Hot Stove for the Week of 1/14 – 1/20

SATURDAY, JANUARY 20
SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS News:
1:44 p.m.
— Per Brian Sabean, Brian Wilson will not be returning to the team.
10:10 a.m.
Time to remove your caps. The great Earl Weaver, who treated umpires with the respect they deserve, has passed on to the baseball netherworld. Rest in peace, and make sure to kick up lots of infield sand.

FRIDAY, JANUARY 19
1:16 p.m.
— Use this arbitration tracker to keep up with the signings. There are too many to list.

SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS News:
11:57 a.m.
— Avoiding arbitration, Buster Posey get $8m for 1 year.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 18
SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS News:
4:25 p.m.
Brandon Lyon is in talks with the team.
1:23 p.m.
Jose Mijares and Marco Scutaro have joined the Venezuelan WBC team roster while Sergio Romo is listed on Team Mexico’s roster. Angel Pagan and Javier Lopez are listed on the roster for Puerto Rico.

10:45 a.m.
— Indians, Rangers also have interest in Ryan Theriot.
8:45 a.m.
Jeremy Affeldt is also on the WBC Roster. Other notable players include Ryan Braun, R.A. Dickey, Derek Holland, Brandon Phillips, Adam Jones, Joe Mauer, Chris Perez, Giancarlo Stanton, Mark Texeira and David Wright. And Shane Victorino.
Mike Napoli signs a 1-yr. deal with the BoSox.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 16
12:54 p.m.
— Giants, Phillies interested in Ryan TheRiot.
12:27 p.m.
A-Rod gets hip surgery and is expected to be out for six months.
10:56 a.m.
Vincent “InYoFace” Padilla is bringing his talents to the Softbank Hawks of Fukuoka. I remember Tim McCarver telling the World Series audience how Ryan Vogelsong once played in the city of Hanshin for the Tigers. Japanese baseball clubs are named after corporations/companies and not cities. Hanshin Tigers were a team out of the Hyogo Prefecture. (Hence, how the Tokyo Giants became the Yomiuri Giants). I look forward to hearing McCarver telling people how Padilla now plays for the Japanese city of Softbank.
6:34 a.m.
— The Mets are not impressed by Brian Wilson and do not deem him worthy of a big league contract. Oh, snap!

TUESDAY, JANUARY 15
SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS News:
9:11 p.m.
— Giants only want to sign Hunter Pence to a 1-year deal.
4:39 p.m.
— What’s Ryan Vogelsong doing today? Nicole Vogelsong shared this picture on Twitter: https://twitter.com/nicolevogelsong/status/291335478047825921/photo/1

11:28 a.m.
Rafael Soriano agrees to a 2-yr./$28m deal with the Nats.
8:39 a.m.
George Kottaras signs a 1-yr. deal with the A’s to avoid arbitration.

MONDAY, JANUARY 14
SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS News:
12:22 p.m.
— This is really yesterday’s news. Ryan Vogelsong will pitch in the WBC. Representing Venezuela, Pablo Sandoval will also be participating in the WBC.
11:21 a.m.
— The A’s give Bob Melvin a 2 year extension.

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

146 Responses to Hot Stove for the Week of 1/14 – 1/20

  1. shaman138 says:

    Of course they want Melvin to stick around for awhile…who else are they going to scapegoat when Wolfco’s never-ending circus implodes yet again?

  2. sandy32koufax says:

    And…Lane Kiffen is toastios
    .

    Fired by U$C…

    • sandy32koufax says:

      OOPS, my bad!

      I’ve REALLY got to start reading these damn stories…$C fired it’s BASKETBALL coach.

    • Chico says:

      I don’t think so.. He should be, but I’m not seeing this anywhere.

      • Chico says:

        Ha! Look on the sports section on the gate – I commented on the basketball coach/firing a minute ago. Like minds.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I saw that.

          I sent an email to vk…he says no “the-babbler” ever existed.

          WTF?

          • sandy32koufax says:

            And now vk is trying to say that babbler ASKED for his account to be deleted but has no record of even that.

            The Splash, sfgate, is compromised. Keep your AV current and on, Dowders…

            • Chico says:

              Now that doesn’t make ANY sense. You’d think a Furd grad would come up with something plausible even if he doesn’t have an answer as to why it happened..

              No record of The_Babbler? VK is lying – VK knows who he is, and they’ve even had an exchange or two in the past.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Fuck the gate.

