Oh hell yes! Opening day open thread.

It’s 4:00. Time for the season to officially start. Kruk and Kuip are dressed up and we are ready to kick things off. Timmy’s on the mound to face the d-bags. Let’s get things going!

Pagan allays all fears about his hitting by promptly popping out to center. Surely nobody will mention that…

Melky doubles, Pablo juuuust misses one, and Buster (sporting the makings of a neckbeard) walks. Huff pops out to end the inning. No runs, but all three outs went deep into the outfield. Either Kennedy is off his game or we have the makings of a football score. I’d be happy with both.

Yep. Football score. Chris Young gets two runs on what would have been a routine fly back home. Two batters later Goldschmidt picks up where he left off- hitting against the Giants and only the Giants. Dammit.

Definitely going to be a football score. Hopefully the Niners will be able to come out ahead of the Cardinals.

Kennedy walks the pitcher, and Pagan continues to inspire confidence by popping out to short. Then Crawford takes one off the chest for an E6. Is it going to be one of those games? On opening day, no less? Timmy gets out of it with no harm done. Progress!

The Giants look to be seeing Kennedy well and squaring up, but everyone is just barely missing. Lots of pop-up deep in the outfield, but on another day they would have six runs right now.

The good news is that Timmy has settled down. The bad news is, so has Kennedy. Something might be brewing, however, as Pagan laces a double down the line in right…

The Melk Man delivers! A Matt Williams special that never got much higher than the wall and made it out in a hurry. Giants are on the board. Pablo and Posey end the inning, but that’s a pair of runs off of Kennedy and the lead is now just one run.

Timmy has struck out five batters in a row. So much for the “he lost his fastball” handwringing.

…and AZ plates two on a bases-loaded double. About two batters too late. 5-3 Dbags.

Arizona likes their bullpen so much that Kennedy is hitting with two outs and runners on 2nd and 3rd. Kennedy hasn’t exactly been lights-out today, so that should tell you something.

Two on, but Huff couldn’t get them in and the 7th ends. You want to chalk it up to Huff being terrible, but Patterson is a pretty nasty AB for lefties. Tough to hit a ball coming in from behind your back. Still, it’s starting to feel like a loss today. Way too many men left on base.

Mota just picked a guy off. So there’s that. And Crawford made a hell of a play on that grounder after getting another bad hop. How much is he looking forward to the AT&T dirt?

Affeldt in, and he hit a guy on 0-2, because it’s that kind of day.

That’s  the game, but it sure got interesting at the end, didn’t it? Pablo with the RBI double, but Posey can’t get it past the shortstop. 5-4, but the Giants had the tying run at second. Not sure they get it that close with last year’s offense. Timmy stumbled a bit, but chalk that up to opening day nerves and a hitter-friendly ballpark.

There’s no such thing as a good loss, but there is plenty to like about today’s effort.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

92 Responses to Oh hell yes! Opening day open thread.

  1. mailorderwife says:

    WAAAAAAAAH I thought this was starting at 7 :<

  2. xoot says:

    I’m stuck at work, following on the gameday computer feed. Still, the hanging slider to Young was obvious. The mlb geeks are calling every Lincecum FB a four-seamer. 90-91 on the gun with a two-seamer, ok; four? I don’t think so.

  3. shaman138 says:

    *sigh*….So I got really busy at work at about 4 and couldn’t tune into the game until about four-thirty, and I shit you not, literally the very first pitch I see when I turn it on is the one to Young for his two-run shot. Sooo, that’s how the season begins for me….ugh! Man, fucking Kennedy owns us.

  4. Chico says:

    Fuck.. “my cousins are flying in… they’ll be ready @ terminal *** at 4 oclock”… My wife didn’t tell me that her cousins would bring everything they ever owned to the US for a 4 day trip.

    I got them high *ganja* and they’re playing my ps3 in the other room while I watch baseball.

  5. mailorderwife says:

    Giants not looking so bad :> Wheeeee!

  6. Chico says:

    C’mon Mota! Get out of it.

    • mailorderwife says:

      What do you play on the PS3? I have one too.

      • JDR says:

        As do I. We’ll have to set up a gaming session soon, though I’m currently hooked on Skyrim.

        • Chico says:

          I don’t play much, but I have The Show from last year, Tiger Woods and Fifa soccer (her cousins are from Spain) so they’re happy. I’ll tell ya, 2 rips off the doobie and they’re blasted. Welcome to California! The visit twice a year.

