? Fracking? How about we lessen our dependence on fossil fuels.

      Anyway, yeah…Canada is not part of the U.S. This pipeline has very little benefit to Canada, and we have no right to any of it. I mean, Canada already provides US with such glorious movies such as “Category 7: End of the World,” “Prom Queen: The Marc Hall Story”, and “Android Apocalypse”. Let’s not forget Nickelback and Anne Murray. It’s clear that nothing good comes from up North, so no touch!

        • mailorderwife says:

          Horrible and criminal. This crap in our food supply is nuts. But we live in a country where people couldn’t give two shits that their McNugget looks like a giant pile of bubblegum. When your diet is about quantity and not quality, you can get away with a little carcinogens floating around in your milk supply.

          Fracking has been banned in France, which makes all the sense in the world. But if their neighbors take it up, how long until all that illness makes its way into the poulet?

          What bothers me is that no one seems too concerned about the accompanying mini quakes. US claims there is no correlation between quakes and fracking, while Europe begs to differ.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            And getting set to begin fracking ops even in high end areas such as the Carmel Valley. Joel Grey and Liza Minelli had it right when they sang “Money Makes The World Go Around.”

            Seriously, corporate America really does rule this land of the free…

            • shaman138 says:

              I’ve been involved in a fair amount of activism and the “progressive” movement and at the end of day day NOTHING has changed–in fact, it’s gotten worse. At this point, I’m reaching the point where all I can do is shrug my shoulders and wait for the inevitabe ecological/economic disaster and try to have some fun in the meantime. Maybe there will be some sort of social justice movement that could turn things around but I doubt it–we’re going to learn this lesson the hard way. It just boggles my mind that all of our lives are being compromised by a handful of crotchety old rich men. Disgusting, really. A nihilistic point of view, perhaps, but when asshats like Ed Lee can become mayor and hand this amazing city over to a bunch of stupid computer nerd yuppies and real estate developers then any optimism gets thrown out the window.

              • mailorderwife says:

                I can understand your frustration. My father got me started as an activist while still a teeny wienie girl, and growing up in hippieville of SF helped to make me a progressive. But these days, there just seems to be no point. Once we sailed past the 70’s, it seems that change and progress is just not going to happen. Politicians and pulpit have done a great job making it appear that abortion, guns and gay marriage are the only things that matter in this country. In this way, they can slip their salami filled fracking, Monsanto seeding and fucked up chemicals aka food past our general sense of awareness.

              • Chico says:

                Hey look, Shaman uses ‘asshat’ too.. I love that word for some reason.

    • shaman138 says:

      Yeah, the Raider fans on the gate are a bunch of wingnuts. Raider Momo even said he would vote for Romney because “he’s a God fearing man”. But it’s also another testament as to how conservative California really is

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Most of the comments on SFGATE are from out of staters anymore, shaman. Not saying that guy isn’t from here just stating a fact about the users there…

        • shaman138 says:

          They’re mostly Central/San Jaoquin Valley folks, actually–and they really are rabid right-wingers. Meanwhile, WBButthead is a staunch liberal. Such is life, I guess…

          • Chico says:

            When you Google ‘liberal web sites’, SFGate is one of the first that pops up.. The asshats at Freedomworks pay these dolts to troll internet message boards – they’re known as ‘freepers’….. Whenever there are big stories like the Treyvon Martin shooting, or anything associated with gun laws, political stories etc, the nuts come out of the woodwork and manipulate the thumbs up/down feature to make it look like popular opinion is on their side.. Seriously, ever notice how the top rated comments are illogical and wrong and the replies make a lot more sense? That’s because the thumbs have been manipulated..

            SFGate is also linked to the Drudge Report a lot — so the wingnuts click on the story and it brings them directly to SFGate.. It’s hilarious that they think this way, considering that the Hearst’s aren’t exactly known for their liberalism.

            • shaman138 says:

              They also try to personify different characters with different stories…e.g., they’ll be their true wingnut selves on the “national” stories but then sign into their “local moderates” accounts when it comes to local SF political stories, even though their act is so transparent and most of them have clearly never been to SF, let alone live here. Their particular frothing at the mouth over the Mirkarimi story is actually pretty hilarious, IMO. You should also check out the commentary over at the SF Bay Guardian site–it’s the same group of assholes trolling it up over there, too. It really is funny in a dark comedy sort of way.

