A weekend with the D-Bags

The Giants are off to the desert to hopefuly put Arizona in an even deeper hole. The Dodger series meant a lost game in the standings, but it could have been much worse.

Now it’s time to break the pattern of suckitude that has plagued the team in Phoenix.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

289 Responses to A weekend with the D-Bags

  1. JDR says:

    Sorry to be scarce/brief lately, folks. Going through some personal stuff right now and I’m not in the best place.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Don’t sweat us, JD…handle ur bidniz

    • Chico says:

      Been there. . Just mow through it bro.. All the best.

    • xoot says:

      You know you have friends here. Good luck.

      Just for the hell of it, on the way to a big meeting today I turned the radio over to Alan Watts on KPFA. I don’t give a fuck what Faulkner said, the past is past, and the future is never more than the present in motion. Gave me a boost that worked out well.

  2. sandy32koufax says:

    Big weekend of Divisional games…

    Just heard Kuip say Jints have lost 8 straight in AZ…

  3. Chico says:

    FilthyChangeup is in Arizona. . Good omen. .

  4. filthychangeup says:

    Sorry to hear about the rough times, JD. Just remember, this too shall pass. I wanted to tell you that your response to VK on the Splash was perfect, let him suck on that. I’m wrapping up my vacation with a day of recovery after having driven 1500 miles in four days. Go Bum, Go Giants!

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Desi Arnaz or Clark Griswald style driving?

      • Chico says:

        I drove from Yellowstone to San Mateo a few years ago… 16 hours straight. . When we got home, I promised myself I’d never do that again. When you come off the road after that long of a trip, you’re body is shaking and the fatigue is something I never felt before. It was fun but I’d never, ever do that with the kids in the car (that was pre-kids).

        • sandy32koufax says:

          That’s why truckers are drug tested FREQUENTLY by DOT

          • Chico says:

            No drugs involved. . I have a class B too. Just young and dumb and wanted to get the fuck home. Should have stayed in Reno overnight but I’m germ phobic.

      • xoot says:

        You kids just don’t know what a real road trip is.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          xman-we lived in Illinois until 1963 and drove from there to El Monte or Burlingame numerous times.

          After retiring from the Air Force, my old man moved us to BEAUTIFUL El Monte and we took numerous trips to every state in North America and points in between.

          Ya…I know “Roadtrips” and all that word implies…

          Don’t let’s talk about my own adventures in roadtripping as a collegian and adult…

          • Chico says:

            Lighten up Francis — I got road head driving through Pocatello Idaho, with a view of the Snake river!

        • xoot says:

          my dad was in the air force, too. we moved every year, often across country. As a kid, I slept in the back seat as we roared through the nights. Later, I took that sort of driving for granted. Anchorage to San Francisco is still my favorite (snow fell heavily in the Yukon Territory), but I had many more. I also hitchhiked across country several times. Once I was in a hurry to get from Miami to Kentucky to a woman in Montana, I averaged 30 mph with the thumb, and generally the people who gave me rides expected me to stay awake.. But some of them did have drugs . . . .

          • Chico says:

            Good shit Xoot. No wonder why you recommended On The Road to me. . Awesome book and it your experiences sound like a lot of fun. Anchorage to San Francisco? Holy shit that’s a haul.

            My father has similar stories (he hitch hiked from Boston to Los Angeles) on leave and ended up in a shotgun wedding with a stripper from Mexico named Rachel (Tequila!). . That lasted about 6 months and she sold all of his things in a garage sale (DiMaggio signed balls by all 4 brothers), Mays gear etc, all when he was away stationed at George AFB. . He called it the “Great garage sale”, where he lost everything..

            I was instructed to never marry a stripper and I kept that promise.

            • xoot says:

              haha! (George AFB, huh? We spent almost two years there–longer than usual because my dad got sent to SEAsia to help fight the Viet Cong. Nothing high about that desert back then. But my memories aren’t horrible; now, your dad’s–that’s a story.)

              The other Kerouac novel I really like is Dharma Bums, about Gary Snyder the way On the Road is about Neal Cassady/Dean Moriarty. I got to meet Snyder at a faculty dinner in Davis some years back. Fucker was very interested in the woman professor who’d brought me.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Grass, ass or gas…

            I thumbed from Yosemite to Fairbanks…LOOOOOOONG trip but it was great. Mary Jane laws were ultra regressive then but that didn’t seem a problem to most in 1981. So many great memories from that roadie…best was the well-heeled, Monroe-esque lady that drove me from Mendocino to Bellingham in her Bentley. A highly erotic ride that was…

            • Chico says:

              Headed out for a pint. . Enjoy the evening. Shitty loss but there’s nothing I (or we) can do about it. Cheers.

            • xoot says:

              Fairbanks? I generally stayed down where the spruce forests grow. Even when I spent a full year in Ak. (90-91–my older son was born there), I never made it to Fairbanks, although we swung up close when drove back down to Calif. The emptiness of the tundra was pretty amazing. Did you happen to see the opening of moose season up there? I couldn’t believe it — the white hunters get into these “track vehicles” that are like small tanks and they roll out into the wilderness looking for some poor clumsy elk to blast into oblivion. Now that’s sport.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                My older brother was born there too, half bro of Inuit descent. Pops was stationed at Elmendorf and WHAMMO, instant new branch in the family tree! I went to meet him and he lived in Fairbanks by then. We did not hunt or fish, we drank and smoked and talked ‘family.’ I met relatives that hadn’t grown up in cities or even structures like a stick-framed house. Primitive living conditions aside, these were, largely, wise big-hearted people that accepted me as family immediately. I’ve returned several times and have been visited here as well by various members coming to take a stab at California living. They have all thrown their hands up and left though, seeing no reason to exist the way we do.

