No two ways about it, the Niners looked bad

Or to be more specific, they looked like a team that has had all of 12 practices to get their act together. Which is what they are, and might indicate why this year is going to suck.

Jim Harbaugh may be a great coach with a great gameplan. Aldon Smith may be a great pass rusher. The secondary may be a reliable group.

And we may not see any of that this season. Or at least not until it is too late for 2011. The first preseason game may have been a sign of things to come. This is a team that needs some time to get its shit together, and that is one thing which is sorely lacking this year.

Normally that wouldn’t be too much of an issue. But this is a 49ers team that really needs some signs of hope. We’ve been sold on a rebuilding plan for nearly a decade now, and eventually some signs of progress need to be shown.

Perhaps I’m underestimating Harbaugh. Maybe the team will develop over the next few weeks and he can execute his gameplan. But right now the Niners look like a team that’s going to need a lot more time to develop than the NFL is currently affording.

This entry was posted in Niners. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to No two ways about it, the Niners looked bad

  1. 21 straight!

    Niners didn’t even look as good as the Ray-duhs…

    Seriously in need of a complete o-line, receivers that will fight for a catch…

    Bright side is Akers, Kaepernick…

  2. mailorderwife says:

    D did look great, but the O was another story. The starting O line needs to improve ASAP. NFL is airing the game tonight so I’ll watch the action in its full glory.

    Meanwhile, I haven’t given up on our Giants. Go TImmy! Go Giants!

  3. Mr. M.O., that’s funny…so is dancing with the seniors…

  4. Chico says:

    We’re getting hits!

  5. mailorderwife says:

    Yay! They’re getting in those RISP!

  6. Great pitching match up but Timmeh should be coming out…Vazquez still a low enough p-count and looks awful strong

  7. Hmmm, he folded like a house of cards just now…Speedy Oil Change

  8. Chico says:

    Ballgame! Cheers.

  9. Congrats folks…see ya later and have fun with the old folks, MOB;>…you have fun with the wife n twins chico

    • Chico says:

      You too bro, looks like Nipper is pissed that we left.. I’ll spread a little love and use both blogs but this one is for Ugly.. This is my primary baseball blog..

      • mailorderwife says:

        I love reading the Flap and the participants, but also feel out of place there. It’s a real dude’s den over there, with all the hollering and contentiousness. I’m too much of a rank amateur in my observations to participate anyways.

        Watched the first half of the Niner game. Egads. My husband was coaching Alex Smith from the couch, but it didn’t work.

        Otherwise, Timmy was what we needed today, plus some timely hitting was nice. Let’s repeat this tomorrow.

      • Chico says:

        Yeah, tough crowd especially for a female.. I can understand that.. I don’t comment there but I do read it like you.. If I want to get into a fight or an argument, online is not the place for me.. I’ll go to the local watering hole for that stuff or kick some kooks off of our beach etc.. Online I’m Mr. Happy! Have a good night MOB..

      • the_troll says:

        BF and TF are too opinionated for me. It’s BF’s blog but Twin is pulling the strings. I don’t want to visit a blog where two posters pretend to know everything there is to know and assume the rest of the posters are morons.

        • JDR says:

          Big Flav’s been nothing but helpful to me thus far with getting the blog up and getting word out to the former splash crowd. From my interactions with the guy he’s been a class act all the way. That said, I do want to keep this a place where everyone is comfortable and met with a fair amount of respect. If the internet drama starts to get out of hand, I’m going to be taking action. I don’t think that will be a problem with the crowd we have now.

    • xoot says:

      I’ve had a lot of dealings with both TF and BF over the years. BF sets the tone on his blog and even at it’s best it’s not for everyone, despite the occassionally excellent comments. But on a personal level, I’ve always found BF himself to be exactly as our host here describes him — a class act. Nonetheless, I haven’t posted on the flap in quite a while. Probably won’t.

      Two wins in a row? Is it possible? I think so. And now they’re plunking Vogelsong? Let’s get some adrenalin going!

      • Chico says:

        Agreed, BF actually invited us over when the splash went crazy. Class act all the way.

      • Flavor says:

        thanks, I appreciate those words/thoughts from you guys. The hilarious notion that’s always been out there is that twinfan is somehow *running my blog*. He’s an important contributor there, that’s it. As JDR will find out, moderating a blog is a difficult thing to do. there’s a balance you’ve got to find and I think I do a pretty good job of maintaining it. You are always welcome there assuming you follow the rules. I like this place, it’s different than the Flap and it’s always cool to have options when you want to talk about our favorite team…….

      • the_troll says:

        My disdain for BF comes from a few instances that happened a couple of years ago. He and I were arguing about somethings baseball related. He had one view on things and I had another. What should have been a baseball related argument turned into BF using personal insults and attacking me for my opinion. It wasn’t the insults themselves that bothered me, it’s that someone would get personal on something as insignificant as a baseball argument. It was childish in my opinion. I lost any respect I had for BF that day.

  10. mailorderwife says:

    Ross is boss today! YAY!

  11. Del Mar Dennis says:

    Very nice job with the new blog. Are barnyard animals allowed here? I may need someone to clean up my poop, but I poop just like the rest of you. Just a little bit more…

  12. Del Mar Dennis says:

    The pen is causing more drama even without Wilson here in the 9th.
    Get it over with already!

  13. Del Mar Dennis says:

    Good win. Vogelsong was fantastic. We got a little momentum now heading into Hotlanta. Should be a very good series. Quite possibly a preview of the NLDS. Let’s hope so…

  14. shaman_138 says:

    What a wonderful win.

  15. Unca Chuck says:

    JDR, you can link to my Niners Unflitered blog if you’d like.

    chucksninerland.blogspot.com

    It’s fair to flat awful sometimes, but I try to keep shit on track.

    There’s also 49ers Outsider. Run by a guy named Skeebs. Like mine but somewhat more civil. Sort of.

    49eroutsider.com

  16. Tomahawk Chop…

    very inauspicious start in Atlanta

  17. mailorderwife says:

    Well, if they’re going to give up runs and not score any when the bases are loaded, I wish they’d wait until it was past 6:30 p.m. PST so that I could yell at the television set.

  18. NFL doesn’t ‘count’ until the third or fourth week of the season as far as the quality of the games go…and greedy ownership is talking about expanding the season to 18-20 games!

    • mailorderwife says:

      That’s because the owners don’t play the game, ya know? You can’t move kickoffs to the 35 line to avoid injuries, then push the players towards 18-20 games a year. Insane.

  19. Chattel…Tie game in hotlanta-on manufactured runs no less…

  20. mailorderwife says:

    Yay, and every run counts :>

  21. Chico says:

    Pablo goes down? I sure hope it’s not serious.. Fuck the NFL owners, in greed they trust.

  22. Chico says:

    Nate goes DEEP!

  23. BART is closing stations…I guess ‘it’s on’ again with those idiots protesting

Leave a Reply