  29. Chico says:

    “merikuh’ just happened again in SoCal.

    • shaman138 says:

      These fucking mass shootings are becoming the equivalent of the daily weather reports on the news. Psychotic society we live in. Seriously.

  30. xoot says:

    Well, on a more trivial but still relevant note, some good news via twitter:

    San Francisco Giants@SFGiants
    Mark it down: We will be LiveStreaming the #SFGiants final workout of #SFGSpring this Friday – Watch #SFGLive beginning at 9:30am PT

    I spent much of the 80s (yes, the 1980s) fired up with political activism. Organized a union in Berkeley, picked coffee in Nicaragua, got arrested peacefully in SF in May 1985 protesting the Contra war, handled fund-raising for the Berkeley Nuclear Free Zone initiative (successful “Measure K”–after which success, UCB quietly decommisioned a small training reactor they’d been using for decades in a basement near College Ave.), plus a bunch of other stuff. I found that earning a living interfered with my political ambitions, but I put some time in. That’s what a lot of people do. I’m just as far left now as I was then, still support the causes I care about. You can’t give up, but it’s tough to make a full-time life out of it.

    • shaman138 says:

      It’s true, I still stay involved, but these are disheartening times.

      • Chico says:

        Damn, that’s a hell of a resume Xoot… Shaman, keep up the good fight man.. Don’t despair, fight for what you believe in.

        I’ve been watching a documentary on HBO called ‘the untold history of the united states’ It’s really good… One episode that floored me was about the Contra wars and what we did to Latin America.. I now know why my father will go to his grave hating Ronald Reagan.. I can’t believe we did those things to those poor people. We supported genocide, and funded it too. Sickening.

        • mailorderwife says:

          What happened in El Salvador, Nicaragua, Guatemala was horrendous. In all this, I do believe that Oscar Arias earned his Nobel Peace Prize for trying to maintain some sanity in Central America.

  31. Chico says:

    Regarding gun violence and laws.. ****I am not an advocate for frequent changes in laws and constitutions, but laws and institutions must go hand in hand with the progress of the human mind. As that becomes more developed, more enlightened, as new discoveries are made, new truths discovered and manners and opinions change, with the change of circumstances, institutions must advance also to keep pace with the times. We might as well require a man to wear still the coat which fitted him when a boy as civilized society to remain ever under the regimen of their barbarous ancestors.”
    – Thomas Jefferson

    • xoot says:

      Yeah, I’d say a few “discoveries” have been made since the well-regulated militia stocked up on flintlocks.

    • xoot says:

      I wonder what T. Jefferson would think of Mericuns’ obstinate refusal to repair the Constitution? Hollywood could probably make a blockbuster movie (like “Lincoln”) about every time people have managed to make real change to that fairly short, elliptical little statute. This piece landed in my in-box today. It’s not earth shaking, but it does show how hard it is to fix things.

      http://www.lawprose.org/blog/?p=1208

  32. mailorderwife says:

    When I worked at Warner Bros., I brought my mother to the ol’ Western town lot. This is the location of many a cowboy movie, and we strolled through the old Saloon, walked past phony storefronts and took pictures of ourselves on top of the noose stand. The dirt road of Western town evokes memories of bouncing dry brush and sand swirling around shooting cowboys or even of samurai battling in the streets. Yeah…this is all movie stuff, and not real life.

    In real life, pull a gun and the other person is not so quick to respond like The Waco Kid. It makes me sick that the NRA and its supporters believe this to be a likely scenario. So in the interim, we hear insufferable arguments and hear of these daily shootings. We’re a third world country with our disregard for life.

    • Chico says:

      The more these tragedies happen, the more I learn that the NRA talking points are mostly lies.. Gotta admit, there were some great comments on SFGate today )story about the shootings in SoCal.

      The NRA uses wording like ‘The UK has more violent crime’ — but when you read up on it, like someone else said over there, giving someone a wedgie is considered a violent crime in the UK..

