Baseball News for the week of 12/16 – 12/22

Tuesday, December 17

News
(up. 7:30 p.m.) Per multiple sources, Grant Balfour has signed a 2-year deal with the Baltimore Orioles.
(up. 3:51 p.m.) Per John Heyman, the Chicago Cubs have signed closer Jose Veras for 1yr./$4m/

—–
Monday, December 16

News
(up. 11:24 a.m.) Per Buster Olney, the Dbags have traded 3B prospect Matt Davidson for closer Addison Reed.

About annapirhana

Writer, former KUSF DJ and fan of the SF Giants/SJ Sharks/Great America 49ers. Love quality films, though I don't take things too seriously.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Baseball News for the week of 12/16 – 12/22

  1. mailorderwife says:

    Unca Chuck – sent you a message on FB. Read it please?

  2. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    SFDF, no kidding aside, we have to wonder what Dyer thinks of Ned Colletti’s brilliantly ‘thrifty’ moves over the last couple years. My guess, he thinks Ned is what general managing is all about! Whereas, Sabean is a cheapskate, unwilling to freely spend somebody else’s money, failing to add a Cano type at $240M / 10 years to the Giants team, instead coming up with nothing but a broken down horse, I mean Morse, with a weak work ethic. ha!

    But, seriously, I’m not closely following LAD’s off season work, any news at your end?

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      Apparently not, other than the rumor that LAD is closing in on David Price. That would be quite a coup for the rotation.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        To Sandy Koufax, I want to know that my taking Dyer to task for his criticism leveled at Sabean for acquiring Morse was in *no* way a personal reprimand for posting the link in the first place. Enough said. :(

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I just thought it odd reading the name of his blog and then the text he’d written. I read his previous entry, just now, and am convinced he is on of those “FIRESABEANNOW!” kind of guys. Check this out from his prior blog post:
          “Believe me, it’s not that I’m smarter or that I enjoy making negative predictions. I did something that is irrational in the universe of sports talk radio and the infosphere: I researched the numbers and the trends. Oh, and my five year old nephew read the Torres headline at the time and began uncontrollably crying.” He sounds a bit too involved and like he’s drinking his own form of anarchist kool aid to me :-)

          I absolve you of any misdeeds, Mtn Dude.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      It’s all so-so news. The kid at second, A-Gue, is a fine SS who has limited, if any, experience at 2nd. He also seems like another Cuban defector with a personality or cultural disorder. He sat out at least one season in protest at being left off of the Cuban Nat’l team in 2011. Throw in the age factor-he is 27-plus he’s a huge question mark at bat.

      LA picked up Seth “Hammer Me Now” Rosin, he of the career 4.00 ERA and 1.20 WHIP in minor league play. He does have a fair K/9 ratio and his walks are low. BP depth or trade bait?

      Howell, Uribe and Wilson are back though. If they play as well as 2013, they’re good signings. Howell had an exceptional year after two down seasons in a row, Uribe played twice as good last yr as he had the first two w/LA and Wilson is an enigma.

      I hear LA is still pursuing Price but so, apparently, are the Bravos and Big Money Mariners. I am also hearing that LA is looking at Tanaka and now that Posting guidelines have been agreed to by NPB and MLB, there will be a flurry of activity for him. Yanks, M’s and LA figure prominently but I wouldn’t be surprised to see any team go after him. $20M to play the Lotto for him is a steep number though. I haven’t heard anything in weeks about LA going after an “established” catcher and Federowicz is not “the answer” for what ails em at 2. Eric Smith is interesting but a few yrs away, probably.

      There’s plenty more to say but those are some “highlights.” Dodgertown has several needs that Ned better fill if he really wants to win a WS title.

  3. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    Not speaking of which, I liked seeing this stellar suggestion from a Dodger fan posted back on October 20, 2013:

    “Trade Kershaw(yes even as much as I love him)…to the Texas Rangers for Beltre, Profar and some bench. Trade Either and prospects for Price. Go get Tim Lincum if you feel your 4th or 5th is not good enough (Also still have Zach Lee coming up)we could still have an awesome rotation of

    1. Price
    2. Greinke
    3. Ryu
    4. Bills
    5. Lincecum”

    Cool. Another Dodger fan who knows Lincecum is still the real deal (although, I’d put “Bills” at #5 in such a rotation at the start of the season).

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Who wrote that? No LADs fan I’d wanna know if he’d off Kersh for Beltre although, Profar seems interesting. The part about Bills is hilarious-even for Oct 20th.

