Goodbye Dirty, hello Melky

Jonathan Sanchez is no longer a Giant, Melky Cabrera is. There’s a pretty good argument that they could have gotten more had they traded Sanchez earlier in the year, but there was no way that was going to happen given the position they were in at the trade deadline. So, did they get enough for Sanchez given his stock as of last weekend?

Cabrera has been up and down in recent years, but when he’s on he’s a 15-20 HR .300 hitter. If last season was due to Cabrera finding religion in the workout room a la Pablo Sandoval, he could be a hell of an asset.

So what does this mean for the rest of the outfield? Do they put Cabrera in center, pursue Beltran for left field and hope Nate Schierholtz can cover half the outfield? Or do they let Beltran go for greener pastures and pursue Coco Crisp and a veteran shortstop? I’m honestly not sure, so much of it depends on what Beltran wants. If he can agree to a reasonable 2-3 year deal that leaves enough money for another infielder, I’d take it. At the same time, Coco Crisp and a run at Jimmy Rollins would be hard to argue with.

I’m guessing Brian Sabean is thinking something similar, hence all the “we’re not sure yet” answers on their plans for Melky.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Goodbye Dirty, hello Melky

  1. mailorderwife says:

    Looks like Beltran may go to the Sox. I understand our books our heavy with Rowand and Zeeto, along with the much-anticipated contract signings of Cainer and the other boys. But with our outstanding attendance last year, isn’t there any other money laying around? I don’t want to spend oodles of money on an untested FA, but Cabrera…wow. I know he did well this year, but I never pay attention to the Royals. My last recollection of him was whiffing it in the playoffs.

  2. So…sorry for being off topic here but…

    Joe Paterno and the Sandusky/PSU cover-up…

    Thoughts?

    Mine are that Jopa needs to go, NOW! His entire staff that dates back to Sandusky as well…can or would the NCAA place PSU under any extended sanctions as a result of this? I would certainly hope so…

    • Nipper says:

      Joe should be gone by tomorrow. This scandal will not end soon. Too many fingers in this one.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I read the grand jury report on this matter and was thoroughly disgusted by it. The legacy and what not is all garbage for any program that places football and money over the well-being and safety of children…and I say this as someone who chose not to breed.

      I do hope that the NCAA does place a very big sanction on Penn State. God knows they levy sanctions on minor to semi-major infractions. Being that this is jumbo, maybe they should just put it out to pasture for a few years. I hope they do a better job than what the NFL did in “punishing” a convicted dog torturer.

  3. unca_chuck says:

    Hey, at least Vick did his time. Not that I condone one bit of what he did, but he served his sentence and lost boatloads of cash.

    The NCAA is, and likely will be, silent on this. As it doesn’t involve money, tattoos, or recruiting violations. They want to protect the brand as much as Penn State tried to.

    I have no idea if or what the NCAA will do, but Penn State should be barred from fielding a football team for 5-10 years. The fact that there were allegations made in 1998 makes that truth even more evident. Their response in 2002 was to say “don’t bring kids onto school grounds.” In other words, go ahead and molest kids, Jerry. Just don’t do it on school property. The entire coaching staff, as well as the administration should all be let go. The prez Graham Spanier won’t last the day . . .

    • Nipper says:

      The lot of them will be washed out. Nothing can stop this. Heads will roll! The season is lost for Penn State. This scandal will only grow.

    • Chico says:

      When USF’s basketball team was rocked by rape allegations against their star point guard, Quentin Dailey after having been on probation for recruiting violations, he shut down the program (despite its incredible success and visibility) for 2 or 3 years. They still haven’t recovered, but there was a president with his priorities straight…..

      • mailorderwife says:

        I remember this! I was a student at USF at the time, and a few of us remember this incident quite well. After the basketball team went, so went all the super tall people on campus. Oh well…at least we made KUSF a great legacy.

