Not so bad a start

Well, after a nightmare series in Arizona, the Giants come home in relatively good shape.

The sweep in Phoenix was followed by a series win in Denver. Yes, it was overshadowed by a second consecutive bed-wetting by Tim Lincecum which rubbed off on the rest of the staff to the tune of 17 runs, but on either side of that were absolutely stellar appearances by Barry Zito and Madison Bumgarner.

Now it’s back home for a series with the Pirates. With a good homestand the team can get back to .500 or better and settle everyone down. It’s easy to get worked up over the rough start, but we still have more than 150 games left to play, and no matter how you slice it, that is a long-ass time.

As for Timmy? Eh. He’s been this bad before, in fact he’s been worse (August 2010, anyone?) and once he figured out what was wrong and corrected it, he was back to his old dominant, Cliff Lee-slaying self. With the home opener coming up, hopefully his dad is in town and they can figure out just what is going wrong.

On another note, we have a few more game tickets to give out courtesy of MOB. May 3rd vs the Marlins and an Orange Friday game against the Brewers on the 4th. First come, first served.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Not so bad a start

  1. xoot says:

    The offense is looking very good. Melky has really impressed me. I remember Pablo’s 2010 April, so I’m still reserving judgment a bit on him. Crawford, similarly. But overall I’m feeling optimistic. Very tough road trip to start the season, but it was only 6 games, and they took the second series. And I never give up on Lincecum.

  2. unca_chuck says:

    Orange Friday? How many tix do you have, JDR???

  3. JDR says:

    Pretty good start, I’d say. Hope Cabrera is okay, an injury right now with the way he’s playing would suck.

  4. xoot says:

    Cabrera’s been back out in the field, huh? Good. I see that I forgot to mention Buster’s success at the plate as a huge positive force bringing momentum with it into this homestand. He may not be completely comfortable behind the plate yet, but be’s back in the box, that’s seems certain.

  5. Chico says:

    Seems like the wind is blowing in. Buster nailed that ball, I thought it was gone.

  6. JDR says:

    Pablo just hit a line drive off the bricks in triples alley. It was hit so hard it bounced off the wall and back to the center fielder. Off of a wall 420 feet from home plate.

    Jesus.

  7. Chico says:

    Huff goes deep!

  8. xoot says:

    11 SOs, 0 BBs and one ground-ball hit. Unbelievable.

  9. mailorderwife says:

    Cain is soooo worth the coin :>

  10. JDR says:

    Matt. Fucking. Cain.

  11. Chico says:

    Cheers!

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    Sweet pitching and a great opening day for Gfans.

    Congrats…

  13. shaman138 says:

    Since this is a real Giants blog with real Giants fans who don’t disappear or find some small thing to bitch about after a Giants win, I can safely say:

    What a wonderful win.

    P.S. Are thos Marlins tix still available? My favorite times to go to Giants games are weeknights or Sunday games. Orange Friday nights and Saturdays are cool but the idjits and meatheads come out of the woodwork for those and it can get pretty obnoxious.

  14. Chico says:

    About last night. . . I went to bat for all of you. I wasn’t only defending myself, but I was defending Xoot, JDR and SFDF. I’ll gladly take one for the team (I took 6 last night), because that’s what friends do. My father always told me to fight for what you believe in, even if there is consequences. . . Too bad the censors didn’t agree, but I know I was right. I live by those words. You’re welcome. Go Giants!

  15. sandy32koufax says:

    You been drinking cause I really don’t know what went on last night…I made my comment on your nature post and signed out pretty quickly after that.

    Still, you are a standup guy, Chico. We all know that. So, ”Thanks, Bro”

    • Chico says:

      Actually, I have had pretzels and some iced tea. . Lets just say that the censors (haha) agreed with Mac, not me (get it?). Then I’m eating lunch in Redwood city on a job today, check in on the Splash and it looks like I had some backup. Sometimes I feel like I’m more loyal to the people that say they’re loyal to me, but whatever. There’s no crying in baseball. . . Glad to take one for the team.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I saw the deletions when I signed in earlier…I think most of have been there Chico. There isn’t a damn thing we can ‘do’ about the situ, apparently, but take the lumps we’ve been taking. Right, wrong or indifferent (there ya go) that’s how the gate seems to play it.

  16. JDR says:

    Shaman and Chuck, do you have MOW’s email address for those tickets? If not I can send it to you.

    • shaman138 says:

      Sorry, I missed last night’s thread because….uh..I was out drinking. Things got weird yesterday, I had the ultimate Friady the 13th. Anyway, I’ll send MOW my “real” email addy….and, guess what? I’m going to tonight’s game…

      • sandy32koufax says:

        “….uh..I was out drinking. Things got weird yesterday, I had the ultimate Friady the 13th. Anyway”…

        DETAILS MY MAN…DETAILS!

        • Chico says:

          You’re not alone shaman. I went out with a couple of buddies of mine. . . I was ok, because I was babysitting one of my buddies, who was hammered who also happens to be SFPD. If it wasn’t for me, he’d be out of a job the way he was acting last night. LOL, he texted me a little bit ago ‘I owe you 2 weeks pay’ I’m a beer guy, but them rum & cokes do the trick, faster!

          First time I have ever been to Smugglers cove. . . Nice place

  17. mailorderwife says:

    I guess Brian Wilson has structural damage to his elbow :<

Leave a Reply

