2012 World Series Trophy

I realize there’s a significant football game coming up this weekend.  But I got into a Giants frame of mind after seeing the 2013 pre-season schedule for the World Series trophy.  Looks like the tour will stop in fewer cities than it did in 2011.  Displays won’t be as lengthy either; the first trophy was available to the faithful in NYC for three days in 2011, while the second seems to be spending only one day in NY.

I remember back in 2011 considering whether to go stand in line somewhere to see the prize.  I decided I didn’t have time to deal with the crowds.  I did finally see the trophy, however, in mid-2011, at the ballpark.  I happened to notice it on the view-level concourse, in a corner behind a margarita booth, gleaming in front of a photo-friendly black curtain.  From a distance it looked like a gold and silver chef’s hat.  I think it cost ten bucks to get next to the thing.  Propinquity made it more impressive.  The little pennants, flapping in an imaginary, circular wind, are pretty cool.  It’ll be nice to have two copies in the case.

The difference between the 2010 and 2012 trophy tours sort of highlights differences in the two championships.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not suggesting that the 2012 championship was less exciting—just the opposite, really.  The 2010 victory had its historical importance, and deserved special celebration.  The 2012 post-season, however, stands on its own, without such support. 

For example, after the Giants finally made it into the post-season in 2010, a sense of inevitability took over right away.  Lincecum pitched a two-hit 1-0 shut-out in the first game against the Braves, and he came on just as strong to finish the whole thing off in Texas.  In between, the Giants were never behind in a series.  By contrast, winning the 2012 division race was relatively easy, after the bums choked like a 19th century horse thief hung from a live oak tree, but the 2012 post season was a huge challenge.  When Posey finally blasted away the Reds, didn’t you wonder if that was it, if that grand slam would be the high point of the playoffs?  And when Zito took the mound in game five against the Cardinals, didn’t you think it would take a miracle for him to win the game?  Then calmly and methodically, with a competitive look I’d never before seen in his eyes, he provided what the Giants needed to work the miracle.  You all know the other stories that surrounded the victories.  Suddenly, the Giants had the inevitability back, but they had earned it, game by game, inning by inning, right before our eyes.  In game seven, the dispirited water-logged Cardinals in the visitors’ dugout knew it.  Marco Scutaro turning his face to the sky to drink in the rain knew it.  Somehow the Tigers also knew it when they took the field at the China Basin.  (Or, if not then, certainly no later than the fourth inning of that first game.)

So the 2012 championship, for me, is even more satisfying, more triumphant, than the 2010.  I really don’t need to track down the trophy this winter to bring back the memories.  How about you?

btw, be sure to check in on MOW’s ongoing hot-stove thread. New stuff, all the time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to 2012 World Series Trophy

  1. Chico says:

    Great blog post! I loved both of them obviously. It seems to me that blogs after the World Series win were more packed in 2010 that 2012, probably because of the historical meaning that 2010 meant to us (as you noted). Still, the 2012 team, even with Timmy struggling was a better team than 2012, imo. As for the WS trophy, I saw it at the same place you did, (club level, in the case).. It is a thing of beauty especially when you think about how hard it is to get one of those. What a year! I saw some of the best defensive plays in the OF I have ever seen, and they were made by Giants. A perfect game, an NL MVP, the All-Star game, and even losing Melky.. Remember when that happened? ‘the Giants are toast’.. This team had sense of camaraderie that was NOT going to be shaken, by any team or adversity that they endured. I’ll wait until next year to see the 2012 trophy, in the same place I saw the 2010 trophy, the same place where you saw it, club level, in the case.

    I have mentioned it before; when it comes to the Giants, I’ll forever be satisfied. Not that I don’t want to see more WS victories because I do, but from here on out it’ll be even funner watching them and rooting them on because of what we have accomplished. **Remember now, I started blogging with you guys regularly in 2010 on the Splash (I took a few lumps but eventually, I passed initiation) – so gimme some credit, I bring good luck!

    I just think about folks like my father who waited decades for this (you too, Xoot).. I’m really happy for you old school Giants fans that stuck it out, you guys deserve both of those Championships.

    Nobody will ever be able to take away the Championships or the feelings I had when we won them. That’s the best part. Good stuff!

  2. shaman138 says:

    Thanks, xoot–I needed this post to take a break from thinking about the significance of Sunday’s Raiders vs. Panthers game….and I heard there’s a decent Sunday night game on tap as well. 😉

  3. shaman138 says:

    Nice to have JDR for regular Giants news and baseball updates, especially considering the local blogosphere is in Triple A mode right now–All About Alex. Ugh. He can go to the Argonauts for all I care.

  4. mailorderwife says:

    Brandon Crawford is a new daddy.

    I saw a fellow Giants fan at the Lexus dealer yesterday, and she had just moved down to the 805 from SF. (I recommended that she move back ASAP or risk getting stuck down here as I have). Anywho, we compared WS wins and found this last one to be more…satisfying? I think the post-season come-from-behind victories had lots to do with it. For me, at least, the excitement was due to the fact that I was actually in SF when the Giants won, as opposed to my one-person act of screaming out my window to my Dodger fan neighbors in 2010. If we can get one more within the next few years, I will be happy as a clam.

    BTW…this woman told me that her classmate just got engaged to Panda. The Pandette-to-be had to clean up her Twitter and FB of all photos, apparently, to avoid feeding the paparazzi hippo. In SF???? Go figure.

  5. sandy32koufax says:

    Well, I waited a respectful period of time before bringing Blue into your Christmas Love for the Jints. Having said that, I promised MOW a prime rib recipe I never sent to her, pehaps all of you might enjoy this:

    I’ve taken the liberty of reducing the size from the original recipe. It can be increased using our old friend Math 😉 , however! This will serve seven or eight people-not counting teens, so adjust accordingly.

