Sabean gives us a mercy flush

It finally happened. Brian Sabean finally decided that enough was enough and that Miguel Tejada and Aaron Rowand weren’t even worth a bench spot. Both have been DFA’d and put up on the trading block to make room for two additional call-ups on the 40-man roster.

You could argue if you wanted to that Sabean stuck with the vets for too long in hopes that they would return to form. But that assumes the rookies who replaced them would not only come up and start, but produce more than either of the men they replaced. If there’s one bet riskier than an old vet going on a tear, it’s a rookie (and not even a blue-chipper at that) coming up and carrying the team.

Looking towards next year? Probably. While catching Arizona is by no means out of the question, it’s getting less and less likely. With a healthy Buster Posey, Freddy Sanchez, Nate Scheirholtz and Pablo Sandoval next year along with a more seasoned Brandon Belt, they’ll have their core pieces in place and a guy like Pill could be auditioning to take a bench spot and save Sabean the hassle of signing a free agent for depth.

Speaking of possible moves, Andre Ethier is less than happy in LA right now. A deal with LaBumbos has always been a long shot, but Sabean and Colletti have a history, the Giants need a bat and the Dodgers need starters. After all the pitching problems he had this year, Agent Ned has to like the idea of a Kershaw/Billingsley/Sanchez front to his rotation…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

131 Responses to Sabean gives us a mercy flush

  1. mailorderwife says:

    I could live with Andre Ethier on this ballclub.

    Also, Frank Gore signed a 3-year extension. In this day and age, it’s just amazing that someone wants to end their career on the 49ers. I heart him.

  2. Good move with Rowand and Tejada but I am waiting for them to get a catcher that is at least marginally productive…we’ll give you Navarro for Sancho…but no deal on Ethier unless it’s for big bux and Cain or Vogey, minimum…

  3. Chico says:

    It was bound to happen sooner or later.. Thanks Rowand for the hustle, see ya later Tejada and good riddance. I don’t say that because of his horrible play, hell, he was old looking for a job, there were basically no other SS options in the off season and I can understand a body not being able to do what it used to be able to do but when he shunned Wotus and basically walked up the first base line, I was done with him. You can’t hit Tejada, why complain about dropping down a bunt? If you don’t want to do that, then you are useless.

    Looking forward to see the roster expand, the same with Pill. That Ethier thing is intriguing, dude can hit but even if it did happen, losing Sanchez wouldn’t be the end of the world. He has always had the talent, he is just not consistent and never has been. I’m sure a decent or serviceable FA could take his place or maybe even a kid in our system. With my luck, he would go to LA and become their ACE over Kershaw, haha.

    Lots to think about.

  4. Madbum is ‘on’ today

  5. Looks like several Jints got the message sent by management via the DFA’s

  6. mailorderwife says:

    Keppinger is amazin’!

  7. Chico says:

    Keppinger!

  8. Señor Ochenta E. Ocho says:

    Nothing gets a team hitting
    Like human sacrifice!

  9. Señor Ochenta E. Ocho says:

    Geesh…there’s a student demonstration and I’ve got the gasoline. bbl!

  10. Chico says:

    As Scotty Ferrall says, shake it up! I think it worked..

  11. Chico says:

    Bumgarner is pitching out of his mind right now.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Watching today, it’s hard to believe the last month happened.

      • Chico says:

        Yep. Like I said on the last thread here, I still can’t figure it out. Hey, Tejada was on the Poodres last year and they fell off a cliff.. I’m not really superstitious but he’s an easy scapegoat!

        • mailorderwife says:

          I remember when the Padres got him! A month later, the ship starts going adrift. Maybe the Snakes want to pick him up? Tejada has great MIckey Mouse shoes.

  12. Nibbi Bros has some ‘splainin to do, Loosey

    • Chico says:

      Was that a Nibby project? OSHA is going to be all over their ass.. That shouldn’t have happened.

      • Yep…nineteenth and Illinois…OSHA is going to be looking at everyone else’s work too behind this…

        Well, Congrats Jints fan…Bumgarner looked rock solid today…so did Keppinger and Sando

        • Chico says:

          I’m sure my buddy at DPR is making sure everyone has their harnesses on and everything is on the up and up.. They are doing a lot of projects right now in the Mission bay area..

