Hey look, Barry Zito’s pitching….

This entry was posted in Giants, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Hey look, Barry Zito’s pitching….

  1. sandy32koufax says:

    Reminds me of watching Broxton in 2009 at AT&T…BLARGH!

  2. xoot says:

    Over on the splash this morning VK posted a Zito comment that manages to be both prissy and trollish at the same time. He reminds me of dads who show up at little league games on Saturday afternoons wearing business casual clothes, as if they expect to find an owner’s box for them to sit in. (Hey, dad, says the ump, can you go down in that ditch and get that foul ball? We only have four total to make it through the game. Look of horror.)

    • JDR says:

      I can’t help but feel bad (and hopeful) for VK. He’s trying to break into a very tough business while supporting a family, and that’s not an easy task. Granted he has shown an obvious bias in his handling of the blogs, but if he had his druthers he wouldn’t even be there. Hopefully Sue gets a call up to the big leagues soon and Vlae can take over the aaa’s beat.

      • xoot says:

        Well, yeah. When I take a step back, I guess I sympathize, too. He probably decided to become a journalist in high school, and it has suddenly become a very challenging prospect, even for someone as talented and gritty as Vlae.

        • Chico says:

          He’s a Furdie, home of the Credit default swaps and the Hoover institute.

          Fun fact: Did you know that in the late ’70s they tried to change their name to the Robber Barons? I shit you not.

          • xoot says:

            Oh, I know about his Snodfart gonnections and his apprenticeship in the 90s as a small time (e.g., Sacramento desk for the Chronicle) poltical correspondent, etc

            I did not know that when they decided to dump the Indian mascot in the 70s that they considered the Robber Barons. Sounds like a H. Bruce Franklin joke, to me. As to conservative economics, etc., I guess Stanford really is home to the worst. Republican admins. hire Hoover Inst. people and Demos hire Berkeley. I had a girlfriend back in the 80s who was studying public policy at Berkeley. I picked up a Thomas Sowell tome she had to read, read a few pages, and nearly threw it out the window.

            • Chico says:

              Thomas Sowell! I 100% agree with you there xoot.. My father picked up one of his books at a garage sale some years ago, and used the pages for kindling while we were camping in Bernie Falls.

  3. xoot says:

    Giants are facing a lefty starter this afternoon. I guess I’ll have to miss some of the basketball game to watch Pablo bat. These national announcers are all panting for a Ky defeat. They’re making me feel uneasy.

  4. JDR says:

    Mota got a start and is looking good so far.

    Just saying…

  5. mailorderwife says:

    I actually wrote an entry about Zito for my blog, but I like the video much better.

    Good yob!

    • Chico says:

      http://annapirhana.tumblr.com/

      I’m going to have to sign up to comment on MOB’s blog. That last blog entry was another epic read. .

      • mailorderwife says:

        I think my boss read my writing. My job just offered me an entertainment blog, which would then move into sports. While I’ve done a ton of entertainment, this is my only sports outlet. And I’d only put up something like Zito’s head exploding!

        Otherwise, thanks for reading. I’ve just lived the most insane and disastrous soap opera this week, but I will get back on track in another day.

  6. shaman138 says:

    Again, as I’ve said before, I’m not a doomer, but Zito is not going to last long as a number 5 unless he finds a way to nail down his speed and location. Meanwhile, (time for a Trash blog update), I just can’t believe how the so-called “realists” who have the nerve to call themselves fans over on the Splash…ahh, forget it, we all know the story about that zoo.

  7. shaman138 says:

    On a side note, totally off topic, but I truly believe Sublime is the most crappiest, over-rated band ever.

  8. Chico says:

    Xoot, I was up late last night trying to figure out my iphone when your comment on the splash was zapped between 2:45 – 3 am. . . The next person to post was WBB. . . He wouldn’t have zapped that comment if it wasn’t true. I’m convinced Al is WBB.

    • shaman138 says:

      I’ve been convinced that they’re the same creepy dude for awhile but I really just didn’t want to admit it’s true because it’s just so damn OCD, sociopathic creepy. But he is a fucked up, disturbed individual so he’s more than capable of pulling it off. God, what a weirdo!

    • xoot says:

      Maybe. The guy is definitely a strange one.

  9. Chico says:

    Well, its a good day to be a Giants fan!

