I’m off to the in-laws, so you can make your own damn game thread

It’s the Niners and the Sea-Hags, with a first round bye and a chance to show up rusty against the eventual NFC champion on the line. Now is the time to debate whether a wild card win and division loss to New Orleans is better than a bye and division loss to New Orleans.

Aww hell, making Pete Carroll and Scott McCloughan look like total jackasses in front of a national audience is reason enough for me. Take it to ’em, Niners…

This entry was posted in Niners. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to I’m off to the in-laws, so you can make your own damn game thread

  1. Chico says:

    7-3 so far…. Tough place to play.. Vernon gets that foot in bounds and this is a very different game. Niners!

  2. Chico says:

    Have a good time JDR.. I’m off to the folks house after the game. Happy Holidays.

  3. Chico says:

    Touchdown!

  4. Chico says:

    I know its Christmas, but come on folks.. Ugly created this alternate blog so we could talk sports freely without having to deal with sfgate and their stupid ass censorship and bad sports writers.. Show a little love.. Fuck the Chronicle, they’re finished.. Change is good, if you comment there then comment here too. Spread the wealth around a little you dig? I’m waiting up for Santa (just assembled a little kitchenette for my kids (made in China) with fucked up directions so I had to improvise.. A little American enginuity! Merry Christmas.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I agree! I think Christmas Eve and out-of-towners might have something to do with the lack of posts. My in-laws have been here and I’ve been baking cookies. However, I did enjoy today’s game!

      Merry Christmas!

    • Hey, bags…sorry I’ve been gone so long…my GF’s mother has been here for a week and won’t be leaving until THURSDAY!, ergo my absence…”Take me here, take me there…show me this, show me that!” Ugh!

  5. winder says:

    Merry Christmas all.

  6. shaman138 says:

    Merry Christmas, everyone! And…

    …Raiders!

  7. xoot says:

    My thanks to JDR, too. I would much prefer to spend time here than at the alternative blogs, including the sfgate stuff. But I’ve been busy. Crazy xmas for me this year; good, but crazy. Watched the 9ers game with my kids. The older kid gets very involved. They tell me the part of the brain responsible for judgment (and responsibility) continues to develop even after the age of 21. Hope to hell that’s true. We’re off on a one-week surfing vacation starting Tuesday. (If it works out, I’ll let you know. ;)) See you next year — here. Happy New Year to you all.

  8. Nipper says:

    I’m completely in-law free!

  9. Hi, Revengers…

    I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas…’The Hills’ of Oakland are COLD but it’s nice having so much room to run me dugs and feel safe-in Oakland no less!!!

    • Slats says:

      Troll action? How about a legitimate conversation. Why on earth would you even care? Loook kid, there were decades were the Giants and A’s didn’;t pay any attention to eachother. The controversy is on the part of Pete McGowan who is making himself the face of this argument. There is bound to be some discussion on it, but that is not “trolling”.. Great cut and paste. Is this all you got uglyfinder?

  10. Slats says:

    The A;s should move to San Jose. There was some tepid responses from BB and Lew over the weekend in reference to the Bob Nightengale tweet. Tuesday, we get Peter McGowan adamantely denying it. What’s your position? Why should it matter to SF Giants fans one way or the other if the A’s move to SJ or not? And please, let’s dispense with the argument that the A’s should pay a billion bucks or some such nonsense to get the Giant’s back to zero.

    Just a clear yes or no on the subject……Should the A’s be left to San Jose or do the Giants own the territory period.

    • Nipper says:

      The Giants should defend SJ at all costs.

    • xoot says:

      Slats your attack is disingenuous. The question is not yes or no. It’s not even yes or no for the Giants ownership group. Magowan’s recent financial defense for maintaining the territorial division makes some business sense: The investors who put up money to save the Giants did so with the understanding that SV would be Giants territory. Wolff knew that fact when he bought the A’s. mlb probably told him then: No San Jose. It’s Wolff now who’s trying to change the rules. Your “yes/no” poll could be set in reverse: Should Lew Wolff be allowed to run the A’s into the ground and then use the lowliness of his franchise as an excuse to undo the territorial deal the Giants’ ownership banked on in 93? Yes or no?

      Lew Wolff is the villain in this tale. The Giants owners certainly aren’t blameless. (See my guest post on this blog for my views there. If you have a spare half hour.) So what’s new? It’s business. Melodramatic stand-offs between A’s fans and Giants fans seem pretty lame to me.

      (Side note: Maui is pretty breezy this week, but the swell is just right for kids learning. For an old guy getting back into it, too, for that matter.)

      • xoot says:

        banked on in 92. Sorry.

        • Chico says:

          I don’t give a flying fuck about the A’s.