          • Eff DPR. I worked for those jerks in the late 90’s…all they wanted was for drywall framers toi train their PERMANENT carpenters…so they brought us in and we taught them commercial metal stud framing, then were given bonuses and shown the door-to a man…

            • Chico says:

              Well, another good friend of mine (Cal grad, soil samples engineer) was recently laid off by them.. Back in the day, My brother and I did some work for them and it took forever to get paid. My buddy who works there now is in charge of safety operations. Most huge commercial companies are cut-throat assholes in my experience. R & Sletten actually paid right after the job, but one of their Project managers would pick our work apart and my brother would have to bust out the plans and show them that our work was good and done properly.. Pain in the ass.

              • Sletton was a great company until they were sold…now not so good but still a fun shop to work in…what did you scabs do for union shops?:)

                • Chico says:

                  That was back when my Brother mainly focused on roofing. Tapered insulation systems and a 4 ply sbs modified usually. A couple of smaller jobs using a heal welded system. I ran two hot crews (5-9 men each) and a shingle crew (3 men) patch (2 men).. That kind of stuff happens all the time, have you seen Lawson’s or Western’s prices? 🙂 When he became a general, we would sub out work to union shops too. Round tree plumbing does great work.

                • Roofing work sux…too dangerous and too hot/cold/wet

  13. Unca Chuck says:

    Roundtree Plumming. Did they give you the shaft?

  14. shaman138 says:

    Castro Point? Isn’t that where Soph’s Wax ‘N Boards is located?

  15. mailorderwife says:

    Ooo…is that Fishwarp gone too? Is it safe to return, although I never quite trust it.

  16. Ruse says:

    If only Soph would have said something encouraging about the giants once in a while and then hit enter, instead of saying something ok then taking it back by bashing them twofold. Her posts were always 100% negativity. Yet she only focused on the giants tho and never any person on the splash and considering how horrible some people replied to her, I would have gone postal on ya’all.

    • JDR says:

      Jimbo made some pretty nasty personal attacks on TF/Crabby.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Aside from Soph’s idiotic statements about the Giants, what angered me the most is her insistence that people the incoming hatred was not due to her general lack of baseball knowledge and trolling but, rather, her gender. As a woman, that infuriated me. He also left enough evidence out there for me to realize that the Soph character was, in fact, a RL man with a stupid, misogynistic bent and a hatred for our boys.

  17. Ruse says:

    MOB, totally agree about the gender thing. In the early days when it looked like she was being ignored, or not paid enough attention to, she would leak out some awesome part of “her” anatomy, like ” I have long slender legs, thats why I can play flag football so well” or ” just washed my long and silky hair…” because she knew there were mostly guys posting on the splash . And then had the balls to say that women should be known for their brains (and baseball knowledge!) not their bodies, Women were not play things.

    When I pointed it out to her that she did this little peep show, she stopped doing it. Not because she was hypocritical, its because a guy playing a woman would totally say those things about their body, not a real woman. Well maybe some women, but they are out for something very different than recognition on a sports blog. If you know what I mean,

    Also didnt know about the personal attacks on TF. That sucks.

  18. shaman138 says:

    Soph’s a pathetic old man….btw, one of that old fart’s many sock-puppets on that blog. I just recently noticed how so many doom/troll comments on the Splash seem so much alike….many of those are coming from that old dude. He’s the primary reason us REAL real fans are being fucked with there, too. Pathetic, bitter, old tool.

  19. Chico says:

    I’m not a fan of censorship, but I gotta admit, when Jim got banned it felt just as good as a win. I hate the repetitive nonsense hugs my Bum, he agrees with me schtick. He’ll be back, trolls live to troll, it’s an addiction for attention.

  20. Señor Ochenta E. Ocho says:

    I suspect Soph was another of Whinin’ Wayne Bernhardson’s pathetic creations (BarryForever, Mr. HGH, etc). He probably is behind Mollie the Slurpee Gal and Fistrape, too. An antisocial, ravenous insomniac who laps up attention.

    • Chico says:

      Giantsrock, mickeymoose…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Although BarryForever persona has backed off since he was exposed as the Patagonian traveler. Or was that someone else?

      Splash has a great detective crew, btw.

      And there is that homophobe who seems live to get banned.

      • Freshtodef80 says:

        No, that was BarryForever aka Wayne Bernhardson.

        • Chico says:

          The homophobe is a different dude altogether. That’s band4life, bird 33, bird 33 celts, Elluminati, who was the old harcourtfenton, and lord voldermont and a few others.. He also has no respect for women.

          This multiple account shit has to screw with someone’s head.. Maybe it will eventually lead to multiple personality disorder. It can’t be healthy.