  10. unca_chuck says:

    Great news about Matty. He deserves every penny. As much as these 5 year deals scare me, they had no choice but to go after Matty. A consummate pro who has toiled tirelessly under a makeshift offense at times. His 7-16 2.83 season was especially egregious.

    The bit of bad news is it guarantees the exit of Timmy come the end of the 2013 season. All it means is we have 2 years with this pitching staff to get another WS win. Granted, Bummie is no slouch, but the prospects coming up aren’t as golden as what has come up in the past. The good news is that FA pitchers should be happy as hell to come to this park and watch their numbers improve (Barry Bubbles Zito being the glaring exception) . . .

  11. unca_chuck says:

    BTW, that is still the best exploding-head scene in movie history.

  12. unca_chuck says:

    Overrated bands? Kiss is the all-conquering most overrated band in the annals of history.

    • Chico says:

      Thank you! I like one song of theirs, ‘strutter’, that’s about it.

      • shaman138 says:

        Rolling Stones are pretty high up there on the overrated list, too.

        • mailorderwife says:

          Agree. My mother-in-law is a huge Stones fan and brings me to their shows. They really have not changed since I saw them long ago at Candlestick, and what new songs they do insert into their set is cause to go to the bathroom.

          Another overrated band is Aerosmith. I think we all once spoke of our experiences watching them at misc Day on the Green when they were always so horrible. It’s bad when I think the J. Geils Band is better live than you.

          I will say that I am very disappointed with The Who. Their songs were my teenage anthems, and now they appear in every and any TV show or movie possible. I mean, Baba O’Reilly in “A Bugs Life” is blasphemous.

          • Chico says:

            Never saw them live, but I love the Stones. C’mon, Star Star?

            • mailorderwife says:

              If the fictional Soph had a real life, it would have been recounted in Star Star.

              Don’t get me wrong…I love the Stones. They put on a great show and all, but they’re running on fumes. Let’s Spend the Night Together was good up until they eclipsed 60, ya know? Could you imagine Keith singing that? You’d just yell back OH HELL NO.

          • unca_chuck says:

            Bands selling out to advertising (the Doors famously pulled the plug on “Come on Buick, Light My Fire”, or becoming tribute bands to themselves is nothing new in rock and roll. Chuck Berry is still out there doing gigs for God’s sake. But it doesn’t take away from their former glory. The Stones overrated? Might as well lump the Beatles and Pink Floyd in there with them as well. The Stones had a 5 record run of nothing but classic stuff. Take a look at the song lists for these 5 consecutive albums:

            Beggar’s Banquet
            Let it Bleed
            Sticky Fingers
            Exile on Main Street
            Goat’s Head Soup

            It is probably the greatest run of rock and roll by any band. And live shows doesn’t matter much as well. I saw both the Stones and Aerosmith in ’78, and Aerosmith was booed off the stage at their Day on the Green. 3/4 of the crowd was gone by the time they finished. The Stones were fair to middling. After a 3 hour wait after Santana played. Steven Tyler has apologized many times for shows the band did in the late 70s as being lost in a drug induced haze. They are better now than at any show they’ve done since oh, 1976.

            • mailorderwife says:

              You simply cannot compare the Stones to either the Beatles or Pink Floyd

              On musicianship alone, the Beatles and Pink Floyd have far more complexity and depth, along with a different infusion of rhythms of influences into their work. The Stones stick to a basic rhythm, which works fine as I love their music.

              The difference for me, however, are in the lyrics. Aside from “Gimme Shelter”, there is nothing much to their message. It is great rock and roll, but the Beatles and even the Clash have heightened the musical experience with lyrics that are far more poignant and thoughtful.

              These things are going to be objective, depending on what you want to find in music. I have no qualms with good time party music, which is what I perceive to Stones to be. Had the Beatles not disbanded or Pink Floyd imploded, where would their place be in Rock history? They are iconic because they represent an era with which I am well acquainted. However, I would hardly call them masters of their era.

              As for the selling out of music, yeah..I do tend to think that selling out one of the greatest teen angst song in Baba O’Reilly would take away some meaning from your song when it is featured in “A Bug’s Life”. It would be like selling “I Am the Walrus” to sell eggs.