  4. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    http://www.sfgate.com/entertainment/article/Peter-O-Toole-transformed-himself-and-the-5071834.php

    His flair for the dramatic (Lion in Winter, LOA) and comedic (My Favorite Year) will be missed. One of my Dad’s favorites: The Stunt Man.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      Ok, terrible actor but…Billy Jack (starring, written and directed by Tom Laughlin) was a big deal in cosmopolitan San Mateo when it came out. “End The War” protests were everywhere and SM had so many military retirees, my dad included, that had had kids who were now protesting the war. The movie was just another in a long line of songs, protests and movies that resonated with us. No, I don’t mean to compare the actor, or even the quality of the flick, with Joan Fontaine or Peter O’Toole or their many superb movies, it’s just that THAT movie with Laughlin had more impact on me directly than any of the movies which would star either of the other two that died yesterday ever had on me.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Sandy, it’s been decades since I last saw Billy Jack. When the opportunity arises, I will make every effort to see it again. As I recall, it was in effect a modern day dramatic, heroic tragedy. (By definition, I believe, most heroic dramas must inevitably end in some form of Greek tragedy.)

    • xoot says:

      I liked The Stunt Man best.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Lion in Winter was dramatically terrific and spellbinding – still a fav of mine … along with John Barry’s potent music score, being one his all time best.

  5. sandy32koufax says:

    GOOD winter food that is uber simple and quick is a great way to eat, ya? Eff Rachael Ray (she doesn’t even spell her name like a latina!) and her quick meals scam! I was going thru old Examiner stories-the gate is a joke for info-and stumbled on this. Wow. It mentions some easy to make, tasty ,meals. Google em and try em, they rock.

    http://www.sfexaminer.com/sanfrancisco/manilatown-an-sf-neighborhood-that-disappeared/Content?oid=2632728

    • sandy32koufax says:

      If I can master these dishes, anyone can. Here’s a good place to start:

      http://www.sbs.com.au/food/recipes/chicken-afritada-0

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      A little odd, the link took me to an interesting article on “Manilatown,” in which I learned,

      “De Guzman says no alternative housing was offered to tenants [Aug. 4, 1977] … ‘Everything was broken up — this was their home, they lived with their people,’ de Guzman said. ‘I can say that many people died with a broken heart.’”

      Few political decisions ever recognize a citizen’s possible “broken heart,” let alone going to their grave suffering one. Too bad.

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        http://www.sfexaminer.com/sanfrancisco/manilatown-an-sf-neighborhood-that-disappeared/Content?oid=2632728 – this is the link to the Manilatown article sans Philippine cuisine recipes.

      • mailorderwife says:

        My father organized a group of people to help fight this entire disappearance of Manilatown thing, along with that big hotel. I used to go to Manilatown a lot when I was still teeny wienie, but that area disappeared pretty quickly by the time I was 5 or 6.

        Filipino immigration is very strange, although I suspect it reflects every other immigrant community. The first wave that came over in the early 1900s worked the plantations in Hawaii. Tim Lincecum’s grandparents were in this bunch, as were my father and his brothers. The second generation came well after WWII, mostly during the Marcos regime. These immigrants did not respect the first wave for being uneducated folks from PI, and so there was always this great divide between the Filipinos. The older generation tended to be liberal, while the newer ones — the ones who were wealthier when they left PI — tended to be conservative. Hence, it was up to the first wave of immigrants in SF to fight this battle, while the others sort of slipped away into Daly City.

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I’ve mentioned a Filipino that my grandpa met during the war while on leave. He was on some dinky island being a bad white seaman on shoreleave when the Japanese attacked the PI. The two of them fought the Japanese as guerrillas with other Pinoy during the next three years. As a result, Nick Salvadore, and the other survivng members of their band, were offered US citizenship following my grandfather’s commanding officers recommending and endorsing Nick’s lawful emigration to the US. He found out that his entire family had been killed during the occupation of Lubang Island. He never returned to PI.

          Nick was always in the city, in Manilatown or fishing or chasing the skirts. I came to live with my grandparents for a short time-about 1965-and remember Nick being very upset about the doings in SF. It wasn’t until I was in college that he explained the why of that anger. The forced removal of the Filipino community from the area. Western Addition II, he called it. He went on to say that it will always be that way in SF and that one day, it would only be the very rich. That was in 1979.