  33. unca_chuck says:

    The cat’s been out of the bag for 246 years. How do you change the pervasive ‘gun culture’ in this country? I mean, it can be done. Just look at smoking and drinking. Well, smoking, anyway. What used to be ingrained in the culture is now shunned and banned in most places.

    Can this happen with guns? Most people mean well, and use their weapons wisely. But, as seen in Newtown, the shooter got his weapons from his parents. It looks like the same thing with this kid in Tustin. When my kids were little I always asked the parents if they had weapons in the house when my kids were going to a sleep-over. If so, were they locked up. Most didn’t have them, but a few did. they had gun safes. One dad had a gun in his dresser drawer. Unlocked. I didn’t let my daughter sleep over there.

    The point being, at some point a line has to be drawn regarding weapons. Limit the amount per person, the magazines, assault type, whatever. Anything to point to and say ‘here’s where we start the process of unglorifying this shit.’ Will it hapen overnight? Over 20 years? 50? Who knows? My overarching point is doing nothing about this solves nothing. There have to be some changes made.

    • Chico says:

      Good stuff Chuck.. Yeah, the ‘more laws won’t work’ BS is a front for the NRA.. I’d like to ask them if more laws won’t work, what the fuck will? Save the ‘we need more guns in circulation’ BS..

    • mailorderwife says:

      Nice, and great parenting.

      I guess baby steps for now. I grew up in the ghetto, and now live in safe comfortable haven. There are more guns here than there were in the ghetto. At least back in the day, the guns made some sense since there was no po-po around when you called them.

      • unca_chuck says:

        Yeah, I don’t get it at all. But I was never exposed to guns of any kind. I shot a .22 rifle when I was about 8 on my sister’s in-laws farm in Sepastopol. Kinda cool trying to shoot bottles and cans, but that was the first and last time I shot any kind of gun. None of my friends went hunting or even did anything gun related. Maybe it’s a burb thing. I certainly get it living in the city. But i never felt the need even then when i lived in the Sunset, or the Haight, to get a gun. Those areas for the most part are fine, but there are parts I’ve wandered into and though, oh boy, this could get fucked up in a hurry. And I still don;t have a problem with the self-protection idea of gun ownership. My cousins from Chicago used to go up north and hunt/fish, but they lost all their guns when they moved out west.

        So, where’s the connection from hunting to massing tons of weapons and shells? Is it the cracker factor? Is it strictly a mental health issue? These last few cases point pretty hard in that direction. And we can all thank Ronald Reagan for de-funding state and fed mental health programs back in the early 80s, but I’m still at a loss as to how to get anything done.

        The Newtown case is extremely troubling when you find out that the guy’s mom took him shooting to try and bond with him. You try things as a parent to connect with your kids, but using high-powered weapons with an obviously troubled teen who has problems assimilating? Really? And let’s not bother locking these weapons up. What’s the worst thing that could happen? I mean, really. This is why I asked the other parents if they owned guns. You never know how some fairly rational people can simply neglect to safeguard their kids by locking up dangerous weaponry. On one lever it IS a breakdown of the parents in some of these cases.

  34. Chico says:

    PBS will be airing a show called ‘Life after Newton: guns in America’ tonight at 9:00 pm… Channel 9 on Directv..

    • unca_chuck says:

      What was the statistic? Over 2,000 gun deaths since Newtown?

      • Chico says:

        I DVR’d it and I’ll probably watch it tonight.. Your stat sounds about right Chuck from what I’ve read.. And counting. .

        • xoot says:

          I watched it, and the Frontline hour that followed it. Pretty good, although they overplayed the Black Panther relationship to the late 60s gun-control laws. The Panthers saw an opportunity for agit prop and exploited it brilliantly, memorably, but the open-carry displays weren’t important to their fundamental agenda. They were going to take Malcolm X’s idea literally and stockpile guns, and be pleased to carry the small ones covertly, and to use them all when they decided it was necessary, no matter what other laws got enacted. They later had more than few huge shoot-outs with the cops and feds.

