Don’t you people have somewhere to be?

I just wanted to thank everyone who has come to this blog and made the first week as much fun as it was.

How many of you were there? Well, on August 2nd this blog went live. 20 hits were recorded and 0 comments were posted. One week later, on August 9th, the blog logged a total of 474 hits and upwards of 174 comments were posted.

Un-fucking-believable. You guys and gals are awesome.

This entry was posted in Site business. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Don’t you people have somewhere to be?

  1. A1985Mattalac says:

    No, you’re awesome, Ugly! Hey, what’s your real name btw? Loved the Dr. Nick drop you made the other day. Great secondary Simpsons character! My favorite quote of his is when his supervisor questions his use of a plastic dinner knife to perform surgery: “but I cleaned them with my napkin!”. Man, I hate off days after a disappointing loss, not something you want simmering in your mind. Your creation of this forumn couldn’t have a come at a better time, the Splash is going down faster than the Lusitania. Hey did you ever play MVP baseball for Xbox or PS2? Far and away one of the best MLB sims in a long time! Viva JDR!

  2. mailorderwife says:

    I’ll have your logo done sometime this weekend. Been a busy week with the house being worked over by the air conditioning oompa loompas.

  3. shaman_138 says:

    This new blog is a breath of fresh air after years of morons like soph, fishcrap, and barfy. Thanks, Ugly.

  4. Flavor says:

    Hey JDR–If you’d like, I will add you as a link on my main page. In turn, I’d like you to do the same. Let me know. I get an awful lot of traffic (I’d be happy to share the # with you in a personal email) so while the link would help you more than it would me (at least for now 🙂 ) I would be happy to do it. I haven’t linked with any other blog by choice, I don’t want my blog getting clogged up with crap on the side. But as I said the other day, I have always enjoyed your posts at the Splash and would love to see this take off for you. As I said, if you need any help or have any questions, just email me and also let me know about the link offer. –Craig (bigflavor77@gmail.com)

  5. Flavor says:

    you’ve already got a blogroll up there but it’s lame—take all that jibber jabber off and put baseball related links (Niners too, right?)

  6. Like Matt said, you’re awesome for creating this virtual place…it’s a gas and we go off on any topic but still talk baseball. Good chemistry here-Thanks, Ugly

    • JDR says:

      You guys make the blog, really. I Just give you a new post to converse in every now and again. I’m like the guy who re-did his basement or put a beer tap in the garage; it’s not much fun unless you have people around to share it with.

  7. mailorderwife says:

    Need baseball. I’m getting sucked into episodes of “Toddlers & Tiaras”.

  8. Los Gatos Colt just won the WS!

  9. the_troll says:

    “The Raiders will win.”

    • Chico says:

      The troll!

      • the_troll says:

        Ugly has turned The Splash into a ghost town. Nipper is in there talking to himself right now.

      • xoot says:

        Nipper’s on the flap talking to himself, too. Funny. Nipper has slipped up a few times over the years and posted some really good stuff. Last year, when the flap was flapping over retro player of week Phil Nastu, Nipper put a post describing a Nastu game he attended that was, by a mile, the best thing anybody had to say about the pitcher. 6 or 7 perfect Hemingwayesque sentences. No shit.

  10. Chico says:

    I knew her… She was on maternity leave and her husband is a contractor.. Good people so don’t take any of the sfgate comments seriously. Upper-middle class people who happened to like pit bulls ( let the idiots debate about breeds of dogs), I’m no fan of Pits but whatever. . No baseball, might as well go OT. Sad story.

    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000413520321

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2011/08/11/BAK21KMFEB.DTL&tsp=1

  11. Chico says:

    “Your comment is awaiting moderation” .Delete it ugly.. No worries.

  12. I can’t see the game…sez blacked out until 9

  13. xoot says:

    Hey, who mentioned redwoods? I love redwoods. Lived in the redwoods in Santa Cruz decades ago, just moved to a place in Oakland smack in the middle of a redwood grove, and tomorrow the kid and I are speeding up to Humboldt Redwoods State Park (spending the night in Garberville). He’s never seen the HUGE trees. Anybody have any suggestions? I’ve only driven througha few times. People tell me there’s a monster tree that fell — now bucked into three colossal pieces, and within easy walking distance of the main park buildings. I’m not really looking for long hikes. But — any other suggestions? How about for the trip back down the coast, Mendocino, Ft. Bragg, etc.? (We’ll be listening the Giants on the radio. 🙂 )

    • are you looking at going into the wilds?…here is a good guide to whatever ‘redwood’ adventure you are looking to enjoy…I’ve always enjoyed the Mendocino to Jenner area but you are heading much further north…http://redwoods.info/

    • xoot says:

      Thanks. We’ll take a close look at that. This an improvised trip with a simple theme that can’t fail, so we’re open to additional riffs. We’ll be headed back with eyes open. Funny thing — I was wandering around near the Zuni Cafe today, killing time before a client meeting, and wandered into a cool little bookstore — The Green Arcade — on Market St. After I’d enjoyed the store for 15 minutes or so, I asked the guy behind the counter for any book that might enhance a trip up to the big redwoods. He pulled down The Wild Trees, by Richard Preston. Perfect choice. It doesn’t suggest any day trips, but it truly is wild. Anyone who likes the redwoods should check it out.