          Salvadore was a loner. I guess leaving everyone and everything behind after the gruesome experiences of fighting the Japanese in the jungles of those tiny islands took a great toll on them both, my grandpa too. They both had severe bouts of depression which Harry would augment by drinking or womanizing. Nick would go to Filipino bars to get into fights after getting his heaton. Nick did many things for the Filipine community at large though. He didn’t fall into any single group or type of activist either. He’d always do something for single moms or widowed elderly ladies. He’d take kids to Fiesta or baseball games in Oakland or SF.

          He seemed to bridge so many eras until he got old. Then there were the second and third generation of Pinoy that couldn’t identify with him and vice-versa. He seemed to give up living his last few years. Ya, he still went to the Vallejo Filipino Community Ctr and still worked until the day he died-85 yrs old-but his life was not one he enjoyed any longer. He seemed to feel all alone. Sad to watch a guy that used to have a happy smile or a quick joke become so withdrawn and alone so completely.

  6. sandy32koufax says:

    I see Chuck went to that tool’s blog and had a little backnforth with one of his acolytes. Good on ya Chuck, the guy still doesn’t see beyond his nose but, hey, that’s how people are that “know better” than everyone.

  7. Chico says:

    Chuck, I sent you a friend request.

  8. sandy32koufax says:

    Who went to the S.N.A.C.K. concert? I had tix but handed them off cuz I wanted to run in an AAU track meet instead…duh. Friends of mine that went talked about it for weeks.

  9. xoot says:

    Final numbers are in and, for purposes of the luxury tax, both the dodgers and yankees had payrolls around $248M in 2013. The bums only had to pay tax of 17.5% of the amount over $178M, because this was their first year over. So the tax bill, after some adjustments no reporter bothers to explain, was $11.4M. Next season it’s 30% of the amount over $189M. (And remember, Cubans are expensive in the U.S.) The yankers had to pay 50% of the over this year–so it’ll be a $28M final tax bill for the dodgers east.

    It was fun back in 2012 to calculate the payroll-cost per PS win for the Giants, and to compare it to, say, the same equation’s result for the A’s. (The moneyball trolls hated that, I think.) But it’s not so funny figuring those numbers for the bums and the yanks. For some reason I hear The Dude declaring: “This will not stand, you know–this aggression will not stand, man!”

    • sandy32koufax says:

      “Fuck it Dude, let’s go bowling…”

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      28 million in luxury tax … that would buy a Tanaka or Price’s annual contract, which is nothing to sneeze at.

      Still, I wonder if the penalty is high enough to discourage the Yankees of the West from continuing their spending spree.

      • xoot says:

        for some reason they didn’t want to pay Mark Ellis 5.75M while the cards did

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I don’t get not keeping Ellis, one of the steadiest Dodgers, and 2nd basemen in the Bigs, for several yrs now. He had a great yr too. Now he’s gone. I still don’t know the terms but imagine LA gets someone or something for him, though.

          • xoot says:

            I think the bums bought out his option for $1M and said adios.

            • xoot says:

              Yep. I just googled it. I just don’t understand that move. The Cards liked it, however. They probably signed him for what the dodgers could’ve had him for. Plus he got the $1M buyout.

              • sandy32koufax says:

                All that matters now is that LA has let so many pieces from last year’s team just vanish and they haven’t nearly finished addressing that.

  10. sandy32koufax says:

    Disagree with KISS but the rest of the RnR HOF inductees sound good to me…Yusuf Islam is extraordinary and Linda Ronstadt should have gone in before. Stone Pony’s were cool enough…

  11. Chico says:

    Fuck you Donni! You’re out of your element!

    • unca_chuck says:

      Too funny the Billy Jack comments, Sandy. Wasn’t there protests at the Hillsdale theatre when it came out? Whole lot of toking going on anyway. They were SO ham-handed about the injustice of it all, but the fight scenes were cool

      I was at Snack Sunday. Bob Dylan showed up at the end and played drums with Brownsville Station or some shit. I was in 8th grade. Still got the ticket stub…

      • sandy32koufax says:

        Yeah, forgot about that! SMPD on the way! I went to Borel then. Mostly well-to-do kids except for us. We were from FG. FG kids were only there for the “cool,” the girls and the weed…ya, good fight scenes.

        An old friend used to put on concerts in GG Park and Stern Grove, hell anyplace that he could, he wanted to be Bill Graham so bad. He has one of the best ticket collections I’ve ever seen.

