Aaron Rowand’s comments, Dashon Goldson’s feelings and Charlie Manuel’s pitching assesments…

…what are “three things I really couldn’t give a shit about,” Alex.

It seems Aaron Rowand got in a little bit of “trouble” today because he dared to acknowledge that playing good baseball in a White Sox uniform was more enjoyable than playing mediocre baseball in a Giants uniform. This of course morphed into Aaron Rowand “dissing” the Giants and turning his back on San Francisco.

It also lost Aaron Rowand a total of zero fans in the Bay Area, bringing the number of remaining Rowand fans in the Bay Area down to anywhere from 3 to 7, depending on whether his family is in town.

At this point, complaining about Aaron Rowand’s sentimentality towards the Giants is like being offended that there’s a hair in your giant plate of hog shit. He seems to be a nice enough guy and he hustles at the right times and all that, but he’s also been paid a ton of money to basically be a fifth outfielder. It’s no fun for teh fans and certainly it has to weigh on Rowand’s mind.

So with that in mind, who can blame the guy for waxing nostalgic about the days when he was a solid performer and not the poster child for everything the team has done wrong in the last five years?

I can understand the need to generate comment and bring in readers, but can we cut back just a bit on the manufactured outrage? If I can some up the entire story by reading the headline and saying the word “no,” it really doesn’t need to be written.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Giants. Bookmark the permalink.

190 Responses to Aaron Rowand’s comments, Dashon Goldson’s feelings and Charlie Manuel’s pitching assesments…

  1. mailorderwife says:

    I can understand someone waxing nostalgic of their old teams. Ex-Giants and 49ers do that all the time, and I’m down with it. I don’t expect him to lie of his own sentiments as to his love of Chicago, but athletes should learn that the option to keep one’s mouth shut is much more preferable to enraging the hometown fans. At the very least, $12 million dollars worth of double plays should teach him to practice better judgment.

    I did hear his response on KNBR to this, and he’s an even bigger idiot for blaming the writer(s) in “creating” this debacle. I don’t buy it. As someone who has spent 5 years of her life interviewing celebrities every bloody day, I’ve seen too many people BLAME THE MEDIA for their own stupidity. You make the quotes, buddy. You stand by them.

    On that note, I have no manufactured rage. I am a native San Franciscan and am proud of my city and am of the firm belief that anyone who doesn’t like it here should get the fuck out of it.

  2. xoot says:

    I lived in seven different states (eight, if you count southern Calif. as separate) before my family settled in the Bay Area. I’ve travelled quite a bit as an adult. This is a great place, one of the very best in the world and that’s why I’m here. But I’ve met many people who want nothing to do with SF or the rest of the Bay Area (Berkeley, in particular). That’s cool. Those can just head on back home. I’ll bet a fair number of Giants players fall into that category. Ballplayers spend half the season on the road, and, generally, the off season somewhere far away. I don’t expect them to love the place the way I do. On the other hand, if they’re play for our teams, they damn sure better be good at telling their mercenary cover stories. Rowand messed his up.

  3. I look at it this way…Rowand is from southern Ca. and whether Jints fans or Philly fans like it or not, his first team (not the Mets) was his metaphorical ‘first love.’

    He grew up in the corridor of smog east of Azusa and, like most good socal boys, has his own ingrained biases about our fair city and surrounding hamlets…

    Poor Aaron simply doesn’t know a good thing when he sees it…

    I don’t hate or dislike the guy for his pining for his early days in Chicago but it is impolitic to make statements like his at any time during baseball season. Now, ask me how I feel about out-of-staters coming here then whining about my home and you will get a spirited, lengthy dissertation on why those assholes should move the hell back to Podunk, Misc!