          Xoot, I lived in Lahina for 6 years, enjoy it man.. Lemme know if you need any pointers or tips on where to eat, what to see etc…

          • xoot says:

            The Aquarium’s a hit. Went south today to find a sunset spot and stumbled onto Makena Landing. Nice secluded little beach-front park there amid the deluxe resorts. Most meditative hour I’ve spent in a long time. Lahaina the other night was packed. Big scene. I’m trying to figure out how to convince my 21 year old son that New Year’s Eve on Front St.’s not as a good a notion as he thinks. (We saw a dui stop on the way out of town; that’ll help.) I’ve always travelled this way — just a few plans, pick up ideas on the run. The only pre-plan this time was surfing every day, for as long as possible, to get my ancient muscles and timing back in tune. From Lahaina north — what’s your recommendation of sights to see?

            • Chico says:

              I’m not sure where you are staying (west side, east side, south side i.e. Kihei, Wailea etc) but if you have travelled that way, you should be all good bro.. For waves, I would recommend Honolua bay.. Drive past the bay at sea level, travel up the hill and take the turn off to your left and park down as far as you can go.. Look over the cliff and you’ll see endless sets, I mean the funnest waves I have ever had the chance to enjoy.. Another place (where I used to live and learned to surf) was @ Puamana, at the very south end of Front street in Lahina where it turns to get back on the highway, past Lahina shores and 501 Front street (the stores where Longhi’s is).. Its a gated community but the locals will let you in.. Just wait till a car comes up, they are all cool people. I was there a year ago and the code was #9241, I’m sure they changed it by now.

              Where you went today is what I would have recommended.. South Maui.. I got married on that beach that you visited (Small hole in the lava rock wall with a fish tack truck across the street?).. Go a little south of there and enjoy the fish bowl.. For dinner, I recommend the best place on the island called Nicks fish house in the Fairmont Kei Lani.. 5 stars dude, and you will be impressed.. Doesn’t sound like you are a total tourist so I think you’re all good.. Skip the blow hole, stay away from Kahalui until you catch your flight out and if you haven’t done Hana before I would do it. All the rest of the stuff is left to the tourists who spend a half a day just trying to get somewhere, if you’re just on a chill trip, just chill…

              Aloha Mixed Plate is at the northern end of Front street, good eats for a good price (typical Hawaiian BBQ) but my cousin is likely to serve you (Eye candy for your son ;))

              The locals have many hang outs that I love and I visit every year but my favorite chill spot is Kaanapali beach.. Drinks, sunshine and chill..

              I’m half asleep right now but I could fill you in on any other questions you have tomorrow but it sounds like you’re set! Enjoy it brother! I miss paradise, too bad my folks got priced out of it or I would be a beach bum for life, which these days isn’t a bad thing 🙂

      • mailorderwife says:

        Agree. If the loans were given because of the territory, the Giants have every right to defend their right to this area. It’s a business decision, and at least, and a very smart one.

        Why would you even support Lew Wolff anyway? He just had a fire sale on some fantastic players to make a “business” point lifted from a movie script. It’s an insult to the A’s fan base and some owner hostage taking to force their hand. It’s a PR disaster that might be okay if the A’s were on their way to Vegas, but to San Jose? People in the Bay Area knows what goes on in the Bay Area, and this sort of extortion is going to alienate a large fan base. Do not believe for one minute that South Bay residents are going to give up the orange and black in favor of some tyrant.

        • Chico says:

          Oops, about new years in Lahina, that’s the only place I have ever seen a checkpoint but I can understand your son wanting to go there.. Its the most happening place on the island but like you said, it gets freaking packed there. I’m not sure what resort you are staying at but I would stay at the resort if I were you.. Go Kamaaina! My uncle owns the biggest construction company on the island but pays his guys BEANS like every other contractor there.. He has a 12% profit margain like every other business owner there.. That’s the fucked up thing about living there and that’s why my folks brought me here.. In a perfect world our family stays on Maui, but unfortunately the world is far from perfect…

          Have fun! E mail me if you need anything xoot.

          • xoot says:

            Thanks,.Chico. Honolua Bay is a bit (yeah, just a BIT) beyond my rusty ability right now. But for about an hour I watched it go off yesterday afternoon from the cliff top that side road runs along. Offshore winds, consistent swell with occassional head high sets, excellent surfing. I’ll have some questions for you when I get back. I’m already thinking about my next visit.

  11. Nipper says:

    Down with Wolff! This ownership group should sell and go away.

  12. shaman138 says:

    According to Sloshback, Mother Theresa has every right to be reincarnated as a greedy MLB owner in a new baseball stadium in San Jose. It’s what she really wanted all of those years when she cared for the poor, sick, and needy. Uhh, right…

    Anyway, off to see Furthur tonight, hope they still have the old Dead magic in ’em. Cheers!

  13. A1985Mattalac says:

    There’s a years worth of stupidity between all of Mossmorron and Fishstain’s comments today. Mossy comparing the Tarpletics to Gandhi/Mother Teresa get my vote for most inane comment of the year. I never thought I’d despise a troll more than Wbb.

  14. Nipper says:

    Will the Niners win the Super Bowl? That’s KNBR’s topic this morning. I guess they never learned in talk radio to take it one game at a time.

  15. Chico says:

    Looks like Xoot got blocked… WTF?

Leave a Reply

