Hot Stove for the Week of 1/1 – 1/6

SATURDAY, JANUARY 5TH
9:28 a.m.
— The Cubs sign Dontrelle Willis.
— The Dodgers sign J.P. Howell.

FRIDAY, JANUARY 4TH
10:57 a.m.
Brett Myers signs with the Indians.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 3RD
10:03 a.m.
— The Rangers sign Jason Fraser, designating poor Eli Whiteside to make roster space.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 2ND EDITION
7:21 a.m.
David Price signs 1 yrs./$10m deal with Rays.
Brett Myers signs $7m deal with the Indians, who are also looking at Shaun Marcum.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 1ST EDITION
2:23 p.m.
— The BoSox are looking at Bobby Abreu while the Indians seem set to sign Brett Myers.
1:45 p.m.
— The O’s are interested in Matt Lindstrom.
— The Marinaros have contacted the Marlins to discuss a possible deal for Giancarlo Stanton. Why not?
— The Royals sign Miguel Tejada. Shoot for the moon, fellas!

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously. If I told you what I do for a living, I'd have to tickle you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

105 Responses to Hot Stove for the Week of 1/1 – 1/6

  1. Chico says:

    Lets go Badgers! Lets go Badgers!

  2. mailorderwife says:

    I went to the Rose Bowl one year, back when my sister was still a student at USC. She worked for the football team training table, so she knew Marcus Allen, Ronnie Lott, Keith Van Horne and the rest of them, including Coach Robinson. Neat, right?

    Back in the day, I had long purple hair and was…well…a punk rocker before it really became popular in this country. I remember getting booted from my seat because some old alumni and his wife claimed that I was sitting in their seat. Turned out that it was a duplicate ticket. So they just figured that a punk didn’t belong there. So I wandered the stadium until I found an usher to help me. She sat me in the middle of some sort of very wealthy, goldspun blonde hair and suntanned sorority. For the entire game, I had to explain to the girls how I got my hair purple…and I had to do this about 25x because comprehension was not their friend. Apparently, neither was football.

    Since then, I’ve always hated the Rose Bowel. Fuck LA. Happy New Year!

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Sorry, MOW-you don’t have a clue!

      The Rose Bowl is one of the premier venues in which I have ever enjoyed a football game. My only rant is during this time of year, the temp. drops so much after the sun is gone that you can get sick as a result…

      • mailorderwife says:

        The Rose Bowl is a traffic disaster and is located in a town blanketed by smog. It’s okay in winter, but summertime during regular football season? Hell to the know. That was my experience with the actual Rose Bowl where it was USC v. Sombody. I’ve been to regular football games there, and it is a dreadful place.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I’ve been to a Super Bowl and two Rose Bowls at that place. Also many UCLA games. It IS hell to get in and out but it’s set up that way. One way in-one way out…

          • shaman138 says:

            Can’t be any worse than leaving Candlestick after a 9ers/Raiders game…

          • Chico says:

            MOW might not know this, but just like Giants fans biggest goal was to see a World Series win, Cal fans biggest goal is to just get to the Rose Bowl.. There’s a popular saying.. ‘Rose bowl before I die’ – that would be the pinnacle..

            She’s right though, LA sucks!

    • shaman138 says:

      MOW, that serves you right for going to a USC game. Booooooo! 😛

      • mailorderwife says:

        Free tickets! Also, I didn’t know college football growing up so followed what my sister liked. What do I know about football? I went to USF (the left coast one).

        • shaman138 says:

          But…but…..USC! That’s Pete Carroll’s team. Yuck. Speaking of Carroll’s boys, be afraid, Niner fans, be very afraid…

        • Chico says:

          Go Dons! I’m not religious, but the way they handled the basketball/cheating fiasco some years back was the classiest thing a university has ever done in the face of NCAA sanctions. That was one classy move.. Admit it, don’t litigate it, and shut the program down..

          Sure beats the way U$C handled their problems. I hate $C!

  3. shaman138 says:

    Well, Wisconsin is making it a game, at least. Quite the shitty first quarter, though.

    • Chico says:

      They’re hanging with Furd! I didn’t think it would be this close considering all of Wisconsin’s coaching staff left for other jobs and Barry Alvarez (the AD) stepped in to coach..

      Wisconsin’s LB coach is Cal’s new Defensive coordinator.. He’s doing a good job of containing Furd’s high powered pro-style offense so far, with WAY less talent than the Furd has.. I wanna see the head cheese at the other place demoralized if you get my drift.

  4. sandy32koufax says:

    WAH!

    You peeps read like whiners…I bet you like the niners too

    • shaman138 says:

      This from a Bruins fan? Pshaw

    • xoot says:

      I have no particular hatred for Snodfart unless they’re playing UCB. USC and UCLA are like half-ass understudies hoping to develop something comparable to the Stanford-Berkeley rivalry. I don’t care one way or the other about Wisconsin, either. So, the better the game, the better.

      Now, when the Trail-of-Tears Choppers match up against N. Ill. tonight, well, I’ll be rooting for the underdog there.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Hmmm…come to the real blue side, xooter…we don’t wear true blue lenses and we are realistic about them-unlike the Mossbutts of the world and teams their ilk supports…

      • shaman138 says:

        Not much of an underdog, and they have a better record than FLA St. so I don’t know why they’re ranked lower to begin with. Should be a good game no matter what.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Badgers are unrated and Stanford is #8-looks like a huge diff

        • xoot says:

          I’m not rooting for them because they’re the underdog. I’d root against FSU no matter who was playing them. (I’ve looked into some of the details of their athletic name, mascot and entertainment/celebration history. True, they extinguished “Chief Fullabull” when local Seminole reps objected. But the Oklahoma Seminole still seem to be pissed off by the spectacles that followed.)