  4. Chico says:

    I agree with all of the above. It’s ok for a professional ballplayer to not like the city they play for, but it would be wise to keep your trap shut. I have lived in Lahina (Maui), Pacifica 3 times, Berkeley for 10+ years and love all of those places. On the other hand, I spent a week in Boise Idaho visiting my father in law (where sj/tommmy boy lives) and I was MISERABLE. I wasn’t interested in hunting for Elk, learning how to clean Horse hooves, or going to the Rodeo let alone spending half the day at Cabellas with him so he can show me what I will need when the “new world order” comes. So we decided to cut the trip short (my wife isn’t the biggest fan of her dad but she tried) and we headed up to Yellowstone to go camping for a few days so we stopped off at a store for supplies in a small town in Montana about 20 minutes from the entrance to the park. I went to crack open the trunk of our rental car and there they were, 2 high powered rifles and a 22 caliber S&W 6 shot revolver, all loaded with boxes and boxes of ammo. He put them there with a note saying that if we were to return to California, a hem, where we live, we would be needing these to survive because Sharia law was coming to the US (he’s a nutjob).. Here we are, a couple in their late twenties on their first ever road trip driving around with unlicensed firearms and a bag of some of California’s finest mary jane about to enter a federal park that has a sign that reads NO FIREARMS. I will never forget that trip. Now, I can rip on Idaho all I want because the way of living is not my cup of tea but Idaho doesn’t pay my salary, however, Giants fans pay for Rowand’s salary. Big difference but I’m not outraged, I’m just looking forward to the day his contract is up but until then, I hope he produces since he’s one of ours for now.

    • Hey man!…Cabellas ROX!

    • xoot says:

      That guy is definitely a nut job. I’ve visited friends in Montana over the years and I lived and worked in Alaska several different times, so I’m comfortable with guns, where it makes sense to have guns. I also know some guys like your F in Law, however, who think guns are designed primarily for use on other people. One guy gave me a DVD copy of Red Dawn, told me I would see the light. . . .

      • I read ‘Vandenberg’ by Oliver Lange in 1972…I had been hunting and camping with my dad, a former SAC survival instructor with USAF…the Cold War was still huge then…boy, did I have some early teen fantasies about saving America from the Red Menace!…not to worry…pops didn’t let me go off the deep end of redneck patriotism…

    • sjnewsreader says:

      wow, chico. your experience sounds a lot like what life in Nampa is like…I spent way too much time there the last couple months.

    • sjnewsreader says:

      and that is quite hilarious about the rifles. There are gun stores and pawn shops EVERYWHERE here.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Wow…that is just nutty!!!!!

  5. sjnewsreader says:

    woo! RBI double for Huff!

  6. sjnewsreader says:

    big time. I can’t imagine what he was thinking

  7. sjnewsreader says:

    GREAT play by pablo. whew

  8. sjnewsreader says:

    WOO! nice homerun

  9. #2 Homers for the first time…

  10. mailorderwife says:

    Nice by Stewart, and that smile on Mota’s face was nice.

    Happy birthday, Tommy!

  11. Tommy is an *ancient* 30!…(I bet he’s still wearing Garanimals and toughskins!)

  12. xoot says:

    Oh, Pablo! Make the impossible play and then boot the routine. Ah, well.

  13. mailorderwife says:

    Yay Huffdaddy!!

  14. Good on Huff…he needed that

  15. Fugazi says:

    Huff went Yard? What the hell is happening here. Good evening new blog spot, I may get used to this place..

  16. STAY here…way better than the splash

  17. Chico says:

    Happy birthday Tommy! You are only three years behind me bro.. Lets see if you can catch up haha.

  18. sjnewsreader says:

    i stepped outside to shoot off some fireworks with the neighbors and next thing I know its the 7th inning and we’re up 3-0. WOO!

  19. sjnewsreader says:

    thanks for all the b-day wishes! You guys rock 🙂

  20. Fugazi says:

    Chico :He just turned 30.. We’re youngsters..

    No shit. Damn i feel old now..:(

  21. Fugazi says:

    Fugazi :

    Chico :He just turned 30.. We’re youngsters..

    No shit. Damn i feel old now..:(

    The quote thingy don’t work that well

  22. Chico says:

    For Tommy.

    • sjnewsreader says:

      awesome! I love it! I have a ramones best of CD in my car that I listen to all the time. Pick up the Pieces is one of my fav songs…besides this one of course!

  23. Fugazi says:

    My comment is awaiting moderation. Thats different..