    • Chuck…he served MUCH of his time but didn’t finish his probation or parole before being granted preferential treatment like freedom of movement…

      I’m fairly easygoing about things like felons getting a fair shake after having served their their time…but…Vick was handed a new golden goose and didn’t qualify like ”Joe Blow” would, by definition, need to.

      BTW, his doing PETA PSAs is bullshit and a slap in the face of any thinking person…

  4. Chico says:

    Paterno was just fired.. GOOD!

    • Hey…

      How you doin, Chico?

      • Chico says:

        I’m alright bro, you? Trying to study up on different places that my wife want’s to live and work in.. Italy is out of the mix ;).. Not much progress on my part but she makes ships move when she picks up the phone. Watch that debate? Holy shit that was headache inducing. My kids are dominating the TV but after they go down I plan on watching ESPN for the first time in months. Fucking Penn State man, the whole situation is disgusting…

        • I’m good…wanna build a fence conmigo? Been busy as shit getting ready to move and fixing up Boos’ place in PH to rent out…fricking a ‘Honey Do’ lists from hell.

          I think Italy would be a good place to go as long as they remain in the EU…I mean, how much inflation can they suffer as EU members? No, I haven’t had time to watch reds debate…I barely got into town to vote yesterday (my last SF election, sniff) and have HATED ranked choice voting since it’s inception. One vote for each office has worked for 200+ yrs, ya?

          I told my GF last night “Penn St, man…I never would have, COULD have, imagined Paterno going out like that or knowing what was going on and NOT doing ‘the right thing’ by the kids.” I’ve lost all the respect for the man he had built up in me over the course of my entire ”football conscious” lifetime…

          I am dumbfounded by his actions…

  5. Spanoier is a toasteo too!

  6. Chico says:

    A link to their Scout board..
    They are delusional!!

    http://mbd.scout.com/mb.aspx?s=157&f=1395&t=8234534

    “if this is true campus is burning to the ground tonight! there are gonna be ALOT of pissed off people in HV”

    “I’m not quite sure how anyone can say that disgracing the man that built your program and essentially your school is a good move.”

    “Re: JOE PATERNO FIRED; BRADLEY NAMED INTERIM COACH
    Shame on them. They are never getting one more cent of my cash.”

    Football is more important than morals and ethics in some places in the United States. Sad.

    • It isn’t just football, Bud, it transcends every pursuit, institution and comfort zone in our world…I’m damn happy to be moving to a place where I won’t need to see my neighbors or deal with anything ‘external’ except for work, family, taxes and mortgages…where we can worry about how to save our rain water for the food we are going to grow on our little acre, or how to stop the deer and coyote from messing with the Newfs and those crops…a place that is in the middle of our society yet apart…

      Damn! I sound downright Kaczynskian!

      I’m down with Chuck…fire them all, give Penn State “The Death Sentence” and try to find all of those poor kids Sandusky, Jopa, Spanier, etc allowed to be or inflicted upon, molestation…

  7. mailorderwife says:

    http://www.sbnation.com/ncaa-football/2011/11/10/2551780/jerry-sandusky-rumors-penn-state-scandal/in/2304037 – Hope this is just a rumor. Really hope. If not, Penn State needs to be barred from having any sports programs.

    • I guess I’m not shocked…but this is tantamount to slavery, sexual slavery of young boys…burn em all VERY publicly…

      • Chico says:

        http://www.midwestsportsfans.com/201…dusky-scandal/

        Also.. The DA has been missing since 2005 and may have been murdered or committed suicide (almost certainly murder or suicide). Note that his car was found and his laptop but his hard drive was removed. Also, Sandusky apologized to mother of victim (for assault on her child) and this was recorded by police. Yet the DA never brought charges? Sound suspicious? I could be wrong, but this thing might blow up even bigger than we thought.

        http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/…133615093.html

  8. unca_chuck says:

    Good God. There’s evil, and then there’s this. The mofo should be . . . man, there’s nothing that could even come close to what he’s done to these kids.

    So much for recruiting at Penn State. Touring the locker room and showers will be too vile to contemplate.

