Super Bowl, Here We Are! (sort of)

In response to requests for a new thread, here goes. No time to waste, gents! The Stupor Bowel is tomorrow, and our (or some of ours) beloved San Francisco 49ers are going to take the field opposite the Baltimore Ravens and their murderer superstar Ray Lewis. (In case you have not yet seen the cover of SI, there is a photo of Ray Lewis that will soon be made into a mosaic window for Our Lady of Destroying Evidence Redemption in Baltimore).

As my husband and I did before every winning playoff and World Series game, we are going to get nachos and a donut. Don’t try this at home, kids, unless you want to spend a lazy winter exercising. What is your pre-game ritual? I bet that SFDF and Shaman might just be out buying pins for their Colin Kaepernick voodoo doll, amirite?

I look forward to gameday observations and Cahiers du Cinemaesque critiques of commercials. Of course, we can all go to Uncachuck for the best in that, right?

On a better note, pitchers and catchers report in less than two weeks. Even if you don’t care about football, we all care about baseball. This is what unites us, because there really is nothing better in this world than spending a daytime or evening watching our favorite teams trying to pull out another win.

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Super Bowl, Here We Are! (sort of)

  1. Chico says:

    First of all, thank you for what you do MOW… I can’t tell you how much I appreciate what you do here…OMG, you said Nachos.. Tortilla chips is on the list of things I CANNOT eat post-surgery so I’m screwed in the football food dept. No popcorn, no spicy buffalo wings, no 7 layer dip, no salsa…. So I’m thinking potato skins w/cheddar/bacon bits and sour cream and a bowl of clam chowder.. Beer of choice (tradition) will be Sierra Nevada.. I was going to go to my brothers house because after all, the Super Bowl is all about family and friends but he just notified me that he has to work.. Apparently the VP of a huge tech firm in the south bay really liked the work that he did, so they want another 4 rooms done by monday.. He’s mortified but he has no choice BUT to work.. So I’ll probably watch the first half at the local joint where I watch most of the Niner games with friends (kids will still be napping).. I’ll watch the second half at home with my wife and kids and probably a few stragglers from the local joint.. As for tradition: I like to get pumped up listening to music..
    Van Halen’s version of ‘Pretty Woman’ – the intro gets me pumped
    Van Halen’s ‘Panama’
    The Stooges ‘down on the street’
    Metallica ‘stone cold crazy’
    Pantera ‘walk’
    Maybe a little Motley Crue ‘kickstart my heart’
    And a whole lot of Godsmack!

    Did I mention beer to calm the nerves? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • shaman138 says:

      Awww, stuck with tater skins and sierra? First world problems bro. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • shaman138 says:

      And, when it cones to Van Halen, it’s ALL about “Dancing in the Streets’

    • mailorderwife says:

      Whoaaa! Sorry to hear about the no tortilla thing.

      Music thing is interesting! Here’s a confession, though: Whenever the SF Giants are up at bat or when the 49ers have the ball, I watch the game. When the other team is at bat or has the football, I am banished to play the piano until the inning/downs are over. He is of the belief that I cause my favorite teams to lose, so we go through this ritual. I’ve also become pretty awesome at piano.

      • shaman138 says:

        Ha! I totally do the same thing during Giants games…mute the tv and put on music. 49ers games? Uh, I go to the park.

  2. shaman138 says:

    Sooo, looks like I’m going to bernal heights to watch the game. If the Nineahs win, getting home is going to suck.

    P.S. If you get a chance to rip the bong and listen ti ’73 Dead, do it! Amazing music

  3. xoot says:

    Music prep will be short and to the point for me–the drum intro to the Clash’s cover of I Fought the Law. I’ll play it real loud a couple of times, and then let the song run.

    What I’ll do next I still haven’t decided. My attitude toward the Super Bowl sure is different this year than it has been for quite a while. Say, eighteen years. This year I intend to watch the game closely. Parties and prop bets and so forth would be nothing but distraction. I may watch the first half at home and then head out to finish elsewhere. I never like the half-time shows anyway.

    Historical note: I attended Super Bowl I. Al Hirt played the friggin trumpet at half time and, being the middle of the VN war and all, the geniuses in charge of the show released hundreds of dove-like pigeons. They had trouble figuring out how high to go to escape the LA Coliseum, so many of them circled and circled endlessly above those of us in the stands. And you all know what terrified flying pigeons do.

    • shaman138 says:

      I did love the Tom Petty halftime show…followed by the Giants stunning the Cheatriots at the last minute. Best SB ever. Except for Raiders Eagles, that is.

      • xoot says:

        Raiders/Eagles set a standard. During the Nat’l Anthem the Eagles were all singing along with hands over hearts, as if they were boyscouts. Vermeil looked like he was about to cry with sentimental pride. Then the camera moved to the Raider sideline and showed the players smacking each other and joking and laughing and getting ready to kick ass. For years afterward, I picked the SB winner based on which team was the most irreverent during the anthem. Past decade or so, however, the league has cracked the whip on bad behavior and the tv censors have exercised strict control, too. End of an era.

