Who stays and who goes this winter?

Games are winding down, which means that we will soon be able to fire up the hot stove. So, with that in mind, time for the first of many offseason transaction posts…

First off, who stays? Assuming Huff, Burrell, Torres and Ross all want to return, they’re going to have to make a couple guys unhappy. Ross may take care of himself (a small-market team could seem him as a bargain and give him a starter’s deal).  The most logical first move would be to get CF sorted out. Torres doesn’t inspire much confidence, and depending on their ability to find a leadoff man elsewhere (say, Jimmy Rollins?) they could add some pop to the lineup by giving Ross the starting job in center.

The other big question: Beltran. Certainly they want him back, but they also don’t want to be stuck overpaying yet another fading veteran, and someone else may be willing to sign Beltran for 1-2 years longer than they ought to.

And of course, there’s Jonathan Sanchez. He’s running out of option years and with his lack of consistency combined with the emergence of Vogelsong, suddenly the kid is expendable. He could bring a nice return in a trade, perhaps restock the farm system or get a young hitter into the fold.

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Who stays and who goes this winter?

  1. Nipper says:

    May as well keep using Sanchez.

  2. Chico says:

    I certainly don’t know as much as you JDR, but I have a hunch that Ross is gone.. I also feel that we need to find another CF’er.. While I like what Torres did for us, he’s just too inconsistent to stay in that spot and as a leadoff hitter he’s not getting it done..

    Personally, I would love nothing more that Beltran staying here but you hit the nail on the head regarding his demands. Who knows as of now..

    As for J Sanchez, I have no idea but I totally agree with you that Vogelsong is better than Sanchez, at least he’s more reliable and he’s only had a few bad starts this year.. There is so much to think about especially going from the Splash to a REAL baseball blog.. My mind is frazzled right now. Good win! Cheers bro.

  3. xoot says:

    I like Beltran. His total range of skill is not quite like anyone else I can remember playing recently. The line drive swing is almost the same from both sides. (A 3/4 spot switch hitter. Match that with Pablo — excellent.) Beltran also plays the OF with something like the graceful stride of Joe Dimaggio, and he’s fast enough on the bases. His arm’s better than ok. He’s smart. He’s very cool tempered, too (but that means he keeps his distance — a negative factor to some). So, on balance, he’s worth a lot of money. But not to the Giants. SF doesn’t need another Scott-Boras-rigged 8 year contract. And Boras and Beltran will not take the 2 year deal Beltran deserves. Adios, pelota.

  4. Nipper says:

    Burrell’s last game today…..I hope he socks one out.

  5. lasttraintoyuma says:

    Oh how I wish that Gary Brown was one year further along in his development.

    I’d like to see Huff get dealt, with the Giants handing the job to Belt outright – sink or swim, baby. I think they shouldn’t do anything with any of their pitchers until it looks like they will get out of ST healthy. Tim/Cain/Bum/Vogey/Sanchez is an outstanding rotation. I don’t want them to offer more than two years for Beltran – which I know would mean they don’t sign him. I don’t know what the answer is at short. I’m not enamored with any of the FAs. I’m inclined to think they should just do a one year deal for someone like Scutaro and focus on the OF. I would love to see Swisher or Josh Willingham in a Giants uni.

    I just want to mention that it’s so fantastic that nobody is responding to Wayne. I’m guessing if we can hold to our blockade for 3 weeks that he’ll go away and only make brief monthly returns after that.

  6. shaman138 says:

    Beltran and Dirty are tough calls–Sanchez would definitely have trade value but Beltran is a tricky pickle. Should we sign him for two years? He would most likely have only one productive year (next year) and then just fizzle out the second year. There’s time for that–the more pressing and immediate question is the current wild-card races–which teams will pull it off? The suspense is terrible–I hope it will last!

  7. lasttraintoyuma says:

    This is so great! Nobody talking to trolls outside of other trolls!

  8. Nipper says:

    86 wins. Are you satisfied………? Not me!

  9. lasttraintoyuma says:

    I’m stoked! More than the Dodgers! YES!

  10. lasttraintoyuma says:

    Sandy, did you just get blocked from the Splash? WTF for? None of your posts even seemed mildly bad…

    • Chico says:

      He messed with someone with umpteen dozen accounts.. That site is Royally screwed up. The same thing happened to me a few years ago when I questioned someone about how many accounts they had.. It’s a censorship fest, not a place for debate or a conversation; it’s all about who can thumb up who and who can get who banned. Refer to the last thread here @ JDR when I brought it up.. I don’t know your politics nor do I care but the right-wingers on that site censor people for speaking their mind.. It’s a flawed site with too many loopholes..

