The time of year we all pretend to give a crap about college basketball

Yes, it’s time for March Madness. The time of year when you meticulously fill out a bracket and ponder potential matchups, only to be reminded that when it comes to predicting the outcome of sporting events you are, in fact, less accurate than a trained chimp.

Personally, I prefer the post-tournament period I refer to as “Calipari Craziness” in which we all speculate about which Final Four participant will be the first to land itself on probation for what it did to recruit those star players.

If you had Cal doing anything, your bracket is already hosed. Syracuse is also about to ruin everyone’s pool, though if your fate rests on someone who goes by the name “Fab Melo” you shouldn’t be too surprised when things take a turn for the worse.

Discuss below, or just save yourself the agony and give your $20 to the woman in the office who picked her bracket based on how cute the mascots are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to The time of year we all pretend to give a crap about college basketball

  1. Chico says:

    Haha! I didn’t fill out a bracket, rarely watch basketball besides a Cal game here and there but I do like March Madness, just to root for the underdogs. Speaking of violations, the Oregon FB program should get sanctions but they probably won’t. The sanctions on Ohio State were a slap on the wrist, considering what the NCAA did to U$C.

    Not a big fan of Ivy elites, but I gotta go for Harvard. ‘student athletes’. Go Wisconsin, (best buddy went to school there) Go Long Beach State (love their baseball program) and Go underdogs!

  2. xoot says:

    I quit doing office brackets after I came in second one year and cleared $150. Most of my picks had been wild ass guesses. Go out on top.

    My kids and I always fill out brackets, however. They do chores if they lose; I take them to movies if they win. Usually, I waive the chores after the games are over, but it’s always fun coming up with something nasty to begin with. When they were young, they used to start watching the games right after school and call me at work to tell me what was happening. Now, we continue the tradition just for the hell of it. Beats arguing over tatoos, etc.

  3. unca_chuck says:

    Yeah, I’m semi-interested in the fate, however quick it may be, of St. Mary’s. My daughter goes there, and I’ve seen a few of their games these last 3 years. She arrived the same time as Matt Dellavedova, the next great Aussie from St. Mary’s. He kinda reminds me of Sarunas Marcellonous (sp?), the Warrior guard back in the day.

  4. sandy32koufax says:

    Not much interested this year since both UCLA and Fresno St. are not involved…so I didn’t fill out the brackets from work.

    That said, I’d love to see SDSU and St Marys play for the MW title and LBSU win the West…

    Short of those unlikely scenarios, Go Gonzaga and Baylor!

  5. unca_chuck says:

    I just think it’s crazy that a school as small as St. Mary’s gets nationally ranked. Great b-ball program. They got jobbed out of the NCAAs last year and promptly lost in the NITs last year.

    • Chico says:

      The Saint Mary’s Rugby program is also very good. They beat Cal-Poly after Cal-Poly beat Cal, and nobody beats Cal in Rugby. Shit, Cal beat Stanfraud the other day 119 – 0. Agreed, a little school that packs a powerful punch in Collegiate sports.

  6. JDR says:

    Holy mother of crap, Baylor deserves to lose just for those uniforms.

    • xoot says:

      That is nasty stuff. “Immigration” is an issue in the upcoming election because of such bigotry.

      I heard a radio announcer mention that player’s name today and, once again, I regretted Cal’s early demise. I really wanted Gutierrez to get some national attention. Not many Latino basketball players. Not many of any national origin as tenacious as Jorge.

      • shaman138 says:

        Cal’s was actually a late demise…they cruised through most of their season and then abruptly took a page out of the Sharks’ book and choked like a motherfucker.Ouch!

    • mailorderwife says:

      I am not sure more public education would help these people, as their state government, evangelical dominated Board of Ed and church have sought to pare down the curriculum to reflect a more “Biblical” view. Case in point: Louisiana’s “Science Education Act”.

      Of course, their parents should have taught them better ethics while they were still small children.

      Anyway, not sure why this surprises anyone. I cannot tell you how many compliments I receive with my regard to my “command of the English language” by well-meaning passengers from the good ol’ US of A.

  7. xoot says:

    Hey, the Ky. Cats put on a show cruising through their warm up today. Not impressed? 😉

  8. dirtnrocksnomo says:

    Try as I might I just don’t give a crap about March Madness.

  9. mailorderwife says:

    So…we’re going after Manning now?

    • Chico says:

      It sounds like it. They better land him because something tells me that Smith feels alienated, but, I’m not sure what teams would be interested in signing Smith as a starter. I haven’t read enough about the whole situation to be honest.

    • JDR says:

      I think they’re trying to drive up the cost for AZ more than anything, but if Manning wants to come here it would be foolish to not at least give him a look.

      Alex is a big boy, he has to realize he’s not as good as Payton Manning. What I think this whole things indicates is that Harbaugh really doesn’t plan on Smith being the guy three or four years from now. The impression I get is “Kaepernick/Tolzien/whoever is going to be the guy in a few years anyways, so why not try it?”