          But the idea that the Black Panthers constituted one of those “well-regulated militia[s]” the founding fathers envisioned does focus things. Do we want rival militias with state of the art ordnance? Does the 2nd Amendment really approve them? Of course not.

  35. Chico says:

    Fun facebook page to mix it up with Dodger fans.. ‘Dodger fans vs Dodger haters showdown’

  36. Chico says:

    Sounds like there might be some movement on the A’s San Jose thing, or maybe not.

  37. Chico says:

    Sandy, you alright?

  38. mailorderwife says:

    San Jose Sharks are driving me nuts. It’s bad when the only highlight of the game is watching a replay from a previous game of Joe Thornton throwing punches at a Blackhawks player. Hard to believe that Couture played in Switzerland during the strike, because his stick has been very quiet. Sorry…I know only Shaman is a hockey fan, but I had to vent.

    On the other hand, PLAY BALL! :>

  39. xoot says:

    So I’m planning my day tomorrow around the radio broadcast of the first ST game. Anybody else planning to be there?

  40. Chico says:

    Shaman, did you just comment on Dodger fans vs. Dodger haters showdown? If so, I know you dude..

    • shaman138 says:

      Yup, that was me. Small world, bro!

      • Chico says:

        What a trip! I grew up with someone who shares your identical first and last name, then I see that we have three mutual friends.. I forgot that I’m already friends with the guy I grew up with, so when you accepted my friend request – i realized that I have two friends with identical names.. Small world indeed! I grew up with Merle (dude is a trip isn’t he?) He used to get icky sticky bomb from an older head in high school.. I went to school with Jen and her hubby Justin.. I also lived about 100 yards away from Maria for years.. All good peeps!

        • shaman138 says:

          Hahaha…yeah, Merle’s cousin is one of my best friends and my sister and Maria are BFFs all the way. And my mom dated the owner of Cheers in Linda Mar for a few years before he passed away. Small world indeed.

  41. xoot says:

    Sounds like our new Japanese IF can turn a double play just fine. Also, I’m glad Pablo got a workout scoring earlier. Run, Pablo, run!

  42. shaman138 says:

    For all you Deadheads out there, full day of Grateful Dead marathon radio on KPFA today. Woot!

  43. Chico says:

    Giants win.. Time for a beer!

  44. mailorderwife says:

    Sharks. UGH.

  45. xoot says:

    Anyone else hate those NASCAR crashes? I especially note the videos made by people either standing their ground or moving toward the flying debris; those vids capture images of other fans trying to get close to the developing disaster to take video with their phones too. Crazy. Much of the crowd isn’t fleeing, it’s moving toward the danger. I wonder if that contributed to the number of people who got hurt. Reminds me of a woman I knew who kicked a meth habit. She told me that she and her speedfreak friends had a favorite spot where they would crouch near a highway at night, to get as close as they could to the cars roaring by. They loved the sound, the wind, the “power.” She said that she finally realized her fantasies of diving in front of a speeding car (to really experience the power) were insane. That, and some other complications, got her into rehab. At least she had addiction as an excuse for her stupidity. I’ve gotta conclude that many NASCAR fans are just idiots.

  46. mailorderwife says:

    Just out of curiosity for all you men folk…

    Christian churches love to hold these male only conferences, such as Walkworthy. Why are these things men only? Is there some lecture, singing, appendage chat, Cheetoh gorging and maybe a game of bocce ball? What special things do you learn that women cannot hear? I would think that if it involved how men should treat women, the fairer sex should be in attendance to correct the speaker, just in case the guy starts talking about sensitivity or something nutty like that.

    Fess up.

    • Chico says:

      I haven’t done the ‘guys night out’ thing since I went to Vegas (my buddies wedding).. The only times I’m around an all guy crowd is when I’m watching a Niner game, and even at some of those females are present.. ‘Guys’ chat, in my experience usually happens on a job site.. Most will talk about their sex lives, some complain about their wives or gf’s spending habits.. One particular friend of mine usually gets goofed on because of something he said a few years ago about how his unopened box of condoms is expired, and he never gets L**D, LOL.. To be honest, the conversation does get quite graphic at times and that’s when I say ‘TMI’…. To use the urban dictionary; I’m not a fan of a ‘sausage fest’.. I like to be around a diverse crowd.. One reason for that is probably because my wife is not just my wife, but she’s my best friend, too.. Sounds cheesy, but I can bounce things off of her and I trust her more than I do my best male friends..