                In the past month I’ve made a couple of handfuls worth of comments. Half of those were deleted for no real reason as well.

                I see Filthy, JD, Blazes and very few others from the old days still commenting there…it’s just not worth the hassle any longer…

                On that note_blade5 is on his worldwide jaunt, 27,000+ miles, around the globe! Check in with blog every few days. I’m guessing it will be a fun ride.

                • Chico says:

                  Yeah, the quality of the comments there compared to the Huffington Post are laughable. That’s where I do most of my political ranting. Join me over at the Huff Po dude..

                  Google the babbler and sfgate.. Dude pops up all over the place.

  3. sandy32koufax says:

    Sorry Niner fans, Nate Silver-sports prognosticator extraordinaire, has chosen ATLANTA to win the NFC title…

    • shaman138 says:

      Hmm, we’ll see. Colin was epic against Green Bay but this is a whole different slice of cake for him. I think it comes down to who gets off to a better start early in the game and takes momentum. If SF can shut that crowd up early they’ll be fine. The Doity Boidies aren’t the Packers, though–this game WILL be tougher. And if the 9ers DO win, at least let’s have the Ravens win so we don’t get the dreaded SF/NE Super Bowl. If that’s the case, I’ll be tuning in to the Puppy Bowl.

      • mailorderwife says:

        ‘Member when the Falcons were in the NFC West?

        I’d love for the 49ers to win. However, I’d even like it more if the Patriots lost.

        • shaman138 says:

          Yup…Atlanta, Rams, and the Saints were the 49ers’ doormat for years. But who can forget Neon Deon’s miracle TD catch against SF with one second left after it had seemed the Niners had made a comeback win of their own.

    • xoot says:

      bullshit. It’s one thing to predict that a super-rich, super-white sexist man will fail to win a Presidential election in 2012, it’s another thing altogether to predict whether the 49ers will rise to the occasion. They aren’t due for another flat game until next pre-season.

      Anyone else remember Garrison Hearst vs. Atlanta in the playoffs? One of those 9er moments I’ll never forget. I liked that team. Time for a better game against the Falcons.

      And for the real old timers, Chuck, etc., how about the hail mary to Billy White Shoes Johnson? Of course, that wasn’t in a playoff game, but still . . . .

      • sandy32koufax says:

        But how do you REALLY feel?…

      • shaman138 says:

        Yeah, I honestly don’t see the Falcons winning this game. BUT…both AFC teams are also hot right now.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Xoot…for me, as a Rams fan, the worst game ever was a Monday or Sunday night game that saw John Taylor taking over and scoring two or three TDs against LA to keep coming back and finally winning. Montana had a huge game too. I’m certain it was a home game for the niners and it was in ’88 I believe.

          Google could solve all of this but I’m feeling a bit old-fashioned today and am trying to rely on my own memory, HAH!

          BTW? I HATE the niners…

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I know idiots that think this way.

      From attorneys to carpenters…it always amazes me too.

      If Poland had only 3 weeks to oppose the Nazis, what would armed Jews have really done, kill a few German soldiers?

      Shut the front door!

    • Chico says:

      Yeah, I don’t think so. Every part of Germany’s bureaucracy from parish churches, the interior ministry, the post office, the finance ministry, and universities all played a part in the Holocaust. Sadly, I don’t see a way it could have been stopped earlier than it was. A lot of it’s parts were institutionalized years before the start of WWII.

      I guess the answer for anything from the cretins are more guns?

      Shooting at a college in Missouri as we speak.. I’m sick of these gun nuts!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        An Oikos type of institution, I believe, Chico.

        I’ve been a student of WWII since I was in HS. I’ve read many differing POVs re what we knew, when we knew, etc. about the Holocaust. I believe the west knew early enough that an attempt to free Jews, Roms, etc could have been made. It wasn’t “important enough” at that point in time, however.

        Sad commentary on the entire situation is that even if we couldn’t have mounted any rescue efforts, that no one told the world about it until it was a too well known secret and could no longer remain “secret.”

        Mankind doing awful things to each other is nothing new. I see no end in sight either…

        • mailorderwife says:

          I remember watching a whole bunch of Hassidic Jews come out of a building in Osaka. It was a bit of an odd sight in a Japanese country, until I read about Chiune Sugihara, a counsulate worker in Lithuania who issued thousands of traveling visas to Jews to help them escape the Nazis. Considering what Japan did to the other Asians during the war, this seems a bit of an odd until I realized that it was just an act of one man. Amazing how one person can do so much good.