                THAT’S some commentary on how Americans live, after experiencing the way the Inuit live. I have eaten the moose and walrus and seal…all very salty or savory depending on how they were prepared.

                My pop and I went on a trip to the Seward Peninsula once, salmon fishing, and ran into a group of drunken ‘hunters.’ Guys that fit your description. My old man still knew people in authority in the region and those guys were taken into custody and, temporarily at least, lost their weapons and had to pay fines to get their vehicle back. Good to know that some folks won’t abide drunken, armed fools.

  5. mailorderwife says:

    While flying back to LA, our ANA plane flew close enough to offer a view of San Francisco and AT&T Park. What a wonderful sight to greet me after weeks in Japon.

    Has anyone seen Japanese baseball games? When I return next year, I want to go to a Tokyo Giants game. The fans scream non stop in organized, frenzied yells as they toot horns, wave flags and eat ramen. I bet some of us act like that as we watch from home :>

    • Chico says:

      I took down my comments from my phone (atrocious as I’m still working on the touch thing) but I hope you had a great time in Japan MOW. . . We’re headed down to Disneyland on monday – wife had a change of heart and really wanted to do it and I bow.. LA here we come!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Herro Piranha.

        How was your trip? Never been to Japan but used to ESPN, KTLA and KTVU broadcasts of Japanese league games or when the Jints or Dodgers played them. Nothing like
        not being able to hear Vin or Lon over the roar of the crowd.

  6. sandy32koufax says:

    Here ya go…

    It’s Asian-American Heritage month.

    The gate gets some things right and scrubs on others. This scratches the surface:

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/05/12/DDN11OGA0B.DTL

    My GF, ironically, had asked me about this just days ago…

    • mailorderwife says:

      I once brought a friend from Minnesota to a local Japanese American bazaar (in SF). He was absolutely taken by what he considered to be a rich, wonderful “sub culture”. You would have thought I dropped him off at a diamond mine.

      Back in the day, we grew up with kids of those who were incarcerated in the camps and/or served in the 442nd. There were also many A-bomb survivors from Hiroshima in the community. Thanks for sharing, SFDF. Good stuff!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        You’re welcome…

        Now how ’bout you share some of your Japan trip with us?

        • mailorderwife says:

          I will when I wake up more. I’m dealing with time change, and not very well!

          In short, it was like an exorcism/detox/vacation. Had an amazing time!

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Sweat lodge followed by icy river waters under the influence of the Japanese equiv of peyote? πŸ˜‰

  7. mailorderwife says:

    So I am semi-awake right now. Why are we under .500?

    • Chico says:

      Bad hitting (unable to knock guys in RISP) and horrible defense. Pitching is doing it’s job for the most part, but men on second and third with 1 out and unable to score has hurt us. .

  8. xoot says:

    Kuip: “Cain doesn’t have an RBI this year. . . . Cain drives one down the right field line . . . .!” 2 RBIs now.

  9. JDR says:

    Wow, did that thread from Friday where I pointed out to VK that his minions are violating SFGate policy really get deleted? That’s hilarious.

    • Chico says:

      I think that was self-inflicted. . I think he was embarrassed by being called out on something he knows is true. Just my opinion.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Self-inflicted or forced to by Schulman…either way, I find it odd that all of the associated comments ‘disappeared’ as well.

        That super stinks

  10. filthychangeup says:

    As disappointed as I am to see Belt sitting today I am just as excited to see what Culberson can do. I saw him rope a 2B in the ST game we went to last year. VK is a joke of an admin which is perfect for that joke of a blog. The fact that Kenny can still create handle after handle to spam meth-enduced nonsense is bad enough. Somehow it’s acceptable to refer to the Giants as the Gnats but don’t dare call the A’s the Tarpletics. It’s a shame that both Schulman and Slusser dedicate themselves to a organization that can’t even properly moderate it’s own blog. Rename the Splash the Flush. How you holding up, JD? Hope those personal rain clouds have passed.

  11. Chico says:

    Ha! Xoot, my mom (worry wort) was going on and on how hot it gets @ Disneyland (gonna be 81, 80, 79 the days we are there, no big deal) — concerned about my kids etc. then my dad jumped in and told her to calm down.. “you don’t know heat unless you’ve been to Victorville”. . . “the kids will be fine dammit!”

    Blanco RF, Arias 3B, Cabrera LF, Pill 1B, Pagan CF, Sanchez C, Culberson 2B, Crawford SS, Zito LHP

    I really, really really really miss Pablo. . Go Giants! I’ll try to be around but busy with packing (my wife is packing like we’re going to Hawaii for two weeks, driving me insane) — It’s Anaheim for 3 nights.

    I would have taken you up on that offer MOW — the last time we talked we weren’t going to SoCal, but my wife had a change of heart. She’s been suffocated at work and didn’t feel like Camping or sleeping on an air mattress in a tent; she wanted a real bed and a shower and a TV and WiFi and well, I can’t blame her — she totally deserves it. Work has been slow for me (almost scary slow) so she wins.. SoCal here we come.

    • shaman138 says:

      And it’s Disneyland….can’t go wrong with that.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Wish I could have helped out!! Nonetheless, have a wonderful time at Disneyland :>

      I was down at the HB yesterday, and it was pretty hot by the beach. Disneyland will be blistering hot, but you can buy one of those $7 ice drinks to keep you cool πŸ˜›

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    Wow…i was just reading prep sports at the gate…here are some headlines that will make you smile and cry:

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/05/04/SPB51ODLSF.DTL

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/05/06/SP591ODSQD.DTL

  13. shaman138 says:

    Culberson? Let’s see what he can do…and thank God they’re resting Posey and not sticking him at first. There were a lot of folks who were all for putting Posey at first and Sanchez at C as a permanent solution but I never liked the idea and it hasn’t worked out well, especially with the rest of this awful infield. Well, we got a win in AZ (finally) but we need to drastically improve the RISP situation more than anything.