  12. unca_chuck says:

    And yeah, kiss is the most overrated band in history.

  13. xoot says:

    Kiss is another band (like acdc) I wouldn’t recognize on the radio. I guess I was on the road by then. By the time I circled back, the Clash and the Ramones and Elvis C. were on the radio. Hell, even Weather Report had a hit on the air in 77-78. Things sounded great.

    • sandy32koufax says:

      WR was a cool band of all and near stars. They were a little vanilla but serviceable jazzy funk. I had a couple of their albums. ‘Course I was a Spiro Gyra, Michael Franks guy too.

      • xoot says:

        No. Weather Report was more than that. Wayne Shorter and Joe Zawinul were masters of improvisation. When they added funk, they also added Jaco Pastorius. Nothing vanilla about that. Before WR, Zawinul was the voice behind Miles Davis’s best electric album, In a Silent Way. Shorter was (is) an eccentric genius. (Great piece about him in the NYT by Ben Ratliff in 2004 . I remember reading it on the bus to work that day. http://www.nytimes.com/2004/12/24/arts/music/24shor.html?_r=0 )

        • unca_chuck says:

          Didn’t we all have an Al Di Meola phase?

          • sandy32koufax says:

            I used to see DiMeola with Beck and Jon Luc Ponty at San Wannabe St or in Bekeley or SF alla time.

            • sandy32koufax says:

              Xoot, they were improv wizards. Too much of WR music was made for sales instead of being what it was live, to me at least. I didn’t get to enjoy them in those ways in Fresno in the early to mid 80’s. My best friend used to tell me how he loved them and would play me something on his horn to show me but I didn’t hear those sounds from them until years later.

            • unca_chuck says:

              Yeah, good stuff. Great show back in the day was the benefit for Ronnie Lane. ARMS show? Jeff Beck, Clapton, Ron Wood, Jan Hammer, Jimmy Page, Joe Cocker, and a bunch of people I’m forgetting. They played their own stuff and did a few songs together.

            • unca_chuck says:

              Was that Return to Forever? Al Di Meola Chick Corriea or am I losing it?

              • sandy32koufax says:

                Corriea. Cool concert ARMS.

              • mailorderwife says:

                Chick Corea was the very first interview I did at USF. He was appearing at the Bread and Roses concert, and we met him at that Berkeley Hotel where he appeared in his pj’s. Very nice man. Very good music.

  14. unca_chuck says:

    I have a pretty good collection myself. A bunch of football and baseball games and a bunch of concert ones.

  15. Chico says:

    I just recently came across this song. A friend of mine tells me that the song barely made it out of Detroit back in the day. Wondering if anyone here has heard this, or is it a dumb question? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=487t88pz-2Y

    • sandy32koufax says:

      I don’t remember it at all…

      • Chico says:

        Of all the anti war stuff from that era, this song is bad ass! Surprised it got very little recognition. The lyrics are amazing, imo.
        Yes it’s true I am a young man
        But I’m old enough to kill
        I don’t want to kill nobody
        But I must if you so will

        And if I raise my hand in question
        You just say that I’m a fool
        Cause I got the gall to ask you
        Can you maybe change the rule

        And you stand and call me up-start
        Ask what answer can I find
        I ain’t sayin I’m a genius

        [Chorus]
        Two plus two is on my mind
        Two plus two is on my mind
        [Chorus]

        Well I knew a guy in high school
        Just an average, friendly guy
        And he had himself a girlfriend
        And you made them say goodbye

        Now he’s buried in the mud
        Of a foreign jungle land
        And his girl just sits and cries
        She just doesn’t understand

        So you say he died for freedom
        Well he just died to save your lies
        Go ahead and call me yellow

        [Chorus]

        All I know is that I’m young
        And your rules say I’m old
        If I’ve got to kill to live
        Then there’s something left untold

        I’m no statesman, I’m no general
        I know that I’ll never be
        It’s the rules, not the soldier
        That are my real enemy

        I’m no prophet, I’m no rebel
        I’m just asking you why
        I just want a simple answer
        Why it is I’ve got to die

        I’m a simple minded guy
        Two plus two is on my mind

        • sandy32koufax says:

          I listened to many types of music and ya, at that time there were protest songs. Soul, blues, rock, you name it. I was big into Motown and listened to War, Marvin Gaye and the Temps alla time. They had some cool protest songs. So did Eric Burdon etc. It was the times. Too much for me to have heard it all.