          • That’s sad, funny and true…all of it

          • mailorderwife says:

            Bird33 is one of the good guys, and not the trolls you mentioned. I believe he’s actually going to come onto these boards as soon as his schedule clears up. He’s not one in the same as those others.

            • Have you read some of his positions regarding immigrants or LGBT issues?…he is OTHERWISE a ‘good guy’ as far as I can tell

              Barry4Ever is toast, finito, banned!

              • mailorderwife says:

                No…were these posts online? What are those opinions?

                You know me…I lead the fag hag parade and beat that drum. No shade there. As for immigration, my dad was in Pearl Harbor working for the US government, and they refused his medical assistance for the burns he received from the bombing. His response, I guess, was to marry Japanese. har har.

  21. Freshtodef80 says:

    mickeymoose was banned.

  22. mailorderwife says:

    …and news from the Southland, which may or may not make SFDF happy:

    http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-dodgers-mccourt-sale-20110902,0,3026247.story

    In light of all the food poisoning that’s been going on in Japan from all the imported Chinese food, I would bring my own damn food to the stadium.

    • Chico says:

      The Chinese? Sanfrandodgerfan is going to have a cow and rightfully so..

      • Chico says:

        “Dodger fans are so stupid, they think they really matter in the process. Chinese money isn’t interested in the lagacy of baseball, they are interested in a return on investment. Get ready for a micromanged, mediocre team with sky high parking rates and oceans of cheap Chinese merchandise selling at the highest possible cost.”

        That comment per your link is mostly correct. I wouldn’t call all Dodger fans stupid, but the rest of it is spot on.

        • I don’t think this sale goes through…McDickhead has a series of companies that comprise the Dodger ‘family of companies.’ Check out http://www.dodgerdivorce.com/ and read about the lineage of his ’empire.’

          The guy has smart corporate attorneys and they have structured the Dodgers in a very byzantine manner not dissimilar to that of any other multi-billion corporation.

          Unraveling the open book which has become the Los Angeles Dodgers since Murdoch bought them, isn’t as difficult as understanding the human genome but these lawyers did do a good job of hiding things until Jamie decided she was done with Franco…it’s all out in the open now is my point. In light of this knowledge, my question is simple:

          How can Selig, the other team owners and federal regulators allow the sale of the Dodgers to this group?

          I’m just a simple carpenter, though, and have no real understanding of ‘how’ these things ‘work.’

          • Unca Chuck says:

            If I had a hammer . . .

          • xoot says:

            I don’t think mlb will approve that sale. McCourt needs the money to pay a lot of people to whom he owes money, so there will be some powerful support for the deal. But it’s just begging for trouble. The mlb owners’ club won’t let anyone in who might mess things up.

            • $1.2B is $400M over the Dodgers highest assessed value. I don’t see MLB doing anything but drooling over a way to make this happen…in spite of other reports I have been reading on the bid over the course of the day.

            • xoot says:

              Well, I don’t know what “the Dodgers” means. The $1.2B bid seeks real estate and other rights that may not be part of the generally assessed value of “the Dodgers.” I also have no idea what sort of power struggle might go on between a trustee in bankruptcy and mlb. Be hilarious to see a trustee overrule mlb’s veto of a sale.

  23. A1985Mattalac says:

    Well played to whoever got Sophjim banned this time, I’m sad I didn’t play a part in it :). Looking at the Splash now recalls the tension-building scenes in Jaws. You know those long shots of the boat sitting in the water (shark’s pov) as the film’s signature theme strikes a few notes. You just know Jim is watching from bebenath the comments, ready to strike again with a new moniker and ever-inane hate speech. That said I do think the season comes down to this series. Two of three really won’t cut it. No, we need a decisive sweep to regain momentum and let AZ know we aren’t fucking around. Comeone Giants!!!

  24. mailorderwife says:

    I get to watch the 49ers tonight! WOOHOOO!! LA is finally broadcasting a true local game, although “local” here is Sun Diego.

  25. Del Mar Dennis says:

    Hey guys and doll(s). I have one spot open in our ESPN fantasy football league. Just a bunch of us 49er fans having some fun. JDR is already a member. The draft is Tuesday night. If you’d like to play, please send me an e-mail as I need to send out an invite.

    dunkirkwantsrevenge@comcast.net.

    Hey, we just marched down the field for a TD. Stop the press. Go Niners! 😀

    • Funny email addy, Del…what does it come from?

      • Del Mar Dennis says:

        A few years ago (2009) my two favorite 3yos for the Derby were Dunkirk and I Want Revenge. Revenge was the ML fav who got scratched the morning of the Derby because of a lt. foot issue. I shoulda taken the hint right there. I got a second hint when the track turned up sloppy. Did that deter me? Of course not. Dunkirk ran 11th in the sloop as some POS named Mine That Bird won and paid over $100 to win.