    Anyway, Happy Mother’s day everyone, and best wishes to you, JD–everything will end up working out.

  14. unca_chuck says:

    Hope all is working out, JDR. And know that we here virtually have your back! Good luck.

    • JDR says:

      Thanks Chuck. I’ll be fine, just sorting through all the drama and petty crap and moving on with things.

      • mailorderwife says:

        I wish you the best, JD. I had to walk away from drama and realized that there was a lot of peace on the other end. I hope you find it!!

        • unca_chuck says:

          MOW, thanks again for the tickets. My son and I had a great time, even though the Giants lost (Timmy gave up 4 in 5 innings, Giants tied it, but later lost). Sat in front a couple of Brewers fans. The older guy said it was the coldest baseball game he had ever been to. That made me laugh. I said shit, you shoulda hit a game at Candlestick. At the Stick right now, it’s 25ΒΊ colder, and the wind is blowing 60 MPH.

  15. mailorderwife says:

    Is anyone going to discuss this game or did you all go to the evil place?

  16. unca_chuck says:

    I’m here . . . Vogie’s a little shakey, but he got through the 1st …

    • unca_chuck says:

      I lost interest in the Splash a few years ago. Signal/noise ratio and all that.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Yeah…I bristle when someone doesn’t do their job well (VK). I was able to come online for like 1 hour while in Japan (actual wifi hotel), and I had to sail through the usual Splash complaints to not find out much about the Giants. It was so funny.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          He seems to have it together, and not just anyone can smash a jack that nearly makes the giant mitt…trouble is, Friedrich is VERY together tonight

          Blanco just beat out an infield hit though

  17. sandy32koufax says:

    Friedrich?

  18. xoot says:

    First, Krukow gratuitously repeats that line of his: “The best team I ever played against was the 89 A’s.” He only faced them a couple of times, under unusual circumstances for a series. Wtf does he like that line? Is he trying to pad his resume for national exposure? Now we have to listen to Krukow go on and on about Friedrich in the stretch. Thank the lard he dropped “arm slot.”

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Krukow tries, way too hard and with way too little ‘return,’ to have some of his verbiage trickle it’s way into baseball announcer folklore…”Deuces are wild,” “You can tell it goodbye,” Way-ell, Skip, Aye thhhhink itsth gunna be doooooozeeeeeee”

      Dude sucks except for one line…”grab some pine meat” That’s some good shit

      • xoot says:

        Kruk is talented. Some of his stuff is brilliant, and he really knows the game. But a few years back he got a Sunday shot on Fox, and things started to change. Then the Chronicle tv critic did a long slam piece on him. Things changed even more. Kuiper has remained constant; Krukow tried to adjust to get a better job. That’s my guess. Kruk’s “adjustments” haven’t played out so well. Maybe Kuip has good advisers and Kruk doesn’t.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Kuip just plays his game, he doesn’t try to be someone he isn’t…Krook has illusions of who he is.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I love Kruk because…you know…I live out here and don’t have real options other than that revered man who is now repeating himself (and the reason why Cody Ross not being on the Giants is good because I am so sick of hearing that circus clown story).

      Anywho, I bristle when I hear the whole A’s thing for the same reasons you do, Xoot. Plus, roids anyone?

      • sandy32koufax says:

        WOW, MOB…His name is spoken with reverence of “Randolph Scott” whisperings from ”Blazing Saddles”

        BLASPHEMER!

      • xoot says:

        Yeah, MOW, on the A’s roiders: I wonder if Krukow has it all worked out. The 89 A’s are the best team he ever played AGAINST. But Barry Bonds is the best player he ever SAW. Etc. (The equivocations are innumerable.) And all that leaves him free to talk about the best team he played for. Just too cute.

  19. xoot says:

    Blanco? Blanco!!

    • xoot says:

      Kruk and Kuip going on about how hard it is to hit one out to that part of RCF reminded me of a game in 2003, the famous Barry Bonds birthday game. I had to take a bunch of people for business reasons and tickets were tight. I got a row of seats in that bleacher section. Bonds, of course, hit a walk off, and that was great. But earlier in the game Durham hit 2 HRs, including one that went right over our heads onto the promenade. Still, Blanco’s blast was impressive.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Little dude looked kinda studly there

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    Fuck Arias is speedy

  21. mailorderwife says:

    This game is becoming awesome!

  22. sandy32koufax says:

    Well, JInts win in spite of trying to give it back

    Congrats, Dowders

  23. xoot says:

    Good win. Now put a streak together!

  24. sandy32koufax says:

    Thus spake Senior πŸ˜‰

  25. mailorderwife says:

    It sort of blows that my Mondays cannot end until LA sports teams finish their games. But ya know…I can’t help but laugh at the Angels. They need their rally monkey.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Hey…at least you’re working…I have too many friends out of a job

      The only downside to the Angels lsoing to the A’s is that the three stooges-splats mac, moosehead and vee dee-are A’s fans…

  26. shaman138 says:

    Just got back from the game…it was great to be there to see them turn it around later in the game and pull off a W. Thank God they found a way to solve that Friedrich kid–he was fucking dominating and he had TEN strike outs in his SECOND start as a major leaguer. This bud’s for Blanco tonight. Cheers!

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Enlightening and disheartening

      Thx for the link mow, I might not have seen that story…

      BOYCOTT CHAVEZ!!!