      I don’t go to church because I think it’s hogwash, but I have no problem with those that do as long as they keep it to themselves and don’t throw holy water on me..

      I’ll have a great answer for you in a couple of weeks when I get to see a friend of mine who I haven’t seen in a long time.. He works at the Bohemian Grove and he promises details 😉 I’m guessing everyone here has heard of the Bohemian Grove?

      EDIT: I must add that I really think it’s high time for some MORE female leadership both in the private sector and the public sector, mainly the White House.. Most of the men that represent us seem to be idiots. Time to hand the keys over to a female – I would prefer someone like Elizabeth Warren.

      • mailorderwife says:

        I don’t mind guy get togethers, as that seems like a normal part of life. My husband does his all-male Korean BBQ gathering where they complain about Disney, but I don’t really mind because he always brings me back a nice box of Kalbi.

        I think these male-only seminars like the BoHos or these Christian things are so curious to me. Let me know of your findings. My old boss at a law firm went to a BoHo gathering back when Ronald Reagan was still alive. He said that Reagan was passed out and drooling most of the time until it came to speech time. That was when Reagan would wake up and deliver one of those bullshitty Gipper speeches. Then again, that is how I imagined his terms at the White House to be.

        I tend not to do all-female gatherings. The last time I went to one was in Vegas for a drag show, but I didn’t expect my father-in-law would come. He would have fit in, though, as the whole room was 5 cheering Japanese women amid a see of confused faces from Middle America.

        Now I will tell you that I was forced to watch a “for female’s only” pre-marital video by the LaHayes. Beverly LaHaye — she of the Concerned Women of America — basically told women to sit back and let the man take charge, which is the sort of sex a man would enjoy with a plastic doll. This is what I envision at these male seminars, where the church leader would tell men to make sure they were the head of the household and that the wives were properly submitting. Maybe they tell Hillary jokes at BoHo?

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I’ve got friends that are members of Boho. The wives are seriously pissed because they know what takes place at those “get-togethers.” Mainly, lots of partying and randy behaviors involving “professional women.”

          Most of the wives are in extra-marital affairs and detest “who” their husbands are when they get back from even an evening of Boho activities. IDK “the rest of the story,” as it were, but I DO know the husbands are all connected politically, professionally and through their affluence. As a result, the wives tend to feel not only left out or like their men are leading double lives, but also wholly marginalized by their unwillingness to walk away from Boho.

          The funny thing is that I’ve spoken to some of the men and they feel entitled to Boho and what it offers. And I don’t mean the ability to make inroads politically, professionally or in any other way than the sex and drugs. I doubt the names would surprise any of you and I shant name them but these are people in positions of authority in all of our lives and they live as hypocrites and judge others for the things they refuse to cease doing. Typical not only of men but of people that believe, perhaps rightly so, that they are above the mores and laws they claim to be guardians of…

          • mailorderwife says:

            What a way to live :< I'm not surprised at the type of people who would go and enjoy the services of the professional women, seeing as we've had many a politician go on mountain hikes to Argentina or hire Elizabeth Ray as a secretary. It's all about money and sex disguised by religion and faith.

  47. JDR says:

    Any word on Cain? Heard he took a liner off the leg, but can’t get any diagnosis.

  48. mailorderwife says:

    So Alex Smith is headed to Kansas City? Poor kid.

  49. Chico says:

    Our friend that we had the email exchange about went to work on the Splash tonight.. Almost all the replies to Jim’s post were taken down, both of mine are still standing.. Weird. Shaman and I made similar posts right next to each other and they were both censored.

    We have this blog.. Let’s use it folks! Also, I have found a couple of great facebook pages to get your baseball talk on.. I don’t know how many deletions I have left until my account is blocked over there. I’d rather save them up for bigger stories than the second day of spring training.

    You don’t get blocker here, at the Flap, or on facebook..

