Could Magic’s Dodgers help keep Cain a Giant?

As mentioned before, LaBumbos just sold for a huge sum which makes every team in the league more valuable and suddenly has everyone in LA dreaming of a free agent frenzy. It also sent the less stable Giants fans into panic mode, with visions of Caincecum donning those hideous blue caps.

But it could also be the kick in the ass management needs to stop messing around and nail their players down long term.

As a number of writers have mentioned, Cain’s people and the Giants are not too far away on a deal. Cain has said he wants to stay here long term and the prevailing sentiment seems to be that there’s not much keeping the two apart.

The idea of the Giants’ longest-tenured player and co-ace defecting to their arch rival would be a nightmare to a PR-conscious guy like Larry Baer and may well give him what he needs to convince ownership to bridge the gap with Cain on a long-term deal.

Additionally, it would be a nice salvo to fire across the bow of Magic Inc. It would take some of the shine off their win-quick talk and let them know that they will not run roughshod over the rest of the division.

Either way, this may well show us what management is made of. Are they serious about keeping a top-flight team, or are they going to play it safe and risk falling back to mid-tier status?

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Could Magic’s Dodgers help keep Cain a Giant?

  1. xoot says:

    Larry Baer has probably been begging the ownership group for some leeway since he heard about the $2B deal in LA. (If Neukom were still in charge, Cain would’ve been signed months ago. Of course, the ownership group would’ve found out about the deal the day after he made it . . . but still.)

    • xoot says:

      First, come on, dowders. Get posting.
      Second, didn’t I warn you all about Brandon Jacobs, months ago?

      • JDR says:

        The way I see it is he’s only on a one year deal. If he stinks it up in training camp they drop and take a very small hit. I guess he could pull a Lawrence Phillips move, missing a block and getting Smith hurt, but would all that many people complain?

        • shaman138 says:

          If Josh Johnson starts stinking it up, then they’ll complain and say they were behind Alex all along. Fucking doomers, man.

  2. shaman138 says:

    I’m going to re-post a comment I just posted on the Splash, since I’m pretty sure the A’s-licking moderators will have it removed and I want everyone to read it–Kenny’s on another one of his obnoxious rampages and I’m sick and tired of him getting away with it.

    “I have to wonder about how this blog is moderated–harmless, even slightly off-color, off-topic comments (particularly ones that call out the trolls) from Giants fans on a Giants blog are deleted but an A’s fan can come here and taunt, harrass, slander, and make personal attacks with impunity. I guarantee if most of us here did what this A’s fan has done here the last two weeks our accounts would have been blocked but he’s still here making blatant attacks on the rest of us. I wouldn’t want to make the assumption that the moderation is biased, you know.”

  3. unca_chuck says:

    Shit, let the idiots run that fucking asylum. Since a lot of the regulars left years ago, there’s little to bother with over there. Yeah, it’a a shame what is going on, but in the end, it’s a free place where the moderators are mainly concerned with numbers. Shit, even when it was a free-for-all a few years ago, and you could post ANYTHING, the shit going on was much less vapid.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Okay boys…let me lay it on the line.

      Since last September, I watched my uncle die in front of me. I kicked my mother out of my life, had to close loved one suffer a bout of cancer, sat by as my husband had two surgeries, put my beloved doggy down and lived through perhaps one of the craziest soap operas ever (and I ❤ you SFDF for helping me when I really really needed it). I survived partially from reading these boards, which was GODSEND to me.

      Now while I loved the 49er jabber, the Splash bitching situation was a not-so-much. I love reading your posts here as I do not go to the Splash. It's very clear that VK could well be JimBob Duggar, with the rest of the A's fans as the miscellaneous 19 children (their current fan base). I know some of you guys just love the abuse of having your posts deleted or accounts banned, but seriously…stay here. Enjoy yourself. Relax. Make this what you want it to be, which is everything that the Splash is not.

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Silly woman!

        We are men and make decisions (mostly) based on our aggression and need to prevail, either physically or intellectually!

        Hey, kiddo, keep on strokin the annapirhana blog and thx for the love babe-back atcha.

  4. Chico says:

    Wash your hands folks. There is a nasty bug going around, just finally feeling a bit better. One can only take so much C-noodle soup, ginger ale and decongestants. Blech.

  5. unca_chuck says:

    As for Jacobs, well, the Niners 3rd down rate was abysmal last year. 3rd and short as well. They brought him in here to hopefully improve on that. We’ll see what happens, but a one year deal is very little risk.