          Which, of course, made me realize that there were millions of Europeans who did nothing to stop the annihilation from happening.

    • xoot says:

      Here are two of the more recent pieces I’ve read on the holocaust. John Rocker is an ignorant buffoon. He would’ve been a fine nazi corporal or private. After some early years having fun abusing people in Germany or Poland, he would’ve ended up frozen by the side of the road in Russia.

      http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2012/dec/20/hitlers-logical-holocaust/

      http://www.thenation.com/article/171262/noble-and-base-poland-and-holocaust

      • mailorderwife says:

        HAHAHAHAHAHA! No doubt, he reminds me of one the unsavory rapist in that Michael J. Fox/Sean Penn movie in Vietnam. Even has the height. Worst of all, he is a neighbor of a good friend of mine. I was tempted to write something like, “…if John Rocker were my neighbor, I’d shoot some pellets in his ass..,” on my FB page, but I don’t want to jeopardize my friend’s law career.

        I wish people would stop comparing *** to Hitler. Only Hitler can be compared to Hitler. At the rate in which he is being compared to some pretty milquetoast characters, Hitler will soon be as dangerous as Henrietta Hippo from the New Zoo Revue.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Good pull on these xoot.

        Very good pull.

        I’ll need to show you some of my library one day, you’d enjoy it.

  4. sandy32koufax says:

    BTW, I sent another email to our good buddy vk re: babs and chico’s saying to google his name with sfgate references…he hasn’t, and prolly won’t, responded.

    Gotta love how that place has become a snakepit…

    • Chico says:

      I never got a response.

      • shaman138 says:

        Babbler would hang out a lot on the precious Dumbbeat–VK’s pets probably complained and he jumped into action, eliminating Babbler’s account immediately. Of course, craztcrotchhead and trolly can disrupt the splash with impunity. Of course he’ll lie about it so that way we can never prove he’s a biased Giants hater. His lack of journalistic professionalism is quite infantile.

    • xoot says:

      Babbler got disgusted with the splash last season and started spending more time on the dumbeat. He seems to be a fan of both teams, really. He indicated more than once that he lives in the East Bay, possibly on a boat. He definitely is a highly experienced sailor. He spent part of his childhood in Albuquerque, and he knows a lot about Twain. Those are just some of the details I gathered over the years. He was always one of the best commenters on every blog he visited. Christ, sounds like a fucking eulogy.

  5. sandy32koufax says:

    One year for the Pence?

    Really?

    Kinda wow to me

    • Chico says:

      Considering that he’s shown me some of the worst plate appearances I’ve seen since he’s been in a Giants uni, I’m fine with it.

  6. Chico says:

    Another school shooting in Hazard county Kentucky – 2 dead.

  7. xoot says:

    Great anecdote about McCarver, MOW.

    The only thing worse than watching a game with McCarver and Buck talking about the action is being forced to watch them interview someone in the dugout while the game, off camera, is in progress.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Heh…remember Joe Buck’s constant reminders of how FOX broadcasts were fair and impartial? I also remember how they were going to alternate interviews with the Giants and Tigers, although the Tigers were shown those dugout things two nights in a row.

      • shaman138 says:

        The worst was listening to them during the NLCS while the Cards were winning….as I recall, after the pitiful game 3 and then Timmeh’s immediate implosion in game 4, they started gushing over St. Louis and I snapped the TV off and met some friends at the beach. Thank God for game 5 and Zito….and the rest, as you know, is history.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Did anyone see the Deion dumping gatorade or water on McCarver in the locker room? I thought it was brilliant and shut dude up…eventually.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Hey, it’s either own it and beg forgiveness (can’t in this instance, too hot a potato) or place blame elsewhere.

      Spindoctor central…

    • mailorderwife says:

      There are some terribly ill people out there who do go out of their way to mess with people, as I have had first hand experience with this sort of thing. However, this “hoax” explanation is unbelievable. Either the guy is seriously missing some necessary genetic material or he wanted a story to help his Heisman bid. Heck…sob stories work on “Chopped” all the time. Queue Lifetime movie!

      • Chico says:

        Especially when Manti did an interview mentioning his dead GF on Jan 3rd, 2013.

        ND’s response was that they were told in late DEC of 2012.. Someone is going to be in trouble!

        Also, they held a fundraiser for her in her name and collected money! Isn;t that against the law? Faking a death that never happened and then collecting money from it? That’s gotta be against the law, right?