          • JDR says:

            I believe I have the Show as well, though for some reason when I got to the new TV the timing on the sliders was different and every pitch I threw bounced in the dirt, so I’m not very good. MOB and Chico, what are your screen names on PSN? I’ll add both of you as friends.

            • Chico says:

              I’ll e mail it to you. Knucklegraggers lurking.

              • JDR says:

                I got it, but it’s telling me nobody has registered that name.

                • Chico says:

                  That comment I threw in the trash? That’s it the last time I looked. I could be mixing up my password with my username, I’ll figure it out and shoot you an e mail.

            • mailorderwife says:

              I will also email it to you. Chico – can you send me yours via SFgate messenger?

              I have Skyrim for the PC, but I do have Mass Effect 3 for the PS3. The multiplayer on that is fun.. Let me know what you guys want to play. Most of my console games were for the Xbox, which I still have, but I will be happy to start growing the Ps3 library.

  7. Chico says:

    Blanco aboard…

  8. xoot says:

    The team nearly came back and saved Lincecum’s butt. I hope to hell Melky doesn’t burn out. Pagan suddenly awoke. Etc. As to Lincecum, we’ve been through this before. August 2010 is the standard. He was done, washed up, gone, the asswipes said. Then, suddenly, he wasn’t. And then, when he was supposed to be exhausted, he pitched one of the best games in Giants history on Nov. 1, 2010. Last year, bad patch, at the end, in Sept., but some great runs earlier in the season. I won’t give up on that guy.

    So — the team knows it can hit and knows it can run. Let em at the DBacks tomorrow. Can’t wait.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I too thought the game was a nightie as did MOW..I am currently watching LA undo SD…Bills is looking uncharacteristically in charge and aggressive. Kemp is Kemp, Ethier tagged a serious triple to score two and all is as well in Dodgertown as can be expected at this point in time…

      BUT

      To stay ”on topic,” I’ve only seen highlights of the opener for the Jints and, Timmeh aside, they look as if they may be a potent team offensively.

      20-14 in openers after today…Good Luck on those predicting more than 90 wins, btw.

      • JDR says:

        That park was playing like an absolute launching pad today. Of the HRs hit, maybe Goldschmidt’s would have made it out in SF. Melky’s would have bounced off the wall in right and rolled back to second base it was hit so hard. Timmy was left in too long. Aside from the first inning he was very good, at one point he fanned six straight.

        San Diego has looked absolutely terrible. Aside from not hitting, they’ve made 5 errors already. For some reason they’ve had the Giants’ number these last few years though.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Thanks for the info, JD, as I said, didn’t watch the game believing it started later, I went to Evergreen nursery and provided for our next plantings :)…

          San D, as are all of the other teams in our division, can own a better team. Some things just don’t make any sense…sabermetrics be damned

      • xoot says:

        92, man. 92.

  9. JDR says:

    Well, the aaa’s are getting their asses handed to them, but the HR Cespedes hit was absolutely massive. Once word gets out that he’ll chase anything remotely near the plate his average will nosedive and he’ll be another salary albatross for Beane, but damn, that was an impressive shot.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      It was…I hope he doesn’t just become another rook that chases…he’s one of my people!

      Serious power and a nice jack though…good for JC

    • sandy32koufax says:

      BTW, JD…I’d much rather see my team win games via errors by their opponent than losing them by committing those errors themselves…

      • JDR says:

        Of course. A win is a win. But the Padres have been stepping on their own dicks thus far.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          No doubt, JD. Padre boners are nothing new though. To be 2-0 and looking at a possible sweep at any time of the year and for any reason, is cause for celebration. Especially considering how thin the Dodgers actually are in so many ways.

          You know what I’ve been saying since ‘The Sale,’ that LA going .500 is the best Dodger fans can hope for in the near future…to have ‘gimme wins’ handed to them? I’ll take that, every time.

  10. JDR says:

    Today we’ve had two views from Chile, by the way.

    Make of that what you will.

  11. sandy32koufax says:

    FRACK!!!

    Jamey friggin Wright???

  12. sandy32koufax says:

    Not tonight he didn’t 😉

  13. sandy32koufax says:

    Cespesdes chokes on called strike three…:(

    • JDR says:

      Yeah. I get the feeling that as a hitter he’s going to fall somewhere in between Pablo Sandoval and Pedro Feliz. Still, not a bad career outlook all things considered.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Think of his age (do Cubans do the lie thing too?) he can be everything A’s fans are being fed that he is or…he could be Mendoza…let him play before we judge him, eh?

        A’s are going to surprise though, make no doubt on that. They have zero chance at anything other than semi-spoiler though. Thank you Billy Beane for trading all of the best pitching away…yet again!