    • Chico says:

      I was thinking the same thing Chuck.. If I had a son who was being recruited to D-1 football, no way in hell would I let him go to Ped State. This story is only going to get bigger and uglier..

      • Chico says:

        I posted a comment that is awaiting moderation (no worries JDR if you don’t want to post it)… Google “Ray Gricar and Philadelphia.com”… Not sure if true but it sounds shaaaady as hell.

        • I read and heard Andy Cooper talking about this last night…shades of Whitewater…

        • mailorderwife says:

          Ahhh…I, too, read this last night. Part of me wants to just have this go away because it is unparalleled brain/emo overload. But this needs to continue until justice — if there is such a thing — is complete, or as close as possible. Demons…all of them.

  9. shaman138 says:

    Ahem….

    ….RAIDERS! Pulled it off….I couldn’t bear to watch but…a great win! That team is a sure-fire stressball, though. Good God, now watch them get crushed by the Vikings and Dolphins….leave it to the Raiders.

  10. unca_chuck says:

    Gotta hand it to you Sham. The Raiders are like the low-speed OJ chase. I kept saying to myself, why am I watching this? I kept waiting for the Raiders to throw the game away somehow.

    SD is in trouble. Rivers is having a terrible year. Talk about getting Norved . . .

  11. unca_chuck says:

    At l;east Hue understood yesterday that you don’t abandon the running game in the 2nd half. When you have the fricking lead.

  12. Chico says:

    Looks like Mattalac got banned. Those Canadians can skull fuck themselves.

    • shaman138 says:

      I reported fishfuck for spamming and, of course, nothing happens. Those idiots have taken over and sfgate approves. Beyond sad.

    • xoot says:

      I encouraged reporting fishbreath for spamming and my comment got deleted for violating terms and conditions. Idiotic. The problem starts at the top with Vlae Kershner, the head of “news” on sfgate, who is a prissy piece of shit imposing his A’s bias and elitist manque tastes on the site. I know a lot of people who went to Stanford, undergrad and grad school; I’ve worked with Stanford professors at various times. (I actually know one guy who was in the band that famous day they helped Cal score the winning TD in the big game.) I think Stanford’s an excellent school. Most of the alums I know are great people. But there are a lot of Stanford grads like Vlae K. who think they’re better than everyone else in the Bay Area just because they managed to get into that school. Fuck him and every smug Stanford grad like him. He’s running sfgate and its blogs into the ground.

      • Chico says:

        That site is so over.. EVERY single article you see there is thumb spammed by right wing jerk offs with 50 accounts each. If they want you blocked, you will be blocked. Those of us casual commenters who work for a living don’t really want to bother anymore with that shit hole. Dsgonzale6 went to Stanford, as him how he feels about VK.. Haha, he hates his guts.

        • xoot says:

          That’s interesting. I know dsg went to Stanford law school. dsg and I have our differences, but he’s definitely not one of the smug motherfuckers I’m talking about. He doesn’t stand on that Stanford degree. He stands on his own. He reminds me of the other Stanford alums who have impressed me.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Is Vale K the head of all SFGate news boards or just the sports area? Not sure why a Stanford grad would be working the boards…not really a journalism job, and it was a job I assigned to volunteers when I worked for a hugely popular and well trafficked Hollywood site. Still, I doubt Vlae reads anything…just probably responds to the emails and such. Really, it’s a no brainer job, and even easier and lazier if done improperly…which is what we’ve witnessed at the Gate.

        • xoot says:

          Vlae has moved up over the years. He’s now head of “news.” Of course, the ranks have thinned horribly, giving an asswipe like him a chance to move up. He was editor of the Stanford newspaper. He’s an A’s fan, and it’s obviousl that his real passion is posting on the Dumbeat. But he’s been busy for at least the past year being head of “news” for sfgate. He’s responsible for the cafeteria offering on the web. He posts a weekly blog entry that itemizes the most viewed or most commented or something items on the site. It’s all about numbers of clicks, etc. And he’s ultimately in charge of deciding who gets “banned” and who doesn’t. When a few of us got banned back in August, I had a long email exchange with him. He’s a classic example of petty authority gone wrong. The strangest aspect of this — He’s probably eliminating his own job. the sfchron/sfgate online edition will fail to make money. And Vlae’s approach to the blogs will be one of the big holes in the hull that sinks the ship.