      • mailorderwife says:

        Okay…the GM account is a parody, but I thought you might enjoy this tweet, SFDF:

        DodgersGM ‏ @DodgersGM
        PROMOTION: Bring your mitt and buy a raffle ticket for a chance to play 3rd base in tonight’s game vs #dbacks.

  27. unca_chuck says:

    Krukow has improved immeasurably from the early days, that’s for sure. Yeah, he tries a little too hard to be funny sometimes, but overall he’s solid and informative, and is pretty clever at times. He does beat some shit into the ground (Scott Munter’s ‘heavy’ sinker, anyone?). And both of them picking and choosing who to go after for poor play has been odd at times. Rowand got a free pass pretty much his whole time here even though he was shit on ice, while young players would catch heavy doses of shit for far less.

    The footage yesterday of Dave Winfield going after Kruk WAS pretty damn funny. He’s just standing there like “Oh, shit! I’m gonna die!” when his catcher (Barry Foote?) tackles Winfield before he reaches Krukow.

  28. mailorderwife says:

    With so much anti-Kruk sentiment, I would like to share one very sweet memory I have of him.

    When I was 11 or 12, my Japanese classical dance troupe was invited to dance on the field at Candlestick for Japanese American Day. As a rabid Giants fan, the opportunity to do this was so exciting for me.

    Anywho…

    While dressed in our kimonos, the Giants PR had us hang out in the opposing team’s bullpen. For this game, it was the Chicago Cubs. A very tall, very handsome man was throwing in the β€˜pen, and my sister asked him if he was Mike Krukow.

    The young pitcher stopped mid-throw in just the most delighted shock, turned to us and said, β€œWOW…HOW DO YOU KNOW?” I assume he thought we were just a bunch of young girls from Japan, so he his surprise was natural. He was so kind, answering our probing baseball inquiries (okay, maybe not really that) and giving out autographs until we were called into the Giants dugout.

    Trust me…not all ballplayers were that receptive, even to young girls in or out of kimono (see Gary Thomasson, who should have been happy someone even remembered his name).. Kruk was just so very very kind, and I will never forget that experience.

  29. sandy32koufax says:

    @Xoot…did you read about Bartkowski?

    College Football Hall of Fame…

    ’bout damn time

    • xoot says:

      No, didn’t see that. He was a year behind me in HS. I bumped into him a few times, but I didn’t know him well (I only went to that HS for one year). I also didn’t know he was a good baseball player until I took my kid to baseball camp at Cal a few years back and saw Bartkowski’s retired number.

  30. mailorderwife says:

    Nice clean inning for Timmy. Anyone else around?

  31. sandy32koufax says:

    Do you suppose there is an ‘admin camp’ that we can pitch in on and send vk to?

  32. JDR says:

    Perhaps a friendly letter to Hank informing him of what has been done to his blog. I know Schulman doesn’t get paid for it, but you have to think he wouldn’t be happy that the admins are deliberately trying to sabotage it either.

  33. sandy32koufax says:

    IDK if it should be limited to Hank. I mean, if enough writers and editors hear complaints about the ‘job’ being done at the splash, some sort of change would be required, I imagine. It’s the damn Jints blog, after all. Think of the ‘regulars’ from days past that don’t even go there any more.

    Ruse, tf, chuck, snarrk, etc. flav doesn’t even show anymore

  34. mailorderwife says:

    SFDF – send me a message please?

  35. mailorderwife says:

    WOOOHOOOOOO!!!!!

  36. JDR says:

    I get the feeling I’m not long for the Splash… might be time to fire things back up here.

    • xoot says:

      The comments at the splash are terrible now. Henry’s obviously under pressure (as are all the chronicle writers) to blog, and his twitter feed is always worth a look, so the place will always have visitors. Leave a comment or two when you stop by, but otherwise — who cares? Fire it up, here.

  37. sandy32koufax says:

    Nice snag by Blanco…

    IF ur not long for the splash, it is due to vk taking offense at being called out for the way he has allowed the fux to ruin the vibe over there…

    BTW, I apologize, again, to all of you for acting such ass the first three years I posted over there.

  38. sandy32koufax says:

    Another nail-biter at pcp

  39. mailorderwife says:

    I have revised my blog a bit. My friend, who is now co-author of my blog, wrote this beautiful observation of San Francisco, the Giants and music:

    http://annapirhana.tumblr.com/post/23154992277/the-sweet-spot-a-mini-skirt-girl-steals-home

  40. unca_chuck says:

    Nice post, MOW. Or is that Anna? Having grown up in that era (early punk and before) it brings back memories of the DK’s at the Mabuhay, seeing the Ramones open for the Tubes at the Cow Palace, and all the crazy soma clubs back them. Missed the Sex Pistols though. Was at the DNA lounge, when unnanounced, in walked Thomas Dolby, who played for almost 3 hours. Saw soo many ahows back then I can’t even remember half of them…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Oh wow…if you want to contribute something, let me know. Those are the same memories we have, ya know? I used to get in for free at the Mabuhay because I was half FIlipino, even though I do not look it. Never paid for a show, and it helped to shape my early music writing career.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      TUBES!

      I don’t know how many times I’ve seen them and I always have a blast, even those times I can’t remember, I KNOW I had fun

      • mailorderwife says:

        They still play!

        Remember Leila and the Snakes? Jane Dornacker, Pearl E. Gates…used to be features alongside the Tubes.

      • xoot says:

        I appeared before a judge several times last year who once mentioned, during a settlement conference, that Fee Waybill was one of her best friends. She then told a few very funny stories about her student days in SF, hanging around The Tubes. She seemed pleased to see that I knew what the fuck she was talking about.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I saw them a few years ago at Red Devil on Polk…I don’t remember anything except that it was mondo fun πŸ˜‰

          Ever hear of a judge from Fresno named George Zenovich?
          He used to go to my folks house on Saturday nights to watch SNL and smoke with my dad…another judge, someone named Rose would show from time to time as well. True story

          • xoot says:

            No, I don’t know many judges from Fresno — couple of federal judges only. Back in those days, the Jerry Brown appointees were coming into their own. . . .