              Finally as to the nothing new in rock, the Stones have released albums for quite some time. They are all terrible. And bear in mind that I have seen them on every tour since 1990, and several shows before then. They are the only band I have seen who have degraded in sound, and that was by amping up the experience in adding different instruments and vocalizations. While I do love their backup singer, giving Keith Richards a good 15 minutes to pay homage to his blues heritage is sometimes very painful. Wasn’t it Charlie Watts or some other band member who finally quit because he thought their music was shit?

              I do enjoy seeing bands who play their old stuff, however. X is my favorite, and they just become better.

              • unca_chuck says:

                No, that was Brian Jones . . . he took the ultimate way out. In their time, the Stones were cutting edge. They incorporated many more differing types of musical influences than most of the bands of their day. See Eric Clapton 4 years later and reggae. Much like the Clash around the Sandinista album. Now? The Stones suck. They’ve been riding their fame since about 1979. Their live shows never translated well, as with the Beatles. Shit, the Beatle KNEW they couldn’t recreate their studio stuff live so they quit touring.

                Well, look at Pink Floyd. They basically became a tribute band to themselves after The Wall. Division Bell and the later stuff w/o Roger Waters was pretty flat and tasteless. Waters on his own is defeintely an acquired taste. Nobody really cared. But when they announced they’d do the Wall (both Roger Waters on his own, and the remaining PF guys), those tours sold out stadiums.

                The Who were pretty decent up until Eminence Front, their last good song, but that album is pretty weak. The Beatles? Hard to say what they’d be up to, but Paul McCartney on his own? Ehhh. It’s hard to be relevant for that long.

                The Hendrix estate dabbled in selling songs to advertisers, Michael Jackson sold some Beatles songs while he was in control of them. As has just about everyone else out there. Christ, Teenage Wasteland came out 39 years ago. The impact it had IS lost in time. Just like hearing Roger Daltrey sing “hope I die before I get old” when he’s touring at 67 years old.

                • mailorderwife says:

                  Okay…to be fair, The Who are a really great live band to see. They are one of the few that manage to add on different things to their sound and benefit by it.

                  With regard to relevance, I think you would be surprised at just how the Beatles and other old artists still impact kids in the way that it affected most of us. There are still many teenagers out there who have not bought into some of the modern crap that comes out, and they have dug their heels into music we appreciated. Relevance does not diminish with age if there is a central message, ya know? “Baba O’Reilly” came out before I was a teenager, but it still meant something to me growing up as did a lot of blues.

                  As to selling songs, I look to the Dead Kennedys. Jello pretty much wanted to stay faithful to the DK way of doing things, and I have to give him much credit for that. I always thought he was a publicity hack, but he stuck to his guns. I admire that.

                  I am not one who has stuck to one genre of music, btw. I grew up on Motown and 70’s soul music which, to me, is still the best form of music out there. I lived the life in the ghetto, and there was nothing more relevant to me than what the O’Jays and Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes were singing about in songs like “Wake Up, Everybody”. But I also was in hippie central, so I did hear lots of Jimi and Janice. That is the beauty of growing up in urban San Francisco when I did :> I’m not an adherent to dinosaur rock, so I do not have the allegiance to bands that some of you might have. However, I was in the midst of of punk. And most of that now just sounds like like clanging shit to me.

  13. Chico says:

    Funny, WBB and Soph rarely venture outside of the splash, but they both showed up toady at the same time, again and they both decided to comment on the Oakland shooting story, basically using the same language. Same dude!

    • shaman138 says:

      Hahaha…just saw that. I think his “Gnatrock” comment got removed but “Ninergal” made a comment taking a shot at Santorum. Lol! Talk about some serious personality disorder…and speaking of disorder, I think kenny just set a new record with how quickly his newest account got banned. It wasn’t up for more than two hours tops–haha! Loser!

  14. unca_chuck says:

    Too funny, MOW. I could go on and on. My first album I ever bought was Tommy. The 2nd? Fire by the Ohio Players. . . and yeah, the Who was a great live band. Which certainly can’t be said about the Stones. Iwas too young for their glory days, but seeing the Clash open for the Who was incredible. They both brought their A game that day. I think it was 80 or 81. NMy 2nd3rd concert was Snak Sunday at the old Kezar stadium. Bob Dylan came out in the ned and played drums for Graham Central Station IIRC. I lived in the city later on (80-84) and saw bands like the Meat Pupputs, the Pop O Pies (and the DKs of course) and The Jesus and Mary Chain. At the I Beam back then you’d have Etta James one night (incredible show) and the Meat Puppets the next. Crazy days indeed . . .