    You need to trust me, Jim didn’t have those posts removed. WBB didn’t have those posts removed, the guy from Da Creek had those posts removed.. I watched it happen by hitting the refresh button over and over again, and having another window open watching his newest profile infect other topics on SFGate. He has personally had dozens of mine and SFDF’s friends blocked from back in the day.. He even got dsgonzale6 blocked a couple of weeks ago.. dsg got told by the higher ups to take a hike.. You know how crazy that is? The chron did an article on dsg (and wanted to interview me) under my previous username..

    You can read the article here: http://www.sfgate.com/news/article/Comments-on-news-stories-a-double-edged-sword-3162777.php

    You know SFGate is screwed when they can’t even reinstate a user who they wrote an article on.. By the way, that article generated so many comments it must have broken SFGate records..

    My point is, SFGate is a rudderless ship with no accountability and there is no one to turn to when a problem over there occurs. I think we need to stick together — if that means copy and pasting Schulman’s blog posts and putting them here, so be it. That’s easy..

    I’m not going to patronize a place that is rigged anymore. I’m sorry. Life is too short to take steps backwards – lets all make an effort to let that place die. Our accounts won’t last until late May, so why even bother.. Plus, the blog ain’t the same without FilthyChangeup and TheBabbler. Let it die.

  50. Chico says:

    http://www.sfgate.com/news/article/Comments-on-news-stories-a-double-edged-sword-3162777.php

    If you go through the few comments left, most are mine and SFDF’s old pals on SFGate.. One particular person, whose comments are still standing was the one who told me about the idiot troll with hundreds of different screen names who is solely responsible for ruining what was once a great site.. His story (told to me in private) was the exact same story and person that came out in the email exchange we all had.. Shaman, if you’re interested, I’ll fill you in on a private message vie facebook..

  51. xoot says:

    Chico, as to da creek: Is this guy on the rampage now the same one we (SFDF and I were involved, I think others were there) enraged about six months ago by posting jokes incorporating his unusual first name? That guy works in WC. At the time we had our fairly hilarious showdown with him he was trolling the splash with an image of R. Montalban as Star Trek’s Khan and concluding every comment he posted with “Gracias.” He really blew a gasket when we put the heat on him. He’s a different commenter from the old timer who at one time somewhat improvidently boasted that he had a condo in WC. That guy has his troubles, but behind it all in fact he’s actually a baseball fan.

    • unca_chuck says:

      Yer going back to the weird old days of the Splash, Xoot. Funny, back then we self-moderated WAY better than the untrained monkeys do now. Ironic, seeing as I did get a 2 week suspension back then for an argument with the WC condo-boy. I don’t post (or stick around) enough to even wonder if my posts get deleted or not. I’m sure some of them have been.

    • Chico says:

      I’ve heard the stories about Yogi, and I do remember him stirring shit up one night.. I think he was the condo owner, right? I didn’t comment on the Splash back then under my previous username unless it was on the front page.. Back then, I just commented on the post-game articles..

      Different guy.

      The guy I’m talking about is the guy we talked about via email whose office is in Da Creek.. Yep, he sported a Ricardo Mantalban avatar and ended everything with ‘gracias’.. He’s also the infamous JackTorrance troll. He’s also the old infamous ‘insensitive’ – the guy with the clown avatar who used to troll earthquake stories saying ‘i felt it’ and always announced what he had for breakfast and that he only had $3.15 in the bank, or some shit like that.. Hell, he’s all over the place on that site with so many handles it’ll make your head spin.. I’m done with the Splash.

  52. unca_chuck says:

    MOW, KC is worlds better for Alex than the Jets. KC is a good young team that has suffered through some mediocre coaching. They have a strong run game, and good wideouts (esp Bowe). If Alex goes there, he and Reid should reach the playoffs. Their only competition in that division would be from Denver, and if KC can physical up some, they’ll take them.

    I think Cleve could have worked as well, but Reid seems to want Alex. All those years of Mike (Mr. squirrelly dog) Vick must have prompted him to want a guy who doesn’t turn the ball over all the time. And Reid being present for the 2nd half comeback Smith engineered in 2011 musta helped.