          • xoot says:

            How did you dad happen to know a bunch of judges?

            • sandy32koufax says:

              He was a UBC lobbyist and was on Cal Dem Fundraising Committee for three years. Ferarro held a fundraiser at his place in ’84 and he knew every sheriff from San D county to Shasta County for 40 years. Email me at gmail

  41. shaman138 says:

    Loved that blog post, MOW. Giants are pretty punk rock…it’s too bad a lot of their “fans” are just total doomers and whiners. Check this one out on the gate–you think the Splash is bad, check out some of these guys, they act like the end of the world is coming.

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article/comments/view?f=/c/a/2012/05/15/SP261OI9RA.DTL

  42. mailorderwife says:

    Anybody around?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Yepper.

      Xoot pointed out how vk made a fool of himself online, again, today:

      http://blog.sfgate.com/mmagowan/2012/05/16/is-sfs-lusty-lady-model-of-sex-positive-feminism/

      Good shit

    • xoot says:

      Buster stranded on third, but Bumgarner’s hanging tough. Dodgers lost. Time to gain ground!

      I watched a bit of the A’s/Rangers game earlier. That Yu Darvish guy is a helluva pitcher.

      vk is a martinet with no one to boss around. He’s a clown. Snodfart seems to crank out a lot of squeaky clean humanities majors like him.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        LA fielded a crappy offense today and Richard pitched way over his head. Capuano should have yanked but Mattingly seems to leave pitchers in, way too often, beyond their effectiveness.

        Darvish is king shit if you ask me. I’ve watched him several games so far and he is always ahead in counts and keeping the opposition off-balance.

        vk is a fool to open himself up to scrutiny if he has nothing but inanities to offer. Stanford aside, he seems lost.

        • xoot says:

          Stanford’s a great school. But anecdotally, I can tell you that over the years I have met a lot of Stanford grads who went to law school elsewhere and then turned into really mediocre lawyers. The only thing they have in common, apart from the professional mediocrity, is that they are squeaky clean straight arrow types. I also know a lot people who graduated from Stanford or who got graduate degrees there who are very impressive. The squeaky clean segment is what puzzles me. But vk fits right in. Susan Slusser, maybe not.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            I know what you’re saying. I think it has as much to do with the backgrounds/upbringings of them as anything other single element. I’ve known many Stanford grads too and most seem to come from tight knit, disciplined and loving families. The Cleaver family in other words.

            • xoot says:

              Fair enough. I get the feeling we don’t have many Cleaver-family types weighing in on this blog.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Haha…I’m from a broken home that got remarried to itself…talk about screwy? But we had shitloads of fun and loved each other in our own dysfunctional way.

              • mailorderwife says:

                If by “Cleaver” you mean big knife, I come from that kind of home! Otherwise, my home was more like the Bates Motel.

  43. xoot says:

    Blanco is a really good player. Get Melky and Pablo back healthy, and things are gonna look better.

  44. sandy32koufax says:

    Hhahahaha…someone calling himself ‘mossy_back’ is writing fuuck and shit and all sorts of crap on The Splash

  45. xoot says:

    sandy, your comment about the true blue blog got deleted. vk must be steaming.

  46. unca_chuck says:

    Jeez. Can we score ONE run?

  47. unca_chuck says:

    Why am i getting emails whenever someone posts here?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      As you check ‘reply’ there is a box below that which automatically checks itself it says “Notify me…” uncheck it before posting

  48. mailorderwife says:

    Okay…score PLEASE.

    How many times do you think Chico rode “Star Tours”?

  49. mailorderwife says:

    YAY Buster!

  50. unca_chuck says:

    Ahh, jeez. Weird shit going on with WordPress

  51. unca_chuck says:

    Cuz I get emails when everyone else posts here as well.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Gotta go to your control panel or whatever it’s called on wordpress OR uncheck that box below left of text window before posting your comment

  52. sandy32koufax says:

    50 down thumbs and zero up thumbs for vk on that macgowan blogpost of his…that must sting almost as badly as the comments directed at him, not one in support of him

  53. sandy32koufax says:

    xoot, looki below ur post about the tubes and the judge…

  54. sandy32koufax says:

    Rally caps

  55. sandy32koufax says:

    Awesome post at macgowan:

    “MailOrderBride 9:22 PM on May 16, 2012
    …and now comes the ghosts of all the people you’ve unjustly banned…”

    Kudos MOB

  56. xoot says:

    Hey, take a look at the “reply” underneath my 9:17 comment on this thread:

    http://blog.sfgate.com/giants/2012/05/16/beltran-and-arias-out-bumgarner-in-the-8th-spot/

    Henry S. has been posting much more regularly on the splash than he used to. I suspect he’s under pressure from sfgate to do so. Maybe vk is making a concurrent effort to improve the comments. I’m somewhat impressed to see vk respond to the magowan blog debacle with this new approach.

  57. filthychangeup says:

    Wow, VK responded to Xoot on the Flush with instructions to email him should the banned argentine troll return. I guess those comments got through to him. Reinstating the REAL Giants fan accounts such as myself would be a nice gesture as well. I have no intention of creating another account there. Dissapointed with the loss last night. If Pill is going to have no plate discipline then let Belt see what he can do against lefties. Although, Belt’s ABs Tuesday were aggravating. After just experiencing a corn for the first time I can assure you that Melky is no wimp for sitting out, those things suck. Matt Cain is going to put the team on his back today and give us a win before that minor league team across the bay comes in.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I believe he has the authority to reinstate banned users IF he can justify doing so…

      Wouldn’t mind seeing SF win one against the A’s.. You don’t need to catch the Dodgers though πŸ˜‰

  58. sandy32koufax says:

    Hey filthy, guess what?

