Holy crap… Offense!

I wanted to hold back on this post in case they got shut out again, but I’ll be damned, the Giants are scoring runs again.

Okay, so the first two runs came without a hit, but the Giants have had so many rallies killed by the lack of a sac fly that being able to plate a pair of runs on sacrifices counts as one hell of a rally.

Even better, the runs have come at a pair of big-time pitchers parks. Three runs in six innings off Tim Hudson? Hell, that counts as an offensive explosion this year.

Bonus: X-rays on Pablo’s foot are negative.

And hey, just like it’s a nice hearty kick to the balls courtesy of Brian Wilson. If last year’s season was sponsored by Pepto Bismal, this year’s season is sponsored by Jack Daniel’s.

And to think, at one point tonight we pitied the people who were stuck on BART…

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

85 Responses to Holy crap… Offense!

  1. xoot says:

    Where’d you hear the x rays are negative?

  2. What was that about?…Hinske call time?

  3. shaman138 says:

    Wow….I get home from a two hour commute from hell and turn on the TV to watch Wilson piss this game away. This fucking day needs to end right now. To call that a “blown save” is a wild understatement.

  4. mailorderwife says:

    WTF happened. I left work, went grocery shopping and then SHAZAM. An L in the column.

    Oh well…tomorrow is another day :>

  5. JDR says:

    So while we’re talking about booze, I suggest everyone in the area pay a visit to the St. George distillery on the old navy base in Alameda. $15 for a tasting of some excellent hooch. The Hangar One vodka and St George Single Malt whiskey are choice picks, and the finisher is a mind-blowing Absynthe,

  6. Chico says:

    Stupid is back.. “How about Willis and Gore for Luck”?

  7. mailorderwife says:

    K so Romo and Beltran = DL. Schierholtz might have broken his foot and Keppinger is getting his wrist x-rayed. The latter two are rumors spinnning about the twitter world by sportswriters. Oh boy :<

  8. Chico says:

    Nate might have a broken foot and Keppinger has a bad wrist… Jesus Christ.

  9. JDR says:

    Oh for the love of fuck…

  10. mailorderwife says:

    Okay. Which Dodger fan has the voodoo dolls and how can we remove the pins.

    • Hmm;>

      Go check Reuters under entertainment…they are trying to align and represent all season ticket holders in Bankruptcy proceedings against Sancho McWhoops…they won’t be given standing but, GOD!, I wish they could have a say in LA’s future…

      • mailorderwife says:

        The only season ticket holders with a say are the ones who sit in the most $$$ seats. Those always seem to be empty at Dodger games, and those poseurs probably think Ron Cey is still manning the infield anyway.

      • Go to reuters and read it…like I said…they won’t get a seat in all of this but it is why you aren’t seeing those ticket holders at the games

  11. Flavor says:

    Here’s a different way to look at this: It really isn’t that bad. We’ve lost a few offensive players but our offense sucks no matter who’s out there. Our O really isn’t that destroyed, unless Panda is just out there gutting it out. We lost our 8th inning set up guy but we have a great bullpen so someone can fill in there. And losing Dirrrrty? Ok, that hurts THIS game because he was pitching well, but had he pitched like shit Surkamp was getting called up ANYWAY to take his next start.
    See? We really aren’t in that different of a boat than we were a few days ago…..

    • IDK, flav…6 guys down in what, a week? Unless guys like OCab and Huff, Ross, etc make a 180 in production, shit is done

      • Flavor says:

        my point was that the pitching staff is still largely in tact. And those guys pitching like studs are the only way we’re gonna win games consistently anyway. I just don’t think this is devastating for the Giants right now, that’s all. Timmy, Cain, Voggy, Bummy, Panda…..the hope of Belt, too. Huff’s hitting the ball well. It’s just not devastating…Yet.

    • mailorderwife says:

      I’m not much of a pessimist, and that WS victory is good enough to make me pretty happy for the rest of my baseball watching life. I mean, I was getting to that point where I wondered if they’d win in my lifetime.

      That being said, the rash of injuries is sad. I do look forward to seeing other talent coming in with the hope that someone will produce or do something neat-o. 15 days in August is still different from 15 days in September, so I’m still optimistic.

