Wilson in trouble, and some Saturday night Zito

Apparently that 2010 World Series just flat out pissed off the baseball gods. Yet another serious injury appears to have beset the Giants.

Brian Wilson has the dreaded “structural damage” in his elbow. Not entirely surprising, as MLB closers have a shelf life roughly equal to that of an NFL running back and Wilson has been known to play through strains, pulls and missing ligaments.

If any team is equipped to handle the loss of the closer, it’s the Giants. Romo, Casilla, Lopez and Affeldt all have the stuff to close out games, and with Hembree in AAA and Runzler looking to come around, there are plenty of options in relief.

In other news, we have about 45 minutes until the the start of the violent colon cleanse otherwise known as a Barry Zito start…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Wilson in trouble, and some Saturday night Zito

  1. unca_chuck says:

    Ouch. I had a bad feeling about Weezy all offseason. This looks like his 2nd TJ surgery.

    You want my emal addy, MOW?

  2. xoot says:

    Zito didn’t pitch poorly the first inning. That pop up that fell in front of Nate was probably catchable, with a good, fast break to it. The ump refused to call strike on several excellent Zito curves. He came back out in the second inning looking relaxed. Maybe he’ll maintain.

    Man, Hector S. looks like a hitter, doesn’t he?

  3. mailorderwife says:

    Sort of enjoying this game. Barry did well again, but you know…I want him to do well for the whole season! Not half :X

  4. Chico says:

    That vid gave me gas.

    • JDR says:

      The chili recipe from that episode is actually pretty good (and healthy.) Five different kinds of beans!

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Have I got a chili recipe for you guys!!

        I’ll post it later…got newfs to walk then a lawn to mow and, finally, Elvis Costello at the Warfield tonight…4-1 in the third for LADs…Kershaw looks tentative at best.

        Lates kids

        • mailorderwife says:

          She’s been a bad girl.
          She’s like a chemical.
          Though you try to stop it,
          she’s like a narcotic.
          You wanna torture her.
          You wanna talk to her.
          All the things you bought for her,
          putting up your temp’rature.

          • Chico says:

            I too have an awesome Chili recipe. . Will post after you do SFDF. Enjoy the show, and good stuff MOW!

            • sandy32koufax says:

              Good times last night-it was one of my GFs Bday presents to me-GOOD WOMAN that she is…tonsa fun out front and inside was just as smokey ๐Ÿ˜‰ So people kept getting called up onstage to “Spin The Songwheel” and whatever song the wheel stoped on was then preformed and the ‘spinner’ stayed onstage during the tune and got some swag to take home. Cool idea and fun too. We stayed out pretty late, for farmers anyway (2am). I’d say “GO!” to anyone that hasn’t seen the E-man-he and the Imposters were way on last night.

              I’ll post that chili recipe when I get home from work…it is too divine for words

  5. Chico says:

    Meh… Correia sounded good (radio on in the Cruz) but that’s two out of three. Can’t complain, other than RISP. Vogey did his job, glad he’s back. Decent waves, the kids had a blast — gotta get them into swimming lessons soon though.

    Cast iron seared Rib-eyes with a Blue Cheese butter garnish, light Cesar Salad and a couple of Racer 5’s on the menu tonight in the Chico kitchen. . . New episode of Game of Thrones. . . A win would have made the day better but nothing we can do about that..

    Thanks Wilson, despite what was said at the other place, You’re ARE a Warrior and I’ll forever be greatful for what you did for the Giants franchise, hope to see him back soon but if he’s done – he left it all out there for us fans so here’s to you B-Wil. . Cheers.

    • xoot says:

      Where’d you surf today, Chico? (I tend to favor the east side of town.) And, yes, get those kids swimming lessons. Both my kids swim better than I do. Hell, they’ll probably save my ass one of these days.

      • Chico says:

        36th (the stairs), break to the right. . . My wife’s co-worker owns a home up on Cliff Dr. (dream house!) *will never happen but one can dream* Our kids are only a year apart so it works out well. Her husband is a nice guy, but doesn’t surf or watch baseball which is a bummer so I only got wet for an hour or so, but it was fun. Pretty small, but fun nonetheless.

        • xoot says:

          Nice. I lived on 30th for a while when I was in college. Back in those days, there was no parking lot or fence or stairs at the Hook — we stopped on the dirt under the cypress trees and watched the waves from our cars. “I don’t know, man, it’s pretty crowded. 5 guys out already . . . .”