          • Chico says:

            They are just about broke.. Their I-Pad app didn’t do shit for revenue and eventually they will have to move towards a pay window type of site.. I said before that my wife has a friend who works there and even she can’t do anything about the comments because every dip shit with multiple accounts signs in = ad revenue. They all know what’s going on over there but turn their heads the other way and bow to their corporate masters..

            You don’t see Peter Pan BMW advertising there anymore do you? 🙂

            • xoot says:

              Well. that’s interesting, too. Can you imagine how it feels to be a 30 or 40 something year old journalist right now? Their world has suffered a 10.0 on the Richter Scale quake. But they’ll survive; they’re young. They have a future. They just don’t know it.

              • Chico says:

                I do hope the best for everyone in journalism.. Tough business to be in right now.. I’m headed out for some pints.. Drunk posting starts after 11. Cheers brother.

            • mailorderwife says:

              Still, it’s really sloppy way to work. I work at a paper for a huge media company and while their own response to comments were asinine, putting el dictator in charge of a well-traveled site such as sfgate seems stupid. Journalism jobs do not pay well, and papers have been hiring out-of-college journalists who can work for low wages. At my job, the nighttime editor has never taken a journalism class. Go figure.

  13. unca_chuck says:

    Why all the angst for the fricking Insider? It has been a wasteland for the past 2 years. There’s like 1 good post for every 15 drivel-laden ones.

    • Chico says:

      I was referring to the Splash but the Niner insider SUCKS! There is no live game blog anymore.. I’ll stick to JDR and your blog on Sundays. Fuck that place.

      • shaman138 says:

        The game day Insider blogs are focusing on trivial, meaningless shit while the game is going on. “Alex Smith Sports Snappy New Haircut” is a possible title of a blog during the game.

  14. unca_chuck says:

    Plus the format is now retarded. They post like 10 new threads a day. There’s no way to keep a stream of thought going.

    • Excellent link, shaman…

      Richmond, sadly, says the things and calls the ‘spades’ spades in a very brutal, honest manner…wtf has become of America is the first thing that comes to my mind…but…I then wonder…is this how it has always been?

      I am loathe to say this so openly…yet…I find myself ‘sharing it’ with you all and any others that venture here…I myself was abused by both men and women as a child and young man…from baby-sitters to teachers…I KNOW it has influenced ”who I am” and has left me with ”scars” that will never heal.

      I say we start writing to: The Pennsylvania State legislature, Governor and Supreme court in addition to Penn St. and DEMANDING they turn this over to the federal govt…To newspapers in the entire country to ensure that real change takes place concerning the abuse of children. Let us make our voices from ”The Coast” be known in a way that says we shall not brook this type of behavior or cover-up and that ALL parties were/are complicit in these horrific and unacceptable abuses of our youth…

      Whitlock and Ganim have a handle on this in ways that only begin to address the issue of institutional abuse. Richmond uses metaphor…let US use our collective and individual voices to quake the Ivory Towers of any group of abusers and let them know we shall not bear these abuses without exacting a cost that cannot be borne without ceding all that one has gained…

      • Chico says:

        SandyKoufax.. That’s deep bro. Saying such things on a blog out in the open obviously meant something to you; you needed to get it off your chest. I’m sure the latest news hit a little too close to home for you. You have a commendable sense of purpose in this world and nobody can ever take that away from you. You should know that you have a lot of friends other than your immediate family and friends.. You posted that because it had to be done and I thank you for doing so. Cheers.