      • Chico says:

        Correction, there is one left-wing idiot who does it too, he gets banned twice a day and he’s back within seconds. He sleeps on that site, up @ 6 am till 2 am, EVERY DAY!

  11. xoot says:

    I emailed Vlae K today about me getting blocked last weekend and did not hear back from him. I’ve emailed him a few times in the past to support posters who got banned unfairly and he responded very quickly. I think everyone should shoot him an email and complain about the way the trolls are gaming the system.

  12. This fucking sucks…VK can still see what was written so I am emailing him asap…I haven’t said anything that so far over the line that I deserve to be fucking banned!

    GOD DAMMIT I AM PISSED

  13. Could you guys write emails to VK on xoot and my behalfs?

    I just did.

    This shit has to stop.

  14. Carpenter shuts out Houston and Bravos choking (again) to the Phils…Braves led late and couldn’t hold it

  15. BTW, chico…I just read your email from yesterday(?), and I think that dude is the one that went after me…he deleted all of his comments last night about video tape, etc…DICK!

    Fuck the Splash is screwed up…

    I’m going to post as my other name which I revealed a few threads ago…

  16. xoot says:

    vk@sfgate.com

    Here’s what I wrote to him, from my work email. (Funny, I couldn’t remember if it was “sanfrandodgerfan” or “. . . dodgerfan.” He’ll figure it out.):

    Vlae:
    I urge you to review the staff’s decisions to block the posters “xootsuit” and “sanfrandodgerfan” from sfgate.
    Hostile posters are manipulating the monitors on The Splash. Apparently, the hostile posters with multiple accounts report alleged “abuse” over and over and get actual baseball fan posters blocked. The trolls are gaming the system. I hope you can help.
    Thanks.

  17. xoot says:

    And who the hell are you guys talking about?

  18. Thanks to everyone that is helping xoot and me…this so sux

  19. Well…playoffs are all set…bum deal cuz I would have liked to have seen WC playoff games…I’m out guys n gals, night

  20. Señor Ochenta E. Ocho says:

    What a fucking rush. Baseball>cocaine!

    I will get my chimp attorney on these unfair terminations at the gate tout suite.

  21. xoot says:

    no. Let EM go. Good night.

  22. Chico says:

    I think it would be wise of us all to keep these matters regarding censorship in private using the friend request/ private messaging system on the sf gate messaging feature, then we could exchange E-mail addresses and really keep it low-key.. This blog is out in the open and I’m sure JDR doesn’t want to deal with it, I wouldn’t if I were him.. If you really care about this subject and want to get to the bottom of it, lets use our heads and be discreet. Friend each other on that site and accept the friendships.. Then we all could communicate without it being in the open..

  23. JDR says:

    Sorry I didn’t get around to that sooner. Comment is gone.

  24. JDR says:

    There are sites out there that let you set up private/password protected forums, if a few of you wanted to chat amongst yourselves.

  25. shaman138 says:

    I’ve been avoiding the gate like the plague but I’ve known about that juke-joint for a while…it’s sheer manpulation, period. I don’t even bother with the so-called politics blogs, especially local SF stories which are compromised by wing-nuts pretending to be “local moderates”. Send me a private message if need be–I’ll check it.

  26. lasttraintoyuma says:

    Did SFDF and xoot’s accounts get reinstated yet? If not, I’ll add to the parade and send Vlae an e-mail.

  27. Nipper says:

    Niners! Bash Philly. Rush Vick good.

  28. Chico says:

    I haven’t heard back yet.. Anyone else?

  29. lasttraintoyuma says:

    Hey all, I share the same frustration with you about the fact that haters are interrupting our ability to talk Giants baseball (and just baseball in general) on the Splash. For all of its defects, I do like that the Splash has a much wider audience than, say, the Flap, or even this place (all due respect to uglyfinder, I’m also not more than a casual follower of the 49ers). I’ve been watching baycityball.com over the years and they have excellent articles and a growing list of commenters. Now it appears that they are becoming more integrated to the ESPN network. That brings a wider audience.

    Judging from the authoritarian way that any posts that even smell slightly of trollism are removed from Dodger Thoughts, that site might present a way for all of us to get together and talk baseball, free of the Waynes of the world and some of the more intensely personal stuff that goes on at the Flap. What do you all think? I’m thinking of making the move there for the majority of my posting….

    • lasttraintoyuma says:

      Plus, the writing at Bay City Ball is better than Schulman’s, IMHO.

      • lasttraintoyuma says:

        Also, it looks as though Chris Quick is an active participant in the discussions. That’s a bonus. My first post there won’t appear until I get approved by the admins. I like that.