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Correia is a pretty good pitcher…SD DUMPED (a la the A’s) some serious pitchiing during the off-season and he’s just one of them. Sounds like you guys had a fun weekend, broman…and yeah,Wilson did give all he had to give and, maybe, he’ll have more after TJ and rehab…

      xman, you went to UCSC? Ya big Slug ๐Ÿ˜‰ !

      • xoot says:

        Well, technically I was there before they adopted a mascot. Back when there were absolutely no grades, and the gym was deliberately designed with one wall so close to the basketball court no official NCAA game ever could be played on it. But who needs hoops when you have the ocean?

      • mailorderwife says:

        Kevin’s also got three really hot cousins!

  6. xoot says:

    Buster did not look good at the plate today. In his rookie year I believe he never had a checked swing called a strike; last year, it happened rarely; today, he looked like any other mook. He leads the team in SOs (only 6, however). On the other hand, in other games this year he has shown his power and his opposite field prowess. The team needs his bat. If he and Pablo and Melky can stay farily consistent, the other guys can jump in when they’re hot — Pagan, Huff, Belt, Crawford, et al — and they’ll continue to score runs.

  7. unca_chuck says:

    Uh, how, Mow? Isn’t my email visible when you click my dog’s head?

  8. mailorderwife says:

    Er…so we signed Madbum!

  9. Chico says:

    Our D needs to play better, obviously. That ‘miscommunication’ between Pagan and Cabrera was horse shit. Screw your fucking heads on!

    • xoot says:

      Lincecum made a bunch of good pitches during the first half of that first inning. The inability of Pagan and Cabrera to co-exist in the OF ruined it — put a runner on 2B with 1 out instead of no one on, two outs. Fucking idiots. Bochy should rip their heads off later tonight.

    • xoot says:

      Huff looks better in the OF than Pagan and Cabrera. Bochy should . . . . .

  10. Chico says:

    Timmy has been very good after that 1st inning, and we’re hitting Doc-H. Good play by Pence in RF, another foot and people are running forever. Get some runs.

  11. unca_chuck says:

    Unfortunately Huff looks worse than Timmy at the plate. The hot hitting is slowing down a lot. And Pagan is a guy who’s pissing me off. He lets the ball drop today. He doesn’t score yesterday on the conceded run yesterday.

    MOW, thanks again for the tix. It’s texting gloves night. Whatever the hell that is . . .

  12. Heh heh. Funny, they are fingerless gloves. Sort of the opposite . . .

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Meh…wth do I know about texting gloves?

      • Chico says:

        Nice link to your facebook page Chuck. I’m thinking about creating one just to stay in touch with family members abroad. Talking to them on the phone is too damn expensive, and I HATE skyping.

  13. shaman138 says:

    Got the tix, MOW! Thanks again!

    Meanwhile, Timmy just looked defeated last night…it was hard to watch. Meanwhile, watching the Sharks play a heartless, gutless game last night and get outplayed by a bunch of upstart St. Louis kids was horrible. The Sharks are a better, more expereinced team but the Blues have the better coach and the Sharks just keep getting sucked into playing the Blues’ game and then getting exploited for it. I keep telling myself that they’re bound to win the Cup sooner or later but I’m wondering…

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Can you wait another 29 years, shaman?

      • Chico says:

        I’ve tried to watch, but couldn’t. Hockey, like soccer is an acquired taste.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Facebook is how I keep in touch with all my friends back in the Bay Area.

          Unca — I sent friend request to your page!

      • shaman138 says:

        If Dodger fans can wait another 60 years, then I can wait another 29. ; )

        • sandy32koufax says:

          LADs will be WS champs much sooner than that…cuz I’ll be dead before then!

          Now let’s have the Ray-duhs ”Return To Glory” and all is well with the world, once again…

    • mailorderwife says:

      I love hockey and the Sharks, although I admit to being a rank amateur viewer. I only began loving hockey because it was the only palatable way of watching ice skating. Anywho, I loved Devin Setoguchi and that clutch scoring during last yearโ€™s playoffs.

      I have not been able to watch must hockey this year because, you know, I have had too much motherfucking drama in my real life. How did the new guys pan out this year?

      • shaman138 says:

        Not that well, really, but enough to get them into the playoffs. Their penalty kill is atrocious, they can’t do shit on their power plays, and they’re simply being out-played by a younger, better coached St. Louis team.

