Help wanted: Blogroll contributions

As part of the ongoing effort to make this place into something resembling a sports blog, I’ve deleted the default blogroll links and decided to replace them with links to actual sports blogs. So I want to know: who do you read?

First spot is going to the Flap, but after that it’s pretty much open. A few Giants/Niners blogs would be good, but also general sports sites that you like to read. Preferably sites a bit off the beaten path (i.e. not the Splash or Extra Baggs) and NO BLEACHER REPORT. I don’t have many standards, but the ones I do have exclude linking to “ten hitters who are not as good as David Ortiz.”

Enjoy the off night. Should be a busy night tomorrow between Giants/Marlins and Ninerscrubs/Saintscrubs.

This entry was posted in Site business. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Help wanted: Blogroll contributions

  1. xoot says:

    I use baseball-reference, fangraphs and cotts.

  2. xoot says:

    JDR, I would like to ask you a question. Can you email me?

  3. I posted my suggestion in the wrong place…drrr…look under the “Don’t you people…” entry for it

  4. JDR says:

    I missed the first half of the raider game. Did anyone break Larry Fitzgerald’s leg?

  5. mailorderwife says:

    Did you send an invite to Big Blue Wrecking Crew? Seems as if I’m not the only Giant fan who is a closet reader of that nuthouse.

    Lots of Giants blogs are mega emo. The guy who runs 22gigantes is an absolute sweetheart, but he’s been in skirmishes with some other nutty Giants blogs.

    Otherwise, not sure how many you need or why you’d need so many?

      • mailorderwife says:

        Okay…but what’s the purpose of upping the traffic, other than more users? If it’s for ads, let’s me know.

      • I don’t see any ads yet…something to think about, bags?…

        No, MOB, for diversity of opinion and, hopefully, informative entertaining, witty input…

      • mailorderwife says:

        SFDF … drove on the 1 to get to BH for a doctor’s visit. Saw a black Maserati collide with a Ferrari in the Starbucks parking lot in Malibu. Also, remember the Howe’s/Trunco’s there? It’s closing! So sad…they had the best cuts of meat there. One of the last stores with a butcher shop.

        Best sighting though…new Porsche two-seater. Beautiful car. Parked in the handicap space with a handicap placard. I wonder what handicap that person had.

        ONLY IN LA.

      • Come back home, MOB…Guerra Bros and a slew of newer shops are still making my mouth a happy place…it is sad to see the way things are just disappearing though…

        I love how so many people can ‘afford’ incredibly priced cars but don’t bother taking care of them, entitled drivers thinking ”get out of my way, my car costs more than your’s”…I used to slow down or change lanes in front of Mercedes, Lambos, etc., just because of the way these vehicles drivers approached my ‘working man’ truck, until I got my first ‘luxury car’…

        That reminds me of the UCLA athletes that had so many disabled placards…Cade McKnown, anyone?

      • mailorderwife says:

        For the most part, the pricier cars (Bentleys, Ferraris, Maseratis, Bughatts) that drive along 1 obey the speed rules. It’s the bleeding BMWs and Prius drivers (and there is no gas saving when you overspeed) that go way over. Coming back towards Camarillo, someone’s crappy red Ford Fiesta from the 80s passed up about 9 cars on a single lane road. I thought he was going to run the red light or do a head on with a farm vehicle, but he snuck in at the last minute. haha.

        I miss San Francisco so much :<

    • JDR says:

      No plans for ads. This is something I do for fun and I’m not paying anything in hosting or server costs as of right now. Was thinking that the blogroll would be more of a way to share blogs we like and connect with other fans.

  6. Chico says:

    Ugly, who is this dip-shit V-67? He’s calling you out on the Niner insider and he doesn’t even make sense. He sounds like the cankles of football.

    • JDR says:

      RIT- Random Internet Tard. He seems to have a problem with me pointing out that he’s completely full of shit. Go figure.

    • shaman138 says:

      Chico, he’s an idiot who dwells on the past glory days of the 49ers and basically has a man-crush on Eddie DeBartolo.

  7. eddacker says:

    I read bay city ball
    http://www.baycityball.com/
    Chris has good contributors, great blogroll called ‘essentials’ and ‘friends’ (the flap is not among them).

    I like McCovey Chronicles (not everyone’s cup of tea), Grant writes some great essays. I have never gotten caught up in the comments section: a bit bizarre group there. http://www.mccoveychronicles.com/

    Baseball America, while not a true blog, gives me info on prospects and happenings in the minor leagues.
    http://www.baseballamerica.com/today/

    (as an aside): For the major news sites I prefer Yahoo! over espn, cbs, fox and the like.

    It is good to have sites like yours and very honest to ask for help. The one thing I can say is give the wine time to breath, don’t try to do too much too fast.

  8. Chico says:

    My first place I go to is the flap for baseball. It’s entertaining and they got a good solid group of people over there. Don’t read Niner blogs other than Niner insider. I’m all over the place on college football blogs though but that doesn’t help with this blog.. Bleacher report is a joke. I have a buddy who blogs about local teams all the time, I’ll ask him.

  9. mailorderwife says:

    No 49er football for me.

    No…local to me is Kansas Shitty v. Tampon Bay. Fox has a geographical problem. Gah :< Oh well, I'd rather listen to Eric Davis anyway. Plus, baseball is a priority.

  10. mailorderwife says:

    Panda power. Nice :>

  11. SHOT by Sando…watch iamwatching or B2B say something about that being the 20th homer in a row w/o runners on and that it is meaningless

    BTW, Does Brian Dennert TRY to look like Phil Collins?

  12. JDR says:

    Work’s running late. I’ll start a game threat as soon as I finish.

  13. shaman138 says:

    A 1-0 lead seems to be a jinx for the Giants lately. We just don’t have any offensive firepower and if/when our pitching gives up a few runs that basically means we’re done. And then there’s the random game where our bats explode and our pitching is lights out. What’s going on with this team?

  14. mailorderwife says:

    I can see the 49ers game but I’m not sure if I want to watch any more of this.

    Giants…please score. Cainer is solid.

Leave a Reply