    • xoot says:

      I agree that the sheer number of participants on the splash has its value. But I also agree that sfgate in general has gone to hell. Today, Vlae K refused to reinstate xootsuit. Maybe VK and the lowly travel writer are friends. Anyway, there’s no reason to turn JDR into a chat room about blog politics. I’ll check out BayCityBall. And I’ll always stop by JDR for post-season baseball and football talk.

      • Chico says:

        To be honest, I don’t have any more time for more blogs besides the blogs I already post at, sfgatecensorsplash, JDR, the flap (once in a while), Cal Bear blogs, shaggybeavo, scout and rivals boards etc, for other things the Huffington post etc..

        Sorry to hear about that Xoot, I don’t think he ever liked me on my last account.. VK is a Stanford and A’s fan, I’m a Cal and Giants fan.. Plus I called out that site in the open a few years back about the shenanigans, and all I got was “this comment has violated the terms and conditions”

        Not if, but when they go to a pay window, that will stop the problems over there but then who would pay for their content? If I could go back to my original username without anyone having the ability to Fuck with it, I would think about it. I made a lot of good friends over there over the years and more than half bailed because of the censorship.

        • lasttraintoyuma says:

          I’m saying I’m going to start phasing out my posting at the Splash.

          What was your original username, Chico?

        • I asked him twice about you but refused to mention anything about your acct…he said I used a gay slur…so I asked what I said as I would do no such thing…he said I used the word ‘pansy’…I was writing about Reyes for taking himself out of a game, talk about a lack of understanding context! Anyway, he asked me to promise not to use the word in that manner again for re-instatement, talk about juvenile blogsites! I said sure, I promise but what about users that write intentionally provocative or baiting comments or those that use other indirectly offensive means of address. Why is it only a few that are targeted for deletion and not those whom engage in such tactics…no response yet…

          Sorry x-man…I’m still trying but he won’t engage on your account…I don’t even know why

          • Chico says:

            That guy is a dork. Pansy? That guy has to have a dull life if he finds that word offensive.

            • It was written about Jose Reyes too…completely inaccurate…now if I had used sissy or something like that…

              He won’t even talk to me about xootsuit though…which is odd. He did regarding dsgonzale6

              Get this, there is a gas leak, PG&E, right around the corner from my GFs’ place in PHill…back side of DVCin fron of a Junior High…creepy shit mainly cuz there is a ‘Shelter in place’ order but also cuz PG&E sez it’ll have it shut off by 5:30 and it started at 2:25!

              • xoot says:

                That’s some scary PG&E stuff, Sandy. Did you read about the explosion in the condo complex in Cupertino about a month ago? My father lives in that complex. Plastic PG&E pipes were leaking, filled a garage, kaboom. Investigators sniffed the entire area and found plastic pipes underground with cracks. Good news, I guess, is that they’re pouncing on these leaks immediately now.

                • Chico says:

                  Be safe brother.. Don’t you just Monopolies! Xoot, my brothers mother in law had a lot of damage to her home in the San Bruno blast. She was lucky and got out in time before the fire engulfed the neighborhood.

                • I read about it…I knew Jerry Nastari, one of the San Bruno lawyers, growing up in San Mateo…his house isn’t far from that Cupertino condo…btw?, my GFs’ ‘PUD/Townhouse’ has that same piping…

                  GREAT!

                  There was another episode last night somewhere local also…bay area anyway…why does it take pg&e so long to respond to this shit after Sacramento and San Bruno?

            • Señor Ochenta y ocho says:

              They unplugged you for calling Reyes a Pansy? Geesh! Attica! Attica!

  30. Chico says:

    A great video, and it’s baesball related 🙂

    • Chico says:

      I meant beisboll. Sorry for the typo.

      • lasttraintoyuma says:

        Excellent video, chico! I only wish they had added in the Braves’ strange turn of events, too. I’m thinking it would be really cool if that blonde who was broadcasting during the rain delay in Boston could come take Amy G’s place. Me likey.

  31. xoot says:

    I sort of like the way they stack the games on TBS this weekend. If a person were so inclined (reclined?), he or she could spend many hours watching baseball Sat. and Sun.

  32. unca_chuck says:

    Speaking of gas leaks, a street in Roseville caught on fire as a gas leak under the intersection caused 8-14′ flames to shoot out of a 20 long crack in the ground. This at a site that a year ago, people complained of a gas smell. PGE said they fixed the problem LAST year. As it was, they had to evacuate sbout 15 businesses around the intersection, and dig a hole to cut the flow of gas to the pipe. By pinching it. Luckily nopthing exploded, but it took 14 hours to fix the problem.

  33. Nipper says:

    Lets delete!

  34. JDR says:

    Clutch AB, about time for Ryan Howard to fuck everything up…

Leave a Reply