        Dunkirk Wants Revenge, capiche?

        • And here I was thinking it was actually related to France and WWII

          I had an aunt and uncle that bought a beautiful ‘house’ in Claremont from their ‘jobs,’ placing long-shot bets and winning at ‘The Sport Of Kings’…it amazed me that won so much, also that they lived so well without actually working a regular job…too bad I didn’t have the chance to learn what they knew about the game…

    • JDR says:

      I hadn’t signed up for a team and I wasn’t planning on playing this year (I hate having to pretend I give a crap about anyone on the Bengals or Titans) but I can play if I’ve already been assigned a team.

  26. Del Mar Dennis says:

    I’m lovin’ this Kendall Hunter. I had him pegged way back the week of the Senior Bowl practice. I know Dixon got the 6, but that drive was courtesy of Hunter. He best be our #2 RB behind Frank. I think Hunter will be our best rookie producer this year…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Hmm…it’s still early but this isn’t so bad!

    • JDR says:

      They looked decidedly less shitty tonight. I feel much better about week 1. That said, it’s going to be a different story once the games start counting and the defense starts blitzing. I have the feeling we’re going to see several more weeks of the floodgate o-line while they catch up from the lost camp.

      • mailorderwife says:

        I had the Chargers broadcast last night, and was amused by the fact that the announcers were surprised that the 49ers took the game seriously. Oh well.

        Alex Smith looked pretty good, although he has always been a Tourrette’s sort of player. There are spurts of really good — although infrequent spurts — followed by a complete collapse.

  27. Unca Chuck says:

    FYI, JDR. I killed my blog, so you can remove it from the roll. If I get another one going, I’ll let you know.

  28. Unca Chuck says:

    Yeah, you almost wanted Smith to play like shit yesterday and come out good vs Seattle. Can he put 2 good games together?

    • Chico says:

      I missed the game but I sure as hell hope so Chuck.. Kruger said that San Diego sat 14 of their starters, so I don’t know what to make of it reading the stats.

  29. Chico says:

    What a night.. Concert at Davies Symphony hall hanging out with a bunch of millionaires. Ended up at a bar called Absinthe on Hayes.. (nice spot) and got to chill a beer with MC Hammer of all people. ADVIL!

  30. mailorderwife says:

    Happy Orange Friday! Nothing like a sunny California day where one can listen to the Ohio Players while eating frozen yogurt in peace. GO GIANTS!

  31. Unca Chuck says:

    The albums I wore out the most back in the day were Quadrophenia, Dark Side of the Moon, and Montrose’s 1st album . . .

  32. shaman138 says:

    If you want to check out some serious romper room Giants blogging just go to the Splash right now. The Angel Villalona story brought the tards out of the woodwork.

    • Señor Ochenta E. Ocho says:

      While I was reading some of that shit, I thought, right here, sadly, is a jury of my fucking peers. They just might vote, too.

  33. Dude seriously came to work, tonight

  34. xoot says:

    Unbelievable catch from Ross. These guys are playing with fire.

  35. Chico says:

    Ballgame!

  36. mailorderwife says:

    My husband decided that he was good luck for the team, so he watched the game with me. Voila!

  37. Cool on you n Mr MOB…congrats on the win even!

    Terra Nova plays Wilcox on the 9th chico in Santa Clara…

    • Chico says:

      Wow, they are moving up the ladder big time.. Should be a good game.. The Tigers won it all last year for the first time since ’88 with a back up QB (first stringer blew his knee out in the semi final) and the backup comes in and throws for 314 yards and 3 TD’s. Here is a preview of this year.. http://www.mercurynews.com/breaking-news/ci_18792332

      • Wilcox will be ready…can’t find any preseason breakdown on them for you but I read last week that they are returning enough of last years CCS team to make life tough for anyone but Los Gatos and Palo Alto (prolly). They go at Serra this afternoon so that will tell us what’s up in Santa Claraville

  38. mailorderwife says:

    A happy Saturday to all of you enjoying your Saturday football or what not. I’m watching a BBC serial drama about a turn-of-the-century London Hospital. The amazing part is that the casting is multi-ethnic, even though the period would not call for such a thing (Asians, East Indians and what not). They do what Hollywood — too busy churling out crappy “comedies” that are nothing more than remakes of something better from overseas — will not do.

    Happy Timmy day too. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

