We won’t have Mat Latos to kick around any more…

Starting pitcher and tireless dickhead Mat Latos has been shipped out of San Diego, traded to Cincinnati for a package including Edinson Volquez and Yonder Alonso. It’s a nice score for the Pads and an indirect win for Giants fans who won’t have to endure the lingering odor of Summer’s Eve that emanates from the visiting dugout whenever the Padres are in town.

Meanwhile, Michael Cuddyer will take his Aubrey Huff-like stats to Colorado with an Aubrey Huff-like deal. You would think a team that can offer hitters such an advantageous environment wouldn’t have to overpay for free-agent hitters. Unless he can pitch, the deal is unlikely to be a difference maker for the Rox in the NL West.

The Giants, meanwhile, are sticking to their plan of saving money and dangling long-term deals in front of Caincecum. The question is whether either will bite? Personally, I think once they get one nailed down they will quickly find out about the other. Lincecum is the favorite, and once he is nailed down Cain will either follow suit and lock down the rotation for the next half decade or decide he wants to be an ace and look to free agency.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to We won’t have Mat Latos to kick around any more…

  1. xoot says:

    I think it’ll be as before — Cain’ll sign first. Lincecum is just a wild card. He always will be. Cain is stable and level-headed. He’s not interested in risks. LIncecum will be taking risks every day when he’s 85 years old. Cain, semi-long term, soon; Lincecum, another short term deal, soon thereafter. I’m sure. 😉

    btw, after a game last season, my kid wanted to watch the team load onto the busses lined up to go the airport for a road trip. Cain didn’t pitch that game, so he was first to the busses, carrying his baby, with his wife walking beside him. Took him forever to strap the tyke into the kid’s seat in the SUV and say goodbye to his wife. We never did see Lincecum.

  2. A1985Mattalac says:

    That is fantastic news! I hated even looking at Latos, he always struck me as an emo priss. One of the most satisfying games of the stretch run in 2010 was when the Giants beat Latos in SD. I remember Posey started the scoring off with a two run bomb to that cheap RF corner. Hahaha it was so pathetic that SD fans couldn’t even fill their park, there were definitely more Giants fans then Padres fans. Oh and I forgot to mention but good entry by Xoot on the legality of the Tarpletics versus SJ!

  3. shaman138 says:

    I don’t see why we couldn’t sign both Cain and Timmy to long-term deals (isn’t that a big reason why the team is saving money?) but baseball is a harsh world ruled by money and the possibility of another team dangling more cash in front of one of them to lure them away is very real. On a related note, it’s rumored that Mat Latos is holed up in a basement room somewhere in Aspen, CO., possibly posting redundant and absurd online comments about the Giants and posing as a young, wealthy scion….

    • JDR says:

      I wonder if it’s a situation where they both want to be the unquestioned ace on the roster. It might be that Cain resents all the coverage Timmy’s gotten and wants to be seen as the big man on campus. Meanwhile, Lincecum’s team knows he’s worth huge money right now.

    • xoot says:

      Matt Latos sinks low, that’s true. See, it’ “surfers” like that that give the rest of the surfers a bad name . . . .

  4. A1985Mattalac says:

    Not to take anything away from Cain but I always saw him as a solid number 2. My opinion is perhaps influenced by the fact that with the exception of his phenomenal 2010 postseason we haven’t seen a breakout type year from him where he’s an obvious top five in CY contention throughout the year. A lot of that has to do with lack of run support so maybe he sees that as holding him back from emerging as a true number one.

  5. mailorderwife says:

    I thought the Poodres weren’t going to depart with Mat Lactos. Oh well…

    It would be wonderful to sign both of our fellas, I’d like to think that behind all that Lincecum cool is an individual who appreciates the adoration he receives from the Bay Area.

  6. slats says:

    Well hello there ladies and gents. A pleasant conversation with no throwing of rocks and bottles?

  7. Nipper says:

    Warriors! DEFENSE!

  8. Chico says:

    Call me crazy, but I have a lot more faith in Cain than I do Lincecum. I’m not sure why, but I watch the game a little closer when Cain is on the mound as opposed to Lincecum. I hope I’m wrong, but I think Timmy is coming back down to earth after some lights-out seasons BUT, if we can sign them both I would be stoked.

    Latos gets what he deserves for being a punk, shipped to Cinci, one of the worst cities in America and in a ballpark that would make Brett Butler look like a power hitter. Look for his pitching stats to plummet.

  9. Chico says:

    Wow, the Packers kick the crap out of Oakland and then lay an egg against KC. Didn’t see that coming. Oh well, my ’72 Dolphins retain the record!

  10. unca_chuck says:

    Yeah, Cain is tha hard luck kid for most of his career. If anyone should have about 25 more wins over their career, it’s Cain. He had the 3rd best starter ERA and was 7-16 a few years ago. Timmy is a much bigger risk for a long term deal. I don;t think Timmy gets one. He’ll get a 1-2 year deal til his mega=payday.

    Hue Jackson has given away 3 games this year. He’s killing the Raiders.

  11. Nipper says:

    Win with Hue. It’s all on me, baby! RAIDERS!

  12. lasttraintoyuma says:

    I prefer Cain over Lincecum, personally, though I love watching Lincecum pitch. I’d love to lock up both but I had read a rumor (I can’t remember where) a week ago that said that Timmy is looking for an 8 year deal. If the Giants are going to hand out 8 year deals, they should lock up Cain first, then give Timmy something in the 5-6 year range. I’ve read all about why Lincecum’s mechanics keep the stress off his arm/back but I’m not totally convinced. I say that with nothing to back me up other than the thinking that his motion looks so unnatural.

Leave a Reply