  24. JDR says:

    Jesus, I leave for two hours and you guys get all crazy with the comments. Good shit all around. Also, as someone who has a Ramones tattoo, big thumbs up on the music choices.

  25. sjnewsreader says:

    pablo had some wheels on that hit by huff. he was motoring all the way to third

  26. 52…but an extremely young 52…I am the shit

  27. mailorderwife says:

    30s are way better than 20s, and light years better than the early 20s.

    BTW…i love that BART commercial where that little gnomish A’s fan goes “…yeah…I have nothing against Giants fans…”

  28. JDR says:

    Am I really the youngest here? 27?

  29. I REALLY wanna swear right now

  30. mailorderwife says:

    Whoa!! Way to work in three bases!

  31. Fugazi says:

    Damn, They be running tonight. Good job Ross

  32. JDR says:

    So that’s what being on the other end of that play feels like.

  33. sjnewsreader says:

    woo, finally looking lke they should against a bad team. GIANTS!

  34. Fugazi says:

    They finally busted out, but its only one game. The front runners always start heating up around the middle of August. Time will tell if this is a change in their fortunes..

  35. well…my LADs are getting the Lee beat down…so they are heated up

  36. Fugazi says:

    STFU Kuiper, it was a clean takeout at second. sheesh.

  37. JDR says:

    Weezy’s getting the double dry hump tonight. He looks less than thrilled.

  38. sjnewsreader says:

    well if a couple runs cross the plate then we get to see wilson….silver lining?

  39. mailorderwife says:

    Whew…well done, boys :>

  40. Fugazi says:

    Good game. Later everybody, time to check the Asian markets and figure out if the bloodbath continues here with the stock market tomorrow.

  41. shaman_138 says:

    Since this is a new blog (a.k.a. not Doomtroll City like the Splash) I can say this:

    What a great win!

  42. mailorderwife says:

    Hope we win today. I get to watch the game as I had a bit of the Linda Blair going on today.

  43. A1985Mattalac says:

    Let me start by saying a VERY HAPPY (but belated) birthday to Tommy! Is that your real name btw? I’m sure it’s real hard to guess my name! Sorry I missed the fun yesterday, busy day at the office! A much needed win, Madbum was filthy! I really hope that Huff is on to something, he’s certainly looked more patient as of late. I’m thinking Beltran is coming back with a bang today. As speculated, I think I take the cake when it comes to youngest. My birthday is Feb. 6th, 1985. Do I win a prize?!? Hey Ugly, a dumb question but am I right to assume you named this blog after the “white” Barry Bonds in various MLB sims? Go Giants!

  44. A1985Mattalac says:

    Oh this should make y’all feel young. I’m 26 and my mother is 65. Next month my father will be…81! Oh and I’m an uncle but my nephew is older than me! Crazy, no? Well, not as crazy as Jimmy is going having been banned twice!

    • mailorderwife says:

      Oh wow…your dad was older than my dad when you were born, but still younger than my uncle. He was 76 when my youngest cousin was born.

      Nice to see you, btw!

  45. A1985Mattalac says:

    Thanks MOB! Good to see you too. I’m grateful to Ugly for making a blog that is what the Splash SHOULD be! Pat yourself on the back guy, you’ve made a better blog then the freakin’ Chronicle could!

    • shaman_138 says:

      The Splash has basically become the Romper Room of baseball blogs.

      • JDR says:

        It’s pretty much falling to the same fate as the two football blogs. The idiots with nothing to say and the blog trolls repeating the same stupid posts ad nauseum. I think a lot of it is down to the people moderating. The Chron outsourced to some company in canada and it’s pretty apparent that the people editing the comments have no clue about when someone’s trolling and when someone’s making a coherent point. They just run it against a “don’t use naughty words or call people names” check.

      • Chico says:

        The splash 4 comments total…LOL! Ugly is right, the moderators are clueless. I warned the chron 2 years ago when my comments started to get deleted for NO reason at all. You wonder why traffic is way down and most of the people who comment on politics and such have at least 10 accounts each so they can silence you if they disagree with you. That place is whacked!