  14. shaman138 says:

    Football schedule’s out!! Raiders start off with another MNF game against the stupid Chargers, and Niners start off in Green Bay. Yowza!

    • Chico says:

      Tough schedule. That reminds me, I never made a prediction on the Giants this year (Henry usually has one for a Splash post, but didn’t this year).

      Niners, 11-5 – playoff bound

    • JDR says:

      Eh, I’d rather they go to Green Bay in September than December. At least they avoid the frozen tundra BS.

      • Chico says:

        Oh hell yeah…. You know me, I’m a huge Aaron Rodgers fan (he did lose a few points in my book for his words re: Braun’s dirty test), but I think our D can give him fits.

  15. Chico says:

    My wife is at the game tonight, she deserves to see a win!

  16. mailorderwife says:

    :::crickets:::

  17. Chico says:

    I’m here MOB. . . Lets win this!

  18. shaman138 says:

    Two more innings to go…let’s nail this one down!

  19. Chico says:

    Who is oneflpdown? WBB?

    • mailorderwife says:

      Is that the Jeff Leonard fellow with the dodger cap on?

    • shaman138 says:

      Who else? And that “raptor” creep is most likely kenny. Man, those guys are weirdos.

      • Chico says:

        So, he’s gnatsrock, oneflpdown, something rooster and sabeansdwarfs, and probably more. Hey fuck face, game on!

    • xoot says:

      gloatingrooster is an old time splash commenter, a dodger fan who used to brag about living near San Putrid harbor. He’s an asshole, but he’s not bizarre like WBB or Kenny. If the dodgers fade, so will he.

      • Chico says:

        Got it. . . We’re surrounded by assholes with no life. I’m starting to re-think this whole blogging thing. Thank jeebus for this place.

  20. shaman138 says:

    Damnit, Melky. Ok, let’s shut it down and win this thing.

  21. shaman138 says:

    Ballgame! Nice win, Giants!

    • Chico says:

      Cheers! MOW, in order to get a game thread going, people need to post. Spread the word around, and I’ll always be here. This thing is just getting going — and it’s sfgates loss.

  22. mailorderwife says:

    Madbum is becoming old faithful here! Nice win and play by Mr. Stamos!

  23. Chico says:

    Glad my wife got to see a win. . . Drive safely baby.

  24. xoot says:

    Cain and Madbum are horses you can count on. Huff needs to flatten out that swing again; Pagan needs to run hard at a pop up in front of him; etc. But overall, the team’s looking pretty good now. (I don’t know what Posey intended to prove with that steal, but he did.) Win tomorrow, and the season starts all over again in NY.

  25. mailorderwife says:

    Hey Chico — check your email please? I sent you something!

  26. mailorderwife says:

    Has anyone read this article on the new 49er ticket prices v. the Old Faithful?

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2012/04/18/MNUA1O403R.DTL

    • Chico says:

      I might be in the minority here on this one, but that PCL garbage is following me everywhere. Season tickets @ Cal via the ESP seating is bullshit. I’m sorry if I don’t have 50 grand to kick to an athletic dept! “oh, you don’t, then you’ll sit here and like it’…. Fuck that, I’ll watch the games for free up on Tightwad hill.. My wife dropped the season tix with her Alma Mater. . We’re priced out. She told me that if we did have the money, she’d donate it to something academics related, not sports.

      I know it’s the way things are now, but it’s sad that middle class people are being priced out of sports. . . The middle class built this country, but they are slowly being forgotten and phased out. It’s pathetic.

      • Chico says:

        Oh, and these fucks need a tax cut! Sorry, I had a bad day and sfgate won’t let me ask a question, let alone vent.

        Lets go Giants!

      • mailorderwife says:

        I wanted to buy the seat next to the two other I have, but the Giants wanted to charge me $3k or $5k for PCL. Boolsheet.

        I’ve been giving out free tickets to Cleveland sports teams (Indians, Cavs) in chunks to inner city kids. The licensing has priced middle/lower class folks out, and I hate it. My best memories are of sitting in the bleachers back at Candlestick with the neighborhood folk.

  27. mailorderwife says:

    Okay…pitching duel. Our boys sort of wasted an opportunity in the first inning.

  28. mailorderwife says:

    New blog entry, Chico!

Leave a Reply