  6. Chico says:

    I just logged in over there and the first post I saw was soph. Fuck that shit, back to bed.

  7. mailorderwife says:

    Hmm…my email has been screwed up. Mr. JonDowdRevenge owner – please email me? I have some tickets to give away for Opening Day weekend.

    • unca_chuck says:

      Hey waitaminute! How do us reg’lar folks get in on that action?

      • mailorderwife says:

        I have lots of tickets to give away throughout the year as I do not live in SF. So yeah..I’d like the regular folks to be first priority. That means you, Unca!

        • JDR says:

          Why don’t we do it this way… MOB, you forward me a list of the games you have open for the first month or so, then I will email it to everyone here. Everybody picks one game, sort of like a first come first served draft, then we go from there.

          My thinking was that before I started doing contests and drawings to bring people out to the site, I wanted to get you guys taken care of. Particularly if you wanted tickets for anniversaries, kids’ birthdays etc.

          • sandy32koufax says:

            Sounds like a very fair method of distribution, jdr.

            Thanks for being so generous, MOB…I’d rather you come up here once in a while too though;)

        • unca_chuck says:

          *grin* Very cool. Thanks . . .

    • unca_chuck says:

      Ahhh, I hadn’t backtracked. Sorry for all your troubles, Mow (can I call you Mow?) . . .

      Solace is wherever and whenever you can find it, and it can be in the strangest places.

      I hope things have turned around. And hey, it IS almost opening day! The grass can’t get any greener . . .

      And, if you aren’t a regular at Flav’s blog, one of the regulars there (Pawlie Kokonuts) just had a book published. It’s about the last day of the baseball season where the Ray, Red Sox, and the other teams fought for thelast playoff spots. It’s called Baseball’s Starry Night, and it was written by Paul Kocak.

  8. xoot says:

    Based on Schulman’s last Splash update, it looks like the 25 may include Hector Sanchez and Belt, and definitely will include Blanco. Burriss, Theriot and Font will be there, to start. Or so says the beat writer. I’m disappointed to see Freddy S. on the DL, but I would be delighted if Burriss finally makes it work. Now Pablo and Pagan need to step it up when it matters.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I am getting excited about Opening Day. Giants have had some different people step up to showcase their talent. I am delighted by Blanco! Huff, not so much! The roster is so different from last year.

      I heard Aaron Rowand was released from the Marlins. I thought ST was his usual bright spot?

  9. xoot says:

    Some of you will appreciate this. I stopped into a bookstore on College Ave. in Oakland last night — within walking distance of WBB’s last known address — and noticed a shelf labelled “local authors.” The books were sort of quirky. There was one Moon guidebook on the shelf, by a woman, covering places to hike in the Bay Area. Only that one.

    • shaman138 says:

      What? No travel guides to the “Paris of the South”? He must be a very busy boy, ignoring his baseball team to throttle a Giants blog with stupid, redundant jokes.

      • Chico says:

        Haha! I think I know what book store xoot. My wife and I used to love strolling College ave when we lived over that way.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      “Living well is the best revenge” apply here, ya think?

  10. Chico says:

    Did Xoot get blocked?

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Not that I can tell…go back a page or two to see if posterchild still has posts up…I thinkk he does…but you THAT crazy fella, in spite of the jackasses trying get us banned, he keeps his dignity and speaks his mind.

      • Chico says:

        After a little digging, shaman was blocked. Why?

        • sandy32koufax says:

          He’s been under siege by several personae…fibwah, anakin, etc…all i can say is he has had too many deletions lately so, based on that, he has been banned. I got re-instated because you and xoot and several others (hi mob) sent emails on my behalf as well as by sending vk a series of my own emails over two days. IDK if shaman cares to do that tho…

      • sandy32koufax says:

        I just visited his profile and seems well…

        • Chico says:

          My mistake. . . Someone was blocked on the previous splash post. Look at the replies to WBB, etc. Someone got blocked but the good news is that its none of us regulars. False alarm on my part (MOB is thinking, who gives a crap about that place), and she’s right.

          • shaman138 says:

            I just changed my picture so that’s probably why you didn’t see me and thought I was blocked. That idiot doomer lebonilla changed his picture to the one I had of the sun rising over the bridge and I wasn’t about to have the same pic as that moron. I wouldn’t be surprised if I was blocked, though–nor would I really care, either.

  11. unca_chuck says:

    Font was released, wasn’t he?