      • Jints, effectively have become a four man rotation-bring up another reliever for Sancho and go with four arms…

        IDK who has a real stick in their system or if they need to get someone off of waivers/trade but these bats aren’t enough even if pitching is lights out w/o seriously stepping up their offense

        Just the way I see it as of now…losing Schierholtz has bigger implications than just his bat

  12. Cool game of pickle to get Bourne…

  13. Flavor says:

    of course, we are getting no hit by a chump so wtf do I know? 🙂

    • mailorderwife says:

      Yeah :< If we're going to get shut out, at least get a hit. Please.

      • Chico says:

        I’m on radio tonight as the kids trumped me for cartoons. OT: That Diamond Certified commercial is pure BS.. They don’t care what kind of work you do, if you pay them, they will certify you.. It’s all a scam, it’s advertising.

  14. JDR says:

    He’s pitching a no-hitter? I guess he is pitching a no-hitter. Hey guys, Delgado is pitching a no-hitter. What’s that they say again about no-hitters? Something about talking about no-hitters.

  15. Flavor says:

    I’m praying to God that some dumb Braves fan just uttered the words out loud “Hey, Delgado is throwing a no hitter.” Kidding. I wish I was a jinx-guy but I’m just not…..

  16. Still a no-no…I DO believe in sports jinxes…as ignorant and heathen as that may sound

  17. mailorderwife says:

    God…let’s have a talk.

    I’m at my job, and the game is on television. The sports department, all Dodger fans, are staring at me while this dude is pitching a NO-HITTER. DODGER FANS STARING AT ME.

    In case you forgot, God, you made me suffer through the Jerry Reuss no-hitter against the Giants back at Candlestick, when I was just a teenager. It was the worst game of my life. Having my co-worker Dodger fans stare at me through this is not good. I’ve done my time. Let the Giants have a hit already.

  18. There goes Ross…making me look stupid

  19. mailorderwife says:

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. Flavor says:

    Crushed. Ha. Dumb ass Braves fan somewhere talking about a no-hitter. His buddy should punch him in the face for that. Twice!

  21. Flavor says:

    pulling him after giving up one hit (and he’s at 70 pitches) was stupid. Venters and Kimbrel are really their only 2 stud relievers and neither will probably come into a tied game before the 9th. Weird move by the Braves…..

  22. I thought Rowand was injured too?

    • mailorderwife says:

      I think he is. Perhaps the boys are so shorthanded that “mostly dead” status is good enough for an AB.

  23. mailorderwife says:

    Okay…time to head home. Go Giants!

  24. Lil Font didn’t even see it…

  25. Tejada…screwed the pooch again

  26. xoot says:

    Now let’s put it away.

  27. Too old to dive for that, really?

  28. xoot says:

    wtf? Our two AS OFs, Huff and Belt make the big plays!

  29. What an idiot Freeman is…walk em loaded?

  30. xoot says:

    Hey, never in doubt. Cabrera looked good there.

  31. All over that play…Jints need to keep pace w/AZ

  32. DeRosa didn’t get him!

    Nice hit though

  33. Here’s the hero of the NLDS…:)

  34. Here’s what flav wrote a few minutes ago…good post:

    “big flavor said, on August 16, 2011 at 7:01 pm
    I think we will likely lose this game. But I could care less, it’s been unbelievably entertaining and it showed these guys that they can do whatever they fucking want to do if they stick together. Fuck AZ and their win tonight. We are the World Champions until someone else wins it. And tonight, beaten and battered, we are playing like WORLD CHAMPIONS……..”

  35. Fugazi says:

    The darkest days only lead to a shining light. I have faith in this team and things will sort themselves out. Stay strong my Giants fdiends, a better day is coming..

  36. JDR says:

    I’d put up a new post, but it seems every time I put up a new post things turn to shit. I’m afraid if I put another one up Tim Lincecum and Matt Cain will simultaneously drop dead of cardiac arrest.

  37. mailorderwife says:

    We have a month and a half or so of baseball left. It’s getting good, and the Giants are going to need to meet these challenges if they hope to move on to post-season. It’s all good.

    • Fugazi says:

      Agreed, its still early and the Snakes only have a two game lead. Lots of Baseball to go before the real season starts.

  38. mailorderwife says:

    I hope we win today :>

  39. JUST sat down on the couch and Cain gets a sac fly…4-1

    Jurrjens looks diff from last year…oops-5-1

Leave a Reply