  8. JDR says:

    Teo should have spent some time on the Splash. We’re quite familiar with creepy dudes who spend years on end pretending to be young women.

    Actually, does anyone know if the guy behind Teo’s “girlfriend” was a Giants/Niners fan? I’m only half-joking here…

  9. Chico says:

    Don’t be surprised if he’s the first openly gay NFL player.. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but that’s what the story is leading me to believe so far.. I’m not a journalist (far from one), but I’ve dug into this story to the best of my ability and it wouldn’t surprise me one bit, reading what I’ve read and connecting the dots..

  10. Chico says:

    Um.. https://twitter.com/LennayKay

    Remember, ND said that she doesn’t exist.

    • JDR says:

      Sounds like the person behind it is going to come clean. I’m guessing that regardless of Te’o being involved or not, the person will say s/he acted alone to save face (and possibly get a cut of the bonus money.)

  11. JDR says:

    Jesus, now an AZ Cardinals player is saying he met the *actual* Lennay Kakua while on a trip in Samoa. This just gets weirder and weirder.

    • Chico says:

      I’ve been so fascinated about this story today that I totally neglected my duties as a husband… My wife didn’t give a shit until I brought up the gay angle (mentioned on many blogs). THEN she was interested! Liberal chicks — you gotta love them!

      As it stands now… this story is going to get even more interesting – forever evolving!

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    This entire Te’o thing is quite bizarre.

    A sideshow which should have serious repercussions for all involved BUT, as we all know, will most likely not.

  13. Chico says:

    This is funny

  14. mailorderwife says:

    It would be nice if one athlete stepped forward and publicly confessed to lying instead of opting for the victim route. Too many shady things in the name of sports profit ::cough::: Ray Lewis ::cough::. So weird that I find Plaxico Burris to be somewhat harmless, seeing that he only shot himself and served the same amount of time in prison as some asshole who systematically tortured and killed dogs, displaying those necessary traits associated with a psychopath.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Makes me nervous and angry reading these sort of things. In this, I am proud that USF acted accordingly in just zapping their basketball program in light of the scandal. But Notre Dame, that well-known Catholic institution? This Manti ordeal coupled with these rape scandals remind me of how the church reacted to the molestation charges. Sucks.

      • xoot says:

        i don’t spend much time considering the Catholic church. It comes up from time to time in my life–I attended a very rousing mass in Managua in 1985, which ended with all of us in the church standing to sing We Shall Overcome in Spanish, after which we danced for a while to the electrified salsa house band. But generally I don’t give a shit about the Catholics.

        I do, however, believe that the Jesuits, who run USF, have a different approach to ethics than do some other orders in the church, including the Holy Cross elitists who run Notre Dame. The Jesuits, for example, seem to be willing to admit when their “brothers” have committed abuse and then try to do something about it. Now I could be wrong, because, again, I really don’t pay close attention to the church. So feel free to correct me. But I think the difference in ethical standards may help explain why the guys who run USF decided it was time to stop letting the basketball program dominate the school, while the guys who run Notre Dame will always let the football program rule.

        • mailorderwife says:

          In the 80’s, the priests and nuns at USF were quite active in trying to point out the Reagan government tyranny in Central America. There were the killing of the 4 nuns in El Salvador, along with the nice little death squads that we trained for that country and Guatemala. I have to admit that my own liberal politics are derived from the pro-IRA/anti-British nuns in my own Catholic parish — a sentiment shared by every other Japanese American, African American and Mexican American kid in our Jr. High class. So in a nutshell, yeah…the abusive Cardinal did come out of our parish. And he wasn’t the only horny priest in that bunch, as a certain priest used to come to our 4th grade class giving us details about sex when we were supposed to be learning the Trinity. It was San Francisco, and I only hope that any of my classmates who might have been molested might find their day of justice.

          Also at USF, the editor of the paper used to sing drunk songs in front of the brothers’ house at 4am. They would just open the window and tell him to go home.

  15. datswhatsup says:

    Kids today lack imagination, I’d tell people my fake girlfriend died after her head exploded while we were in the sack.

  16. unca_chuck says:

    I think Te’o’s performance in the BCS championship games will hurt his draft position more than this bizarro girlfriend story. The shit he gets when he walks into an NFL locker room? EPIC

  17. mailorderwife says:

    The SF 49ers have named Eddie D, Bryant Young and Charles Haley as honorary team captains for the upcoming game. Charles Haley? I only see him as a Cowpie.