  46. mailorderwife says:

    Shawn Estes’ suit is messing with my eyes.

  47. JDR says:

    I heard Ryan Ludwick is an outspoken advocate of punching babies. Also, he keeps a picture of Stalin inside his locker.

  48. Chico says:

    Tommy nailed Matt’s age. Mid 20,s and he’s 25.. You can’t get more mid 20’s then that. Man, injuries… At least Pablo went yard..

  49. shaman_138 says:

    Man, the Splash just sucks now. Most of the cool regulars have left (many have come here), it’s become a blog full of stupid comments from doomers and trolls, and the regulars who are still there are getting shitty, too. Thanks God this blog came about. Meanwhile, we got a tie game and we got Panda being consistent. Which is good, because nobody else on that LU (who manages to not get hurt) is being consistent.

  50. Mollie and nyg54 are still there;)

  51. Chico says:

    Don’t start getting wild Sanchez, c’mon.

  52. Wow skinny dude NAILED that…nearly the deepest part of the park too

  53. Freaking Mota has worked an awful lot this season

  54. mailorderwife says:

    Geez. Disappear for an inning and you’re 3 down.

  55. Chico says:

    Hey! Lets chip away…

  56. mailorderwife says:

    Anyone else having issues accessing the Splash?

    Poor Cody, but glad Cabrera knocked it in.

  57. mailorderwife says:

    I want Sanchez to do well, so this is really disappointing :<

    I also miss the days when the Giants staged those 6th inning and on comebacks. Maybe they'll do it again today!

    • shaman138 says:

      Dirty has the talent but just doesn’t have the mental stamina/concentration to be a starting pitcher. One thing goes wrong and the dude will totally have a meltdown.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Yeah, I agree. He really needs to get seek some sort of therapy. Might not be rock n’ roll to do such a thing, but focusing is such an issue with him. I hate to see such enormous talent being wasted.

      • xoot says:

        I think his arm is still weak. His FB velocity dropped again today, after the 3d inning — not as dramatically as in the last start, but still enough to make a difference. Bochy said he’d be watching that. I don’t know what to make of Sanchez’s psychology. I thought he was toughening up.

      • mailorderwife says:

        Aside from lacking confidence, which Sanchez does, I sometimes wonder if there is some ADD involved. I’m a bit more patient with him because his times of brilliance are wonderful and because of his eyebrows. But he’s got do become much more solid before the season ends.

    • You kill me sometimes, MOB

  58. Chico says:

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/contribute/sn/persona?User=humphreyhambone&plckUserId=humphreyhambone

    This is sfgate commenting in a nutshell. Trolls.

    “unlike Stow, these guys are gonna walk”..

  59. sjnewsreader says:

    anything relating to the police on the chron is nothing but boot lickers. back2back is an idiot

  60. mailorderwife says:

    OH hell. I’m having some sort of tweet war with some writer for the A’s and Giants. He posed a question about Sanchez and I gave my opinion and is now debating me, sending me to nerd baseball stat websites. You want to piss a woman off? SEND THEM TO NERD BASEBALL STAT WEBSITES.

  61. A1985Mattalac says:

    How ironic, everyone that made the Splash good leaves and SophJim gets banned twice! Perhaps the remaining doomers/trolls will name him their queen when he returns? So am I officially the youngest here?

  62. Chico says:

    FYI, Molly711 also goes by “changebama”, another notorious troll.

  63. sjnewsreader says:

    holy hell. This game is becoming unbearable…6-2 pirates and bases loaded

  64. Clever post sj…under mollies’ crapola

  65. Chico says:

    Look at Tommy spitting his game at Ruse. Haha!

  66. A1985Mattalac says:

    Remember last year Sabes had that closed door meeting with the pitchers? I’m thinking it’s time for another one, this time the WHOLE team. If Beltran goes on the DL tomorrow I think we might hit the low point of this year.

  67. Chico says:

    Gotta run.. Score fome freaking runs Giants!

  68. mailorderwife says:

    All is not lost. “Mother, Jugs and Speed” is on TV after the game.

  69. See ya later ‘Avengers!’

Leave a Reply