        • shoelessinbearvalley says:

          Powerful / poignant lyrics, Chico. Good example of the protest song.

          As sfdf kind of alluded to, this sounds like the kind of anti-war song in the style of Eric Burdon and the Animals (1968 – “Twain Shall Meet”).

  16. mailorderwife says:

    Okay folks..I need your Candlestick memories to include in a video (with your permission, of course). Write away!

    • shoelessinbearvalley says:

      MOW, just a reminder to post / email a basic tutorial for next Monday night’s game. Thanks!

      • mailorderwife says:

        Did you ever get the invite to the software that I mailed?

        • shoelessinbearvalley says:

          I got a link to log on (since I choose not to ‘Facebook’ or twitter, I logged on “google,” downloaded the software. No further ‘explanation’ other than the link provided in the email. And, I just spent the last 45 minutes cleaning up my inbox of nearly 200 posts in order to locate the email with the link and I couldn’t come up with it.

          Bottom line, 1) there is no tutorial (because, it’s apparently all self-explanatory) and 2) I need that link resent again for me to finally get with the program. Thanks, MOW.

    • xoot says:

      Maybe you should start a new thread for the Stick?

  17. unca_chuck says:

    Wow. Never heard that before, or The Bob Seger System either. Never liked Bob Seger much (although Turn the Page is a great great song), but that’s some heavy shit (as we used to say wway back when). I was about 5 years behind the draft, but all I heard growing up (esp with 4 older brothers and sisters) was about the war, the protests, where they were going to protest something, anarchy, revolution in the streets, and TONS of kick ass music.

    Brings to mind Eve of Destruction. Probably the most blatant in-your-face anti war song. My sister yused to play that all the time. That it came out in ’65 and foreesaw the escalation of troops sent is even more amazing. Also Fortunate Son springs to mind.

    Also brings to mind System of a Down’s BYOB (for you thrash grunge fans out there) . . .

    • xoot says:

      The first year of the draft lottery, my birthdate came up number 283. That lottery didn’t apply to me, however. The next year’s lottery did. My birthdate came up number 45. Bad news. The draft dug all the way down to 195 that year. My student deferment saved my ass.

      So you bet I was out there in the streets. Hell, I felt doubly obligated to join the protests. We got the storm-trooper plexiglass shield and big baton assault treatment from the Santa Cruz County tactical squad. During one protest designed to block city avenues, to prevent busses from taking potential inductees to Oakland for physicals, a good friend of mine received a blow to the head from one of those bats and went down, unconscious. I dragged him out of the melee, to safety. He had trouble reading and typing for about a week afterward.

      I never burned my draft card. Didn’t see it as a very significant act, due to the deferment. The same friend did think the symbolic act was important. (This was post-concussion, so maybe he held a special grudge.) He joined a little bonfire ceremony up on stage at one big gathering. During the next summer break, some federal agents came poking around a landscape nursery where he worked, asking questions of the owner.

      Now how the hell did they know who he was if the draft card had burned to ash? Scary shit. I met a private detective some years back who proudly bragged that he first got into surveillance in the 60s as a FBI snitch pretending to be a radical in Berkeley.

  18. unca_chuck says:

    Funny, saw the same thing at the 49ers first Super Bowl celebration . . .

    • unca_chuck says:

      The cops’ head-banging, not the snitching! Yow, that really sucks. How would you like to be that guy’s friend? Turns out a lot of those so-called ‘radicals’ were plants by the FBI.

  19. mailorderwife says:

    Per Xoot’s advice, I have created a separate thread for Candlestick Park memories. Please contribute if you have a chance!

  20. unca_chuck says:

    Be careful what you ask for!

  21. shoelessinbearvalley says:

    This thread closed due to a complete take over by Candlestick nostalgialists. (MOW, I could still use another link to the necessary software for Monday night, assuming you can get past the now virtually impenetrable “closed thread” gates herein.

    • mailorderwife says:

      Hey…I sent you another invite. In order to use the site, you have to accept the invite. Once there, it should put you directly into the 49er site. There is an added tutorial over there, but I’d be happy to help you through it as it is a bit complex. Thanks so much

      • shoelessinbearvalley says:

        Oops, I didn’t get it, because since the last time we connected, I closed that address down – just got overwhelmed with spam :)

        So, I need to send you my *new and improved* gmail account first. I forget how do I email you?! Still time for me to get with this Monday’s program (although I will follow the game via KNBR as I currently don’t get ESPN).

Leave a Reply