    • xoot says:

      Font got cut, despite Henry S’s prediction last night. Blanco, definitely, but Belt, Hector and Burriss, too, are in pretty good shape, now.

      • Chico says:

        I think Crawford is going to have a better year than last at the plate; I’m really liking his patient approach up there. . Management must think highly of Arias to make this move

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Yep…Schulman sez it’s for the RH bats

  12. xoot says:

    Weird stuff going on at sfgate. Some posters have been “under review,” and temporarily banned, but then returned. Next time I get banned, that’ll be it for me. Much rather check in here, anyway.

  13. unca_chuck says:

    And, yes, I think the Dodger situation lights a little fire under the Giants collective ass to get the Cain deal done. Soooooooon. This ain;t like the Alex Smith thing. There are plenty of teams that would back up the truck for Matty.

    • Chico says:

      I think we were in agreement on this a while ago Chuck, nailing down Cain was more important than Timmy, and yeah, I miss Neukom.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      LA will

      • Chico says:

        Give the land back to the people they unjustly forced out? 😉

        • sandy32koufax says:

          Hate ton put it these terms, Chico

          BUT

          I wasn’t born yet when those things took place. I don’t condone them in any shape or form yet I fail to see how what took place in Elysian Park or Chavez Ravine, is any different than the ‘Gentrification’ of San Francisco (I abhor that genteel term), the obscene exploitation of hispanics and blacks in the Western Addition or the removal of asians (mostly of Chinese descent) from all of southeast SF.

          Are you saying America should repatriate Native Americans with their stolen lands as well? Give every African American 40 acres and a mule or it’s 2012 dollar equivalent also?

          It’s an ugly chapter in LA and Dodger history. And it doesn’t begin and end there, does it? Can you say Occupy?

          • Chico says:

            Yeah. . As someone with a significant amount of Native American blood in me, I made a cop chuckle when I was a juvenile. We were 16 or 17, drinking beers on this huge, overgrown plot of land when the cops showed up. We were told to leave because we were trespassing. I told the cop, “I’m Native American, how am I trespassing?”. He cracked up and didn’t cite us.

            As for my comment above, (notice the 😉 ) it was a joke dude, don’t take it too seriously bro.

            • sandy32koufax says:

              I was a bit defensive, eh?

              ya, I lived in the Gold Country in my 20’s and rented from a Miwok family. Very giving people.

  14. dirtnrocksnomo says:

    I was surprised to see Fontenot cut. He hasn’t exaclty been lighting it up in spring. Strange how the FO so arbitrarily uses spring performance as a tool. I wonder what the other variable could be?

    Were Fontenot, Theroit and Wilson college teammates?

    • Chico says:

      I think those guys were gone by the time Wilson went to LSU. From what I’m hearing, they kept Theriot because he bats RH. Don’t know how much of a factor it was, but the Giants only have to pay Font 250k, instead of 1Mil. .

  15. shaman138 says:

    Fontenot cut? He wasn’t the greatest but I’m not too thrilled with Theriot’s performance. I don’t consider myself a doomer but from what I’ve seen Theriot has just been “Therrible”. But ST numbers really don’t matter in the end–look at Blanco, everyone’s in love with him right now and he’s been looking good, but he went 0-2 on the count on a freakin’ bunt attempt and then struck out swinging, so he still needs some work, too.

  16. xoot says:

    3B backup is an issue. Last week on the radio Henry S. was touting Arias, for his arm. May have been prescient.

  17. dirtnrocksnomo says:

    I’m not sold on Burris but maybe he’ll getit done. Break camp with Belt and Sanchez then sign Cain and the spring is complete.

  18. mailorderwife says:

    Yeah…the Fontenot cut/Theriot remaining thing is a ? for me. What is the news on the potential for Cain signing? They just can’t let him walk.

    • Chico says:

      Last I heard was that Baer was ‘optimistic’ about getting a deal done. He could be sugar coating things….I don’t think anyone knows at this point.

  19. dirtnrocksnomo says:

    I don’t put much weight in words that pass Baer’s lips but I think they sign Cain in the days leading to the opener or not at all. They can’t let him hit the market as I don’t think they’ll be matching offers that over value and that may be what pulls Cain away.

  20. sandy32koufax says:

    Not that it will be of any import to the operations side of the Dodgers but I thought this was very cool:

    http://www.dodgerthoughts.com/2012/03/29/report-rachel-robinson-to-join-dodger-board-of-directors/

Leave a Reply