  53. Chico says:

    Not sure how many of you can get away with listening to the game at work, but you can stream it live through sfgiants.com/mlb.com..

  54. unca_chuck says:

    Sorry Chico, bases loaded and they bring in Bochy. He gives up a 2 run double, runner at 1st stops on 3rd. Next pitch, yard. . . I don’t know if Bochy put those other guys on, but he could have come in, thrown 2 pitches and given up 5 . . .

  55. Chico says:

    I tuned into KNBR tonight to hear some baseball talk.. Ray Woodsen was talking about the Oscars, not sports.. That was over an hour ago, and he’s still talking about the Oscars.. I’m planning a camping trip this time next year so I can avoid it all.

    • mailorderwife says:

      The Oscars are stupid. The real awards are the Independent Spirit Awards in the US. But these movie “pundits” should realize that most of the best films never make it to our shore. Want to see a great movie? Go to the Cannes or Venice Film Festivals, or even Sundance and TriBeca. Oscars are all about kissing some butt, which is why Kevin Costner won for “Dances With Wolves”.

      • Chico says:

        That’s tough to do on a middle class income.. I’ve heard the same from other movie buffs too. My wife is really into international films and the few that I have watched with her were really good. I was glad to see Slumdog win – I saw it before people were talking about it.. That ‘Amore’ looks really good but that’s the kind of movie that’ll tear you apart when stressed out.. My wife said that she gave it ‘4 basketballs in the throat’ — I walked in a half hour she finished watching it and it looked like she just got a phone call that both of her parents died.. One of those tear jerkers… What were you saying about men and sensitivity 😉 One day I’ll mature enough to appreciate those tear jerkers..

        • mailorderwife says:

          Ahh understand. The best films I’ve seen were in Cannes, and most never manage to make their way to the US. However, HBO and Showtime used to be great for showing some of these films on their stations. Also, Hulu has some absolutely spectacular old and new foreign and classic American films as they carry the Criterion collection. These are especially good if you like quality Japanese movies. They carry films from Ozu, Imamura, Kurosawa and nude women happy Oshima. They also carry great great French films by Renais, Truffaut, Goddard and some of the rest of the Cahiers du Cinema crowd.

          For more of the imaginative contemporary movies, try Netflix or Amazon Prime Videos and head to the Scandinavian collection. I tend to like sci-fi and comedy, so I love “Trollhunter”, “Iron Sky” or the Finnish dark comedy “Rare Exports” about evil Santas. Netflix also has a little series called “Lilihammer” starring Steve Van Zandt (yep…the Springsteen one) about a mobster who chooses the little Norwegian town as his witness protection location. It’s a hilarious dark comedy, and the small town scenario makes it charming.

          Unfortunately, most Hollywood movies are pure commercial crap that just showcase special effects. This is bad for someone like me, who hates comic books and chick flicks.

    • xoot says:

      My kids enjoy Seth MacFarlane’s stuff a lot more than I do. I keep trying to deconstruct the Family Guy for them so they’ll move on, but they’re young. The prefrontal cortexes are still attaching. And, hell, I have to keep tabs on them, right? So I watched the oscars with one eye last night. I was surprised. It was ok. MacF had some funny moments and some junvenile offensive moments and some humble, respectful moments. The musical productions bored me.

      But on the Ocscars, the only two movies I saw last year were Argo and Django Unchained. I liked them both. So did my 15 year old. We had some good conversations about the violence in Django. I was especially pleased to see Django get some awards. Tarantino, obviously, is self-indulgent, but he was right in his acceptance speech: what he does best is create characters on the page, and when the actors he casts take those characters and run, then his movies work. This time he wound up with several great characters.

  56. mailorderwife says:

    Giants v. Dodgers today, fellas! Get our ears ready.

  57. mailorderwife says:

    OMG Grats to Chuck Hagel. And Rand Paul gave a thumbs up to him? WTF is going on with those numbskulls. I guess they ran out of names to call Hagel.

    • Chico says:

      I think Rand voted for him because he’s similar to his father Ron, who is basically an isolationist.

      I’m stoked on this nomination! Hagel is *not a War Hawk*.. I think he’s left of Obama on foreign policy.. Panetta really bummed me out.. I WAS a big fan of his, but he bummed me out during his job as the DS.