    YOU’RE ”UNBANNED!!!!!”

  59. xoot says:

    mosshead just posted a snide comment on the splash about the Giants losing streak and it got zapped instantly. Something’s happening behind the scenes, and it doesn’t look bad.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      VK has been in contact with me today and I see him doing something for the good of The Splash and, maybe, The Drumbeat as well πŸ˜‰

      Unsure of the motivation but as long as we see positive changes…

      I guess that ‘Cleaver’ family may have some validity?

      • xoot says:

        Yeah, VK is definitely making an effort. I’m saving up my capital with him. If the idea is to turn the blogs into legitimate discussion spots, with the beat writers leading the way, I’m all for it. Meanwhile, mosshead may screw up and get himself banned the way things are going.

  60. sandy32koufax says:

    Now, wouldn’t it be cool to get some of the old regulars to re-engage over there as well?

    As to moosebutt, we can only hope…

    • shaman138 says:

      In light of the new changes going on there today, that idiot is determined to be a complete fuckhead. If he does get himself banned, he’ll only have himself to blame.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        IDK, shaman. I’ve been too nice to him, maybe a policy we all should adopt, he can’t handle civility w/o becoming a berserker.

        Hehehehehehe

  61. unca_chuck says:

    Shit, Fee Waybill and the Tubes were supposed to show up on this cruise my wife won through her work. They bailed for whatever reason.Along with all the other bands. I was bummed,

    I saw them in 1975 when I was in 8th grade.They played at some small hall on the Stanford campus, speaking of Stanford. When Fee came out as Quay Lewd for the last few songs, on his 4′ platforms, well we all lost it. Crazy-ass show. I’ve been a fan ever since.

  62. sandy32koufax says:

    Well, I just tuned into 11, I hope to hell those two from Oaktown aren’t calling the game for more than 2 innings.

  63. Chico says:

    LETS GO GIANTS! “da da dah dah dah!

  64. xoot says:

    This has been a wild game, and it’s just the 6th.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      watch the StL LA game for wild too

      • Chico says:

        They’re a fighting team. . Scrappy little suckers that can hit and pitch and really have nothing to lose. I thought they’d turn some heads this year when I checked out some of the player bios and stuff… Like always, they have blue-chippers coming through the pike every year. Not a bad team at all. Ballgame, cheers!

  65. sandy32koufax says:

    HELLO?ELlo?lo?

  66. sandy32koufax says:

    Later dowders…time for brews, babes n bbq!

  67. Chico says:

    Uh, I don’t think things are fixed over at sfgate… Anyone following twinfan’s back and forth with VK? I didn’t see any of the earlier comments that tf made but did see a couple that weren’t even close to being abusive and they were removed.

    “Wow. You get allowances because everyone is worried about your health, but to ignore the board where you’re always welcome and just come over here to troll…” — VK.

    For the record, by the comments I saw he wasn’t trolling at all. He was talking baseball.

    I told MOB to not hole her breath over the new and improved sfgate and I’m afraid I was right. Still worth fighting for but seriously, wake the fuck up peeps.

    • xoot says:

      mosshead was much worse on the splash. That schtick I had going, the most pathetic man in the world, got to mossy. He had all of those posts removed, yet his trolling crap remains. vk emailed me directly on Thursday night, inviting abuse reports, but I’ve held off on reporting mosshead. He really is a pathetic fool. What do you think, report him to vk, or let it ride? I’m inclined to see how it goes tomorrow.

      • Chico says:

        I would think waiting it out would be the best bet especially when the bossman is probably butt-hurt (biased) after getting completely shut down by a number 4 starter. I mean embarrassed!

        Talking all that shit all week and this

        Happens.

  68. mailorderwife says:

    To be honest, I am not inclined to return to the SFGate. I like the honesty we can have on this blog, and no matter how much things might change at the Splash, one is still subject to the whims of VK…which is one reason why we all came here in the first place.

    And wow…way to divulge TF’s medical condition. Can you *really* trust that sort of “administrating”?

    • Chico says:

      I’ve never seen that kind of unprofessional conduct in my life on ANY major forum I have ever visited. My jaw dropped when I read that. I’m seriously stunned. What a dick move on his part. I’m typing but I’m speechless (is that possible?).

  69. unca_chuck says:

    Christ. My posts on the Beat and the Splash won’t last, but they were fun to post. Vlae is WAAAAY out of line in what he said to Twin. What a major league tool.

  70. shaman138 says:

    Veek cant help himself…..he hates the Giants that much. Fuck him…..meanwhile…….its bay to breakers time! Cheers!

  71. Chico says:

    Good stuff Chuck. “but it’s not my job”. . . It is his job.

  72. mailorderwife says:

    Bartolo Colon should hit it into triples alley. They will throw him out at first.

  73. shaman138 says:

    Goddamnit I put my foot in my mouth on the splash…..please win Giants

  74. Chico says:

    http://www.warriorsworld.net/2012/05…oving-sf-2017/

    You heard it here first. . I think.

  75. xoot says:

    Apparently Lincecum’s father was interviewed after the game yesterday, or an interview got played, on the Marty Lurie show. I never listen to Lurie’s show for more than a minute at a time. But I heard an excerpt this morning. Lincecum changed his diet and workout over the winter, added swimming (or more swimming) and, as reported in ST I think, came in 15-20 lbs. lighter than he started 2011. Maybe he modified a bunch of small things that he still needs to pull together or re-modify. Only one thing is certain: He is giving up crucial walks and hits to weak hitters in the opposing LUs. Yesterday, after the bottom of the Oakland LU extended the inning, the crowning touch: a wild pitch so wild the 8 spot hitter scored from 2B. wtf?