        • mailorderwife says:

          As a child, I once went to a 49ers/Raiders basketball game up in USF. I never cared for the Raiders until that game, when Cliff Branch came in with his big o’ pimp hat, flared pants, long coat, those teeny square glasses and some big ass platform shoes. He outdid Superfly. He also came in at the basketball version of halftime, and John Madden yelled at him in front of all of us. Branch could not give a rat’s ass. Hilarious.

          Also, Danny Abramowicz at basketball does not work.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          T.O.P. in the ’73 or ’74 SB.

          “What Is Hip”

          This rocked:

          • sandy32koufax says:

            “Cuz sometimes what it is, what it ain’t…yeah”

            No habitual behaviors around food, music or anything. Just don’t ask me to watch more than an hour of pregame or eat shi shi shit you’ve never prepared before-unless it’s actually “good.”

  4. sandy32koufax says:

    HOF doesn’t mind his players, titles or the revenue he brought everyone but won’t recognize Eddie D for his contributions to the game…

    Not that it bothers me ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. unca_chuck says:

    Owners get in once every 10-15 years. He’s got a while.

  6. Chico says:

    Change of plans.. We will be watching the game with some friends at their home in Glen Park (top of Diamond/Moffit) — family friendly.. Our kids love their kids and they should be able to entertain themselves…

    Shaman, you’ll be right over the hill so you’ll probably be able to hear me saying ‘Go, Go, Go Go, Touchdown Niners’! You might even be able to smell the burning trees ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. mailorderwife says:

    If the 49ers blow it:

  8. Chico says:

    So the comical goes with a cw nevius article about playmates as their lead story on super bowl Sunday.. Fail

  9. Chico says:

    Doctor, valium please..

  10. Chico says:

    My buddy is snapping pics from New Orleans.. Drinking in the hotel already

  11. Chico says:

    My other buddy is an electrician but he loves photography on the side.. Took this this morning..

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    Whoa…when we did we enter the “Your comment is awaiting moderation” zone?

  13. JDR says:

    I’ll be off at a friend’s for the game, but I’ll try to check in when I can. If they pull it out I’ll be sure to drunkenly slap together some sappy tribute post. If they lose I’ll see if I can’t toss up some lamenting rant when I emerge from my blackout.

    Either way, more JDR posts soon!

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Have a good time JD-hell, all of you Dowders have a good time and don’t forget-GO RAVENS!

    • xoot says:

      I stopped by the local market to pick up some fresh tortillas and salsa and so forth. Guy at the butcher’s counter was wearing a raiders hat. He wants the 9ers to lose. He wants it so bad. I think those fancy bbq tidbits he was buying aren’t going to taste so good. I think he’ll get so upset by the game he’ll ruin the stuff, and end up eating crow, real nasty raven-sized crow. See you all later, much later, tonight.

      Go Niners!

  14. sandy32koufax says:

    Allen, Vintage High in Napa and Sonoma St…

    Stud.

  15. sandy32koufax says:

    Culliver for 31!

  16. sandy32koufax says:

    Happenin’ blog!

    Lates Dowders…

  17. mailorderwife says:

    Well, nothing like gutless football. I’m ready for baseball season.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Harbaugh will bring the niners back in the 2nd half…may not get them all the way there but this game is def not over by a long shot…

  18. mailorderwife says:

    Why waste a hologram on Destiny’s Child when you could make one for Janice Joplin?

  19. shaman138 says:

    Power outage? Are you fucking kidding me?

  20. unca_chuck says:

    It usually gets out of hand whan I’m not around. As tonight showed. There are time I think, why do I bother?

  21. unca_chuck says:

    I would have warned off JBat had I been around.

  22. Chico says:

    Well wasn’t that a dagger to the heart.. I truly believe the better team lost.. And yeah, the calls went one way and not the other but still.. 3 pass plays on 1st and goal? With that shitty play calling we deserved to lose.. The shitty safety play notwithstanding.. It hurts. Bad.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Yeah. I’ve been so distraught that my baby poodle has been ultra affectionate. This is going to hurt, mostly because our perfect record is gone, Ray Lewis gets a ring and our Frank Gore didn’t get the ring. I think that hurt to know the most. And Kaepernick? Let’s just comparing people to Joe Montana, once and for all. Only Joe Montana is Joe Montana.

      • Chico says:

        Besides the INT, he played well.. Roman blew it on the play calling when it mattered.. Heartbreak hotel with a ray of sunshine I guess…

        • mailorderwife says:

          Yeah. Kaepernick, when all is said and done, was pretty amazing. But that last series of plays hurt like hell.

          • Chico says:

            I couldn’t believe the play calling.. Holy Shit.. Don’t be surprised if the OC takes a college job.. As for Kaep, the guy throws the football harder than ….. Anybody. As long as we are well coached, we are only going to get better (but we never get this close)…. It hurts. Bad.

            • shaman138 says:

              Yeah, there’s nothing more painful than watching your team lose a SB…shit, Raider Nation is STILL recovering from that damn Tampa SB.

  23. Chico says:

    Damn. It hurts just as much as yesterday.. Shaman, since you’ve been there, how long until the pain dissipates?

  24. mailorderwife says:

    New thread up!

Leave a Reply