  5. shaman138 says:

    As I’ve said already, this football season SUCKS!!

  6. shaman138 says:

    A bullshit spectacular halftime show for THIS game? Umm…ok.

  7. sandy32koufax says:

    14-3 at Half is surprising as hell…

  8. xoot says:

    Does anyone else find articles like this entirely overdone? The effect reminds me of the smell you get when some idiot leaves popcorn in the microwave way too long.

    http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/san_francisco_giants/index.html

    In the real world, little leaguers are starting to practice, to be ready for draft tryouts in Jan. and Feb. If the kids are getting ready, you can be sure the big guys are too. Anybody following the players’ twitter accounts?

    • mailorderwife says:

      I follow the big and minor league Giant players on Twitter. The best tweeters on the Giants are Sergio Romo, Brandon Belt and George Kontos. Belt is too much of a dork to understand not to share so much … for now. The rest are boring or PR driven accounts.

      The minor league Giants seem to be gun toting Republicans. I actually stopped following a few of them.

      The best players to follow are Brandon McCarthy and Cody Decker. Both are HILARIOUS. There is also a Mariano Rivera joke account that is pretty hilarious.

  9. xoot says:

    splash info: Yesterday I emailed a complaint about mosshead’s trolling on the splash, along with some examples of his holiday binge, to vk. I got an out-of-office auto response telling me to email the editorial staff. I did. mosshead’s a goner today. Once he figures it out, he may blitz vk to let him back in. (His futile attempts to post on the beat today are pretty amusing.) But maybe, just maybe, the sfgate people who reviewed my email understood that mossy was attempting to ruin a truce between the splash and the beat. Maybe. I think we should push that theme. vk cares about the beat. If we leave those thin-skinned babies alone, perhaps he’ll be more receptive to our complaints about the AAA’s trolls (molly, crazyO, etc.).

  10. Chico says:

    Louisville is taking it to Florida right now 24-7.

    • Chico says:

      Good for Coach Charlie Strong! He’s done nothing but a good job wherever he’s been.. Excellent coach, recruiter, but finally got offered a Head Coaching position at Louisville this year and beats the team he worked for last year, #3 Florida..

      It took him years to get an official HC offer and finally got one at the age of 50 – He’s also an African American.. Finally! I’m no fan of Louisville but I love good stories and good people.

  11. sandy32koufax says:

    MossHump got deleted?

    There is a modicum of “fairness” at the Splash!

  12. shaman138 says:

    Changing the subject…

    …How ’bout those Warriors? At least two out of three teams who play in Oakland are playing well…

    • Chico says:

      I’m going to start watching. Something to fill the void between baseball and football. Are they on csnba?

      • shaman138 says:

        Yup. I’m pretty stoked they’re doing so well, and with no hockey and a bunch of teams I either don’t like or don’t care about in the NFL playoffs, this should be a good way to pass the time until baseball.

  13. mailorderwife says:

    La Migra problems? Sergio Romo detained by police.

  14. Chico says:

    Sandy, I see I missed your call.. They are supposedly ‘working on the cell towers’ according to a Verizon salesman.. I saw the missed call when I ventured into the city (I was driving) – got back home and went to call you back but still no service.. What’s weird is my wife has AT&T and she has no service either.. I’ll buzz you tomorrow as I need to head over the hill anyways..

  15. sandy32koufax says:

    Hey, does anyone here remember blade3colorado?

    He;s going on an around the world backpacking trip and is blogging about it!

    He’s in Costa Rica today but starts his sojourn in earnest on the 17th.

    I’ll apprise you of the funny and harrowing sides to his adventure as they make themselves known…

  16. shaman138 says:

    J.P. Howell? It’s amazing what a few billion dollars can buy!

  17. JDR says:

    Dontrelle’s still kicking around the league? I sure hope he gets it back at some point, dude was a lot of fun to watch when he was on.

  18. shaman138 says:

    Bengals + Texans = Zzzzzzzzzzz

    • Chico says:

      More guns! That’ll do it!

      I hate gun nuts.

      • xoot says:

        I know a few. Their reasoning goes like this: I need to have assault rifles to defend myself against all the other people who have bought or will buy assault rifles.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Ever hear of “The Clamperers?”

          This is a group of true gun nuts.

          They are mostly NRA and uber anti-regulation.

          They claim to be a ‘social’ group but engage in crazy shit.

          Seriously crazy shit and all of it is predicated on guns, small bore artillary,
          booze, drugs and sloth.

          UBER fucking ‘nice guys’…

  19. mailorderwife says:

    I have to admit that I like Cam Newton in commercials.

  20. shaman138 says:

    Poor Joe Webb….he’s getting slapped. He wasn’t ready for this game.

  21. shaman138 says:

    Blah. This one is already over. Packers @ 49ers should be a good one.

  22. Chico says:

    The Vikings are sucking big time..

  23. shaman138 says:

    Wild snored weekend continues…we’re being treated to some wretched football games.

  24. sandy32koufax says:

    Fletcher…hero of the Rams great SB victory over Fisher’s Titans…

  25. shaman138 says:

    Seahawks are rolling over to the Skins right now…RG3 is destroying them.

  26. shaman138 says:

    Buh-bye Redskins

Leave a Reply