    • Chico says:

      You guys are lucky to have lived through that era of good music. I was lucky to have an older brother who would buy me tapes of ’80s rock, when some, not all of my friends from high school were putting in those stupid 15 inch speakers in their trunk, so they could crank up the bass with their windows rolled down blasting ‘Fuck the police’ I never did get into that scene, thanks to my brother.

      Shit in 1996, the year I graduated I would have had a Van Halen, Motley Crue or even a CCR tape in my walkman. My first album was Van Halen 1984? The one with the baby on the front with a cigarette. I was like 12 years old at the time. My second album was MC, shout at the devil. My parents were going through some problems at the time so they got religious over night and I remember my father confiscating that album from me because of the pentagram on the front (I didn’t even know what it meant back then). That whole religious thing lasted for about three months after news came out that our Pastor was banging not 1, not 2 but three of the secretaries, all of whom were married. Then he stole the donations to further his lavish life style and my folks said no more. My father gave me the album back after that and turned into his old self, the cool baseball loving quasi hippie veteran who to this day DESPISES Reagan.

      Look at the music these days, most of its garbage!

      • mailorderwife says:

        OMG what a great thread!

        I started my Ohio Players collection with “Skin Tight” and ended it with “Contradiction.” They were all great, but “Honey” was the best of the Ohio Players. They represented what my friend would later call “booty juice music,” but I was a bit too innocent to really know. I just loved the horn section, the beats and that funk sound.

        I think “Who’s Next” was something I borrowed heavily from a high school classmate, and then I stumbled onto “Quadrophenia”. That whole album was my teenage theme, ya know? But everyone loved Zeppelin back then, so you’d have to hear “Stairway to Heaven” played by your local high school party band while you’d crank up “Whole Lotta Love” on your friend’s dad’s stereophonic sound system.

        I discovered when “Sticky Fingers” when I was at Value Giant back in SF. I was a small girl at the time, but I fiddled with that zipper on the front cover until I got in trouble.

        Chico – I am sorry that you missed this whole era. Did you just listen to old music in high school? San Francisco was golden for music back when I was growing up, with CCR, The Doobie Brothers, Santana and Tower of Power. Journey kind of killed the momentum because THEY ARE WHAT YOU CALLED OVERRATED.

        BTW…that preacher story is hilarious :>

      • sandy32koufax says:

        You sound OLD with that last sentence, Chico:)

        • Chico says:

          Mostly MOB, I did like some of the 90’s stuff like Nirvana, the Chili Peppers, Primus and a few others.

          I haven’t been able to download much music but what I have on my iphone is:

          Walk of life- Dire Straits (love Knophler), plus, its a baseball song IMO.
          Higher love-Steve Winwood (good driving song)
          Its in the way that you use it-Clapton (from the color of money)
          For Whom the bell tolls-Metallica (best I have ever seen in concert)
          Astounded-Tantric (modern hard rock, decent band)
          Little Wing-SRV (don’t laugh, but I think he did it better than Jimmy
          Rock and roll never forgets-Bob Segar

          Mind you, I just started downloading yesterday, I do like a little more variety than this sample would tell you. For sure, the Doobie Bros, Santana. .

          I have seen Tower of Power many times at the SMCo fair. ‘tie a yellow ribbon around the old oak tree’!

          • unca_chuck says:

            Is Tony Orlando and Dawn still touring?

          • mailorderwife says:

            Tony Orlando and Dawn…my father used to send me to the store to buy their records. I cringed when “Knock Three Times” came out. In fact, I wanted to just pocket the money he gave me and buy baseball cards.

            Chico – also try some War. I saw them live at a private party in Cannes (of all places!), and only myself and perhaps Mario Van Peebles plus a few others really knew who they were. That was a very sad state of affairs. Everyone knows of “Low Rider”, but “Slippin’ Into Darkness” is a classic.

            Also — and this is a personal favorite — Earth Wind and Fire.

            I’m going to teach some of you the ways of 70s soul music!