        • It isn’t about getting it off of my chest, it IS about getting people to stop allowing any abuse of others…I mean, I don’t expect any utopian or Shangri-la type of changes to magically appear after thousands of years of mans’ cruelty to his fellows…but I do expect that a McQueary to step in, IMMEDIATELY, and intervene on # 1’s behalf then call the cops.

          Cheers to you and thx…you’ve been more than a ‘virtual friend’ for some time now…

      • mailorderwife says:

        You and I have had a similar childhood, SFDF, and we both know that these things only serve to haunt us at the most inopportune moments. The psychological impact is tremendous, and I have never been able to live a normal life. Watching those Penn State student riot over the firing of Paterno and the continued feet dragging of officials – I mean, that asshole who first reported the anal rape did not even move to stop and save the child??? – is too painful to watch. But then again, it served to reinforce what I’ve learned in childhood: most adults will do nothing to stop the abuse of a child.

        I did find the attorney for the victims’ response to the situation equally true. Firing Paterno and the subsequent riot will only serve to turn off any other victim that wishes to come forward. What a nightmare.

        • You’re right MOB…at very inopportune times and just what does normal mean?

          Church and community groups and Govt bodies designed to stop the abuse of children routinely turn a blind eye-I think of how quiet I was for years and realize that kids are too ashamed or afraid or have been threatened into silence, therefore these abusers continue until they die or are caught…this type of behavior is too prevalent to not deal with in an extremely draconian manner.

  15. JDR says:

    Alright… which one of you crazy fuckers is BillyHatcher?

  16. Yet MORE bad news to Dodger fans…

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/dodgers/

    Hey JDR…this reminds me of Mickey Hatcher…a personal hero of mine…

    • Chico says:

      “Touched: The Jerry Sandusky Story,”

      Are you freaking serious? That’s the name of his book? I had a conversation and some beers with an SFPD officer tonight and we were talking about Penn State. He was trained in psychology and was in charge of pedophile cases in the 90’s. He says that this story is going to blow up, that pedophiles like to find their own comfortable environment to live, i.e. he is not acting alone especially since this was kept under wraps for so long..

      A lot of blogs I visit are focusing on the fact that it was rural Pennsylvania… This shit can happen anywhere. A lot of schools, day care centers, boys and girls clubs etc. are on high alert after the Penn State case.. It can happen anywhere (obviously) but t least people are starting to be alert about this sick shit.

  17. Chico says:

    Go Bears, Go Ducks! (I can’t stand either the Ducks or Stanford) but I gotta go with the Ducks because of someones horrible job of running a web site.

  18. Musburger is a TOOL!

    Stanford is NOT “The Cardinals!”

    • xoot says:

      Mussburger’s delight in every Oregon advantage is pissing me off. Maybe Nike has paid him off, old hack that he is. Stanford’s a good team and a good program. Oregon’s turned into a public school USC. Fuck them. (Cal won. That helps my mood.)

      • Agree on the old fart…

        Stanford is going to miss Harbaugh…much sooner than I would have thought.

        Ya, I can’t like the ghetto that has become U of O’s football team…

        As a Bruin fan, I’m ambivalent about losing today…at least we can see the end of Neuheisel’s tenure as head coach…and I hate the Toejammers too…

        Cal won…in spite of Maynard and thanks thank Sofele, Anderson and the ‘D’ for that…

  19. Standford, especially their receivers, shot themselves in the foot tonight…

    An abysmal showing, overall…

  20. Chico says:

    The fucking Ducks! I made two hundred bucks on that game (and I never bet on anything) but something told me to.. Itchy palms.

  21. shaman138 says:

    I’m a Cal fan and not a big fan of Oregon but, that being said, I LOVE watching Stanturd get blown out at home Phil Simms was absolutely correct on his assessment of Luck, IMO. Stanford’s reason for their current success is now preparing for tomorrow’s game against the NY Giants.

    • Nipper says:

      Stanford D was a joke. Luck had a poor game too. Of course his protection was lacking. Oregon knows how to field a “real” team. Quack!

Leave a Reply