    So, I’ll put out my regular theme: Lincecum got pretty close to Neukom. They had more than a few things in common. Neukom spent most of his professional career in Seattle. Neukom went up to the little courthouse in Wash. to be in the courtroom when the judge sentenced Lincecum for speeding while smoking. (Even if Larry Baer were to do something like that, it wouldn’t mean squat. But it meant a lot having one of the most famous lawyers in Wash. in the room.) I have to suspect that if Neukom still had been in charge, the negotiations with Lincecum would’ve gone better this past winter. Right now, Lincecum’s not the team leader he used to be. It’s almost as if he doesn’t want to be that anymore.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      You nailed it re Nukem and Lincy…they had a relationship and trusted each other.

      Jints ownership/management, the way it is now, doesn’t stoop to having personal relationships with mere chattle, nor do they seem to care about those types of things.

      One another note…I’m wondering what LA is going to do to replace Ellis’ production and how his projected 6 week DL stint effects Kemp’s proposed return date…

      Not good Indy!

    • mailorderwife says:

      That’s a pretty astute observation, Xoot, Larry Baer seems nice enough, but he is a company sort of guy. For someone like Lincecum, who is not cut from the same cloth as most, a relationship with Neukom — who seemed to “get” Timmy — was important.

      As for the Dodgers…they don’t seem to be hurting that much. 7 ahead :p

  76. sandy32koufax says:

    ziggy_frisco SURE sounds an awful lot like ol moss baby.

    Hmm…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Search and rescue, gentlemen.

    • xoot says:

      Well, that funny, but it’s sort of eerie, too. I’ll bet the boat sunk in silence, and only a few people knew it was even on its way. Imagine the crew tossing bales overboard in an attempt to stay afloat. Ah, well. What did Joseph Conrad say? The sea wins every toss.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Too late for the bales…hope those smugglers didn’t die though.

        “Lord Jim,” no less?

        πŸ™‚

  77. mailorderwife says:
    • sandy32koufax says:

      Scary living in tea country…before we moved to Oakland, we felt the approach of the baggers from San Ramon and Walnut Creek…they have been seriously depleted there since the debt-ceiling fiasco and bin Laden episode.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I couldn’t work for a paper that does fluff endorsements of the tea people…:)

        • mailorderwife says:

          Well, this is Reagan country. But that photo isn’t exactly a quality endorsement.

          • Chico says:

            I read an article about Modoc County (way northern cal) and they were all huffin and puffin about Obama and very supportive of the Tea Party. Well, turns out that they didn’t like the idea of their welfare and food stamps being cut off (most are on them up there). . When told that cutting welfare and food stamps were on the TP agenda, they didn’t believe the interviewer.. I’m not kidding.

  78. mailorderwife says:

    Anybody out there watching the game, or are you all at the Splash?

    • Chico says:

      I’m listening on the radio while cleaning the kitchen. . . A few posts on the Crash but I’m really engaged with this stuff called ‘barkeepers friend’ (cleans stainless steal pots like a charm)!

    • xoot says:

      I just got home from work. I was following the game on the computer. Bumgarner looks very good. The Giants should be beating up Wolf a bit more.

  79. xoot says:

    Wow. Nice play Arias!

  80. Chico says:

    Fuck!

  81. sandy32koufax says:

    This information needed to be shared.

    I just had to share these comments that Mitt Romney made and I’m telling you all we better take this election business serious cause these GOP
    folks are way beyond crazy.

    Here’s what Romney said:

    “I understand how difficult it can be for an African-American in today’s society. In fact, I can relate to black people very well
    indeed. My ancestors once owned slaves, and it is in my lineage to work closely with the black community. However, just because
    they were freed over a century ago doesn’t mean they can now be freeloaders. They need to be told to work hard, and the incentives
    just aren’t there for them anymore. When I’m president I plan to work closely with the black community to bring a sense of pride and
    work ethic back into view for them”. -Mitt Romney.

    He must love the taste of his toes because he keeps putting his foot in his mouth. And we thought Bush was dumb!!

    • mailorderwife says:

      I believe that is from a spoof article, boo.

    • JDR says:

      I’m certainly no fan of mittens, but it is indeed not true.
      http://www.snopes.com/politics/romney/blackcommunity.asp

    • xoot says:

      Democrats are too far right for me, but they’re the best I can do. I know a few rich republicans. They’re decent people in many ways. But their main concern in life seems to be staying rich while feeling good about it. Also, I can tell you this with certainty: If Romney gets elected the Supreme Court will get packed with at least two more conservative justices, and civil liberties in this country will be toast.

      • Chico says:

        Spot on. . if Scotus goes any further right, I’ll start to use the word ‘fascist’.

        • xoot says:

          This is a long article, but it tells a bone chilling story about the court taking a narrow issue and turning it into an excuse to give first amendment protection to big money (and, no, I don’t mean Benji):
          http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2012/05/21/120521fa_fact_toobin

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Gregory Bros, kiddies…

            A parody on his frequently falling prey to the dread foot-in-mouth syndrome

            • Chico says:

              I’m a registered Independent but vote for democrats 99.999% of the time (only repub I voted for was Tom Campbell, which I had to register repub to do so) but the idiots gave Fiorina the nod, so I had to vote for Boxer again. I’m looking forward to reading that article after the game. I’m a big fan of http://getmoneyout.com/ Dylan Ratigan has it right.