            The only band I really listen to that still (sometimes) puts out music is Tool. Also, I admit that I LOVED the Spice Girls because they were so rotten. Put Right Said Fred in here because you know, I also loved the Village People before they put out that stupid YMCA. I got their autograph at the old Tower Records once, and one of them wrote a personal note to me that read “Don’t pee in the bushes.” My adolescent self loved that message.

  15. unca_chuck says:

    Funny thing about Tower of Power was that Victor Conte, he of Barry Bonds Balco fame, was the original bassist. There was funk, then there was the Ohio Players. They were wicked nasty

    Saw ToP in 1979 at the Paramount, I think. Also saw NWA play with the Meat Puppets there. One of the first mash-up shows.

    My son (who’s 14) is really into Jimi Hendrix and the Stones. Even the newer (relatively) bands that I dig are old-hat. Bands like System of a Down, Sublime, STP, they’ve all kinda gone their ways in to oblivion. My son likes those guys as well. It’s werid to think of grunge as classic rock. I saw the Foo Fighters in 2003 and they put on a hell of a show. Latest show I saw was Ronnie Montrose at the Fox in Redwood City. Great show. Didn’t know how little time Ronnie had left.

  16. unca_chuck says:

    Journey used to be good. Before Steve Perry . . .

    • mailorderwife says:

      Never liked Neil Schon on a personal level.

      I did love plenty of local bands, though. The DK’s were just okay to me…nowhere near as good as X. But I loved the VKTMS, the Witnesses, the Offs, the Soul Rebels…I can go on here. As for punk, nothing beat Stiff Little Fingers, the Irish punk band that was soo hatin’ on the Brits back in the day. Is this out of everyone’s realm?

      • xoot says:

        X, The Blasters and Los Lobos were my favorite bands in the 80s. Still love em. After Raymond Chandler, they represent the pinnacle of LA culture. When they came to the Bay Area they played The Stone, Keystone Berkeley and Berkeley Square — and those shows were great. I still go to see Dave Alvin, The Knitters and Los Lobos. Roots rock virtuosos, all.

  17. unca_chuck says:

    Ahhh, used to go to the Starry Plough (or is it Ploughy Star?) back in the day. Can’t even remember most of the bands that rolled through there. I may have seen Stiff Little Fingers. Yeah, the DKs were fun. They played the Great American Smoke out on City Hall steps in 78? An old friend from Seattle was in a band called That Petrol Emotion. Very hard core Irish band that came from the Undertones. Great stuff . . . Scumsurfin’ is some funny shit.

    • mailorderwife says:

      SUCH A NICE BIG CROWD AT THE COLISEUM.

      Plough and Stars, I believe. SFDF knows that place! I first saw Stiff LIttle Fingers at the Old Waldorf, then saw them years later at the I-Beam. I moved down to this place after that.

      If you like a lot of the old punk, there are lots of reunion shows going on. I think the Dils even play, along with folks from the old Avengers. I’ve never seen a show because I’m (down here) but they sound like so much fun. If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll send you info. I think there is a huge show coming up with lots of the old SF punks.

  18. unca_chuck says:

    If not for me, my kids would dig on seeing that MOW . . .

    Saw Los Lobos do an acoustic show in Napa a couple years ago. Great show.

    The Keystones were the best place to see bands. Went to the PA one all the time.

  19. Chico says:

    Remember when V stirred the pot and claimed that the A’s ownership had more money than the Giants ownership, like a na na na to Giants fans? He was full of shit, and should have known better.

    http://www.hoover.org/fellows/9107

    Apparently, he’s not in the know in regards to his Alma Mater.

    http://www.forbes.com/lists/2006/54/biz_06rich400_Charles-Bartlett-Johnson_HQ4T.html

    His net worth. . He owns 25% of the team, and he’s worth more than DOUBLE what Wolff, Fischer and Beane are worth, combined. Can’t stand the Hoover institute, but whatever.

    Just an FYI.

  20. mailorderwife says:

    Hey XOOT…

    Can you send me a message on the SFgate site or at my blog at annapirhana.tumblr.com. Someone here suggested I speak to you about a matter.

    Thanks!

  21. shaman138 says:

    Today’s Dumbest Comment of the Day Award, once again, goes to this idiot. He sure knows how to rack up dumb comments.

    “Mossback 2:03 PM on April 4, 2012
    At least the A’s still lead Major League Baseball in regular season wins.”

Leave a Reply