  58. sandy32koufax says:

    Zboy can suck my Dfan dookie!

  59. mailorderwife says:

    Heh…GO GIANTS!

    • Chico says:

      SchulmanTell you what. Bochy played to win. Had Monell hit for Susac in ninth when Dodgers subbed a righty in for a lefty. #sfgiants.
      Go Giants!!

  60. mailorderwife says:

    SF Giants are on TV right now!

  61. Chico says:

    Brett Pill is hitting the shit out of the ball in ST..

  62. datswhatsup says:

    I admit I’m a home (e.g. Kershaw hit hard =”ha ha losing it”; TL hit hard = “numbers don’t matter, he’s just working on some things”

    But I don’t think I’m out on a limb with the dick factor of LA’s #2 & #3 starting pitchers.

    Greinke sat down with The Daily Breeze local paper where he shared his dislike for fans wanting autographs and to talk to him and how he dislikes FanFest events. Dude I get how it can be a pain but these losers you detest enable that $27M/yr salary maybe bite your lip a bit. He comes across as more assholiphobe than agoraphobe.

    Dodger Talk had Josh Beckett on talking about how he likes the Dodgers because they don’t treat all pitchers the same and allow him to go at his own pace.

    Uh so you’re saying the guy who eats chicken and drinks beer during games and skips a start but plays golf instead enjoys being left alone. Of course we’d all agree, the Mount Rushmore of hard working athletes starts with Jerry Rice, Kobe Bryant & Josh Beckett.

    • mailorderwife says:

      The SF Giants may be on short supply of individual superstars, but I do like how they really factor in personality when bringing in people to the ballclub. I think this might be the reason why the team never pursued Carlos Beltran after the ’11 season, ya know? The Dodgers have a potential car crash on their hands, and playing in LA-LA land is only going to further these oversized egos. OH do remember, Greinke, that a cup of soda can reach the Dodger bullpen pretty easily.

      • Chico says:

        WordPress needs to create a thumb up feature.. That way I could give a thumb up so that poster knows that I like his or her comment without having to bee the idiot (me) to reply to every damn post.. Thumbs up to Dats and MOW.

  63. mailorderwife says:

    NFL Homo watch. Always good to be behind the times.

    • Chico says:

      Sadly, he’s probably got a point about the the NFL fraternity and keeping it on the down-low.. I’d be interested to see what % of football players are gay.. 2, 4, 5%?

      • xoot says:

        Won’t be too long and the names will start emerging. Hell, Kwame Harris may start blabbing for money to pay his criminal defense team. Wasn’t long ago ambitious republicans stayed deep in the closet. Not as much lately, and with the reactionary religious zealots crapping out in the last Pres. election, maybe more of those repubs will start living their lives more honestly, not afraid to alienate the wackos. The fact that the original federal court trial judge who struck down Prop. 8 is an openly gay republican (a very conservative republican) sort of suggests where things are headed, I suspect.

  64. Chico says:

    Must see: The game of baseball explained by the master.

  65. Chico says:

    I never really did get into it, but I feel for you Sharks fans. That blows. Try being a Cal fan, it’s not easy either..

    • mailorderwife says:

      Yeah…it’s a massive train wreck. They haven’t been this awful in forever, and you can just see it on ice. Slow slow, out of place blaaaah.

  66. Chico says:

    I think Belt is going to have a great year..

  67. Chico says:

    I don’t care if it’s ST.. The Giants beat the AAA’s! Belt is now 6-for-14 so far this spring. I don’t know if it was here or the Flap, but I predicted a big year for him.. With the low O production we’ll probably see in LF, we can use more O production at 1st base..

    • datswhatsup says:

      I agree Chico.
      Though certainly Scutaro’s number will drop this year and quite possibly Pagan and Posey will to a lesser extent…Belt, Crawford, Pence and Timmy’s numbers should improve and could improve by a lot over 2012.

      • JDR says:

        I think Pence is going to be the big one. If he’s up around .300 and Belt comes on with a solid year they will have little to worry about offensively.

Leave a Reply