  18. sandy32koufax says:

    Who DOESN’T think $1.8M is a lot of money?

    Glad to see Ankiel signed somewhere…I’ve always liked that guy.

  19. sandy32koufax says:

    HUGE sports dilemma for niner-surfanatics:

    Mavericks or NFC title game?

    • Chico says:

      Almost all of the guys I know will be watching the Niners.. A few of them will be at pillar point early but will be bailing in time to watch the game.. We’ll be streaming it at the local watering hole while watching the Niners. I’m not really into it anymore; kinda played out.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Hmmm

        I’m still down with the “Endless Summer” thing and I don’t surf…

        Wait til the kids are either big enough or gone from the house, you’ll be back

    • xoot says:

      If I watch the game at home, I’ll have Maverick’s streaming on the computer and keep half an eye on it. The lulls between sets will be pretty long. I’m not sure the swell size is going to be as huge as some predict, but it will be a very strong swell — every point break in northern California will be working. I may take a day off work on Monday and go get my ass kicked around in the water. Of course, it’s MLK day, so it’ll be almost as crowded as a weekend. . . . I’m too old for the crowds, and they get worse every year.

      • Chico says:

        Supposed to be pumping! My wife is off for MLK day so we’re thinking about taking the kids to the Monterey aquarium. The Cruz will be packed.. Shit, every break will be packed. I’m staying off of HWY 1 on Sunday.. Hopefully the idiots stay away from the cliff – you can’t see shit from there anyways unless you have a killer set of binoculars!

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    Posey gets $8M for 1 season and I’m thinking the Jints are nuts for not locking him into a longer term contract

  21. unca_chuck says:

    Nate Silver picker Seattle to get to the Super Bowl.

    Haley was a certified wing-nut. He pissed in one of Carmen Policy’s potted plants in his office, and notoriosly took a shit on (or maybe IN) Steve Young’s car due to some problem they had. But when the Niners lost him to Dallas, it was a huge swing defensively for both teams. I think KN Jr came from Dallas to the Niners.

  22. sandy32koufax says:

    Weaver is dead.

    Cuellar, Palmer, McNalley, the Robinsons, Boog, Blair…

    R.I.P. you old coot winner…

    Exciting baseball in his A.L.

  23. shaman138 says:

    What better way to ring in this abbreviatef hockey season than to watch the LaLa Queens get smacked down hard at home? The wheels are already coming off that particular bandwagon, I’m sure.

    • mailorderwife says:

      It was a happy game! Nice to see Dick Butkis cheering ChiTown from the sidelines. Happy happy that hockey has returned!

  24. Chico says:

    We lost Earl Weaver and Stan Musial in the same day… Legends.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Stan Musial…

      I buried an old friend yesterday. It was a happy yet solemn event. It was a beautiful day

      I have another old friend fighting for her life in the hospital. She is a light
      in this often too dark world. Today was brilliant and crisp, quite the northern California
      winter day. I see her everywhere I look.

      I’ve had a fair number of friends and relatives pass away the past year. Strange the way we mark the passage of time.

      Goodbye Brown, Earl and Stan. Enjoy your new adventures. Hang in there Missy, we have more meals to cook and wine to drink…

  25. Chico says:

    Thanks for what you did for the Giants B-Wil…

  26. Chico says:

    One well-placed San Francisco 49ers source said he “highly, highly doubted” that San Francisco wide receiver Michael Crabtree will be charged in the events that led to an investigation of sexual assault last week.

    NFC West Blog
    ESPN.com’s Mike Sando writes about all things NFC West in his division blog.

    • Network: NFL Nation
    A second female witness backed up Crabtree’s version of the events to police, according to the source, and there’s a feeling in the organization that these events will not develop into anything more than they already have.

    Crabtree cooperated with police, interviewed with them for two hours, never was booked, never was charged, and the team doesn’t believe he will be.

    The team thought the timing of the announcement of the investigation, coming Friday night, was suspicious.

    The 49ers insist that the events were not a distraction to the team, and it was just another reminder that players can be targets and they have to be careful.

    http://espn.go.com/nfl/playoffs/2012/story/_/id/8862130/2013-nfl-playoffs-highly-doubtful-michael-crabtree-san-francisco-49ers-charged-team-source-says

  27. Chico says:

    Lets go Niners!

  28. JDR says:

    New post up for the game

Leave a Reply