      • Chico says:

        Looks like Manning wants a lot of cash. I’m not going to get my hopes up on way or the other. If they sign him, then its time to crack a brew!

        • sandy32koufax says:

          High risk proposition signing Manning…high rewards if he stays healthy and can perform like the guy we all remember.

          Sounds like big $$$$$$$ though

  10. shaman138 says:

    Manning would be a pricey signing and it would only be worth it if he stayed healthy. He is not the same QB as he once was with his neck problems and age so I think Peyton would actually be a big gamble and he will not be willing to sign a one-year deal like Randy Moss did.

  11. JDR says:

    Damn. Tough one for the Gaels. On the other hand, how about those bLOLue devils!

    That was almost as great as the Donnie Two Trips game.

  12. xoot says:

    Well my bracket’s busted. I had Missouri and Duke as the tough teams Ky would have to put down. i saw them going far. Now I guess it’s Mich State and Louisville standing in the way.

    Congrats, however, to Lehigh! (I’ve always disliked Duke — uppity private school funded by the Duke tobacco fortune.) I didn’t see the game. Just saw the score. What’s the two-trips analogue?

  13. Chico says:

    Happy green beer day folks!

  14. Chico says:

    Well, our WR’s are coming together. Now there are reports that Alex Smith is looking at the Dolphins, who are my second team besides the obvious Niners. Crazy offseason.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I could see Carroll signing him just to stick it to Harbaugh

    • mailorderwife says:

      Looks as if Smith will be taking his talents to South Beach.

    • xoot says:

      Somebody sure screwed up negotiations with Smith and Manning. I foresee a breach of fiduciary duty lawsuit vs. the agent who reps them both, and a fresh start for Alex in the subtropical air. What if the 49ers don’t sign Manning now?

      • sandy32koufax says:

        No QB in the stall means:

        One of the currently signed plays

        OR

        Harbaugh has a HUGE deal lined up to get Luck…

        • Chico says:

          I’m hoping that ‘the agent’ knows something about the Niners getting Manning, and told Smith to go elsewhere, or else this might turn out to be one BIG fuck up, a fuck up for the ages.

          • mailorderwife says:

            Things just got a bit awkward.

            • Chico says:

              Very. Now i think Alex is going to get offered the $$$ he wanted. (Will he sign)? Can’t blame the Niners for going after Manning, but this whole thing looks ugly and badly done.

              • mailorderwife says:

                Yeah. I know the knock on Walsh was that he was “cold”, but this was downright insulting to Smith. I’m not sure there was a similar situation in the past that could be compared to this one.

                I am of the belief that Manning should retire while he is still able to walk, ya know? He’s on every commercial and cannot be hurting for money, and he’s had all the legendary football accolades one can muster in a career. Also, the Broncos may win the division but beyond that? I don’t know.

                I guess the real story now is of Alex Smith (and not Tim Teblow).

                • unca_chuck says:

                  I think a little bit of the reason for Peyton wanting to come back is the fact his little bro just got ring #2. Denver is in a weak division (say what you will about the NFC west, but AZ and Seattle have tough defenses), and they look to be the division faves.

  15. unca_chuck says:

    Well, the deal with Alex was he wanted Kevin Kolb money. Which was 5 years, 63 million. The Niners offer was 3/24. Low as hell? Sure. Insulting? Yeah, I guess. The Niners were banking on the fact that he wasn’t as nearly coveted as even backup Matt Flynn. And now that we are where we are, the reality is that Smith isn’t in huge demand. Tenn hasn’t even bothered, and Seattle’s attempt was pre-empted by them signing Flynn.

    Alex’s position was one of not very much leverage. When Manning came into the picture, his leverage was even less. Did the Niners handle it badly? Yeah, but their thought was, hey, it’s Peyon fucking Manning for God’s sake. We should at least take a look. Now that that scenario is out, Smith is left with Miami and the Niners. He signs with Miami, and he’ll very deeply regret it. They suck, and they are about 10 players from being a good team. If Smith signs with Miami it’ll hurt the Niners AND it’ll hurt Alex. He doesn’t really have much of a choice but to return.

    As far as the hurt feelings go, it’ll get smoothed over . Harbaugh can just say, hey’ I’m behind you. It was Baalke’s idea to fly to North Carolina.

    But if Smith leaves, this whole thing would be a PR disaster for the team.

    All that being said, I think Smith comes back and I think he gets a little more than Flynn. Like 3/28-3/30.

  16. Chico says:

    Gerrard to Miami. . . . Alex will be Bach! (what a fucking circus)

  17. mailorderwife says:

    Well..now that the drama is over and done with, welcome back Alex Smith! Hope you enjoyed that trip to Miami, where it’s far too humid and palmetto buggy. You wouldn’t have liked playing there, since “King” James is desperate to hog the spotlight by not tipping the local help.

    On that note, I hope we get a guard. Please.

Leave a Reply