      • Bring PLENTY of water and power bars…and pepper spray and an air horn are good ways to avoid any trouble with bears and big cats-‘growers’ are another issue altogether…a Buck knife is a handy item as are a handheld gps or compass…

        I’ve always just wandered until I found ‘the spot’ I wanted to camp at…on day trips I have alway just followed my boots also…whatever you end up doing, have a great time with those cool sounding kids of yours, Pops

        BTW, I didn’t realize ‘The Music Man’ wrote nature books;)

      • xoot says:

        I’ve spent time with the bears, mainly in Alaska, but in Montana and Calif too. I usually sing and argue and recite W.B. Yeats poetry while I hike and so drive the bears to run and hide. For some reason, all other hikers haul ass, too.

      • Chico says:

        Garberville is a trip and one of a kind.. Backcountry hippies are cool. Not much info on the area xoot, can’t add much more than SFD said but I did attend a wedding a few years ago at a place called shelter cove. it’s a 20 minute drive off the 101 towards the ocean.. If you end up at the brewery (only place in town), ask for Debbie. She’ll set you and your son up with a feast for a dime. Tell her a friend from Pacifica sent you, she’ll know right away.

        FYI, about a half hour before garberville, you will notice that the road will turn into a 2 lane highway with the Redwoods on your left to the west (lots of ferns), you will see tents also.. That’s where the good hiking is :I think: Novice stuff, fun for you and the kid! I put in a phone call but my buddy is working late night at the winery.. I’ll sent you a PM on the gate if I hear back, so I don’t clutter this blog up anymore than I already have..

      • We are getting ready to buy in the Oakland Hills, I hope I don’t have the good fortune of hiking and hearing you in, say, Redwood Regional or Tilden Parks…

        I spent a month with the old man in Alaska…all of it on the Seward Peninsula, lots a salmon and too many bears. Rather than use the tactics I told you about, we carried handguns and rifles…never shot a bear but scared them away a few times when they ventured too near.

    • eddacker says:

      Xoot, I am the Redwood tree devotee: my parents had a summer house in Gurneville and I always slept outside. I have lived in Moonstone Heights north of Arcadia and even here in the UK I know where several stands of Redwoods are.
      Wandering the coast redwoods or the Humboldt-Trinity forest is bliss. Best of times for you and your lad.
      Maybe redwood bats (petrified?) would cure the SFGs plate problems.

  14. the_troll says:

    Any chance we can get a thumbs up/thumbs down feature here? It provides a necessary boost to my ego

  15. mailorderwife says:

    All the football games I want to watch are blacked out. I can’t even pick the Raiders up on my NFL account. I hope they don’t black out the 49ers tomorrow or it’ll be another round of Toddlers & Tiaras.

    Xoot – I’ve not been to the Redwoods since childhood, and the coastline (the lighthouse) was on a date a long time ago. I don’t think you can fail with a GPS. Have lots of fun :>

    Welcome, Troll!

  16. SonsOfSteveGarvey IS a Dodgers blog, but they are very similar to us many ways-fun, witty, intelligent, mostly professionals and good sports knowledge…

    I realize I am advocating bringing dread Dfans in connection with JDR but they are fun to interact with and would provide an enjoyable counterpoint during SF-LA games…

    • mailorderwife says:

      Just how many sons did Steve Garbage have? hehhee.

      The other Dodger blog that seems to be filled with silly people is Big Blue Wrecking Crew. Of course, I’ve never participated. I have no objection as I live down here and have met many a despondent Giants fan. But you know…I’ve also seen that vile photo of the empty Giants WS trophy case that has been passed around from Dodger blog to A’s blog.

      • Isn’t Steve one of your uncles?

        BBWC is a fun blog with funny people…I have reformed my ways since, after all of my life, the Jints have become champions of all they survey. Those that haven’t given them their rightful place as WS champs are bitter…

        BTW, SSOG’s owners make good coin off of their blog

  17. Chico says:

    sandy32koufaxsandy :
    Isn’t Steve one of your uncles?
    BBWC is a fun blog with funny people…I have reformed my ways since, after all of my life, the Jints have become champions of all they survey. Those that haven’t given them their rightful place as WS champs are bitter…
    BTW, SSOG’s owners make good coin off of their blog

    Word.. That’s equivalent to the flap and this blog eventually. I came across it one day searching weareSC.

    • What’s a Cal fan doing at weareSC?…scouting the Trojans?

      • Chico says:

        Reading their excuses about why they got into trouble with the NCAA, them trying to deflect the pain onto UCLA, CAL and a number of different schools.. It was hilarious. In due time I will post the links once football season comes around.. The quotes work now, this place is coming along.. Props to Ugly for doing it.. Gimme a ring tomorrow bruddah, we need to go to a game together or at least hit up a bar..

      • We do…LADs coming up;) and I am really liking Marlowe’s

Leave a Reply