              • mailorderwife says:

                I registered independent to stop partisan junk mail, but I now get it from both parties. My views are far too liberal for the Demos, but I find myself voting for them to prevent some evil candidate from entering office. This effort, however, seems futile.

                I would love to see Scalia gone, and Thomas booted out. There is a glaring conflict of interest with Thomas and his wife’s activities, ya know?

                • Chico says:

                  Oh yeah. . . When the citizens united ruling happened (I’ll see if I can find the article on the Gate), most of the smarter conservatives and 100% of the liberals and independent minded people were totally against it, until the right started a propaganda campaign saying ‘hey, unions give money too’

                  We’re talking David vs Goliath when it comes to corporate money vs union money (you and I know that), but their minions lap it up and. . . I’m not saying I’m right in my views, but I know for damn sure that the people who shrug off such a monumental and damaging ruling are flat out wrong!

                  Mrs. Thomas is a tea bag… I hate all of them people. Religious litmus tests? If I were a candidate, i’d tell them people to go to hell. Flat out. I wouldn’t get elected, but that’s how movements start.

          • xoot says:

            Unions are associations of individuals. Each member has a first amendment right to prevent the union from using any part of that member’s dues for political purposes. (This right was established by well-funded conservative litigants in the 80s, I believe.) Corporations are often owned entirely or in large part by other corporations. Their very purpose is to generate wealth to spend in support of their own wealth-generating interests. No comparison between unions and corps. Unions give some voice to a large number of wage earning people who otherwise wouldn’t be heard at all; corps give loud voice to a few very very rich people who have many other ways to use their influence. Corps have much more autonomy than unions, and, since Citizens United, the first amendment gives corps carte blanche to try to buy elections. That’s the republican way.

  82. Chico says:

    Focus on his tax plan. . . It’s a friggin joke. His idea is to cut taxes even more for the affluent, cut capital gains & dividend taxes. . . Seriously, that’s a rich man’s goodie bag. . He’ll argue that it will stimulate the economy (probably won’t make a difference) and in order for his plan to come close to working, the economy would have to grow at a 5-6% growth rate — something we have never seen, not even during the dot com boom. . Oh, and he want’s to INCREASE military spending. . So how the hell do we cut the deficit in his mind? The poor and the middle class and it’s impossible to do without more revenue and the military HAS to be on the table. Fuzzy math at it’s best.

    I have conservative buddies who pay attention and admit he’s full of shit.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      The thing about mitt baby is that he has so many Billy Bobs and seriously pissed off indies supporting him.

      I don’t see dude winning the election due to his inability to speak on his feet w/o huge gaffes. But then I thought that very same thing back in 2000 and 2004

      *sigh*

  83. Chico says:

    Another win! Cheers! Hope you’re feeling better MOW.

  84. mailorderwife says:

    Schulman has referred to Miller Field as Barry Zito’s “armageddon”. (or something like that). Is anyone around?

    • mailorderwife says:

      BARRRRRRRRY. BACK TO YOUR OLD SELF?

    • shaman138 says:

      Well, here’s the quote of what Schulman said, and, uhh, as of right now, things haven’t changed a bit. So far, so bad…he really wasn’t exaggerating with the armageddon comparison.

      “If Zito can have a good game here, in his personal Armageddon chamber, we’ll know his renaissance is for real. In six starts at Miller Park, Zito is 0-3 with a 7.22 ERA, six homers allowed and 19 walks in 28 2/3 innings.”

      • mailorderwife says:

        6 runs in the first inning….and counting :< This Barry I know all too well.

        Maybe Parra will blow it.

  85. shaman138 says:

    Well….this is craptastic.

  86. mailorderwife says:

    Wish we had that dude still…Keppinger.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Okay…things are looking much better!

    • xoot says:

      Zito always pitches well for a short time, at some point, every season. I think his short time in 2012 ended about a week ago.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Yeah. We used to be able to get at least a half season out of him. I think we’re down to 1/4th, although we had a full non season out of him last year.

  87. Chico says:

    I was in Portola Valley today and didn’t watch/hear any of the game. . 10am starts suck, so did Zito apparently. By the box score, we were down 8-0 and managed to score 5. . We don’t do that last year. On to South Beach where I’d be happy with a split.

  88. shaman138 says:

    I see that vk’s promise to clean up the splash was hollow sfter all. Its worse than ever…a complete trolled out war zone punctuated with prissy WBB comments and thumb spamming. Pathetic. Im over it.

  89. Chico says:

    While I do think that Henry’s latest blog post is open for criticism, it was on the FRONT page last night at 1 am when I awoke to raccoons knocking over my recycle bin. Front page.

    A calculated move no doubt.

  90. mailorderwife says:

    http://www.theverge.com/gaming/2012/5/24/3041662/38-studios-lays-off-entire-staff – This article covers gaming, lay offs, baseball and a Republican.

  91. Chico says:

    Sandy, email VK about giantsrock .. He’s having posts removed again.

  92. mailorderwife says:

    This Miami stadium can double as Hello Kitty World! if they replaced the dolphins with Sanrio characters.

    Go Giants. Is everyone at that other place again?

  93. mailorderwife says:

    Annabelle Sanchez got rattled!

    • Chico says:

      Pagan! Glad he’s back form his food poisoning.

      Funny, well, not really. . Some posters on the splash were making fun of him “aw, upset tummy’

      If you’ve ever had it, not a laughing matter at all. I spent three days in the hospital with it a few years ago. I’ve had stitches over 10 times, broke my wrist, cut my tendon in my left pinkie finger, hernia. . Nothing was worse than food poisoning. Go Giants!

  94. Chico says:

    Melky! Awesomeness.

  95. Chico says:

    Fun game!

Leave a Reply