    Prime (Standing) Rib Roast-6 ribs 1/8th C. white pepper corns
    6 to 8 cloves garlic Rock salt-5 lb. bag
    1/th C. green pepper corns Large jar English or dark
    1/8th C. black pepper corns whole seed mustard

    Preheat the oven-325. Peel & smash garlic. Insert it throughout the roast inc.
    under the cap and into the fat layer. Coarsely crack the pepper corns in a coffee
    grinder and mix well. Coat the entire roast with mustard-use your hands to make
    this step easier. Sprinkle the cracked pepper corns over the entire roast. Insert a meat thermometer before the next step. PACK a really thick layer of rock salt completely
    around the roast. Place roast on a rack in a roasting pan, rib side down. Cook until
    thermometer shows desired degree of doneness, remove and let stand for 15 minutes.
    Using the flat of a chef’s kinife, crack the salt and pepper shell and remove it from
    the meat. Remove the large bone. Slice and serve. Remember-do NOT use the
    drippings for au jus-much too salty…

  6. shaman138 says:

    TheBabbler 11:49 AM on December 22, 2012
    “Our ranch has been featured in at least one national media story.”

    Oh yeah, that story on mad cow disease!

    HAHAHAHA! Babbler just knocked Jim’s ass right out of the park! Fucking hilarious!

  7. JDR says:

    I think the fact that they didn’t have the drought makes the trophy tour itself less of an occasion. Obviously the win, celebration, parade etc were just as good, but there’s no sense of “we’ve waited so long to see this” with the hardware itself.

  8. Chico says:

    Merry early Christmas folks!

    I can;t forget one for Mow..

    Couldn’t find a dude in the Christmas theme, but I tried 😉

  9. mailorderwife says:

    R.I.P. Ryan Freel. Sad that he committed suicide :<

    • sandy32koufax says:

      It is sad. Remember Moore and Downing?

      I kept reading comments from some nutter on one of the chronic’s stories about La Pierre. The fool noted Freel indirectly and kept swearing that a lack of proper body
      chemistry was the root cause of suicide.

      He may be correct but he sounded purely nutter…

  10. Chico says:

    Uh, look at the Splash. Someone completely lost his mind.

    • Chico says:

      Hey Slats/Winningstreak/Molly whatever you are..

      You’re allowed to blog here you know. If you have something to say, why not say it here where there are no censors? We don’t bite.

      • xoot says:

        People post here with good intentions. I’m not sure slats/mac is interested in such diversions.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Fuck all of those tools. I don’t believe it is just one person doing all of that but it’s fo sho some group of loons that can’t abide even civil discussion, let alone Christmas Greetings to others…

  11. sandy32koufax says:

    ZERO TD’s for the Ray-Duhs in their last EIGHT quarters of play.

    BRILLIANT!

  12. shaman138 says:

    Blech. I thought you stopped watching them…I know I just did

  13. shaman138 says:

    Is it baseball season yet?

  14. mailorderwife says:

    Hairball getting outcoached again.

  15. xoot says:

    This sure ain’t the game I expected to see.

    • Chico says:

      Can’t stop the run. Seattle is the loudest stadium in the world , not good for a young Qb on the road. Excellent play calling by Seattle too. God dammit

  16. shaman138 says:

    Well, at least Akers is having a good night…

  17. sandy32koufax says:

    So ah…what’s the score, ‘niner fans?

  18. sandy32koufax says:

    Wild NFC West final weekend coming up.

    Niners can clinch against the last place Cardinals.

    BUT, if SF ties or loses…

    Seattle can clinch by beating a team neither SF nor Seattle has beaten-StL!

    Go Cards n give it up Rams!

  19. xoot says:

    When the 9ers have been bad this year, they’ve been real bad. I would include most of the second half against New England in that set. The Seahawks played with about 10 times more intensity last night. Embarassing. If the 9ers can get healthy, however, and get their heads right, they’ll look a lot better in the playoffs. I hope.

    • shaman138 says:

      They are unbelievably inconsistent. Last week featured two completely different teams in the first and second half. Sometimes they look unstoppable and next thing you know they’re looking just as shitty as the…..err, the Jaguars.

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    Former Texas Rangers owner< Brad Corbett has died at age 75…

    (it's not the dude DID anything as owner)

  21. mailorderwife says:

    Merry Christmas, Happy Kwanzaa, Happy Hanukkah and Go Giants to all you badasses who made this year sooo much more enjoyable for this chick living out in the hellhole that is So Cal.

  22. xoot says:

    I don’t much care for Christmas, but I like the holiday spirit. All the best to the people here at the end of this year and the start of the next. The days are already getting longer, baseball fans.

  23. Chico says:

    Anyone have any thoughts on Comcast high-speed internet? I’m asking because my internet connection (At&freakingT) has been ridiculously slow the past few days and this isn’t the first time. I have done everything and all of the troubleshooting but my computer (and Iphone as well as my wife’s Iphone and Droid) can’t even fully load a web page.. It’s BS! Shit, my Iphone does WAY better when I turn off the wi-fi function and just go to 3-G.. It’s worse than dial-up speed, not joking.
    Storm related? Christmas holiday related? Your experience with Comcast vs AT&T? Where I live, I don’t have a choice between the two..

    • xoot says:

      I had ATT when they first fired up that uverse system and at that time I thought it was a lot better than the comcast service my friends had. When I moved I switched to comcast, and I’ve been surprised at how they’ve improved. My internet service has been good.

Leave a Reply