  14. shaman138 says:

    Since most of the clowns who are so-called regulars on the Dumbbeat silently lurk on this blog, I can safely say that the AAAAAAA’s are a sad joke and I can’t wait for that sad sack of a fucking puke green and snot gold team to move to Lexington and rid the Bay Area of the stench of their underachieving, bullshit Moneyball crap. Go to hell, Billy Beane.

    Now let me tell you how I really feel…

  15. filthychangeup says:

    WOW, can you imagine being a new user to SfGate and reading all the Giants comments this morning? Talk about a bunch of ignorant baseball fans, one loss and the season is over. One bad puting by Lincecum and he’s burnt toast. It’s not even worth reading. I really don’t understand people who follow professional sports to expect the worst outcome. Maybe their job/family life is so mellow that they are comfortable fretting anxiously over the outcome of a GAME FOR OUR ENJOYMENT! In any case at least we have JDR for a moron-free Giants/BA sports forumn, so thanks JDR. I agree that this was a “promising” loss. I felt much more content with this opening day loss than 2011s. I think it’s b/c the team showed so much fight as well as a more potent offense. Like JDR mentioned, Lincecum got into a nice groove after the first. Still, I wish Bochy had PH for him in the 5th. I thought he was done at that point and proved so by coughing up the lead next inning. Melky is going to have a monster year. While I like the idea of him in the two spot I would also like to see him in the 5th spot. I agree with others that Belt and Huff should be switched in the order. I wonder if Pagan’s 2B earns him another start or if we’ll see a much revised lineup today. Go MadBum, Giants first win of 2012 starts today at 1!

    • mailorderwife says:

      The length of the season is lost on many people.

      And you’re right…come post here, peeps. Wading through that swamp of stupidity is not my thing.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I’m pretty sure 162 games is understood by most as ” a grind” of a season. They simply LOVE to be ashcans and post megatripe, ya know, ”get yer goat” kinda gotchas…

  16. xoot says:

    Pablo! They’re not out of this.

  17. mailorderwife says:

    Someday, I will tune in when the game starts :p

    On another note, Bartolo Colon rolls down a hill.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I’m going to post that as a ‘message’ to mossbutt…

      Going to HMB Brewing company with friends and le chiens later-too bad you’re so far away, you’d LOVE these people;)

  18. sandy32koufax says:

    So…mossbutt is several personae as are many other psycho users at the gate?

    He seems convinced that I am x-man, tedspe, etc…what a tool

    Turn to 694 @ 5:35 for the LADs game 🙂

    • filthychangeup says:

      Haha, Sandy I thought you took offense to people using the “tool” insult.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Hey, I’m flexible when it comes to people like moss/mac/whoever kenny is at any given time? TOOL!

        I’m finding it hilarious that those three are using the ‘sock-puppet’ argument against xoot, you, chico, etc…when it seems obvious that if anyone has multi-accts it is kenny…

        33 minutes until Directv channel 694 brings Dodger baseball into your living room, den and local watering hole!

  19. sandy32koufax says:

    FRICKIN JAMEY FRICKIN WRIGHT! A 2 HITTER INTO THREE RUNS?

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    FIVE

  21. Chico says:

    MOB, how do you post pictures on here?

  22. sandy32koufax says:

    Go home MOW, LADs win…again.

    I know peeps-it was only the Pads…but come on now…a sweep is a sweep is a sweep.

  23. Chico says:

    Haha! Dude was yoked! Thanks MOB (and my wife who helped interpret what you were trying to tell me)… I know NOTHING about this stuff.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Nicely done!!

      • Chico says:

        Thanks! This blog is fun, but its about to get even better now. I blog other places (College Football) and have people rolling with appropriate images – subject matter, but they’re not wordpress blogs. Once again, thanks MOB!

  24. shaman138 says:

    I’d have to agree that the LA Kings do indeed suck…and the Sharks just made sure they got the Canucks dumped on them while the Sharks get to feast on St. Louis. HAHAHA! Meanwhile, I highly doubt that Cain will be bombed early the way Tim and Bum got bombed, but now we have run support so look for a big Giants win today….8-2 Giants.

  25. sandy32koufax says:

    BTW,

    Happy Easter Dowders…

  26. shaman138 says:

    Nor much to say here….but I am fucking pissed. What the fuck do the Giants have to do to beat this team? Swept in AZ….AGAIN. I won’t even bother with the Splash….let the damn trolls party over there today. God DAMNIT!

  27. Chico says:

    That one stung..

Leave a Reply

